Re: PC Tech/Gaming Info Thread

Postby mickey17 » October 30th, 2011, 11:18 am

iM@st@1 wrote:
jumpkickjoe wrote:
iM@st@1 wrote:
mickey17 wrote:u guys think this will work gud
http://www.frozencpu.com/products/11743 ... _-HOT.html

I was checking this out too, but it would be a waste of $ cause the noctua wuking. But would love to build a WC rig one day.

Go for it bro

what cpu and what temps u getting with the noctua iM@st@1? I looking to upgrade from stock cause i realize my x3 could unlock to quad and i know the aluminum heat sink aint cutting it. Saw temps in the bios reach 50c between unlocking,restarting, running cpu-z and jumping back into bios.

looking at the new cooler master 212 evo they released a while ago

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16835103099

Have a 955 black ed. stock 3.2Ghz..haven't OC it yet cause I wanted to wait on some addtl case fans I ordered so I'll have optimal air flo. As compared to the previous cooler I was using (Artic 7 Pro) the noctua gimme a good 5-7° drop in temps (idle 33-35°) once is a cool day as opposed to I think 39-41° using the Artic 7.

If it hot is like idle 38-39° ....using the Artic 7 was like 40-44°. But room temps is definitely a big factor, when I AC dong meh room know the Noctua gonna real get on.

So is a big performance increase imo, my system actually is a lil snappier as well. If I had an intel machine sure I would get even lower temps. How my room is now I really should've considered goin WC tho cause it small & gets kina hot. But $ spend aready & putting plans for an AC.

To be honest tho I wish I had bought the H100 because of the size of the Noctua it actually doesn't allow for a big side fan to be installed on my case (NZXT Phantom) & I really wanted to make use of that. Hoping to mod the side panel so I'll perhaps mount some 120 or a 140mm fan a bit lower ova the gpu & so the mobo could get some more air. Not happy with my system temps atall right now (38-40°). Side fans really help.

i have a 955 also oc to 3.8ghz. my room is also small and gets hot but i have ac.. wit ac on idle is 32/34 C load is 54 C.. without ac idle is 40/39 and load is 55 C.... i cant overclock anymore than that.. the chip jus wont go further daz y i goin intel.. and the noctua is a tight fit in the cm690II daz y i wanna try the WC..

iM@st@1

Postby iM@st@1 » October 30th, 2011, 11:41 am

mickey17 wrote:i have a 955 also oc to 3.8ghz. my room is also small and gets hot but i have ac.. wit ac on idle is 32/34 C load is 54 C.. without ac idle is 40/39 and load is 55 C.... i cant overclock anymore than that.. the chip jus wont go further daz y i goin intel.. and the noctua is a tight fit in the cm690II daz y i wanna try the WC..

Yea was planning to overclock mine to about that as well...but intel making more sense fo sho. Might switch back to a CM chassis too, find I was getting better sys temps.

Considering this for my future case

But for now I'll cool meh ass with what I have :mrgreen:

mickey17

Postby mickey17 » October 30th, 2011, 12:45 pm

iM@st@1 wrote:
mickey17 wrote:i have a 955 also oc to 3.8ghz. my room is also small and gets hot but i have ac.. wit ac on idle is 32/34 C load is 54 C.. without ac idle is 40/39 and load is 55 C.... i cant overclock anymore than that.. the chip jus wont go further daz y i goin intel.. and the noctua is a tight fit in the cm690II daz y i wanna try the WC..

Yea was planning to overclock mine to about that as well...but intel making more sense fo sho. Might switch back to a CM chassis too, find I was getting better sys temps.

LOL!! me 2. intel on de expensive side for meh.. waiting to see wa sale it have later november and december.. dont like da case design.. too much for me..lol.. i will try water cooling for sure in a time but i ent know much bout it yet.

Postby Ronaldo95163 » October 30th, 2011, 4:27 pm

iM@st@1 wrote:

Nice case :D

Postby Ronaldo95163 » October 30th, 2011, 11:33 pm

I have the Logitech Clear Chat pro like in the picture.

I've had it for about 2 years now and it worked awesome :D Today I plugged it in and it says "USB Device not Recognized ":( I specifically remember using it Friday to play games and listen to music and I didn't encounter these problems.

