COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

Dohplaydat

Re: Novel Coronavirus - “COVID-19” - 76 cases, 3 deaths confirmed in T&T

Postby Dohplaydat » March 28th, 2020, 4:31 pm

aaron17 wrote:When is the press briefing? None on weekends?

Nope, resumes Monday i assume. Gih dem a break nah.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » March 28th, 2020, 4:33 pm

Now hearing the owner of a mini mart up by me has the covid and they can't find him.

No idea if this is true or not but I have not seen the man in weeks not even once which is strange given he does always be infront the shop.

Is there a way to verify if this is true? if someone is confirmed with a case do they then have a location of the person in our database?

Is either this is true or the next door shop owner lying and spread that bacchanal talk since they does always have bacchanal between them 2 shop owners. But I really do find it strange how me eh see the man in 2 weeks, could be nothing tho

Postby aaron17 » March 28th, 2020, 4:34 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:
aaron17 wrote:When is the press briefing? None on weekends?

Nope, resumes Monday i assume. Gih dem a break nah.

Virus don't take breaks tho.

Postby Dizzy28 » March 28th, 2020, 4:35 pm

You haven't been taking in the CMO's talks. Patient confidentiality .....you not supposed to know
EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:Now hearing the owner of a mini mart up by me has the covid and they can't find him.

No idea if this is true or not but I have not seen the man in weeks not even once which is strange given he does always be infront the shop.

Is there a way to verify if this is true? if someone is confirmed with a case do they then have a location of the person in our database?

Is either this is true or the next door shop owner lying and spread that bacchanal talk since they does always have bacchanal between them 2 shop owners. But I really do find it strange how me eh see the man in 2 weeks, could be nothing tho

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » March 28th, 2020, 4:39 pm

Dizzy28 wrote:You haven't been taking in the CMO's talks. Patient confidentiality .....you not supposed to know
EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:Now hearing the owner of a mini mart up by me has the covid and they can't find him.

WOW

So this man could really have the virus then? I really find it strange when I went in there 2 weeks ago I notice all of them workers had on face mask and gloves, then next day or 2 they never wore it again, I found that very strange. Now I hearing that around that exact same time the man tested positive and decided to go on the run and police looking for he.

So you telling me if this is true we would never know?

Ent police supposed to put out a public notice if they are looking for someone on the run armed or dangerous?

Postby aaron17 » March 28th, 2020, 4:41 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:
Dizzy28 wrote:You haven't been taking in the CMO's talks. Patient confidentiality .....you not supposed to know

WOW

So this man could really have the virus then? I really find it strange when I went in there 2 weeks ago I notice all of them workers had on face mask and gloves, then next day or 2 they never wore it again, I found that very strange. Now I hearing that around that exact same time the man tested positive and decided to go on the run and police looking for he.

So you telling me if this is true we would never know?

Ent police supposed to put out a public notice if they are looking for someone on the run armed or dangerous?

Everybody has the virus.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » March 28th, 2020, 4:42 pm

CARPHA says number of samples submitted in T&T is 500 and number of samples which tested positive is 76 and number of discharged patients is 1.

Do they re-test patients to know if to discharge?

Re: Novel Coronavirus - “COVID-19” - 74 cases, 2 deaths confirmed in T&T

Postby maj. tom » March 28th, 2020, 4:46 pm

rspann wrote:
maj. tom wrote:Well is ED family eh so hear a better explanation. She husband was never a doctor. She is one of them Trini who does go NY and boast to the small islander family back home how she get a big shot man with high education, but none of it is true. Have plenty of them.

Ed family tell him she husband is a maxi conductor and with the freshwater accent he thought she say he's a Mexican doctor.

:lol: :lol: :lol: :drinking: :angel:

devrat

Postby devrat » March 28th, 2020, 4:47 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:CARPHA says number of samples submitted in T&T is 500 and number of samples which tested positive is 76 and number of discharged patients is 1.

