Re: :: The official TOOLS thread ::

Postby X_Factor » May 25th, 2012, 2:50 pm

in addition to them, u can check bhags and home mart in elsocorro

Postby Strugglerzinc » May 25th, 2012, 8:30 pm

Home Store also had two versions of a welding combo kit right by the door as soon as you walk in.

I found it cheaper to get everything separate though, saved about $800.

@ ABA, i don't recall ever having seen those odd looking devices before. What is it used for? You're gonna tell me clamping beams right?

geodude

Postby geodude » May 26th, 2012, 11:32 am

i recetly bought a few small things, bought these like 2 months ago
1) Accutire MS-4021B Standard Digital Tire Gauge
http://www.amazon.com/Accutire-MS-4021B ... y_hi_img_b
31VU9qK8RfL._SL500_AA300_.jpg
31VU9qK8RfL._SL500_AA300_.jpg (6.2 KiB) Viewed 2952 times

this works great so happy with it.

2) Bell Automotive 22-5-00705-8 32 psi Tire Pressure Monitoring Valve Cap
http://www.amazon.com/dp/B000BO79AY/ref ... s_sce_dp_2
41wgEiHW7aL._SL500_AA300_.jpg
41wgEiHW7aL._SL500_AA300_.jpg (21.26 KiB) Viewed 2952 times

i was a bit sceptical at first but they have worked really well, and they look cheap but are not they are made form aluminium, not plastic

3) this arrived at my house but did not get a change to play with it as yet,
Campbell Hausfeld RP3200 12-Volt Inflator and Worklight
http://www.amazon.com/dp/B000642GAM/ref ... s_sce_dp_2
51SGFRM4H6L._SL500_AA300_.jpg
51SGFRM4H6L._SL500_AA300_.jpg (20.64 KiB) Viewed 2952 times

when i bought my last car the previous owner had given me one which was similar to this ( no name though) and its so handy to have in a bind, i hope this one works just as great as the other one i have,

Postby Chimera » May 26th, 2012, 5:33 pm

Strugglerzinc wrote:Home Store also had two versions of a welding combo kit right by the door as soon as you walk in.

I found it cheaper to get everything separate though, saved about $800.

@ ABA, i don't recall ever having seen those odd looking devices before. What is it used for? You're gonna tell me clamping beams right?

well yeah they're used if you want to join beams together if you don't want to weld or screw them

but I plan to use them to mount some CCTV cameras on some beams that I don't want to screw the mount to

the proper beam clamp will have holes underneath it to screw the camera straight into it

Postby Chimera » May 28th, 2012, 2:03 pm

this would be ideal thing

Postby pugboy » May 28th, 2012, 5:09 pm

the little Shopvac hangup wetdry vacuum is on sale for $250 in Ramlagans McBean
its normally $400 everywhere
its a very powerful vacuum cleaner and takes a licking
most of them auto detailers use them all day long

Postby nervewrecker » May 28th, 2012, 6:02 pm

I feeling too tired to run through this whole thread but the old lady want me find out about those air compressors and paint gun combo to paint house.
What should I be looking for and what kind of cost and where available?

Postby X_Factor » May 28th, 2012, 10:15 pm

there are electric paint sprayers, u could look into those
i've seen a few at sherwin williams

we painted the underside of the decking via that compressor and paint gun and imo, i wasnt impressed
took alot of time to keep refilling and cleaning the gun, straining paint and it took 2 coats

imo again, a decent 3/8 nap roller with a good roller frame and its easy work, u could roll out a 12x12 room in less than 45mins

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » May 29th, 2012, 10:43 am

jack i feel she keep seeing this annoying paint zoom ad they does keep showing on tv a million times & must be find it looking good - :lol:

youtube does have some good vids on paint sprayers u shud check out

i have used a electric spray gun we borrowed that looked like this :

does work good eh but mainly for use on big jobs to be worth it since it does take some time to clean back up & u will have to mask off areas u dont want d paint to go on ...

Postby Strugglerzinc » May 29th, 2012, 11:45 am

Wagner are the paint people. Their paint sprayers are made for the thick house paints. Latex and other water based house paints don't work well with compressors and guns unless its a huge tip.

You also have to consider overspray if your house is furnished and you doing interior painting.

I got one of these myself to paint my house. Wagner Paintmate Plus. Works brilliantly and is level pace when painting as you don't have to stop for paint every minute. No leaks, no mess.

Postby Strugglerzinc » June 1st, 2012, 7:50 pm

If anyone's interested, Home Store has Bernzomatic propane canisters @ $45. Didn't buy anything as I went to buy plant pots. As I found out, the plant pots were not in the tool aisle. Didn't hurt to check.

They also have a beginners kit with tank and torch for $299

Postby X_Factor » June 7th, 2012, 9:53 pm

http://www.amazon.com/DEWALT-DW5207-7-P ... pd_cp_hi_0
used the 1/4 drill bit from that set today to put up some curtain rods and 2 bathroom sets

i can say its a must have!....
i had a 15$ bit in the drill and after 2 holes in the tile the tip was almost smooth and burnt
opend up the pack and drilled about 35 more holes with no sweat after

Postby Strugglerzinc » June 13th, 2012, 9:08 pm

Pricesmart has this right now

$1500

Postby Strugglerzinc » June 13th, 2012, 9:22 pm

Just some pics of what i do with my tools.

