Re: What's on the menu this Sunday?

Postby pugboy » April 13th, 2020, 8:12 pm

if yuh oven have broiler use that after to top singe it up
hope you preheat the cast iron to get the bottom char spots

screwbash

Postby screwbash » April 14th, 2020, 4:06 am

rspann wrote:El Socorro Rd almost opp unipet . Been there 60 yrs. Three generations. They make catchorie ,saheena and aloo pie and you get a cup of curry / stew mango with each purchase . People from all over come there.

i went dey once some years ago when i think vernon uses to sell before he dead and it had about 3 dogs running in an out the shop from the back all wey the man selling yes. all dat fur all over i tell he doh bodder. it used to have one on some back road too with 2 old people used to sell jus off don miguel road and it yuh used to see cats all in d kitchen area. like dese people doh know about sanitary conditions.

death365

Postby death365 » April 14th, 2020, 7:46 am

That's called flavour enhancement... It creates the flavour profile.

BTW if u feel the posh restaurants clean... Think again, them worse...
screwbash wrote:
rspann wrote:El Socorro Rd almost opp unipet . Been there 60 yrs. Three generations. They make catchorie ,saheena and aloo pie and you get a cup of curry / stew mango with each purchase . People from all over come there.

i went dey once some years ago when i think vernon uses to sell before he dead and it had about 3 dogs running in an out the shop from the back all wey the man selling yes. all dat fur all over i tell he doh bodder. it used to have one on some back road too with 2 old people used to sell jus off don miguel road and it yuh used to see cats all in d kitchen area. like dese people doh know about sanitary conditions.

Postby SR » April 14th, 2020, 8:14 am

Spann i brought the smoker in from miami

This is my 3rd one i brought in it does 6 chickens in 1 shot
The previous one did 9 but was too big for me as it only really got used aroubd xmass time for the neighbours. Ended up giving it to a friend for his restaurant and replaced with this one.

carluva

Postby carluva » April 14th, 2020, 9:22 am

What kind of brand of smoker is it?

Postby rspann » April 14th, 2020, 9:42 am

SR wrote:Spann i brought the smoker in from miami

The previous one did 9 but was too big for me as it only really got used aroubd xmass time for the neighbours. Ended up giving it to a friend for his restaurant and replaced with this one.

I have to bring in one . Mr Chow closed and eliteauto don't share . He say it finished and it finished .

Postby rspann » April 14th, 2020, 9:44 am

screwbash wrote:

That is the dogs who does bring out the pies from the back when it finished cook.

Postby Dizzy28 » April 14th, 2020, 9:52 am

The Unipet station is closer to the PBR?

I use to real be au courant with El Socorro Road back in the 90s as I used to go lessons by Ferguson when she was in the side road by the government school.

I must have bought pies from Vernon but doh remeber the cup of mango.

Postby rspann » April 14th, 2020, 10:29 am

Dizzy28 wrote:The Unipet station is closer to the PBR?

I use to real be au courant with El Socorro Road back in the 90s as I used to go lessons by Ferguson when she was in the side road by the government school.

I must have bought pies from Vernon but doh remeber the cup of mango.

Yeah that one . Children used to get the mango inside the pie though . Ferguson , you bring back memories dey boi .

Postby pugboy » April 14th, 2020, 11:23 am

Chow is for if you like the taste of kerosene like long time bread baked in pitchoil stove
you can make a charcoal smoker easy with 55gal drum, google Ugly Drum Smoker

if yuh does eat pork I go do some ribs for you soon.

rspann wrote:

I have to bring in one . Mr Chow closed and eliteauto don't share . He say it finished and it finished .

Postby *KRONIK* » April 14th, 2020, 12:11 pm

Curry crabs and cassava dumplin

Postby K74T » April 14th, 2020, 3:39 pm

Rice, callaloo, baked chicken, stewed lamb.

carluva

Postby carluva » April 15th, 2020, 2:26 pm

rspann wrote:

Make one. You can weld, not so? So get some 16" pipe (minimum diameter) and make a nice offset smoker. Lots or resources on the www to help you build one.

Use this a a good go by.

http://www.feldoncentral.com/bbqcalculator.html

I used this to do mines out of 18" pipe with 0.375 wall thickness. I made some improvisations (like a firebox that was slightly oversized) and now it works like a charm. Plus with such a thick schedule pipe, heat retention is superior to the thinner ones you get at Bhagwansingh's and this smoker will likely outlast me. I was able to get a 6 hour smoke using two chimney starters full of coals and about three "dosings" of the wood chunks. That was the year I got it actually. Now, as with everything else, I have been "learning" my smoker and with each smoke, I get a lil bit better at temperature regulation and controlling the draft through the pit.

Anyhow, enough of the nerdiness. If you going with a wood/coal burning smoker, I think you can easily make one. Electric or Gas, you are better off purchasing one.

My 2 cents.

Postby rspann » April 15th, 2020, 5:13 pm

I like the idea and it's simple enough but I will take three years to make it. Better to just buy one .

Postby maj. tom » April 15th, 2020, 6:00 pm

You know I remember seeing something like that design in the diagram selling in Pricesmart last year.
I think it was this:

https://www.charbroil.com/american-gour ... set-smoker

Postby Chimera » April 15th, 2020, 7:48 pm

Them welders begging for inside work these days. They building thing for small money
rspann wrote:I like the idea and it's simple enough but I will take three years to make it. Better to just buy one .

