COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

Re: COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago

Postby Dizzy28 » July 20th, 2022, 8:57 am

In work only about two people still mask up. We had a discussion last week on if to keep a mandate for the work place and I was against it as were all the other managers. Our open floor staff all unmask at their cubicles ever since the panny started so it made no sense keeping something they never cared about anyhows.

Went Movietowne last night and there was about a 70/30 mix of masked to unmasked IMO.

Postby alfa » July 20th, 2022, 9:02 am

So far everywhere I go in debe penal seeing people still fully masked. Starting to feel like the odd one out, but then again I was never one to follow trends to fit in. But everywhere I went so far it was no issues with going mask less

Postby hover11 » July 20th, 2022, 9:05 am

So far Everyone by my workplace has discarded masks, we received the email and that was it. Makes no sense tbh dealing with ppl who are maskless and you are masked in an indoor ventilated area.

Postby timelapse » July 20th, 2022, 9:09 am

S_2NR wrote:This mask thing has proven that trinis love to be told what to do and follow the crowd.

Move it to the left
Move it to the right
Put your hand in de air
Somebody scream

Didn't need masks to prove that bro.
The problem with trinis is that given a choice, they will follow the wrong crowd in this case anti-maskers and antivaxers that believe that they are free-thinking, yet still following a crowd based on feelings.
I don't follow crowds, yet I wear a mask because the science in this particular case makes sense to me.IDGAF what anybody else's opinion is.

Postby aaron17 » July 20th, 2022, 10:51 am

So ba5 mimic symptoms of food poisoning?

Postby S_2NR » July 20th, 2022, 11:28 am

timelapse wrote:
S_2NR wrote:This mask thing has proven that trinis love to be told what to do and follow the crowd.

Move it to the left
Move it to the right
Put your hand in de air
Somebody scream

Im personally done with masks unless it is required. Whoever feel they need to wear masks forever, they could go ahead. That's their choice.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » July 20th, 2022, 11:44 am

Yea I can't believe so many ppl still wearing masks FFS, not judging cuz I know there are situations where you want to be safe. But come on, most of you have had covid, 50% of you are vaccinated. Do people not want to return to regular life?

Postby MaxPower » July 20th, 2022, 11:56 am

Dohplaydat wrote:Yea I can't believe so many ppl still wearing masks FFS, not judging cuz I know there are situations where you want to be safe. But come on, most of you have had covid, 50% of you are vaccinated. Do people not want to return to regular life?

DPD,

Ever thought that the “regular life” can also now include masking?

Will Covid be the last pandemic?

What if another deadly virus comes around and that one person that is infected is around that one person that has a mask on. Any idea how many people could have been also infected if that one person wearing their mask were to get infected?

I’m not saying to be anal with the masking, but we have to understand how and where viruses spread. Wearing a mask in high traffic and unventilated areas can go a long way. You can return home and not bring what you contracted outside by simple mask wearing and basic hygiene measures.

Bear in mind DPD, the “regular life” pre Covid had alot to do with the increased cases and deaths.

Let us try to be ahead for the next pandemic to come.

Postby hover11 » July 20th, 2022, 12:14 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:Yea I can't believe so many ppl still wearing masks FFS, not judging cuz I know there are situations where you want to be safe. But come on, most of you have had covid, 50% of you are vaccinated. Do people not want to return to regular life?

DPD,

What if another deadly virus comes around and that one person that is infected is around that one person that has a mask on. Any idea how many people could have been also infected if that one person wearing their mask were to get infected?

I’m not saying to be anal with the masking, but we have to understand how and where viruses spread. Wearing a mask in high traffic and unventilated areas can go a long way. You can return home and not bring what you contracted outside by simple mask wearing and basic hygiene measures.

Bear in mind DPD, the “regular life” pre Covid had alot to do with the increased cases and deaths.

What does a cloth mask prevent though?

Postby MaxPower » July 20th, 2022, 12:35 pm

hover11 wrote:What does a cloth mask prevent though?

Hi Jason,

It depends bro on the type of cloth. You can’t expect to wear a cloth mask made from a burst up jockey and expect to be protected.

A well constructed cloth mask can help block harmful droplets in the air as it can trap the particles in the cloth’s fibers before it gets into your nose/mouth. OR if you touch someone’s phlegm, spit or snat with your hand and then touch your face, the cloth mask can protect your face. It’s just like you using a hoodie when rain is falling to protect your head from getting wet.

