Re: PC Tech/Gaming Info Thread

Postby Chiney » November 3rd, 2011, 9:28 pm

Yeh dred!

Dude. 2 nvidia gtx295 in quad sli wants nothing with this. Keep guessing :p

Postby Ronaldo95163 » November 3rd, 2011, 9:38 pm

Can you give us another hint :P ATI or nVidia?

I'll take a few guesses

GTX 590
GtX 580
ATI 6970

salvation4U

Postby salvation4U » November 3rd, 2011, 9:49 pm

nah no hints

I knew it was not a geforce 295gtx because i only seeing one DVI port and not 2

So I have to say it is an ATI dual gpu card due to the location of the DVI port(2) (and of course the 2cores)..

I assume it has 1 or 2 dvi/vga i cant see the 2nd and hdmi ports and is definately a HD6000 series

Kinda hard to say which model by just the underneath

Is definitely a ati cause i knw what a nvidia looks like ...gd luck with the drivers..
Last edited by salvation4U on November 3rd, 2011, 9:58 pm, edited 1 time in total.

salvation4U

Postby salvation4U » November 3rd, 2011, 9:52 pm

gracen wrote:Can you give us another hint :P ATI or nVidia?

I'll take a few guesses

GTX 590
GtX 580
ATI 6970

A 590 is freaking $5000 3gb nobody is smart enough to buy that :)

STORM1234

Postby STORM1234 » November 3rd, 2011, 9:54 pm

whatever it is it's dual gpu solution in a single card, 4gb of gddr5, 256bit.

my guess is that it's a 6990

if u look at the video below @5:49 the yellow sticker is at the same location and same shape as well, plus screw loc's match as well.

Last edited by STORM1234 on November 3rd, 2011, 10:04 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Ronaldo95163 » November 3rd, 2011, 9:55 pm

salvation4U wrote:
gracen wrote:Can you give us another hint :P ATI or nVidia?

I'll take a few guesses

GTX 590
GtX 580
ATI 6970

A 590 is freaking $5000 3gb nobody is smart enough to buy that :)

:rofl: we may never know :P

salvation4U

Postby salvation4U » November 3rd, 2011, 10:04 pm

he want us to believe it is a 6990...dont be fooled

wait

It is a radeon 6990 :shock:

I humbly bow in your presence :)

salvation4U

Postby salvation4U » November 3rd, 2011, 10:08 pm

a 6990 is similar to the gtx590 but it cost a little less, uses less power...has eyefinity.. has more memory 4gb but if money wasnt a problem gtx590 but a 6990 is nice though

Chiney

Postby Chiney » November 3rd, 2011, 10:51 pm

it is the VisonTek 6990

as a matter of fact, it IS faster than the nvidia gtx 590, because they were both in my cart and well after 2 days of nothing but dual gpu reviews, AMD has done it yet again with their dual cpu cards.. only time the gtx 590 tries a thing on the 6990 is where heavy tessellation and phys-x is present, i got a dedicated nvidia GPU for that...so..... i am good to freaking go! as well i am considering 2 of these for eyefinity reasons...

this card will also be water cooled.

the ting feels like an entire pc in your hands!.......

salvation4U

Postby salvation4U » November 3rd, 2011, 10:57 pm

^^that my friend is awesome

Chiney

Postby Chiney » November 3rd, 2011, 11:00 pm

i know dread.. i jus have a waiting game, my other parts are still in transit

sold off my last rig to upgrade

jumpkickjoe

Postby jumpkickjoe » November 3rd, 2011, 11:09 pm

Chiney wrote:it is the VisonTek 6990

as a matter of fact, it IS faster than the nvidia gtx 590, because they were both in my cart and well after 2 days of nothing but dual gpu reviews, AMD has done it yet again with their dual cpu cards.. only time the gtx 590 tries a thing on the 6990 is where heavy tessellation and phys-x is present, i got a dedicated nvidia GPU for that...so..... i am good to freaking go! as well i am considering 2 of these for eyefinity reasons...