This was my welding phase

MonsterPower

Postby MonsterPower » June 13th, 2012, 9:22 pm

ABA Trading LTD wrote:this would be ideal thing

Aba i donno if u have eva mounted on steel beams that were not properly grounded u will be seriously affected .When i did mines i had to remote ground it
A fairly simple and effective solution was to cut a piece of guttering i had laying around screw it to the beam and then the camera onto the beam .. That mount looks good tho

On another note i am looking for a crimper for clips and stuff

Postby Strugglerzinc » June 13th, 2012, 9:37 pm

Bosch Slim (plugged into a GFCI so as not to kill myself)

Plus concrete grinding cup

Equals

Going to do this to my entire garage soon and treat with a clear epoxy. Will take pics of my tools in action then.

Postby X_Factor » June 13th, 2012, 10:23 pm

^honestly i found that the metal tile cutting disc works perfect for "cutting" off concrete/thinset the fastest and then pass back with the grinding disc for a smoother finish

btw, with the fathers day sale on amazon, u can get a pair of those grinders, landed for maybe 900 or so

and yuh missin a dust mask and hearing protection eh!...lol
and yuh missing some hearing

nice work on the windows/gates btw....

Postby pugboy » June 13th, 2012, 11:03 pm

show we some closeup of your unground beads

Postby Strugglerzinc » June 14th, 2012, 9:01 am

pugboy wrote:show we some closeup of your unground beads

Didn't take pics of the beads at the time and too late now. Word to the wise, the angle graduations on the chop saw LIES. Miter square and unclamped cuts were much better. Good thing i figured that out early.

RHS is always a pain for me anyway. Got some US Forge 7014 high fill welding rods at the time to help me along. Never been able to find those again since then.

The grinding pic was taken right before i told the picture taker outer " go get the face mask". No dust mask as it was wet grinding.

The problem with using regular discs for this sort of grinding is that you can never get the cut perfectly flat. It almost always leaves grooves on the concrete.

No such problem with the cup. Grinds perfectly flat and leaves a cool ground stone finish. Was one of those times i wish i had a 7" grinder. The 4" took forever and a half to get it done.

Postby Chimera » June 14th, 2012, 9:13 am

X_Factor wrote:btw, with the fathers day sale on amazon, u can get a pair of those grinders, landed for maybe 900 or so

please show links :|

i wantz a new grinder

Postby X_Factor » June 14th, 2012, 4:51 pm

http://www.amazon.com/Bosch-1380SLIM-2- ... Y6J9G71QYX
thats 89.00

add this
http://www.amazon.com/Bosch-T5002-10-Pi ... 822&sr=1-8

to bring it up to 100 and you get 20.00 off = 80USD + 36USD shipping + 12$ vat = 128USD

Postby Strugglerzinc » June 14th, 2012, 7:28 pm

I highly recommend the Bosch Slim grinder.

It is powerful, light and the easiest grinder i have ever come across to grip. Your hand fits comfortably around the body, even if you have small girl hands.

The only complaint is the guard is difficult to adjust and should have been tool less.

Firewall

Postby Firewall » June 15th, 2012, 9:17 pm

Just a heads up...

William h scott in town having a clearance sale on porter cable.
uploadfromtaptalk1339809432431.jpg

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » June 16th, 2012, 11:53 am

Strugglerzinc wrote:Pricesmart has this right now

$1500

i was in PS chaguanas on tuesday watching that very same 1

coulnt get a good look at it since they had it kinda high up on d shelf but for $1500 including d stand thats a vey good value ...

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » June 16th, 2012, 11:55 am

nice shots of ur work there strugglerz , reminds me when i used to do that work for a living over 10yrs ago

if u know u building quite a few pieces instead of working on d floor u shud have built a metal work table 1st & save ur legs\back from d constant bending down , it will save u ALOT of hassle & time

when i started out i got a worktable from my bro in law when he built his house , it was 4x8' x 28" tall , made out of 1" RHS & a 1\8" thick steel sheet for on top , its over 20yrs old & we still have that table up to now good as ever , then later on i made a 8x12 ft table which i place next to d 4x8 to all my work on it , comfortably built from 20ft gates to everything else on it

its true u never depend on d miter gauge on d chopsaws since they always off , i usually mark d 45 on d steel & then line up d blade to steel b4 i cut

price of chopsaws have considerably dropped compared to 10yrs when 1 was in d 3k range but nowadays i see a new milwaukee going for $1199 piper price

yrsss ago like over 12-15+ yrs RHS used to be a much thicker\better quality that u cud comfortably weld than d thin @ss crap they sell noways which burn like paper if ur not careful so u have to "spot\tack" weld it rather than try to run a continuous bead ...

Postby Strugglerzinc » June 16th, 2012, 2:52 pm

Spot weld is right then a continuous bead. And i bought the supposedly "thicker" RHS to make life easy eh.

I did actually cobble together a table after the first pic was taken and i thought to myself WTF i doing on the ground. Some old 2x4 etc. The bigger arch frame could not fit so was back to the ground for that.

Clamps also help a lot to keep the corners square. For more regular work of this nature, jigs may be appropriate as was posted a few pages back.

Postby X_Factor » June 16th, 2012, 5:56 pm

http://www.amazon.com/DeWalt-DW511-13mm ... mmer+drill

http://www.amazon.com/DEWALT-DW5470-5-P ... d_sim_hi_7

another bess combo for anyone needing a hammer drill
should cost 750 landed!!!!!

and yuh could sell me the bits for 150.00
so 600 for that drill....insane!!

aidan

Postby aidan » June 17th, 2012, 1:25 am

Looking for a laser level. Any recommendations?

[X]~Outlaw

Postby [X]~Outlaw » June 18th, 2012, 9:17 am

Anyone know where I could get a tool chest like this locally. Looking for something with at least 8 drawers and better quality than the typical "Made in China" quality.

Postby Strugglerzinc » June 18th, 2012, 8:00 pm

L&DG Tool Store