Postby S_2NR » July 20th, 2022, 12:40 pm

Cloth masks protect others, not yourself. Effectiveness is quite low for wearer protection compared to kn95/n95. Even surgical masks are better than cloth masks. So stop fooling yourself

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » July 20th, 2022, 1:01 pm

DPD,

Makes absolutely no sense to take so much caution right now.

So many people are becoming socially isolated due to the masks, they can't hear, they can't perceive emotions. The masks are also a constant reminder to stay away from people.

There will be other pandemics, but masks will not prevent it. People are still going to take it off and mingle once indoors and that is where it will spread. Not in the grocery or on the streets like trinis seem to think.

Might I remind you that rest of the world has abandoned masks for almost a year and nothing worse has happened there.

Postby MaxPower » July 20th, 2022, 1:16 pm

S_2NR wrote:Cloth masks protect others, not yourself. Effectiveness is quite low for wearer protection compared to kn95/n95. Even surgical masks are better than cloth masks. So stop fooling yourself

A good cloth mask can protect others AND yourself.

Answer me this…if someone with Covid spits on my hand and i touch it with my hand and place my finger in my mouth. Can i get infected Yes or No? The answer is obvious right?

What if i was wearing a cloth mask and do the exact same action, what are my chances of it entering my nose or mouth? The particles are trapped and a well constructed cloth mask can prevent me breathing in the spit stuck on the outside of the mask.

So yes, cloth masks can help, but i agree the N95/KN95/surgical are best.

Postby matr1x » July 20th, 2022, 1:23 pm

Covid is a non issue now

Postby MaxPower » July 20th, 2022, 1:27 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:

So many people are becoming socially isolated due to the masks, they can't hear, they can't perceive emotions. The masks are also a constant reminder to stay away from people.

There will be other pandemics, but masks will not prevent it. People are still going to take it off and mingle once indoors and that is where it will spread. Not in the grocery or on the streets like trinis seem to think.

Might I remind you that rest of the world has abandoned masks for almost a year and nothing worse has happened there.

D,

What “so much” caution? So much caution was wearing a mask once in public which is understandably overbearing . Restrictions are now eased alot but wearing a mask in certain areas doesn’t take much from someone.

I agree there will be other pandemics but masks may not prevent it totally but it can reduce the spread. Rest assured, that someone wearing a mask for the next deadly virus to come will not be the one taking it to their home to infect others.

Be reminded DPD, and take careful note, that whilst the rest of the world has abandoned masks for almost a year….nothing worse has happened………yet.

I for one will not be caught offguard if i continue to be careful out there.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » July 20th, 2022, 1:38 pm

aaron17 wrote:So ba5 mimic symptoms of food poisoning?

I haven't heard that, I got a few friends with BA5 right now, they said it's slightly worse than the previous Omicron (perhaps due to fading immunity) but still quite mild.

My friend's parents (vaccinated and boosted in Nov) both in the 70s got it and was fully over it a week later without any issues.

Reports from them say it starts with some fatigue and very mild sore throad, then the fever hits that lasts 2-3 days, then you're mostly back to normal and left with mild cough.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » July 20th, 2022, 1:41 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:

D,

What “so much” caution? So much caution was wearing a mask once in public which is understandably overbearing . Restrictions are now eased alot but wearing a mask in certain areas doesn’t take much from someone.

I agree there will be other pandemics but masks may not prevent it totally but it can reduce the spread. Rest assured, that someone wearing a mask for the next deadly virus to come will not be the one taking it to their home to infect others.

Be reminded DPD, and take careful note, that whilst the rest of the world has abandoned masks for almost a year….nothing worse has happened………yet.

I for one will not be caught offguard if i continue to be careful out there.

You are free to do so. People will have their reasons. If Omicron was as deadly as Delta and OG covid, then I'd do the same. Right now, covid is perhaps no more dangerous than swine flu and the flu (though more infectious).

Postby S_2NR » July 20th, 2022, 1:51 pm

I think what baffling me the most about this mask sheit is trinis are the most carefree ppl in the world... Place flooding everytime rain fall... Govt corrupt, Gas raise, food prices raise, crime is out of control. Beat up for a few days then back to normal life.

Covid is a non issue for the rest of the world but trinis taking it serious still and wearing masks everywhere even tho it's no longer required. Make it make sense.

