maj. tom wrote:If you're downloading straight off the play store, I don't think you have to worry about viruses. If you've rooted your phone and you've checked that option to allow non-market apps to install on your phone, then yes you have to be cautious. You could download some rogue apk that will have access to your root. You want that?
Besides packages like Lookout and Comodo mobile is not just antivirus. They have other protection like Anti-theft phone lock and erase if stolen, and GPS/A-GPS locater with alarm and remote messages, which will be quite useful now in Trinidad with an active 3G/4g network. Like I said earlier, I use Comodo because they give you an entire quality suite for free, while other apps you have to pay for the extra services. This is a good breakdown of what's offered out there: https://m.comodo.com/comparison.php and no I'm not advertising for anybody.
sentraman wrote:Ok people I am looking for a 10" tablet. What are the best options. Brand does matter.
stev wrote:anti virus for android devices? steups....big waste of time IMO
correct me if i am wrong but d only way a cracker can mess up ur device if if U choose to install an unknown or 'to good to be true' CRACKED app.
even so, mobile antivirus wudnt be able to pick it up until after it is installed, then it wud already be too late.
edit: if anyone has to correct me, plz state ur source and proof.
chaosking121 wrote:stev wrote:anti virus for android devices? steups....big waste of time IMO
correct me if i am wrong but d only way a cracker can mess up ur device if if U choose to install an unknown or 'to good to be true' CRACKED app.
even so, mobile antivirus wudnt be able to pick it up until after it is installed, then it wud already be too late.
edit: if anyone has to correct me, plz state ur source and proof.
I'm not going to comment on the issue of viruses for android, but those antivirus apps offer a lot of other features such as automatic backup of data as well as remote lock/alarm/wipe of data. They also offer lost device location and other security features, not just virus detection.
Also, Lookout can scan APK files before you install them. Never installed anything particularly risky, so I can't directly vouch for its detection prowess.
Sent from my Iconia A500 using Tapatalk 2 Beta-6
The rest of the current generation of Galaxy Tabs are mediocre (except for the 7" ones).
achillies wrote:Okay
I remember a few of the HTC One X users talking about multitasking being weird with that device, and apss needing to reload when you open them, well Android Central has the explanation for this behaviour. The link to the article is below
Multitasking on the HTC One X isn't broken, it's customized
achillies wrote:Okay
There has been an update to the HTC Memory management issue, link below
HTC: Sense 4 multitasking and memory management working as designed
Jonathan_337 wrote:The first article was good. It's true though, HTC has too much concentration on its UI and not the background processes. Main reason I wanna root and flash around soon, to see how performance is when it's tweaked by the respective developers. I've heard about some amazing custom roms for it.
They pushed out an update last night that resolved screen flicker and multitasking (somewhat) though.. Browser (chrome beta I'm using) isn't nearly as bad and I don't use sense.. And I'm seeing a lot more free ram.. About 1.5-2x the amount of ram I'd previously have. Waiting till after my exams to flash android revolution.
This makes a nice read as well --->
http://www.redmondpie.com/heres-why-and ... s-phone-7/
geodude wrote:so i was looking at getting a Samsung Galaxy S2 and while on ebay i realised that many of them had an issue known as a bad esn,
what does a bad esn mean?
how does this affect the phone ?
and if this issue fixable?
i have been searching on many sites but not getting any use full info i searched this thread also but got nothing any or your tuners know about this and care so shed some light?
achillies wrote:Jonathan_337 wrote:The first article was good. It's true though, HTC has too much concentration on its UI and not the background processes. Main reason I wanna root and flash around soon, to see how performance is when it's tweaked by the respective developers. I've heard about some amazing custom roms for it.
They pushed out an update last night that resolved screen flicker and multitasking (somewhat) though.. Browser (chrome beta I'm using) isn't nearly as bad and I don't use sense.. And I'm seeing a lot more free ram.. About 1.5-2x the amount of ram I'd previously have. Waiting till after my exams to flash android revolution.
Ummm, no
You should use Google+ (if you don't already) and follow Dianne Hackborn (Google Android framework engineer) & Jean-Baptiste Queru (Google Android Open Source Project), they are "current" employees of Google and work directly on Android, the article above was based upon information from an ex-Google Intern, it's up to you who you chose to believe, especially when the ex-Google Intern admitted to being wrong about what he wrote, he edited his post to say that after his theories were proven to be incorrect by Hackborn and a few others.
Andrew Munn admitting he was wrong
Have a read.
achillies wrote:Jonathan_337 wrote:The first article was good. It's true though, HTC has too much concentration on its UI and not the background processes. Main reason I wanna root and flash around soon, to see how performance is when it's tweaked by the respective developers. I've heard about some amazing custom roms for it.
Ummm, no
You should use Google+ (if you don't already) and follow Dianne Hackborn (Google Android framework engineer) & Jean-Baptiste Queru (Google Android Open Source Project), they are "current" employees of Google and work directly on Android, the article above was based upon information from an ex-Google Intern, it's up to you who you chose to believe, especially when the ex-Google Intern admitted to being wrong about what he wrote, he edited his post to say that after his theories were proven to be incorrect by Hackborn and a few others.
Have a read.
Jonathan_337 wrote:achillies wrote:Jonathan_337 wrote:The first article was good. It's true though, HTC has too much concentration on its UI and not the background processes. Main reason I wanna root and flash around soon, to see how performance is when it's tweaked by the respective developers. I've heard about some amazing custom roms for it.
Ummm, no
Have a read.
Yeah I know.. That article as well as another was linked at the bottom. I posted the first cuz its how I used to previously think.. Just thought it'd be good to outline what it really is from what it seems.
Chiney wrote:http://www.trinituner.com/v3/forums/viewtopic.php?f=11&t=440130
what do you guys think?