MAZDA People United

MAZDA People United - it continues here

Bamba ZL-VE

Postby Bamba ZL-VE » January 9th, 2008, 4:41 pm

HAHAHAHAHAH I love it when people get heated up over a little thing. :twisted: I really didn't have to tell how to do it since villain already said it. You guys are too serious, you need to loosen up a bit and know when someone tells a little joke... as I said in previous posts...
Bamba ZL-VE wrote:Thanks for that info... based on that... I'm gonna get the original one for my car, not the JDM one, it's gonna be too much money spent, I'll just have to make the S VT work the original way I intended for it and look for a chip so that my ECU won't limit my revs to 6,500 RPM cause the ZL-VE engine's redline is 7,500 RPM. Thanks to everyone for their help. When I get my car functioning I'll post here the results and answer any questions others may have about the ZM to ZL-VE swap.

What villain forgot to mention was a way to get the revs up to 7500rpms or more while using the OEM ECU... the answer is a costly one, at least for me since I couldn't find a way or a person that can change the chip in my ECU, you need a stand alone computer... Microtech or hal tech, I have Microtech. If there IS a way to chip or reset the OEM ECU so that it won't limit the revs to 6500 rpms please let me know, cause i really couln't find anything here in Puerto Rico and a friend of mine got a ZL-VE engine shipped to him without the original harness and ECU, so he wants to do the same thing I did but doesn't have the $$$ for a Microtech computer.
Thanks a bunch, and sorry for the little joke... I really didn't think people were gonna get so touchy. :pokes: I won't joke again like that. 8-)

DrGarv.

Postby DrGarv. » January 9th, 2008, 11:35 pm

where to find a manual trans for a ZL engine? and how much?

Bamba ZL-VE

Postby Bamba ZL-VE » January 9th, 2008, 11:51 pm

Any trans of either a ZL or a ZM engine will work, they r essentially the same, as for cost, over here they range from $550 to $700.

Postby wagonrunner » January 10th, 2008, 5:23 am

Bamba ZL-VE wrote:Any trans of either a ZL or a ZM engine will work, they r essentially the same, as for cost, over here they range from $550 to $700.

and that's in US$?

Bamba ZL-VE

Postby Bamba ZL-VE » January 10th, 2008, 3:13 pm

Yes... from $550 to $700 US dollars

villain

Postby villain » January 10th, 2008, 3:17 pm

Bamba ZL-VE wrote:Any trans of either a ZL or a ZM engine will work, they r essentially the same, as for cost, over here they range from $550 to $700.

1 mount is different...and the gear ratio is different...
bamba guess with gearbox would be perfect for your zl-ve....???
i know and i not telling :!:

aleeassang

Postby aleeassang » January 10th, 2008, 5:45 pm

who could i get de OEM ECU for the ZM from and for how much??

mazdamig

Postby mazdamig » January 10th, 2008, 9:27 pm

ZM ECU that hard to find

DrGarv. check the foreign used place before Grand Bazaar

TurboDrive

Postby TurboDrive » January 10th, 2008, 11:43 pm

Bamba ZL-VE wrote:HAHAHAHAHAH I love it when people get heated up over a little thing. :twisted: I really didn't have to tell how to do it since villain already said it. You guys are too serious, you need to loosen up a bit and know when someone tells a little joke... as I said in previous posts...
Bamba ZL-VE wrote:Thanks for that info... based on that... I'm gonna get the original one for my car, not the JDM one, it's gonna be too much money spent, I'll just have to make the S VT work the original way I intended for it and look for a chip so that my ECU won't limit my revs to 6,500 RPM cause the ZL-VE engine's redline is 7,500 RPM. Thanks to everyone for their help. When I get my car functioning I'll post here the results and answer any questions others may have about the ZM to ZL-VE swap.

What villain forgot to mention was a way to get the revs up to 7500rpms or more while using the OEM ECU... the answer is a costly one, at least for me since I couldn't find a way or a person that can change the chip in my ECU, you need a stand alone computer... Microtech or hal tech, I have Microtech. If there IS a way to chip or reset the OEM ECU so that it won't limit the revs to 6500 rpms please let me know, cause i really couln't find anything here in Puerto Rico and a friend of mine got a ZL-VE engine shipped to him without the original harness and ECU, so he wants to do the same thing I did but doesn't have the $$$ for a Microtech computer.
Thanks a bunch, and sorry for the little joke... I really didn't think people were gonna get so touchy. :pokes: I won't joke again like that. 8-)

Ahhhhh! :twisted: Shake the tree and watch the fruits fall. :lol:

Doh study it partner ... I was just making joke too... :oops:

press naes

Postby press naes » January 11th, 2008, 12:47 am

After the recent events this weekend between our crew members A Corn & Chip, A Corn decided to lend an ear to the peace process & made a formal apology to his good friend Chip. He wanted it to be made public that he reserves no enmity & is truly sorry for the episode over the weekend, as stated in these kind words...

(Intro: narrated)

As life goes on
I'm starting to learn more & more about responsible intoxication
& I realize that my consumption of alcoholic beverages is affecting the people around me
So I wanna take this time out
to apologize for the things that I've done
& the things that haven't occurred yet
& those things I can't remember being noid...

(singing)

Sorry for what happened last Saturday night,
when I picked on you & started a fight,
Sorry that you had to come down,
& I crashed the lime in Princes Town,
Sorry that Ray was blocking your car,
& sorry I didn't f*<# Geeta behind the bar,
Sorry for acting in that manner
& made you feel like David Banner...

...& I know that I created some problems
but I was just to drunk to care
that the last time I got some
was when I had a full head of hair
So the next time I say Villa
& you just would like to be
that 40 something year old guy
don't put that blame on me...

