COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

Re: COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago

Postby matr1x » April 1st, 2022, 6:26 pm

Crime more worrying than covid

Postby adnj » April 1st, 2022, 7:07 pm

matr1x wrote:
redmanjp wrote:
matr1x wrote:When you work back through the events and fog of lies, it should have been declared endemic 6-8 months ago

u even know the meaning of the word?

6-8 months included our entire delta wave when at 1 point 30-40 ppl per day were dying :roll:

It was on the downward trend

Obviously, a COVID brain-fog statement was made.

Postby bluefete » April 1st, 2022, 7:24 pm

Les Bain wrote:COVID left people in financial dire straits.

On the way to pricesmart over the weekend I noticed many women (locals and Venezuelan) with handwritten begging signs at the side of the road. Usually encountered one sad story/useless vendor item in pricesmart parking lot before covid- got approached by 5 this weekend.

Hear nah, coming out of Grand Bazaar (back exit) yesterday, there was this young girl holding a newborn baby in her hands and begging.

To be fair, she was just standing at the exit with the baby. But the body language was seriously asking for help and she did take whatever was offered to her A new born baby eh folks.

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » April 1st, 2022, 7:49 pm

bluefete wrote:

On the way to pricesmart over the weekend I noticed many women (locals and Venezuelan) with handwritten begging signs at the side of the road. Usually encountered one sad story/useless vendor item in pricesmart parking lot before covid- got approached by 5 this weekend.

Hear nah, coming out of Grand Bazaar (back exit) yesterday, there was this young girl holding a newborn baby in her hands and begging.

To be fair, she was just standing at the exit with the baby. But the body language was seriously asking for help and she did take whatever was offered to her A new born baby eh folks.

The way this begging ring is, don't be surprised if that baby was given to her by the boss

Postby redmanjp » April 1st, 2022, 8:02 pm

a lot of women lost or gave up their jobs to look after children when schools closed. including 1 in my office - her child's school wasn't doing any online classes and she had to teach the child.

Postby timelapse » April 2nd, 2022, 9:05 am

bluefete wrote:

Wey de fadda?

Postby adnj » April 2nd, 2022, 9:13 am

timelapse wrote:
bluefete wrote:

Wey de fadda?
At the front entrance with a squeegee.

Postby aaron17 » April 2nd, 2022, 9:19 am

sMASH wrote:Aye, take the vaccine, it prevents u from catching, suffering from and spreading the disease
Prevent % ?

Postby sMASH » April 2nd, 2022, 9:24 am

aaron17 wrote:
sMASH wrote:Aye, take the vaccine, it prevents u from catching, suffering from and spreading the disease
Prevent % ?

check the date.

Postby adnj » April 2nd, 2022, 9:27 am

aaron17 wrote:
Prevent % ?
About 70%

Postby timelapse » April 2nd, 2022, 10:02 am

adnj wrote:
timelapse wrote:
bluefete wrote:

Wey de fadda?
Not my problem then

Postby sMASH » April 2nd, 2022, 12:34 pm

timelapse wrote:
adnj wrote:
timelapse wrote:
bluefete wrote:

Wey de fadda?
Not my problem then

he using the squeegee too late

Postby redmanjp » April 3rd, 2022, 5:41 pm

Postby redmanjp » April 4th, 2022, 2:36 am

Postby redmanjp » April 4th, 2022, 2:42 am

Updated regulations - only mask wearing and quarantine remain. safe zones removed. fetes and parties no longer prohibited.

https://www.facebook.com/photo/?fbid=344931737675210&set=a.249240073911044&__tn__=%2CO*F
Last edited by redmanjp on April 4th, 2022, 11:04 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby sMASH » April 4th, 2022, 6:19 am

y we still wearing mask?

