***The official early evo/GSR thread***

Mitsu Lancer, Evo, GSR, MIVEC, 4G**, GDI, Galant, Outlander, L200 Sportero/Triton etc.

Postby janfar » November 9th, 2009, 1:54 am

Well, for starters the gearbox of a 4-9 is on the other side as compared to our stuff, so you will have body and chassis clearance issues.

4G63T parts are readily available is the US as DSM components, but you have be willing to spend the money and wait the time. Right now i am trying to find out what is the difference between a 6bolt and 7 bolt 63T internally? seeing that 99.9% of DSM's are 6 bolts. Buschur racing has a wide selection of components for this platform. Do some research, if it is that their is major differences between 6 and 7 bolt, i would try and get a DSM 6 bolt down hear mainly due to the availability of parts in the US.

Input from sanctifier and Gerrard. We should put in a formal request to have a [sanctifier] button placed on this thread. LOL.

Death-Row

Postby Death-Row » November 9th, 2009, 2:06 am

janfar,from the reading ive done, i thought it was just mounts and some other stuff but i dont wanna go cutting my car, the norris designs evo3:

has a evo vii engine in it. i like the thought of a evo vii engine tho, much newer, availability of parts etc.

i know what ur saying with the DSM also. as i say, im pretty confused as of what to do lol.

Postby janfar » November 9th, 2009, 2:37 am

Nah, i pretty certain that the orientation of the engines are different.

I know where i want to be, the problem is getting there, my big puzzle is figuring out the diff between 6bolt and 7 bolt. When i get home i would have more time to do research.

Death-Row

Postby Death-Row » November 9th, 2009, 5:55 pm

been asking around, some fella owners have reported a few earlier evos (1-3) with later evo engines (4-9) in them. will keep you guys posted according to the route i take.

Death-Row

Postby Death-Row » November 10th, 2009, 8:18 pm

ok, so i just got a reply from nick at NR. lemme quote.

Hi Imran

You will need to modify n/s chassis leg to take the evo 6 gear box as it fouls the top of the box, we welded in some evo 6 eng and gear box top mounts, mount the evo 6 gear box x member to the other side of the front subframe and front cross member, modified the front subframe to accept the gear box as the diff casing fouls the sub frame, shorten the prop shaft and move the prop shaft centre mount over as the prop comes out down the other side of the transmition tunnel, we fitted a 4 rs rear diff as it just needed the propshaft flange swapping from the evo 3, fitted a Tilton pedal box to the floor in side the car and welded in a full T45 cage.

The evo 6 engine gear box, transfer box, propshaft, drive shafts and the evo 4 rs rear diff was all trial fitted and lined up.

Then I sold it :-(

You will need to take/make your own measurements as I did not expect to be doing another one.

Hope this helps in some way :-)

Regards

Nick @ NR Autosport

so what yal think? worth it?

Nik

Postby Nik » November 10th, 2009, 9:54 pm

that is real freaking work... an still no guarantees of it being don successfully down here at least... too much of a risk & $$$... i say stick with the 1st gen series... imo...

southside crew

Postby southside crew » November 10th, 2009, 11:01 pm

would be one of a Kind In Trini.....

( but you ain't gettin me to do that!!!)

Postby janfar » November 11th, 2009, 2:14 am

Too much cutting, fab, money, downtime etc. With that money you could get a fully built 6bolt or even 7 bolt engine complete from buschur racing.

Virus

Postby Virus » November 11th, 2009, 6:28 am

janfar wrote:Too much cutting, fab, money, downtime etc. With that money you could get a fully built 6bolt or even 7 bolt engine complete from buschur racing.

I agree, or even purchase spare engine just to mod and toss in when complete

Death-Row

Postby Death-Row » November 11th, 2009, 7:55 am

will still look into this, always liked doing something a lil different.

Postby janfar » November 11th, 2009, 9:26 am

I mean, when your done and all is spent, you will have a unit that is upgradeable and with engine/ GB parts available galore. You just have to remember to make 2 of each mounting part and record all your measurements to the T.

Death-Row

Postby Death-Row » November 11th, 2009, 2:14 pm

janfar,yup, thanks for the input fellas. i just want a lil wow factor with my car since the evo 1-3s all look/do the same over here.

Postby janfar » November 12th, 2009, 2:28 am

It certainly be a sleeper of a car, especially when ppl who knows about evos notices that the bonnet vent for the airbreather on the wrong side. Get a second car if yuh dont have one already though, cause, like me, yuh looking at serious down time.

Death-Row

Postby Death-Row » November 12th, 2009, 2:34 am

well tonight sucks. driving the car, gave it a hard pull against a alteeza on the west. teeza get lixx bad bad bad lol park up the car in work, say lemme go by peaks to collect something from a friend. on my way there, i see my boost guage needle drop and the car felt like it lost a sheit load of power. check engine light came on.

the car is still driveable tho. and it has a sound like it has a dred misss.

please oh please, dont tell me new enigne. :( :( :( :( :( :( :(

anyone know what could be the prob?

