Ok kids
some serious DIY action went down on Teri this past week.
changed differential oils and transfer case oil on Teri
my pardna and I did the work ourselves
oils used:
Front & Rear differentials - Severe Gear® Synthetic Extreme Pressure (EP) Gear Lube 75W-90 (SVG)
5.5 quarts
http://www.amsoil.com/storefront/svg.aspxTransfer Case - Synthetic Manual Transmission and Transaxle
Gear Lube 75W-90 API GL-4 (MTG)
2.75 quarts
http://www.amsoil.com/storefront/mtg.aspxbought from Big Z
Mileage - 90600km
viewtopic.php?f=6&t=320348&hilit=big+zGood prices from him
Did an extensive drain - opened the drain plug and just let the old oil drain out till it stopped.
Rear differential:

Front differential:

the oil didn't seem too dirty:

but it was:

Got a lot of sludge on teh drain plug, which indicates that the oil started breaking down:

rear differential:

front differential:

Decided that I was not going to fill the costly Amsoil into a dirty diff, so I bought some cheap NP Ultra API GL-5 80W oil to flush out the diffs

filled this oil into the diffs - 6 quarts and ran it for 1 week\450km
then drained it and added the Amsoil

the drained NP oil wasn't dirty
drain plug - clean

satisfying work
next up power steering fluid
Teri is an Amsoil girl