M_2nr wrote:Some apps in iOS 4 are not working too nice. One is Quran Karim. I purchased it so i doubt anyone is using it. I think i will email the dev.
Also, i have a new issue with my custom ROM, i can't seem to add any contacts. I assume that is because i am using my old Addressbook sqlite file. >_> stueps. It works on my dad phone but not mine.zscrugby wrote:hey Bezman or anyone else who knows... how can i buy an app from the app store?
You need to use an iTunes Card. You does know the AppSync men eh
zscrugby wrote:not to sure if u misread me or not.. i have one of the old sims.. like OLD OLD.. if it broke jus buy a new one...lol.. i wud rather not waste the money to by a punch.. its pretty strainght forward.. 4 cuts an one small cut to get the slanted edge.. an yea.. u shud see how fast the facetime camera takes pics.. ill try a test now..
Trust meh, mine is older. Had it since 2004 i think. Yours is newer shaped. This was the old shape:
http://i605.photobucket.com/albums/tt133/corolla_2nr/31e35cdd.jpg
(load the image, i wont embed cuz its 1200x1600.)zscrugby wrote:to put another smile on your faces... i cant even loose one bar with this so called "death grip" and thats in fernandez industrial center in LAVENTILLE...lol... full 5 bars..
That my friend is the best news i've heard in a LONG while lol.
BTW save your 4.0 SHSH blobs eh. Don't forget.sigh, i never thought that this day would come.SRASC wrote:There must be other colourful stuff to take a pic of than flowers lol.>
who woulda think?
JWT wrote:why does the apple store in canada sell the 3gs as an 8gb and not the 16gb
Sully wrote:Do USB devices work as they supposed to via Windows when running it in parrallels with MacOS X?
(Not USB hard drives, but other devices like bluetooth dongles, etc.
Next step is to keep the task backgrounded like we did for 3G/3GS http://is.gd/dh7Jh. Backgrounded task is the unlock
zscrugby wrote:Sully wrote:Do USB devices work as they supposed to via Windows when running it in parrallels with MacOS X?
if your tryin to jailbreak your device on mac or something i suggest u install mac as a second os and not as a virtual os...
Sully wrote:zscrugby wrote:Sully wrote:Do USB devices work as they supposed to via Windows when running it in parrallels with MacOS X?
if your tryin to jailbreak your device on mac or something i suggest u install mac as a second os and not as a virtual os...
It's not that. I'm looking at getting a Mac, but I need the laptop to be compatible with an external device that's programmable via USB. There's no non-windows interface.
copper_shot wrote:guys i need some help here
first time iphone user
i bought a used iphone, 4gb Model:A1203
i went to settings and choose to delete all settings and info
when the phone restarted all i see is a pineapple icon
so i figured that has something to do with the software that was used to unlock it
i decided to do a firmware update and unlock the phone myself
but my problem is my pc won't recognise or detect the iphone
its not showing in itunes or device manager
no indiciation whenever i plug it into the pc, i already tired another iphone cable
can anybody help?
Code: Select all
Subject: HowToFix for minimal cost — hydrophobic organic thin film layer
Hi,
In truth, Apple’s explanation for iPhone 4 signal reception problem is inaccurate at best and disingenuous at worst. iPhone users are in some of the hottest and most humid parts of the country this summer and have salty, damp hands especially at events such as baseball games, barbecues, or other outdoor activities. having bare metal antennae purposely handled will absolutely short the signal. This problem will be difficult to reproduce in Apple’s labs because the engineers are required to wash their hands before touching devices, which also strips off the natural hand electrolytes that are ever-present in the field on a hot day.
Anyway, the solution is not a redesign of the phone, but rather an electrically insulating organic hydrophobic layer atop the bare metal. a variety of plastics will work, such as polyethers, polystyrenes, or nylons. you could even use the plastic labels ever-present on aluminum soda cans, which likewise have an electrically insulating effect when holding said cans. these plastic coatings can be very very thin films which do not ruin the aesthetics of the device, and would require a minimal change of your production line. More importantly, this coating in no way affects the ability to recycle the aluminum — the organic thin film layer will burn away cleanly during the aluminum remelt process. Phones that have already shipped could easily be coated with this new layer at any Apple retail store or with a simple kit you could send to your customers.
In summary, this is a problem of electrochemistry, and certainly NOT a problem of software design, nor one that can possibly be solved by a software update.
Apple needs to hire some chemists.
Best regards,
XXXXXXXXXX, Ph.D.
SRASC wrote:
AppleCare has confirmed what we already knew: The incoming software update won't fix the iPhone 4's transmission and reception problems. They acknowledged the antenna problem exists, offering the same solution as before: Buy a case or hold the iPhone differently.
I was secretly hoping that the software update would magically fix the iPhone 4's antenna design problem, because I really wanted to buy what otherwise is an great gadget. Unfortunately, the cosmetic change to the bar display—which promises to show the actual signal strength—will not fix the transmission/reception problem that countless iPhone 4 users are experiencing.
AppleCare's response
We called AppleCare three times today to confirm it. We told them that we were experiencing voice quality problems and call drops, as well as problems with internet access. Their response was immediate and unequivocal, the same in the three cases:
• There is an antenna interference problem when you hold the iPhone 4 in a certain way (the tests by Anandtech and many demonstration videos in the internet show that the signal drop will happen every time when you touch the phone's dead spot, on the left bottom corner).
• One solution is to hold the phone differently, avoiding to touch the left bottom corner of the phone (coincidentally, this is how models hold the iPhone 4 in most of Apple's promotional material).
• The other other solution is to buy a case or one of Apple's $30 bumpers (we are hosting a petition to ask Apple for free cases. You can sign it here).
• The incoming software update will not fix this antenna problem, only change the way the phone displays the available signal, make it more accurate.
While we already knew about it, the official AppleCare response is sad news. Like Gizmodo reader and former RF engineer for HP Medical products Gordon Cook said in a recent email: "Wrapping a metal antenna around a phone is simply asking for trouble, and Apple may in fact have realized too late that they had a real can of worms, so chose to release what they had instead of enduring a lengthy shipping delay. Now, after millions of phones shipped, and given the alternatives, screwing with the software is the only realistic way of fixing this, even if it's mostly cosmetic."
But cosmetic fixes will not stop the problem from happening. Apple should provide with a real fix to a design problem that ruins what could have been the best smartphone experience out there, bar none. And if they can't fix the units currently in the market, they should fix their manufacturing so this doesn't happen and at least provide with a free solution, like free bumpers or cases.
SRASC wrote:Simple way to get an unlocked/jailbroken iPhone 2G, use this custom firmware (from M_2nr).
Press Shift on your keyboard while pressing the Restore button on iTunes, select the downloaded firmware & iTunes will deal with the rest.
Travis wrote:i installed OS4.0 on my 3G... I find it moving a bit slower than when I had 3.1.2
Fixes
Perform a “hard reset.” Hold down the sleep/wake and home buttons simultaneously for roughly 15-20 seconds, until the screen powers off then an Apple logo appears, which signifies a reboot. Some users have (oddly enough) reported that performing two hard resets resolves the slowness issue.
copper_shot wrote:thanks a mil guys!!!!
this link worked just fine
http://www.ihackintosh.com/2010/02/jail ... h-redsn0w/
i'm up and running...