Postby rspann » April 15th, 2020, 8:23 pm

Yeah. Men working from home , men working under low. They glad for anything no matter how small. Men hadda live and mind family .

carluva

Postby carluva » April 15th, 2020, 8:28 pm

maj. tom wrote:You know I remember seeing something like that design in the diagram selling in Pricesmart last year.
I think it was this:

https://www.charbroil.com/american-gour ... set-smoker

These are not very good. They are made with thin metal (not really sheet metal per se), which casues three issues - the first is that the heat retention is poor. The second is that the metal warps very quickly and when this happens it cannot seal effectively and so you'll lose much heat and smoke through the gaps in the lids, which will lead to poor performance and longer cooking times. The third issue is that it rots quickly.

A friend of mines bought a charbroil from Bhagwansingh's a few years ago and he got less than 5 cooks out of it before he saw all these issues.

Many of the smoking forums online also allude to the same.

That is one of the reasons why I chose to make mines. (Well I didn't weld it off as I am not that good at welding. I more provided design oversight to the fabricators LOL). The guys who fabricated it made two at the same time and another friend who was helping out got one.

Anyhow, I'd vouch for an offset smoker any day... The added benefit of one if the improvisations I made was that the firebox is large enough for me to grill directly as well. I can easily get about 20 legs grilling, but don't as I will have one section hotter than the other. So legs will smoke for about and hour or so on the smoker section and then move to the firebox to get a little char and cook on the BBQ sauce.

Enough of this - I think I know what I'm going to do this weekend.

Postby Chimera » April 15th, 2020, 8:51 pm

Right now I have a professional welder begging for work anywhere he could get. Someone link a Bess smoker diagram na. I guh have it made.

carluva

Postby carluva » April 15th, 2020, 9:59 pm

I used this as a go by:

http://www.horizonbbqsmokers.com/backya ... sic-smoker

Plus, use the link I sent earlier: Feldon smoker calculations. This gives you all the dimensions and cut outs you need. It's excellent. I have a drawing in my flash drive for the one I did. I'll post it tomorrow.

rebound

Postby rebound » April 16th, 2020, 12:06 am

A172 wrote:tried doubles the other night
failure as expected
IMG-20200411-WA0007.jpeg
Dont give up bro...this is my 3rd try . It gets better
IMG-20200411-WA0007.jpeg
IMG-20200411-WA0011.jpeg

carluva

Postby carluva » April 16th, 2020, 4:16 pm

carluva wrote:I used this as a go by:

http://www.horizonbbqsmokers.com/backya ... sic-smoker

Plus, use the link I sent earlier: Feldon smoker calculations. This gives you all the dimensions and cut outs you need. It's excellent. I have a drawing in my flash drive for the one I did. I'll post it tomorrow.

Ok So I am not too sure if this thread is the place for this. So feel free to remove or place elsewhere, but since you asked, see photos below of the designs I did.

The first shows the section views for the 18 inch pipe, 38 inches total length.

The second is a design using 18 inch pipe, 38 inches total length.

The third is a design using 16 inch pipe, 60 inches total length.

The fourth is a design using 16 inch pipe, 54 inches total length.

The first and second ones are what mines is based on. I did make some tweaks such as a larger cutout between firebox and smoker box. I also could not get the 3 inch pipe for the chimney so I used two 2 inch pipes (like a double barrel muffler) to get the same volume flow through the exhaust as a single 3 inch pipe. The fuel access door on the firebox was also done a bit differently, but these are the tweaks.

Let your welder loose and be sure to let us see how it progresses, if you do choose to start. The hardest part is to access the pipe. I got it for free as a contractor at work had a 10 foot scrap length of 18 inch pipe lying around in his fab shop so I was able to get this. Everything else is easy to get.

You can use the websites I linked as well as these will also offer the calculations for a rectangular design if you so choose (if you can't get pipe). That could be done with steel sheet.
18 inch pipe_38 inch length 2 of 2.JPG
18 inch pipe_38 inch length 1 of 2.JPG
16 inch pipe_60 inch length.JPG
16 inch pipe_54 inch length.JPG

Postby rollingstock » April 19th, 2020, 1:33 pm

Broth time.
IMG_20200419_132837.jpg

Postby *KRONIK* » April 19th, 2020, 1:34 pm

Good ting
rollingstock wrote:Broth time.

Postby rspann » April 19th, 2020, 1:48 pm

Dais ochro I seeing dey ?

Postby Rovin » April 19th, 2020, 1:56 pm

'broth' looking good man

well i see everybody bbqing from since day 1 of d self lockdown & i eh make 1 since december so dise meh plan for this evening ...

Postby Gladiator » April 19th, 2020, 2:03 pm

I see ochro, I see kingfish,... I see Carrot , I see Provision.... madam speaker I see golden ray salt butter & when I see golden ray salt butter I need to get some of that fish broooof..... :drinking:

rollingstock wrote:Broth time.
IMG_20200419_132837.jpg

zoomedic

Postby zoomedic » April 19th, 2020, 2:57 pm

spanis food

death365

Postby death365 » April 19th, 2020, 4:45 pm

Ah made fried rice left over from yesterday... Macoroni pie and curry chicken..

Yeah I eat that type ah food wth curry

Postby rollingstock » April 19th, 2020, 4:55 pm

rspann wrote:Dais ochro I seeing dey ?

Of course.