COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

Re: COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago

Postby adnj » July 19th, 2022, 9:39 am

MaxPower wrote:Allyuh have to remember it have containers ram packed with masks to sell.

Figure it out.
And? Lots of conjecture but not much else. Who's making it happen? Where?

I'm sure there are some nasty stores and restaurants where no one wears a mask, most don't wash their hands and some are scratching their naked assholles while they scoop up your food. You can spend your money there.

And some of you will keep going to them because those old granny panties in the corn soup is just for extra flavor.

Postby Rovin » July 19th, 2022, 11:40 am

well from what i seeing past 2 days ppl wearing masks like normal as though d mandate wasnt even lifted ...

Postby MaxPower » July 19th, 2022, 3:08 pm

Rovin wrote:well from what i seeing past 2 days ppl wearing masks like normal as though d mandate wasnt even lifted ...

Rov,

It’s really shocking but i must commend my countrymen.

At least some of us have learnt something from this pandemic.

I love wearing my mask, plenty germs and viruses are lingering out there. It also helps with sahara and road dust.

Postby alfa » July 19th, 2022, 3:28 pm

Rovin wrote:well from what i seeing past 2 days ppl wearing masks like normal as though d mandate wasnt even lifted ...

Seeing it to and wondering if it's a genuine fear of COVID or mass scale indoctrination? You know like in those videos with animals that have been caged their entire lives but afraid to venture out when finally free. Sad and scary if that's really the case

Postby hover11 » July 19th, 2022, 4:26 pm

alfa wrote:

Seeing it to and wondering if it's a genuine fear of COVID or mass scale indoctrination? You know like in those videos with animals that have been caged their entire lives but afraid to venture out when finally free. Sad and scary if that's really the case
Funny eh, when the mandate began everyone was up in arms and complaining. Now the mandate has been lifted they wearing it. How is that piece of cloth protecting you from anything? Not speaking about N95, speaking of the cloth masks which the majority are wearing but to each his own.

Postby timelapse » July 19th, 2022, 4:37 pm

alfa wrote:

I dodging chicken pox and measles my whole life.They could keep covid.I wish these mask mandates were out when I got Zika.That sheit never left me the same.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » July 19th, 2022, 4:41 pm

alfa wrote:

Could be a mix of fear, habit, fitting in and the uncertainty of where you really need to wear masks (so they wear it everywhere).

rexsmith

Postby rexsmith » July 19th, 2022, 5:02 pm

Question : to all covid recoveries what was your treatment?

Postby Chimera » July 19th, 2022, 5:18 pm

rexsmith wrote:Question : to all covid recoveries what was your treatment?
Ginger tea with lemon helps alot

Panadol for pain

Don't sleep with any air conditioning.

Postby redmanjp » July 19th, 2022, 5:23 pm

latest omicron strains like BA.5 might give u a dread sore throat too so some garlic or salt water might help as well as lozenges.

Postby redmanjp » July 19th, 2022, 5:25 pm

timelapse wrote:
alfa wrote:

I dodging chicken pox and measles my whole life.They could keep covid.I wish these mask mandates were out when I got Zika.That sheit never left me the same.

a mosquito borne virus?

Postby redmanjp » July 19th, 2022, 5:28 pm

no deaths today. but with masks off and BA5 making its name known where we headed in the next 2-3 weeks?

Postby adnj » July 19th, 2022, 5:38 pm

^^ I just read where TTO is estimated to be in another spike of unreported COVID infections with reduced hospitalization and fatalities. when compared to December 2021.
Average deaths are projected to rise for the next 4 weeks and then start to drop until November.

Prior to self-immolating at your keyboards, it is only a projection; albeit a very accurate one.

Postby redmanjp » July 19th, 2022, 5:46 pm

but even if a fraction is reported as cases a fraction of a huge number is going to be more than before. we will notice it. especially as all restrictions are off for the first time in 2 years.

Postby MaxPower » July 19th, 2022, 5:48 pm

redmanjp wrote:no deaths today. but with masks off and BA5 making its name known where we headed in the next 2-3 weeks?

No where,

The experts doing away with the masks.

We need to stop with the spike assumptions and predictions. Its always next week next week next week and nothing significant since the cases/deaths reduced to a minimum.

No deaths today is a good sign. BA5 is already here and if it was that severe, then we wouldve had more deaths by now.

The most we can do is not panic and try to be as safe as we can.

Postby adnj » July 19th, 2022, 6:04 pm

redmanjp wrote:but even if a fraction is reported as cases a fraction of a huge number is going to be more than before. we will notice it. especially as all restrictions are off for the first time in 2 years.

It's likely the predicted five to seven month COVID spike interval due to the prevalence of reinfection.; the current R0 is 1.7.

The projected COVID case peak was today; projected hospital beds usage is 96 today, peaking at 150 in two weeks. 4500 deaths by November 1st.