According to the CMO they have to show no symptoms and test negative twice.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » March 28th, 2020, 4:48 pm

I honestly can't wrap my head around why this situation is serious, yes I know it is serious but the reports made that the fatality is only 3% max just has my mind thinking this is NOT serious when it infact is. The major bodies also keep stressing its just mainly old people who going to die or cancer patients

I keep reading reports that more people die from seasonal flu every year, more die from road fatality things like drunk driving etc than Corona can kill yet the whole world on lock down.

Next thing we could hear that Dengue and Malaria is more dangerous than COVID.

Postby aaron17 » March 28th, 2020, 4:54 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:I honestly can't wrap my head around why this situation is serious, yes I know it is serious but the reports made that the fatality is only 3% max just has my mind thinking this is NOT serious when it infact is. The major bodies also keep stressing its just mainly old people who going to die or cancer patients

I keep reading reports that more people die from seasonal flu every year, more die from road fatality things like drunk driving etc than Corona can kill yet the whole world on lock down.

Next thing we could hear that Dengue and Malaria is more dangerous than COVID.

Heart disease

Postby maj. tom » March 28th, 2020, 4:55 pm

It's a new "novel" virus that humans never experienced before. There is no known cure. No known vaccine. And it's deadly contagious. The incubation time is insidiously long compared to other diseases. It is fatal for a lot of people. 4.5% is the number for COVID-19. It's higher than any other virus except SARS (10%) and MERS (35%).

And for 2003 SARS and 2012 MERS they did almost the same thing, but it was kept it check before it got too bad. This time it's out uncontained. Do not compare this to the flu, whoever telling you that wants you to believe a political narrative separate from the real scientists and doctors out there on the front lines. This is the real deal.

Postby aaron17 » March 28th, 2020, 4:56 pm

true...new

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » March 28th, 2020, 4:57 pm

^ That is interesting, heart disease and our KFC/Doubles lifestyle is more dangerous than Covid but we panic this much?

ok so assuming this is true, Drunk Driving, Heart Disease, Malaria, Dengue, Seasonal Flu etc killing way more people than COVID, why then are we panicking this much? Surely there has to be way more to this COVID? else why would we be taking it so seriously?
Last edited by EFFECTIC DESIGNS on March 28th, 2020, 4:58 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » March 28th, 2020, 4:57 pm

maj. tom wrote:It's a new "novel" virus that humans never experienced before. There is no known cure. No known vaccine. And it's deadly contagious. The incubation time is insidiously long compared to other diseases. It is fatal for a lot of people. 4.5% is the number for COVID-19. It's higher than any other virus except SARS (10%) and MERS (35%).

And for 2003 SARS and 2012 MERS they did almost the same thing, but it was kept it check before it got too bad. This time it's out uncontained. Do not compare this to the flu, whoever telling you that wants you to believe a political narrative separate from the real scientists and doctors out there on the front lines. This is the real deal.

ooh ok this does make sense

BTW Maj what are your thoughts on this being a Bio Weapon? from a scientific point of view? it have any scientist out there who believes this is a bio weapon? To me if this was a bio weapon I think it would have been a lot more deadly

Postby De Dragon » March 28th, 2020, 5:01 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:
maj. tom wrote:It's a new "novel" virus that humans never experienced before. There is no known cure. No known vaccine. And it's deadly contagious. The incubation time is insidiously long compared to other diseases. It is fatal for a lot of people. 4.5% is the number for COVID-19. It's higher than any other virus except SARS (10%) and MERS (35%).

BTW Maj what are your thoughts on this being a Bio Weapon? from a scientific point of view? it have any scientist out there who believes this is a bio weapon? To me if this was a bio weapon I think it would have been a lot more deadly

It's utter rubbish and I insist that you stop peddling that sheit now.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » March 28th, 2020, 5:04 pm

Ok this is true, heart disease really is way more deadly than Covid, I never looked at these statistics until now, just imagine our fast food diet and lack of exercise is something to panic way more than COVID 19 yet we don't at all. I guess it is because unlike heart disease COVID effects is very very quickly where as heart disease is a lifestyle choice largely and isn't contagious unless maybe hereditary.

