MAZDA People United

MAZDA People United - it continues here

red bwoy

Postby red bwoy » January 14th, 2008, 6:37 pm

aye ah have de list of parts you need for de conversion you could get it from protege323.com if thats easier but i already dl it for a friend the swap is reall easy like bamba said if the cars has abs better for you

villain

Postby villain » January 14th, 2008, 8:03 pm

what topic is it in protege323.com
and is it using the rear disks from a bh model and fitting it in the bj?

Bamba ZL-VE

Postby Bamba ZL-VE » January 14th, 2008, 10:27 pm

cinco wrote:can i ask why you would want that?
the fuel flow may max out before the rpm which will destroy your engine
you are better off with standalone tuning

My friend did the same swap as me, he swapped a ZM engine for a ZL-VE with S-VT but he doesn't have the original harness and computer for that engine. The harness for the ZM engine is the same as the ZL-VE, but not the computer, he needs the computer to not limit the rpms cause the ZL-VE with S-VT has a red line of 7500 rpms and the original computer limits it by 6500 rpms, so he can't use the full power of the engine. Don't worry about the S-VT, I already have that working with an Apex rpm controller, he just needs a chip for his computer so that it won't limit it. I solved it by buying a programmable computer, but he doesn't have the money to buy one.

Postby cinco » January 14th, 2008, 11:25 pm

wow
never heard of anyone trying to do that
dont know it would be worth it trying to chip it better off changing the ecu
i know the money is an issue but you will have to hold out on the ecu

villain

Postby villain » January 15th, 2008, 7:24 am

yes you can rev to 7500 with the svt but where do you make your power and max torque...?
if it is being done within the 6000 to 6500 range, would you spend all that money just to try to get it to rev to 7500 :?: dont know just throwing out an idea....

aleeassang

Postby aleeassang » January 15th, 2008, 3:52 pm

ok so let me get this straight, the OEM ECU is the one dat does not have de limiter at 6500rpm right... u gotta forgive me i'm relatively new at this :!: :!:

villain

Postby villain » January 15th, 2008, 7:24 pm

yes the oem for the zm has the rev limiter at 6500 (automatic tranny....gears you can go higher)
what happening is bamba using a zl-ve engine with can rev at 7500 but he is using a zm brain (if i have it right) which revs at 6500 (again let me stress automatic) and he wants to rev at 7500 so he wants to use a piggyback controller(if it can do it) or better yet a stand alone unit to bring up the revs....

but what i was saying is why you want to rev so high if there is a possibility that you not going to make power at that range?..
alright for eg.... zm men would normally shift at 6000 rev so that the limiter would run back down to 4000 (assuming that this is where you'll get max torque) a dyno would tell you the exact points but i hope you get my drift...

Bamba ZL-VE

Postby Bamba ZL-VE » January 15th, 2008, 7:56 pm

villain wrote:yes the oem for the zm has the rev limiter at 6500 (automatic tranny....gears you can go higher)
what happening is bamba using a zl-ve engine with can rev at 7500 but he is using a zm brain (if i have it right) which revs at 6500 (again let me stress automatic) and he wants to rev at 7500 so he wants to use a piggyback controller(if it can do it) or better yet a stand alone unit to bring up the revs....

but what i was saying is why you want to rev so high if there is a possibility that you not going to make power at that range?..
alright for eg.... zm men would normally shift at 6000 rev so that the limiter would run back down to 4000 (assuming that this is where you'll get max torque) a dyno would tell you the exact points but i hope you get my drift...

That is exactly right, I have a ZL-VE engine with a ZM ECU, the power range for the ZL-VE is 130 hp at 7000 rpms, torque comes at around 4000 rpms. Check this page for more info on all protege engines.
http://www.protegefaq.net/
That is why I need the ECU to not limit

Postby cinco » January 15th, 2008, 10:44 pm

if you get that to work man let us know that sounds like a real trick there with the zm ecu

villain

Postby villain » January 16th, 2008, 7:40 am

standalone ecu would solve that plus you could experiment with changing where the svt engages...so instead of 4000, why not engage right off the line :twisted: that is what some civic men doing...
i would go stand alone but i need my car running everyday...work and school...so i have no time for tuning and that takes alot of time and effort to achieve max results...

and bamba you ever tried to just rev to 6500 or a little less and drop to 4000 ...we do it and you have the same ecu, so try it and see if technique could save you some $$$...

