K74T wrote:20210119_080118.jpeg
Competition is always good. All subisides should go but, duties and taxes on engines sizes should be reduced or removed...Redman wrote:Unipet was the first step in what was supposed to be the liberalization of the fuel market .
Including removal of the fuel subsidy
So yes...full bore competition
Dizzy28 wrote:Cliff's of the press conference??
Habit7 wrote:Dizzy28 wrote:Cliff's of the press conference??
Patriotic's RBC card is saying "insufficient funds."
Habit7 wrote:Dizzy28 wrote:Cliff's of the press conference??
Patriotic's RBC card is saying "insufficient funds."
Redman wrote:I'm hearing Shell with gas stations thrown in
sMASH wrote:*suddenly a wild massey appears*
Redman wrote:Some one lying
If owtu did not have the money why were they shortlisted?
If govt needed cash upfront why change the terms of the 700m that owtu won preferred bidder?
What changed?
Numb3r4 wrote:Does anyone have a summary of the OWTU response?
An hour and a half is a bit too long.
Redman wrote:Some one lying
If govt needed cash upfront why change the terms of the 700m that owtu won preferred bidder?
What changed?
But why intentionally butcher the deal?The_Honourable wrote:Numb3r4 wrote:Does anyone have a summary of the OWTU response?
An hour and a half is a bit too long.Redman wrote:Some one lying
What changed?
From what I gather, basically is like this:
Apparently Patriotic initially had both types of financing required: purchase price financing from Citibank and restart financing from Trafigua.
Imbert representing the government announced that Patriotic was the preferred bidder in Sept 2019 since Patriotic wanted to make an upfront cash payment of USD $700M which would have been financed by Citibank.
In that same announcement, Imbert stated that Patriotic was granted a three year moratorium on principal and interest and a further ten years to complete the payment of $700M for the refinery. The idea behind this is that once the agreement is signed off, Patriotic would focus on using Trafigua's funds to refurbish infrastructure and restart the refinery. This also meant that Patriotic didn't need financing from Citibank anymore to make an upfront 700M payment. Once the refinery is back up, the revenue will be used to pay off the 700M across 10 years.
Unknowing to Patriotic, the assets of petrotrin (most) including the refinery was encumbered meaning that bondholders had a lien on the assets. All debts to the bondholders are to be paid off, and once that is done, the assets would be released to the state free from all encumbrances. The bondholders got word on that offer imbert mentioned in Parliament and was against it. Then covid happened.
Patriotic was still pursuing the refinery which the government didn't really expect during covid. Patriotic were still under the impression that the 700M payment across 10 years was the agreed deal until attorney letters and a document online stating that there was a lien on the refinery. The only way Patriotic could get the refinery is that they have to get purchase price financing which they had in the first place with Citibank who more than likely wasn't interested anymore. Patriotic eventually found RBC as a potential financier but they needed time to go through the whole deal + lien which would have taken months therefore would not commit to anything. Credit Suisse was also interested to be a financier as they are aware of the assets and the bondholders which meant they would have provided financing faster than RBC. As Patriotic had to hustle to find the upfront payment which they don't have now, deadline reach and it was on that basis the Government blank them.
Now we does clown OWTU, but for them to get Citibank initially now RBC and Credit Suisse to the table for purchase price financing while Trafigua remain committed throughout to provide restart financing, I have to give them kudos. By making that offer in Parliament without discussing with the bondholders first, Imbert and the government butchered the deal. They should have just taken the 700M upfront payment immediately from Citibank... bondholders paid off, refinery off their hands, and Patriotic would have been in the middle of refurbishing the refinery with Trafigua funds.
Redress10 wrote:Why alluh does be so against Massy owning things and not Ansa Mcal? Ansa Mcal owns a whole media company and you all don't see anything wrong with that. You even know who owns Massy?
Venezuela not gonna own no refinery outside of Venezuela anytime soon. This venezuela talk is stupid and you have to be a retard to believe that venezuela would trust an insignificant entity such as TT with such sensitive information and motives. Alot of you all are living in a dreamland.
De Dragon wrote:Redress10 wrote:Why alluh does be so against Massy owning things and not Ansa Mcal? Ansa Mcal owns a whole media company and you all don't see anything wrong with that. You even know who owns Massy?
Venezuela not gonna own no refinery outside of Venezuela anytime soon. This venezuela talk is stupid and you have to be a retard to believe that venezuela would trust an insignificant entity such as TT with such sensitive information and motives. Alot of you all are living in a dreamland.
No one is against them owning anything, provided that their ownership is on the up and up, and not as a result of bribes, and bid rigging.
Habit7 wrote:The one thing I am glad for is govt's intention not to spend a cent more on that refinery.
However, trying to sell that refinery now is like trying to sell an airline now with an old fleet. Firstly, despite the best bacchanal rumours, not local company with no experience in oil refinering is going to spend half a billion TTD. To claim that Massy or Ansa McAl wants it is dotishnes.
Secondly, it took St Croix 8yrs to get their refinery operational before the pandemic. Aruba is struggling too. Refining oil in the Caribbean is risky as you will have to import the crude oil and sell relatively small quantities.
Thirdly, the world's energy profile is changing. We have gone past peak demand for oil products. If Trinis are serious about diversification, then we need to understand that while we might still have a future with oil and gas, refining is not part of it.