Still tho those heart disease statistics is incredibly alarming.

https://www.cdc.gov/heartdisease/facts.htm

One person dies every 37 seconds in the United States from cardiovascular disease.1
About 647,000 Americans die from heart disease each year—that’s 1 in every 4 deaths

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » March 28th, 2020, 5:07 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:

It's utter rubbish and I insist that you stop peddling that sheit now.

I have always felt the say way about it, being just a wild conspiracy theory.

But most people using facebook believes it is a Bio Weapon and a lot of people use facebook. For instance most people these days get their news from Facebook and Watsapp, then almost everyone of these people using these social media platform who never finished high school go onto believe anything posted on facebook or watsapp to be factual and if you try to correct them they insist you are the one wrong and brainwashed.

Fake news being spread on Facebook and Watsapp is one of the most damaging things in current society for the simple fact that most people have never finished high school and will believe anything that is Anti Science.
Last edited by EFFECTIC DESIGNS on March 28th, 2020, 5:10 pm, edited 1 time in total.

carluva

Postby carluva » March 28th, 2020, 5:09 pm

So fellas, how are we doing on the SIQ so far?

I had to make a pediatrician run yesterday morning and on my way back dropped the kid home and went back by a local vege mart and a convenience store to get a few small items.

I haven't left the house since 11.30 AM yesterday.

Wifey went out today to drop some food for her mum and said that the roads were chaotic.

She'll likely stay put for a while.

I am working from home for the next two weeks (Petrochemical, but "non-essential"). The essential workers are those running the plant and a few HSSE persons. Other than that, all others are at home. So I was behind on some work this week (watching all the press conferences and any lil last minute planning). Now wrap up and catch up on some FTW.

How everyone else going so far??? I really hope all of you staying put at home and really have no need to venture out. Blessed!!
Last edited by carluva on March 28th, 2020, 5:15 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » March 28th, 2020, 5:14 pm

^ Well it has a bar up by me still open lots of social gathering and drinking rum etc. Hoping that from Monday this nonsense will stop, somehow I doubt it and police will have to intervene.

But how can they? how the bar is setup is its a parlor / liquor store at a private house that is a rental house with apartments with tables and chairs, so technically people can go drink beers, rum etc play music fete, wine and police can't do them anything since technically it isn't a bar even tho it actually is, they even have casino machines to gamble etc

About 17 people does gather there every single night, the owner smiling cause all the other bars on lock down in the area so he making all the money

Postby paid_influencer » March 28th, 2020, 5:16 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:^ Well it has a bar up by me still open lots of social gathering and drinking rum etc. Hoping that from Monday this nonsense will stop, somehow I doubt it and police will have to intervene.

But how can they? how the bar is setup is its a parlor / liquor store at a private house that is a rental house with apartments with tables and chairs, so technically people can go drink beers, rum etc play music fete, wine and police can't do them anything since technically it isn't a bar even tho it actually is, they even have casino machines to gamble etc

that place sounding like heaven now yes :drinking:

any vene?

carluva

Postby carluva » March 28th, 2020, 5:16 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:^ Well it has a bar up by me still open lots of social gathering and drinking rum etc. Hoping that from Monday this nonsense will stop, somehow I doubt it and police will have to intervene.

That sounding like a place in McBean. But ED, you should call police. Didn't Gary Griffith say to call 555 to report the same. What you waiting for Monday for?

Postby maj. tom » March 28th, 2020, 5:22 pm

Conspiracy theories are 99% always bull sheit formed by stupid people and spread by stupider people.