aleeassang

Postby aleeassang » January 16th, 2008, 1:48 pm

OK WELL i have de ZM and mine is gears with de ZM brain so wat should i do to get de other ponies dat make the difference... reference de ECU??

villain

Postby villain » January 16th, 2008, 8:36 pm

well it have cam gears , cams pullys, lightenfly wheels etc bu you will have to search the web and bring it in yourself or organise wit h one of the power sellers on the forum to bring it in for you...
or....
you can turbo it ...5 psi max and see what you get from there....
orrr.....
try the zl head on zm block with a controller.... and see..

by the way where you get your flare kit from... :?:

mazdamig

Postby mazdamig » January 16th, 2008, 9:52 pm

aleeassang air intake system ,exhaust system ,greddy E manage, throttle body coolant bypass mod.

villain

Postby villain » January 16th, 2008, 10:12 pm

gearbox with a different ratio.... :?:
and some of the cocaine that mig using in his car :twisted:

Postby cinco » January 16th, 2008, 10:50 pm

the kit on his car look like the sport20 kit from japan
and u can ress boost on zm
they love it
hiboost.com

FullStop

Postby FullStop » January 16th, 2008, 10:58 pm

yup, heard d zm can take alot of boost

mazdamig

Postby mazdamig » January 17th, 2008, 8:00 am

villain need some cocaine because my ZL-DE leaving out his ZM-DE :mrgreen: :fist:

Who have $4000.00US for a hiboost kit

villain

Postby villain » January 17th, 2008, 4:05 pm

like you ent get cut a$$ in a long time....line it up...call me when you ready :mrgreen:

Postby cinco » January 17th, 2008, 6:27 pm

you can diy a boost kit
more fuel + more air thats all it is

aleeassang

Postby aleeassang » January 18th, 2008, 4:49 pm

actually it is ah pic of ah protege from japan!! dat pic is basically my inspiration in dis project wit my car!!

a guy wit a black protege did dat put a 1500 head on a 1600 block can't remember his name but he from central... and boy he was rippin!!

aleeassang

Postby aleeassang » January 18th, 2008, 4:55 pm

so wen is the nex meeting :?:

mazdamig

Postby mazdamig » January 19th, 2008, 9:02 am

I dont know what slower villain brain or he car :fist: :mrgreen:

Computerman

Postby Computerman » January 19th, 2008, 9:10 am

aleeassang wrote:so wen is the nex meeting :?:
Today!

mazdamig wrote:I dont know what slower villain brain or he car :fist: :mrgreen:
I know the answer to that one! Ah go tell yuh later. :lol:

BRAKES IYMC! :twisted:

aleeassang

Postby aleeassang » January 19th, 2008, 12:53 pm

computerman today when and where??

villain

Postby villain » January 19th, 2008, 2:45 pm

mazdamig wrote:I dont know what slower villain brain or he car :fist: :mrgreen:

well i really have to be slow to pick up your gurl...
but doh study it you could order another gurl over the net...(some assembly required)

mazdamig

Postby mazdamig » January 20th, 2008, 9:19 pm

go get back your B14 villainbitch :fist: :mrgreen:

villain

Postby villain » January 21st, 2008, 9:33 am

when you say villainbitch you mean villain + your girl :mrgreen:

FullStop

Postby FullStop » January 21st, 2008, 5:49 pm

people, d fightin...i taking bets on who will win,,,anyway, am allyuh know if a Greddy emanage can wire to the mazda 3 or what, i want to flick up the ignition timing and fuel supply

mazdamig

Postby mazdamig » January 21st, 2008, 10:12 pm

yes it can ghostbusters check greddy website what mod you have and what engine.

villainbitch READ READ :fist:

http://www.mazdas247.com/forum/showthre ... =123681962

FullStop

Postby FullStop » January 22nd, 2008, 12:29 am

1.6, z6v, am, nothing yet, but i want to change the stock intake, muffler pipes, i want to put an e-manage, but i read that that dont make sense unless you have some corresponding mods, what kinda gains i should expect with ignition timing and fuel adjustments, is it worth it to put in the e-manage i wanted to add a couple pounds of boost by the end of the year as well, so would it make sense to get the e-manage then, or would it help now, a guy told me that mazda ignition timing real conservative, any comments?

Return to “MAZDA”