Postby sMASH » April 4th, 2022, 6:23 am

redmanjp wrote:i think it was a Dr Campbell vid that showed protection from prior infection was almost as good as the vax. that said, no vulnerable person should try that approach - i.e. depending on natural immunity from infection, especially the 1st time infected without being vaxxed previously.

that was last year he was saying that.
now, he is saying its BETTER than the vax. as the studies he quotes shows effectivity of previous infection lasting more than a year, and ongoing. while, the vaxes have dropped to 50% or so after 4 months or so.

not that he is sayig to NOT get vaxed, he is ONLY saying that, to be rational in allowing immunity from previous infection to be factored in. and to save resources from wasting vaxes on already immunized persons, and direct it to other more worthy medical causes.

Postby redmanjp » April 4th, 2022, 11:07 am

sMASH wrote:y we still wearing mask?

covid hasn't gone anywhere and ppl still dying everyday. everything else has opened up to allow the economy to recover, thanks to increase immunity and a less severe strain. but we need to tread cautiously and not declare victory before the finish line.

that said we probably only need it indoors and in public transport.

Postby sMASH » April 4th, 2022, 11:13 am

If is not n95 it not doing anything... Especially out doors open air.

If they really neeeeeeeed it to remain, keep it for public transportation and In door businesses.

It might be more practical to wear a ribbon 'I stand with covid', cause a cloth mask is merely virtue signaling.

U can't tell me that Masks with exhaust valves protecting other people from covid the same as an n95 , and the cmo was okay with it whole year and a half they made the mask law....

COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago

Postby MaxPower » April 4th, 2022, 11:47 am

Covid or not, i will still be wearing my mask in highly congested and unventilated areas.

Mark my words, Trinis would have learnt absolutely nothing from this pandemic and they will be caught off guard yet again for the next pandemic.

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » April 4th, 2022, 12:11 pm

Mask should be a choice.

Ripe Chenette

Postby Ripe Chenette » April 4th, 2022, 12:30 pm

We all in for a dread cold when people stop following covid protocols.

Postby MaxPower » April 4th, 2022, 12:30 pm

Mmoney607 wrote:Mask should be a choice.

I can agree with this.

It should be a choice but following all the protocols should be guidelines for practicing proper hygiene.

We should have learnt some sort of cleanliness from this pandemic and adopt the protocols as a daily routine. No one is saying be all hardcore, but just enough to have respect and consideration for those around.

Postby aaron17 » April 4th, 2022, 12:35 pm

Will Trinidad and Tobago survive the next century? That's a question to think about.

Postby redmanjp » April 4th, 2022, 12:52 pm

has there been anymore BA2 confirmed? i know a couple weeks ago some samples test +ve for it. based on how fast it spreading in other places they should be detecting many more samples all now.

more reason to not drop your guard. UK is likely having the highest rate now for the entire pandemic given that testing is down. but they have a more than 70% vax rate so there hospitals not too affected - we would have a much lower vax rate and also a lower natural immunity rate.
Last edited by redmanjp on April 4th, 2022, 12:58 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby hover11 » April 4th, 2022, 12:56 pm

Mmoney607 wrote:Mask should be a choice.

I can agree with this.

It should be a choice but following all the protocols should be guidelines for practicing proper hygiene.

We should have learnt some sort of cleanliness from this pandemic and adopt the protocols as a daily routine. No one is saying be all hardcore, but just enough to have respect and consideration for those around.
X10000

What it taking trinis to be clean

Postby redmanjp » April 4th, 2022, 3:43 pm

Postby st7 » April 4th, 2022, 4:12 pm

how allyuh unvaxxed men doing? where allyuh rushing to today?

Postby sMASH » April 4th, 2022, 4:58 pm

Covid or not, i will still be wearing my mask in highly congested and unventilated areas.

Mark my words, Trinis would have learnt absolutely nothing from this pandemic and they will be caught off guard yet again for the next pandemic.

we have laws AGAINST mask wearing in public. its only allowed under specific conditions.

Postby sMASH » April 4th, 2022, 4:59 pm

st7 wrote:how allyuh unvaxxed men doing? where allyuh rushing to today?

kfc,,, ketchup free again.
free at last, free at last... thank god almighty, free at last!!