75% of the population is estimated to have been infected with COVID at least once.
Last edited by adnj on July 19th, 2022, 6:14 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby sMASH » July 19th, 2022, 6:07 pm

paid_influencer wrote:
matr1x wrote:This varian is much milder than any of them. All thos panic over nothing

tru

For the millionth time, what is "mild" for you is a potential death sentence for someone else :roll:
Why are we still not even acknowledging that everyone's risk is different? Is conceding any fact reducing your status in the free thinking rebellion? :?

the normal flu kills people right here in trinidad, but nobody takes that on. and it spreads in the same way as covid, and the precautions are also the same. some people take the vax for that and others dont.

if u take the vax, u can still catch covee and still spread it, and still die from it. the virulence of the new strains making taht most people gonna catch it, vax or previous infection. it dont make sense beating up against it. just take ur precautions as U see fit.

yes, covee kill more people than flu, but to those that ded from flu, it was more deadly than covee.

Postby adnj » July 19th, 2022, 6:10 pm

redmanjp wrote:no deaths today. but with masks off and BA5 making its name known where we headed in the next 2-3 weeks?

No where,

The experts doing away with the masks.

We need to stop with the spike assumptions and predictions. Its always next week next week next week and nothing significant since the cases/deaths reduced to a minimum.

No deaths today is a good sign. BA5 is already here and if it was that severe, then we wouldve had more deaths by now.

The most we can do is not panic and try to be as safe as we can.
It's right now. If you didn't get sick yet, your chances are getting better everyday. So, your old ragged asss can breathe.

But if you need to feel warm and fuzzy, the expected hit in hospitalizations and deaths is less than one-third of the December 2021 spike.

edit: and remember that it's just a statistical model.

Postby gastly369 » July 19th, 2022, 7:09 pm

redmanjp wrote:latest omicron strains like BA.5 might give u a dread sore throat too so some garlic or salt water might help as well as lozenges.
Boi nobody didn't tell me no AC

Trust me that cold dry air made thinks 1000x worst

Was fan for it rest of the days

Anyways I'm 100% feeling better tmrw will take a test to see if still positive etc

Everyone else home negative tested already

Postby matr1x » July 19th, 2022, 7:52 pm

The panic kills more people than the actual virus

Postby MaxPower » July 19th, 2022, 7:59 pm

matr1x wrote:The panic kills more people than the actual virus

X3000

Postby timelapse » July 19th, 2022, 8:36 pm

X3000
You realize you just agreed with matrix? Question all of the life choices that led to this moment.

Postby paid_influencer » July 19th, 2022, 9:10 pm

okay so I went to the mall today and it was scary.

plenty people (including security guards) without masks.

had to girt myself through it to get my errand done and not immediately run away

Postby alfa » July 19th, 2022, 9:21 pm

sMASH wrote:
paid_influencer wrote:
matr1x wrote:This varian is much milder than any of them. All thos panic over nothing

tru

For the millionth time, what is "mild" for you is a potential death sentence for someone else :roll:
Why are we still not even acknowledging that everyone's risk is different? Is conceding any fact reducing your status in the free thinking rebellion? :?

the normal flu kills people right here in trinidad, but nobody takes that on. and it spreads in the same way as covid, and the precautions are also the same. some people take the vax for that and others dont.

if u take the vax, u can still catch covee and still spread it, and still die from it. the virulence of the new strains making taht most people gonna catch it, vax or previous infection. it dont make sense beating up against it. just take ur precautions as U see fit.

yes, covee kill more people than flu, but to those that ded from flu, it was more deadly than covee.

Remember just a few years ago whenever you went to the doctor's office on any given day there was always a long line of people waiting to see him who was coughing, sneezing and complaining of ' the virus'. I'm not a virologist but I believe the flu is still around affecting people in the same numbers. Not everything is covid and I know quite a few people who survived it just fine while a cousin of mine dide from the flu in 2013. Don't buy into the mass hysteria

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » July 19th, 2022, 9:30 pm

paid_influencer wrote:okay so I went to the mall today and it was scary.

plenty people (including security guards) without masks.

had to girt myself through it to get my errand done and not immediately run away

Welcome to how the moet of the rest of the world lived for the last year.

You will survive don't worry.

Postby paid_influencer » July 19th, 2022, 9:35 pm

alfa wrote:Remember just a few years ago whenever you went to the doctor's office on any given day there was always a long line of people waiting to see him who was coughing, sneezing and complaining of ' the virus'.

why do people want to go back to that

just wear the mask. wear your masks everyone

Postby sMASH » July 19th, 2022, 9:45 pm

Opinion box had said that. The mental got to them

Postby sMASH » July 19th, 2022, 9:47 pm

paid_influencer wrote:
alfa wrote:Remember just a few years ago whenever you went to the doctor's office on any given day there was always a long line of people waiting to see him who was coughing, sneezing and complaining of ' the virus'.

why do people want to go back to that

just wear the mask. wear your masks everyone
Neh.

U wear urs as ur token of 'i stand with covid'

Masks not doing one f*. Watch the trends in the next week....

Postby j.o.e » July 19th, 2022, 9:54 pm

I’ve been a strict mask wearer but I’m also a limer so in bars and restaurants I’m not wearing a mask of course. I’m not fearful of covid but respect anyone who wants to wear masks still. Yesterday I walked into a grocery (medium sized one in my area not one of the big chains) with no mask and saw a family look at me in shock. Time to move on

Postby S_2NR » July 20th, 2022, 8:50 am

This mask thing has proven that trinis love to be told what to do and follow the crowd.