Re: Property Tax in Trinidad & Tobago

Postby wing » March 10th, 2024, 5:56 pm

j.o.e wrote:
wing wrote:
matr1x wrote:And then send the human excrement to central and south

Well that was a tad harsh.
But to be fair, shiddy ppl can be found anywhere and everywhere bro, and are legally free to live anywhere and everywhere.
dbu about it.
You never know, a former Beethamite may just move down south, and that may turn out to be just the catalyst he/she needed to become a pillar of excellence and a role model for society.

Or maybe not

But yuh never kno
They already here...in Tarodale, Embacadere, Trainline, St. John, Windsor park, Pleasantville and others. And that's just around Sando.

Where is Windsor Park? Never heard of it and I’m from Sando
Inside of Diamond road in Claxton bay. It's along the route to Savonetta/Pt Lisas. Big drug block and pest nest.

Postby Habit7 » March 11th, 2024, 10:15 am

It seems like some ppl here come for actual factual info on property tax and some just want to have their biases reenforced.

If you don’t like my posts then block your eye. PNM don’t need to pay anybody to crush your hopes and dreams. As far as they are concerned you are already in the minority for the last 9 yrs.

If you don’t believe the govt will follow the law as to how they will allocate property tax then don’t tell me you believe they will follow the law to implement property tax. You can’t have one and not the other on an ongoing basis. If the govt is not going to follow the law then you have no obligation to paid property tax and your angus is safe.

So continue to accept the excuse from your Opposition local govt that they never have enough money while they oppose the means for them to be given money directly.

Postby alfa » March 11th, 2024, 10:23 am

Habit7 wrote:It seems like some ppl here come for actual factual info on property tax and some just want to have their biases reenforced.

If you don’t like my posts then block your eye. PNM don’t need to pay anybody to crush your hopes and dreams. As far as they are concerned you are already in the minority for the last 9 yrs.

If you don’t believe the govt will follow the law as to how they will allocate property tax then don’t tell me you believe they will follow the law to implement property tax. You can’t have one and not the other on an ongoing basis. If the govt is not going to follow the law then you have no obligation to paid property tax and your angus is safe.

So continue to accept the excuse from your Opposition local govt that they never have enough money while they oppose the means for them to be given money directly.

Since paid PNM blogger Rhonda Bharat disappear from the scene I find you mysteriously reappear after a long hiatus. Coincidence :|

Postby Chimera » March 11th, 2024, 10:32 am

bluefete wrote:
matr1x wrote:I hearing a word that the influencer who went up in lavantille was paid and it was a stunt by a minister

Allegedly.

What the have to do with property taxes? It's a trick to steal land

Yuh know how long they looking to thief land in Laventille - especially up the hill with the 1% view.

Laventille, Sea Lots, and Beetham.
If yuh kno how BAAAAAAAAAD certain people want to get people out and take control them areas, especially Sea Lots.

a few years now the ministry of works doing proper drainage and sewer system in beetham, soon you will see they moving out batches of the residents and giving them apartments and houses in the many many hdc areas they rushing to complete before election. look how they working nonstop on the edinburgh 500 hdc towers
i see in a good few hdc housing areas they working nonstop to build new houses on empty land even though it have houses that unoccupied and falling apart in the same housing scheme.

then after election that prime beetham land going to be sold/given to financiers

is a win win win

PNM votes in marginal or UNC areas

plus access to the land in beetham

cuz they cud never move in and bulldoze that land unless the residents feel they get a good deal

Postby 88sins » March 11th, 2024, 10:35 am

Habit7 wrote:It seems like some ppl here come for actual factual info on property tax and some just want to have their biases reenforced.

If you don’t like my posts then block your eye. PNM don’t need to pay anybody to crush your hopes and dream
s. As far as they are concerned you are already in the minority for the last 9 yrs.

Does this mean you on here spouting all that mindless drivel for free?

Postby alfa » March 11th, 2024, 10:37 am

bluefete wrote:
matr1x wrote:I hearing a word that the influencer who went up in lavantille was paid and it was a stunt by a minister

Allegedly.

Yuh know how long they looking to thief land in Laventille - especially up the hill with the 1% view.

If yuh kno how BAAAAAAAAAD certain people want to get people out and take control them areas, especially Sea Lots.

What's the deal with sea lots? I thought there was a chit hole. It's in the middle of the city so I can't see it being used for upscale housing or anything like that, and of course Beetham has a massive dump in its midst. Why would anyone want those places and why would PNM risk fragmenting their greatest voter bank?

Postby Habit7 » March 11th, 2024, 10:38 am

alfa wrote:

Since paid PNM blogger Rhonda Bharat disappear from the scene I find you mysteriously reappear after a long hiatus. Coincidence :|

1. Rhoda hasn’t disappeared, she is still active on X
2. Even if I am a paid blogger, what have I said that is objectively wrong?