I opened up the remote to check if there were any shortages in the wires and there were none. I'm hoping the problem isn't the Headset because I paid $200 for it :evil: I just checked Supertech's pricelest and they have a Logitech headset for $325 o.O

BTW I tried it on two other laptops and still nothing :cry:

Chiney

Postby Chiney » October 31st, 2011, 9:48 pm

well the it may very well be the headset itself yo

Postby bushwakka » October 31st, 2011, 10:47 pm

so....i just thought i'd throw these pics in here......check out this costume i came across for a Starcraft ghost at Blizzcon :shock:

besflickredo

Postby besflickredo » November 1st, 2011, 11:25 am

YO TUNERS:why would exiting the bios completely shut down the pc?

Scoobert Bauce

Postby Scoobert Bauce » November 1st, 2011, 11:59 am

besflickredo wrote:YO TUNERS:why would exiting the bios completely shut down the pc?

IDK about shutting down, but if you makin any changes to the BIOs settings it restarts

Scoobert Bauce

Postby Scoobert Bauce » November 1st, 2011, 12:00 pm

maybe the time and date isnt set on your CPU, try going into your Bios settings and setting the time and date, and see what happens

jeevdude199

Postby jeevdude199 » November 1st, 2011, 12:04 pm

besflickredo wrote:YO TUNERS:why would exiting the bios completely shut down the pc?

u overclockin brah?

besflickredo

Postby besflickredo » November 1st, 2011, 1:09 pm

no overclocking here,very basic specs.will try that scoobert

B11 e16 bison

Postby B11 e16 bison » November 1st, 2011, 9:16 pm

Chiney wrote:^^ oh yes it is, its the pc tech thread..let us have it.

wen i did my AS electronics, its helped me alot with understand motherboards and their PWM as well as overclocking and CPU voltage regulators/controllers.

Thats cool bro, I'd be more than willing to help out fellow tuners and give back what i learned, but i strongly suggest you guys start a different thread, it doesn't have to be mainly about water cooling...just don't wanna get the topic too saturated by other topics.

I don't know how big TnT's hardcore pc cooling population is but maybe we can find out :lol: .

Oh and guys since i have water cooled my system the true potential of it has shown...before i used to get low frames on cirtain parts in games but now everything moves fluid and my computer is dead silent. :mrgreen:

jumpkickjoe

Postby jumpkickjoe » November 1st, 2011, 10:29 pm

speaking about case mods and liquid cooling, check out this liquid cooled system on guru 3d....sleek and sweet!!! 0X

http://www.guru3d.com/article/guru3d-rig-of-the-month--october-2011/

iM@st@1

Postby iM@st@1 » November 2nd, 2011, 10:36 am

That real bess ^^ but over 3000£ spent jah! Top quality work tho, one of the best I've ever seen

Chiney

Postby Chiney » November 2nd, 2011, 1:37 pm

^^ remember guru3d is a uk based site, also..they work the currency, so that is like 3000tt for them..

Postby M_2NR » November 2nd, 2011, 2:28 pm

white hoss? not hating eh but they should take an after 1 year shot... unless he doing something to curb on the dust, that thing will look eww pretty fast.
it looks pretty though.

Virus

Postby Virus » November 2nd, 2011, 2:44 pm

iM@st@1

Postby iM@st@1 » November 2nd, 2011, 2:46 pm

Chiney wrote:^^ remember guru3d is a uk based site, also..they work the currency, so that is like 3000tt for them..

I knw I jus studying the conversion rate for if I was to build a sys like dat working for tt :lol: I'd be fackin broke...but my computa pimpin :?

Sure that beast ina dust free room unda 24hrs A/C

Chiney

Postby Chiney » November 2nd, 2011, 4:13 pm

^^ ditto

mickey17

Postby mickey17 » November 3rd, 2011, 12:01 am

i wish i had that kinda money. would have bough a black case though

Postby bushwakka » November 3rd, 2011, 11:54 am

no worries....cud always bomb spray it black or neon green or whateva suits his fancy

salvation4U

Postby salvation4U » November 3rd, 2011, 12:28 pm

battlefield is pressure to run ....buy 2 gf gtx580 in sli

HCCA

Postby HCCA » November 3rd, 2011, 1:10 pm

salvation4U wrote:battlefield is pressure to run ....buy 2 gf gtx580 in sli

Lol what?

All dat gpu power needed? Nah man.