Postby janfar » November 12th, 2009, 3:36 am

Check and see if one of the air inlets gone loose of it your recirc/ WGA stuck in an open position.

Death-Row

Postby Death-Row » November 12th, 2009, 3:56 am

hmmm, ok, after doin some searching online, i was thinkin that the car went into "limp" mode, up to now, not sure but i did a few things.

unbolted battery poles
made sure all hoses/plugs/wires were in snug
checked oil level

oil was good, bolted back on battery poles, do the checks on wire etc. start back the car, everything was good as normal. boost everything comming in as it should.

any reason that couldve caused this?

Postby janfar » November 12th, 2009, 5:06 am

Car probably overboosted, maybe it was running lean and went into safe mode as a precaution. How much PSI you running???

Death-Row

Postby Death-Row » November 12th, 2009, 7:06 am

10psi but it spikes to bout 12-13 psi but it holds at 10psi

southside crew

Postby southside crew » November 12th, 2009, 8:01 pm

car asking for A 4G63 Boy.... ...

Death-Row

Postby Death-Row » November 14th, 2009, 10:53 am

southside crew,when u get ur car back up and running and i feel how the 63 does feel, then ill put one in :lol: :lol: in the mean time, the 93 destroying the competition right now :twisted:

problem again tho. driving the car home from work again today, as i almost reach home, car starts to sound like it has a miss or how it sounds when a boost line or something pops out. all of a suden, while still driving, it starts back to drive like normal but when reaching a certain rpm, it sputters again. so i drive home normal, low rpm. i turn off the car, do the same ecu reset thing with the battery and i unplugged and pluged back in the lil plug at the top right hand side of the engine. the lil plug that runs to the coil pack i think.

this gave me trouble the first time i raised the boost, got a lil slack had to put back in good.

so anyways, i drove the car after again, all is running good. full boost all over the place, then while driving, i get a lil miss while driving normal on 2nd gear for a few seconds. let off the gas, back on the gas, it running good.

what could cause this? plugs about to go bad? fuel pump about to go bad? plug clip thingy from the coil pack needs changing cause of age/corosion? what yal think?

H.S.E GuY

I ran!

Postby H.S.E GuY » November 18th, 2009, 3:08 pm

When I had her the problem was the clip on the igniter by the coil packs used to come loose. Jus secure and she blows, send me some pics as I told yuh go like yuh self.

The Guy.

Death-Row

Postby Death-Row » November 20th, 2009, 3:59 am

H.S.E GuY,hey, sup man, working hard these days boy, not much time, i gotta check u. yea, its the clip on the igniter by the coil packs in truth, checked mine out and the clicp broke off.

the car is a joy. looks the same way, got the evo3 white oz on it now tho.

Death-Row

Postby Death-Row » November 21st, 2009, 9:06 am

ok so what will it take for my suspension (GSR) to be evo3 specs? so far ive gathered from a few tuners, arms and stabalizer needs to be changed.

what im confused about is, what parts makes the wheel base wider?

Death-Row

Postby Death-Row » November 21st, 2009, 9:20 am

also, the evo 2 and 3 wheel base is different by 10mm i think than the evo 1 and the gsr right? is it wider? or longer? being, are the wheels outside the fenders more or are they closer to the front bumper ?

Postby janfar » November 21st, 2009, 9:22 am

The front cradles are 1 in wider on the 3 than the 1-2... but when changing this you have to change the axles as well, and according to where the front stabilizer is mounted on yours you may have to weld a mounting point for the droplink onto the cradle arm... if you are thinking about only full evo 3 you would need the shocks wth the stabilizer bar mounting point on it plus the longer stab bar... sounds like much but it hard part is getting all the parts.

Death-Row

Postby Death-Row » November 21st, 2009, 9:48 am

everything sounds cool there but axles yuh say? the rest of them didnt mention axles.

hmmmm what about the rear end?

Postby janfar » November 23rd, 2009, 4:07 pm

Not sure bout the rear end... I learned the hard way when i drove the car with the original axles and the evo3 cradles... one popped out when i drove out on the road... first time i found out how heavy that SOB was...

krazed

Postby krazed » December 1st, 2009, 12:58 pm

I need some help or avice ppls.. my turbo seems to be boostin to much.. I got a stock 4G63 with TDO5 Turbo and standard intercooler... Turbo xs blow off and Turbo xs Boost controller.. i lowered theboost on the contrller but it still flying up to over 15psi to 20psi and i havent got any mods to handle that.. but i trying to figure out why it doing that an what i should do.. who to go by.??

Death-Row

Postby Death-Row » December 1st, 2009, 4:20 pm

krazed,happend to me with the same controller. either run back the stock boost hose setup or get a new controller. not sure if its the same problem but my controller seemed to be it. hope this helps.

Death-Row

Postby Death-Row » December 1st, 2009, 4:20 pm

krazed,btw, whats the specs on your car? what kinda car? :D

Return to “MITSUBISHI”