Stop being women and avoiding the facts but only dealing with how it emotionally makes you feel.
You can’t dismiss facts by attributing improper motives. Refute what I am saying, not my perceived motives.

triniterribletim

Postby triniterribletim » March 11th, 2024, 10:59 am

Saw this floating around, supposedly from someone who worked for the valuation division. Not sure how true it is, so take it with a grain of salt.

I worked at the valuation division last year, and the entire assessment roll is in a mess because of duplicates and incorrect information. There are persons receiving 2 and 3 notice of assessments to pay their property tax for the SAME property, but they all have different amounts to pay and sometimes errors with their name or address.

Citizens are required to pay all 3 no matter the amount, even though it was clearly an error. Citizens can submit an objection form, but you are still required to pay until they can do an investigation, which can take months or years due to the high number of objections.

If you did not submit your property information at the valuation division, you will still receive a notice with the ARV. However, the map that they use to find each building has NOT been updated since 2014. So if your house was built after 2014 most likely it will not show up on the map and will not be assigned a PIN unless they did a curbside visit of the street and took photos of every building.

There's a high possibility that they did not capture every property built after 2014, especially in "Hotspot" areas where they can not physically visit to map the GPS coordinates.

The government does not care about mistakes they care about collecting as much money as possible before elections.

Postby Dizzy28 » March 11th, 2024, 11:25 am

triniterribletim wrote:Saw this floating around, supposedly from someone who worked for the valuation division. Not sure how true it is, so take it with a grain of salt.

I worked at the valuation division last year, and the entire assessment roll is in a mess because of duplicates and incorrect information. There are persons receiving 2 and 3 notice of assessments to pay their property tax for the SAME property, but they all have different amounts to pay and sometimes errors with their name or address.

Citizens are required to pay all 3 no matter the amount, even though it was clearly an error. Citizens can submit an objection form, but you are still required to pay until they can do an investigation, which can take months or years due to the high number of objections.

If you did not submit your property information at the valuation division, you will still receive a notice with the ARV. However, the map that they use to find each building has NOT been updated since 2014. So if your house was built after 2014 most likely it will not show up on the map and will not be assigned a PIN unless they did a curbside visit of the street and took photos of every building.

There's a high possibility that they did not capture every property built after 2014, especially in "Hotspot" areas where they can not physically visit to map the GPS coordinates.

The government does not care about mistakes they care about collecting as much money as possible before elections.

Last week on of my friends living in the Crossings in Arima told me she got 2 notices with two different values for her home and two different spellings to her and her husband's name. Dunno about the having to pay on all the notices you receive but yes people are receiving multiple notices with varying values.

Postby 88sins » March 11th, 2024, 11:31 am

alfa wrote:
bluefete wrote:

Allegedly.

What's the deal with sea lots? I thought there was a chit hole. It's in the middle of the city so I can't see it being used for upscale housing or anything like that, and of course Beetham has a massive dump in its midst. Why would anyone want those places and why would PNM risk fragmenting their greatest voter bank?

2 things

Thing 1-Sea lots by itself isn't significant enough to any party to cause worry. It's just a very small fragment of an extremely large pnm voter fan base. Technically yuh could say nearly the whole of the stretch from carenage to arima is pnm, with the exception of a few places along the way being either devout unc or divided and swinging like a pendulum.

Thing 2- the possibilities for development in that area are varied, especially when you consider the size and location, & the landfill isn't close enough to be a major concerning factor. Can facilitate anything from commercial and industrial use to residential, even (if you can manage to source the coin to pull it off), a harbor/boatyard/privately owned seaport). The only problem is how to get rid of the people who live there.

Postby matr1x » March 11th, 2024, 12:32 pm

alfa wrote:
bluefete wrote:

Allegedly.

2 things

Thing 1-Sea lots by itself isn't significant enough to any party to cause worry. It's just a very small fragment of an extremely large pnm voter fan base. Technically yuh could say nearly the whole of the stretch from carenage to arima is pnm, with the exception of a few places along the way being either devout unc or divided and swinging like a pendulum.

Thing 2- the possibilities for development in that area are varied, especially when you consider the size and location, & the landfill isn't close enough to be a major concerning factor. Can facilitate anything from commercial and industrial use to residential, even (if you can manage to source the coin to pull it off), a harbor/boatyard/privately owned seaport). The only problem is how to get rid of the people who live there.

Getting rid of them would be no big loss, just tell them beetham gardens coming to take their stuff.

Postby VexXx Dogg » March 11th, 2024, 2:35 pm

triniterribletim wrote:Saw this floating around, supposedly from someone who worked for the valuation division. Not sure how true it is, so take it with a grain of salt.

Last week on of my friends living in the Crossings in Arima told me she got 2 notices with two different values for her home and two different spellings to her and her husband's name. Dunno about the having to pay on all the notices you receive but yes people are receiving multiple notices with varying values.