(Chorus)

but as I was wrong for not letting you be,
with we in Villa Capri...
So you can put the blame on me,
you can put the blame on me,
you can put the blaaammme on me,
you can put the blame on me...

Bamba ZL-VE

Postby Bamba ZL-VE » January 11th, 2008, 12:54 am

aleeassang wrote:who could i get de OEM ECU for the ZM from and for how much??

First the OEM ECU for Protege 99 LX (ZM engine) is Ford, i found it here in P.R. at $225 brand new. Don't know where u can find one in the states, but at least u have a number for prices.

press naes

Postby press naes » January 11th, 2008, 1:00 am

...asked to comment on A Corn's public apology, Chip had a short & quick response...

"... it's too late to apologize, it's too late
Ah said it's too late to apologiiiiizzzze, it's too late..."

The drama continues...

Bamba ZL-VE

Postby Bamba ZL-VE » January 11th, 2008, 1:00 am

villain wrote:

1 mount is different...and the gear ratio is different...
bamba guess with gearbox would be perfect for your zl-ve....???
i know and i not telling :!:

Actually, at least in my case, I took a look at 3 different engines, all with trany, the zl-ve, a zl-de and zm, all tranys have same mounts, i had no problem with mine, as for gearbox... mine... CUSTOM is all i can say villain :twisted: :twisted:

MAZTUNE

Postby MAZTUNE » January 11th, 2008, 8:00 am

press naes wrote:...asked to comment on A Corn's public apology, Chip had a short & quick response...

"... it's too late to apologize, it's too late
Ah said it's too late to apologiiiiizzzze, it's too late..."

The drama continues...

apology accepted boy... you real good yes! and very bored. like yuh moms and pops take d tv away from you again and d ps2 bun down, but atleast d PC working with 2 monitors... lol :D

Safeq

Postby Safeq » January 11th, 2008, 3:30 pm

I'm looking for tail lights for a GSL-SE 1st gen

Link a zoomer nah :)

nismotrinidappa

Postby nismotrinidappa » January 11th, 2008, 4:07 pm

safeq i looking for miscelleaneous parts too dred....if you come across anything let me know..

i will check on the carb stuff for you

Safeq

Postby Safeq » January 11th, 2008, 4:48 pm

Will check around for you

Check Teemal not sure if that's how it's spelt see if he can assist

620-9811

mazdamig

Postby mazdamig » January 11th, 2008, 8:17 pm

press naes you funny it's too late to apologize, it's too late :lol: :D

villain

Postby villain » January 12th, 2008, 12:55 am

mig i see a man with brembos on the bj model boy .....but he say to get a replacement he have to order it in from the net.....and it look like 4 hole and same small rotors

Cosmo Business

Postby Cosmo Business » January 12th, 2008, 6:40 am

Amen to that eh !!

Bamba ZL-VE

Postby Bamba ZL-VE » January 12th, 2008, 5:40 pm

Brembo brakes are great, but imo i think that just by replacing the existing brakes with the Protege 5 brake kit (discs in all 4 wheels) is enough, and upgrading the front brake discs with vented or slotted one or both vented and slotted like the ones on Ebay. That is what I have in my Protege, the Protege 5 brake kit + vented and slotted discs with some nice and heavy pads... I forgot the name of them cause I haven't changed them in like a year and a half. I need to buy some more cause mine are already making noises, as soon as I get them I'll post the brand. But with just that my car has really good stopping power and is really stable during hard braking, it doesn't slide.

villain

Postby villain » January 13th, 2008, 12:53 am

protege 5 is 5 hole ent?....ours is four hole...

Bamba ZL-VE

Postby Bamba ZL-VE » January 13th, 2008, 2:12 am

villain wrote:protege 5 is 5 hole ent?....ours is four hole...

Yes it is, that's what I meant by getting the Protege 5 brake kit conversion (sorry, forgot the conversion part). The brake rotors are bigger than ours, and it's not as expensive as Brembo and it isn't that much of a hard work to make it happen, but you will need at least 5 or 6 hours to do the complete conversion... at least that's what it took me and my friend to do it ourselves.

villain

Postby villain » January 13th, 2008, 9:28 am

what about abs any problems with that?

Postby cinco » January 13th, 2008, 11:12 am

if you want to do the 5 hole conversion you can use the mazda 626 also its the same size as the protege 5

Bamba ZL-VE

Postby Bamba ZL-VE » January 13th, 2008, 4:44 pm

villain wrote:what about abs any problems with that?

Since my car had no ABS to begin with I had no troubles there. I have no idea with cars that do have them, but I believe that there shouldn't be a problem since the ABS is not located at the brakes themselves, I believe it's located near the brake pump. I never taken the liberty to take a look at the ABS systems in other cars, that's why I say that I believe. If someone has reliable info on that please post it.

Postby cinco » January 13th, 2008, 5:34 pm

you will need to get the abs sensors if you have abs
the p5's in the us came with abs so it should not be a problem

Bamba ZL-VE

Postby Bamba ZL-VE » January 14th, 2008, 4:16 pm

Is there any way or a chip that will not limit the rpms or make the limit higher for a OEM ECU of a 99 Protegé?

Postby cinco » January 14th, 2008, 5:19 pm

can i ask why you would want that?
the fuel flow may max out before the rpm which will destroy your engine
you are better off with standalone tuning

red bwoy

Postby red bwoy » January 14th, 2008, 6:34 pm

villain wrote:what about abs any problems with that?

aye villain eef yuh want all da speed buy my car nah yuh gettin all yuh want an den some vvt 4 wheel disc wid abs forget de tranny use yuh gear box den yuh could finally shut mig up :D :D :D :D :D

Return to “MAZDA”