There are only 2 major events that I think has some merit to be suspicious about other than the official narrative, but there will never be any proof: the deeper stories hidden behind the JFK 1963 assassination, and the 2019 Epstein "suicide."

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » March 28th, 2020, 5:22 pm

carluva wrote:So fellas, how are we doing on the SIQ so far?

I had to make a pediatrician run yesterday morning and on my way back dropped the kid home and went back by a local vege mart and a convenience store to get a few small items.

I haven't left the house since 11.30 AM yesterday.

Wifey went out today to drop some food for her mum and said that the roads were chaotic.

She'll likely stay put for a while.

I am working from home for the next two weeks (Petrochemical, but "non-essential"). The essential workers are those running the plant and a few HSSE persons. Other than that, all others are at home. So I was behind on some work this week (watching all the press conferences and any lil last minute planning). Now wrap up and catch up on some FTW.

How everyone else going so far??? I really hope all of you staying put at home and really have no need to venture out. Blessed!!

Well luckily my vacation starts from next week it is 1 week vacation paid leave from work so I glad, so far I have not gotten anything much but looking to go grocery later today. I also need to get Merformin I will buy a box at the pharmacy and done.

While home I going and learn C++ Programming language, I already know C# and Javascript but C++ is a different beast by itself. I don't want to waste this time but will do some exercise with my skipping rope to further improve my physical appearance and in the process boost my immune system.

Will download some Resident Evil and Silent Hill Games, perfect time to do so as the roads will be dead like a ghost town here it will really set me in the mood every night.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » March 28th, 2020, 5:27 pm

carluva wrote:

That sounding like a place in McBean. But ED, you should call police. Didn't Gary Griffith say to call 555 to report the same. What you waiting for Monday for?

The owner is a good fella, the place is between St Helena to Las Lomas area actually. But leave them nah last 2 days for them to do that nonsense, they can't do it from Monday I doubt they that dotish. We are social creatures eh that is why we like to lime and have friends etc. Don't worry they won't do that from Monday I am positive, they won't take the chance.

Police does pass and see them and don't do anything, quite possibly because of the fact that legally it is NOT a bar. But from Monday bar or no bar, there will be no social gathering, besides is big people they supposed to have more sense than that.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » March 28th, 2020, 5:31 pm

maj. tom wrote:Conspiracy theories are 99% always bull sheit formed by stupid people and spread by stupider people.

There are only 2 major events that I think has some merit to be suspicious about other than the official narrative, but there will never be any proof: the deeper stories hidden behind the JFK 1963 assassination, and the 2019 Epstein "suicide."

Agreed, I will never ever believe Epstein committed suicide if anything that in itself should be considered a FACT that he was killed regardless of any evidence. There is noway in hell he just committed suicide given the quarantine he was under

Postby paid_influencer » March 28th, 2020, 5:38 pm

this is an aside, but that Governor Cuomo guy in New York is doing a horrible job. He delayed giving a stay-home order by a whole week. Now he's refusing the lock the geographic border around NY (despite NY being much more infected than the rest of the country).

He says he doesn't want to be Wuhan. The fact is they waited too long and now we're all screwed unless NY is locked down.

Postby paid_influencer » March 28th, 2020, 5:45 pm

screening tent set up outside Scarborough General A&E. Only 6 persons at a time, only for patients with flu-like symptoms.

It looks jokey but actually a damn good idea.
91475964_10157904886085610_1487788469609562112_o.jpg

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » March 28th, 2020, 5:49 pm

devrat wrote:
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:CARPHA says number of samples submitted in T&T is 500 and number of samples which tested positive is 76 and number of discharged patients is 1.

According to the CMO they have to show no symptoms and test negative twice.

What I was asking is if multiple tests on the same patient counts towards the 500 total tests and the 76 positives in our counts so far?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » March 28th, 2020, 5:50 pm

T&T has climbed rapidly in a short time compared to say Jamaica which has a much flatter curve.