Postby MaxPower » July 20th, 2022, 2:27 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:You are free to do so. People will have their reasons. If Omicron was as deadly as Delta and OG covid, then I'd do the same. Right now, covid is perhaps no more dangerous than swine flu and the flu (though more infectious).

Agreed.

But you have to remember that Covid did bring alot of hygiene and germ awareness.

I have accepted that Covid is no more dangerous than the flu, but i really don’t want other people’s germs. Germs are a part of life yes, but i really don’t want to be inhaling the particles from other people’s breath.

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » July 20th, 2022, 2:45 pm

S_2NR wrote:I think what baffling me the most about this mask sheit is trinis are the most carefree ppl in the world... Place flooding everytime rain fall... Govt corrupt, Gas raise, food prices raise, crime is out of control. Beat up for a few days then back to normal life.

Covid is a non issue for the rest of the world but trinis taking it serious still and wearing masks everywhere even tho it's no longer required. Make it make sense.

That's the pnm Jim Jones effect.

Alyuh see now why Kamla can't win an election

Postby redmanjp » July 20th, 2022, 4:59 pm

which countries covid is a non issue? 1st world countries that had early access to vaccines and have a much higher vax & boost rate, as well as have access to antiviral treatment at home that will also protect the unvaxxed?

Postby paid_influencer » July 20th, 2022, 5:07 pm

relative in d states tell me covid getting bad ovar dey

Postby De Dragon » July 20th, 2022, 5:22 pm

Mmoney607 wrote:
S_2NR wrote:I think what baffling me the most about this mask sheit is trinis are the most carefree ppl in the world... Place flooding everytime rain fall... Govt corrupt, Gas raise, food prices raise, crime is out of control. Beat up for a few days then back to normal life.

That's the pnm Jim Jones effect.

Alyuh see now why Kamla can't win an election

Inconvenience vs. a deadly disease? Choice is obvious.
The use of a mask has nothing to do with gas prices, food prices etc.
Although it is no longer required, some people choose to still wear them. Why is this upsetting so many people?
The rest of the world? Right now Covid is running riot in the US.
You don't want to continue mask wearing? Fine, but respect others who also took a choice.

Postby paid_influencer » July 20th, 2022, 5:22 pm

lemme make it make sense to you...

i had a dentist appointment this week, couldn't afford to miss it and actually looking forward to it (i like the dentist).
=> wear a mask

i don't want my kids to have to miss school due to illness
=> wear a mask

i work in the private sector and if i miss work, i don't get paid
=> wear a mask

i work in places with occasional dust/fumes/saharan dust and the mask prevents exposure
=> wear a mask

long-covid sounds horrible
=> wear a mask

if i get sick, who going to take care of my family?
=> wear a mask

The only reason you won't wear a mask is if you are a man-child and have no responsibilities
Last edited by paid_influencer on July 20th, 2022, 5:30 pm, edited 5 times in total.

Postby gastly369 » July 20th, 2022, 5:26 pm

paid_influencer wrote:relative in d states tell me covid getting bad ovar dey
The new ba4 ba5 is not a walk thru the park nor is it a death sentence...most will survive few may need hosplization be it vaxxed boosted natural immunity(since this varient bypassing everything)

I'll guarantee we may get a spike in infections numbers soon if any cause most is treated at home with some otc meds and small antibiotics back out in a weeks time.. I really don't see deaths rising.

All I can say just prepare for a uncomfortable irritable week if you do get it...
Last edited by gastly369 on July 20th, 2022, 5:26 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby aaron17 » July 20th, 2022, 5:27 pm

Wha is the numbers today....?
Crickets

Postby gastly369 » July 20th, 2022, 5:30 pm

aaron17 wrote:Wha is the numbers today....?
Crickets
Daily%20Covid-19%20Dashboard%20%231156%20-%2020%20July%202022.pptx_.jpg

Postby redmanjp » July 20th, 2022, 5:32 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:
redmanjp wrote:which countries covid is a non issue? 1st world countries that had early access to vaccines and have a much higher vax & boost rate, as well as have access to antiviral treatment at home that will also protect the unvaxxed?

Firstly, we have had enough vaccines to vaccinate most of the population. Yet only 50% of trinis have taken this up, who's fault is that?

We have access to the latest covid drugs (Remdenisvir and Paxlovid)

from my own private doctor? or do i have to wait till i breathless and taken to hospital?

Postby paid_influencer » July 20th, 2022, 5:33 pm

where you getting paxlovid on the island

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » July 20th, 2022, 5:44 pm

They are using paxlovid in Couva.