Chaos

Postby The_Honourable » March 11th, 2024, 4:27 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:

Chaos

The duplicate valuations are true, family received it also and to be corrected.

The first valuation letter has the correct info with the 2017 PIN, which was the year when information was first submitted to the division. Some weeks later, we got another valuation letter with a 2022 PIN with the incorrect surname for the same property. Then we remembered that TTPost some years ago send us our new postal/zip code with the exact surname error.

So, I suspect the TTPost database has been shared with valuation division where those ojt's are populating duplicate information on the rolls.

Postby Chimera » March 11th, 2024, 5:15 pm

So impsbert probably expecting double the taxes than what really due?

Postby 88sins » March 11th, 2024, 6:19 pm

Chimera wrote:So impsbert probably expecting double the taxes than what really due?

Don't be giving the nitwit on the platform ideas to carry back to the leprechaun.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » March 14th, 2024, 12:46 pm

Any truth to this ?
IMG-20240314-WA0218.jpg

Postby K74T » March 14th, 2024, 2:10 pm

FB_IMG_1710439745574.jpg

Postby Dizzy28 » March 14th, 2024, 2:21 pm

Election goodie or just administrative delays?

Postby The_Honourable » March 14th, 2024, 2:23 pm

Plenty speculation online for the cause... from reducing the tax to 2%, to postpone collections after election, to an imminent snap election.

I'll say admin delay. Also I think the queries are overwhelming causing the process to halt.

Postby pugboy » March 14th, 2024, 2:29 pm

ppl started paying already?

Postby maj. tom » March 14th, 2024, 2:29 pm

Well then, we off to the IMF then according to King Liar.

https://newsday.co.tt/2024/03/06/pm-stalled-property-tax-revenue-authority-can-send-tt-to-imf/
THE Prime Minister says the Government's inability to implement the property tax and the establishment of the Trinidad and Tobago Revenue Authority (TTRA) could deprive Trinidad and Tobago of much-needed revenue and cause it to seek help from the International Monetary Fund (IMF).

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » March 14th, 2024, 3:12 pm

They trying so hard to tax Yuh, they can't even get it right
IMG-20240314-WA0251.jpg

Postby Dave » March 14th, 2024, 3:24 pm

Keep the original format. At least something running and add a 15% to say it had an increase but abolishing and reinventing shows how clueless and pointless they can be as they can't even implement.

Postby 88sins » March 14th, 2024, 6:47 pm

Could be due to an overwhelming number of queries and objections. I mean, can't demand people pay when there's multiple assessments for a single property, ridiculous valuations, hundreds or thousands of queries and objections and so on. But I'm more inclined to believe that it's not just that.

I'm thinking that the pnm simply doesn't want to take the risk to start demanding property tax a year and a half away from elections. Most people would prefer to NOT have this tax forced upon them, and if they do, they gonna upset a lot of their loyal voters. So I think it's a play for time, and thatbIMMEDIATELY after elections and they gt and back in office, prepareth thee thine angus.
Same reason why all of a sudden ALL talk about increasing the retirement pension age to 65 came to a screeching halt, just as abruptly and unexpectedly as it was proposed.

It's understood, politicians here don't give a good God damn about nobody and other than enriching themselves the one thing that they care about very much is their chances of winning elections, and they aint about to take any action that could negatively impact their chances.

Postby pugboy » March 14th, 2024, 7:00 pm

this like how they make a mess of ful renewals

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » March 14th, 2024, 7:05 pm

So it's now going to be 2% BUT.....

That 2% doh really say nothing....just chupid pnmites would fall for it...valuation division just have to hit you a higher ARV and is more money you have to pay!!!
IMG-20240314-WA0421.jpg
IMG-20240314-WA0422.jpg

Postby paid_influencer » March 14th, 2024, 7:09 pm

PNM pursuing property tax

against UNC - no change

against UNC & NTA - no change

against UNC & NTA & PEP - suspended with immediate effect

we could do this fellas

Postby Habit7 » March 14th, 2024, 8:09 pm

At 2% my annual payment went from $1022 to $681.

But this makes them look flaky and weak. They have bowed to pressure. They can now face calls for total removal of PT. But it also a land mine for if they lose in 2025. The next government will either have to reduce it even further or remove it. They still return to the same problem of local govt being underfunded.

Postby bluefete » March 14th, 2024, 8:20 pm

Habit7 wrote:At 2% my annual payment went from $1022 to $681.

But this makes them look flaky and weak. They have bowed to pressure. They can now face calls for total removal of PT. But it also a land mine for if they lose in 2025. The next government will either have to reduce it even further or remove it. They still return to the same problem of local govt being underfunded.

The first good thing you have written in a while. LOL.

Postby Habit7 » March 14th, 2024, 8:24 pm

bluefete wrote:
Habit7 wrote:At 2% my annual payment went from $1022 to $681.

The first good thing you have written in a while. LOL.

Thanks bluefete, coming from you that compliment means nothing.