Lewee hear what framerates yuh getting when yuh setup this killer! Also, ah know what yuh talking about with the weight chiney..... when i first held my 6950 i was shocked..... i was only holding it in my hand for a good half hour before i put it in the system :lol: . with that dual gpu, i thinking it have some more weight in it.

BTW AMD making some changes for good/bad..... i hoping they ain't easing up any pressure on intel

http://www.tomshardware.com/news/restructuring-workforce-layoffs-cloud-low-power,13893.html

Chiney

Postby Chiney » November 3rd, 2011, 11:29 pm

^^ hmmmm.. nice read!!

will get screenshots as they become available

iM@st@1

Postby iM@st@1 » November 4th, 2011, 6:40 am

Chiney wrote:it is the VisonTek 6990

Weyz men jumping out...wish I could afford one of those right now. Two of these is real pace, a 6 monitor setup would be fackin sweet. Bit too much for me tho, aiming for one of those or a crossfire 6950/6850, & a 3 monitor setup & I'll be contented.

Chiney

Postby Chiney » November 4th, 2011, 9:33 am

^^ pics of it when u start and finish!

iM@st@1

Postby iM@st@1 » November 4th, 2011, 10:23 am

Ya know I hada buss up men eye ,lol

Postby Ronaldo95163 » November 4th, 2011, 4:38 pm

mickey17

Postby mickey17 » November 4th, 2011, 5:03 pm

2 twin frozr II 6870 will push alot of heat in case or on eachother???
im looking to buy another 6870 but i not sure which to get.... i have 1 twin frozr II already
case- coolermaster cm690II advanced

Postby Ronaldo95163 » November 4th, 2011, 5:58 pm

Chiney

Postby Chiney » November 4th, 2011, 6:03 pm

thing about those twin frost cards, they push air/heat outward from the card, not out the back. you will need to have a good intake at the back of them ( hdd side, 2 120mm shud deal with that ), then have a good exhaust to extract that head one time.

mickey17

Postby mickey17 » November 4th, 2011, 9:25 pm

Chiney wrote:thing about those twin frost cards, they push air/heat outward from the card, not out the back. you will need to have a good intake at the back of them ( hdd side, 2 120mm shud deal with that ), then have a good exhaust to extract that head one time.

i have a 140 hdd side and 140mm to side pannel.. dual 140mm at top also.. side could have take another 140mm but D14 wont allow that.. i might buy a regular 6870 instead of another twin frozr II den

Chiney

Postby Chiney » November 4th, 2011, 10:46 pm

to being with, i would not have purchased the twin frost. but whats done is done.

i am goin to WC my 6990 and leave the 6970 with stock cooler.... the 6990 is VERY loud...

VERY

jumpkickjoe

Postby jumpkickjoe » November 4th, 2011, 11:28 pm

^^^msi afterburner.....create some fan/temp points, but then again, if the load is really high, the fan will ramp up to match the temps

played around with it and my 6950 fan at 100%.....sounded like a frickin harrier ready to take off

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » November 5th, 2011, 2:44 am

any GPU with a cylindrical fan blade willl tend to make more noise than a GPU with the standard fan blades...but the clindrical blades push ways more air..!!

Chiney

Postby Chiney » November 5th, 2011, 6:15 am

^ that is factual, but damn.

jumpkickjoe

Postby jumpkickjoe » November 5th, 2011, 8:53 pm

came across this thread on overclock.net with regards to using either the h80 or h100 for cooling and respective cases.......

[url]http://www.overclock.net/water-cooling/1144409-h80-h100-case-compatibility-thread.html[url]

Chiney

Postby Chiney » November 5th, 2011, 11:33 pm

^ great, all they need to do now is make a cooler for video cards

Chiney

Postby Chiney » November 7th, 2011, 1:56 pm

Last edited by Chiney on November 7th, 2011, 2:05 pm, edited 2 times in total.