Re: UNC 2.0?!?!?!

Postby paid_influencer » September 2nd, 2023, 11:53 pm

posted on d official UNC page.

looks like we getting Kamlamania 2.0

KAMLA AXES UNC PR TEAM

OPPOSITION Leader Kamla Persad-Bissessar is overhauling her communications team.

The Express understands that Persad-Bissessar opted to not renew the contracts of several members of her team which expired last month. The move created frustration among staff as they were uncertain whether their tenure would continue or not.

Sources told the Express that team members were removed from social media control groups on Thursday night.
The decision came as Persad-Bissessar expressed the need to have a new team going forward into the 2025 general election as the former team had been there for seven years.

Some staff members continue to pledge loyalty to Persad-Bissessar while others decided to move on to other opportunities.
Rayden Boodhan, research officer in the Opposition Leader's office, told the Express yesterday that she did not resign but opted to not apply for a contract renewal.

'I didn't resign! My contract was coming to an end and I chose not to apply for renewal for personal reasons that have nothing to do with politics or any acrimonious reason. But I will continue to work as a UNC activist and I continue supporting the political leader 100 per cent,' she said.

Meanwhile, communications officer Julie Ramlal sent an e-mail to Persad-Bissessar indicating that she too will not seek a contract renewal.

Ramlal further expressed that she felt undervalued over a lack of communication.

Her e-mail said, 'Further to your WhatsApp messages sent in the OL staff and Comms group last night regarding meetings on contracts, I wish to advise that I will not be seeking renewal of my contract. The lack of communication over the past few weeks has led me to reflect on my time here, and I've come to feel undervalued within the organisation. It's essential for me to be part of a team where my contributions are valued and there is mutual respect. Given this situation, I've decided to actively explore other opportunities.'

https://trinidadexpress-tto.newsmemory.com/...

Postby mero » September 3rd, 2023, 8:22 am

Good start but she just gonna hire an even more useless PR team.

wing

Postby wing » February 27th, 2024, 4:46 pm

Trinidad and Tobago Newsday
News Sports

NEWS
Kamla defends PNM, UNC voters: 'We don't have tribal politics'

UNITED National Congress (UNC) leader Kamla Persad-Bissessar came out in rare defence of the ruling People’s National Movement (PNM) supporters, saying neither they nor opposition voters should be accused of voting along racial lines.

Persad-Bissessar directed her message to smaller and newer political parties who accuse the UNC and PNM of tribal politics.

“That is more of a talking point used by people trying to forge a political space that has never been carefully analysed,” Persad-Bissessar told supporters at a UNC cottage meeting in Caroni on Monday night.

“The notion that some peddle about, that people want something other than the UNC or PNM, meaning, people want them…and then say a vote for us is a tribal vote – it is not true.”

She said there are single-issue and multi-issue voters in democracies and that “the UNC has all of these voters within us.”

Persad-Bissessar prefaced her message by welcoming individuals or groups who share the party’s vision.

The party, she said, “should embrace individuals or groups who share our vision for mainstream politics rather than just a parochial vision…our vision for development, for service to people.

“But at the same time, we must demand discipline and equal effort from those who wish to join us.”

She said third parties are “welcome but must carry their weight.”

The opposition leader reiterated her invitation to work with smaller parties, saying, “I, again, publicly invite any smaller party, stakeholder, independent and unaligned group to speak with us, to work together to rescue our country.”

But she added that, while the party invites others to join the UNC to unseat the government, “I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again – I will not tolerate any disrespect to our hard-working rank and file supporters of the UNC.”

Smaller parties, she said, cannot refer to UNC voters as “sheep” if they intend on piggybacking on their support and resources.

“We have 300,000-plus members; do not play the fool with us. We respect our membership.”

Postby Habit7 » February 27th, 2024, 5:26 pm

She’s right but she is throwing words for GG and the NTA.

Another 3rd party falling out of coalition with the UNC.

I am waiting for 2025 for TPP to announce their coalition with them too.

Postby paid_influencer » February 27th, 2024, 6:07 pm

i wonder how kamla reach to that position

she going to run the banana ad again maybe

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » February 27th, 2024, 8:11 pm

Expected: yes

Surprised: no

Great is the pnm until 2030....

Tanty kams, just throw yuh frame nah

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » February 27th, 2024, 8:14 pm

Nobody want gary

Postby The_Honourable » February 27th, 2024, 10:19 pm

Habit7 wrote:She’s right but she is throwing words for GG and the NTA.

Another 3rd party falling out of coalition with the UNC.

I am waiting for 2025 for TPP to announce their coalition with them too.

Correct

In fairness NTA did put in work during local government elections. Seems the rift originated since then from some chiefly Jerlean John according to GG and it finally boiled over.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » February 27th, 2024, 10:40 pm

Seen by mickela

wing

Postby wing » February 28th, 2024, 9:56 am

Unity between UNC, NTA evaporates as Gary fires back at Kamla

Disheartening, divisive, dismissive and disrespectful to third parties.

That’s how National Transformation Alliance (NTA) leader Gary Griffith described Monday’s statements by United National Congress (UNC) leader Kamla Persad-Bissessar about smaller parties, as the unity between the two seemed to drift apart yesterday.

However, Griffith said the problem was not really Persad-Bissessar, but UNC deputy leader Jearlean John.

“I have no problem with Kamla,” Griffith added yesterday, “But Jearlean has been the issue. The problem is Kamla being influenced by Jearlean and falling victim to Jearlean’s fantasy that the UNC can win general elections alone. It seems Jearlean has now won over Kamla to thinking that.”

But Griffith said the NTA will continue to soldier on, extending a hand of co-operation and dialogue to all political entities, including the UNC.

“But NTA won’t be party to ‘political domestic violence’ being abused and bullied behind closed doors and when we come out in public you want us to ‘put on make-up,’ pretend all’s well and smile,” Griffith said.

Griffith spoke after Persad-Bissessar warned smaller parties that while the UNC is open to working with others of similar vision, she won’t allow her members to be disrespected. Speaking at the party’s Monday Night Report in Couva, she said smaller parties must carry their weight and not “play the fool” with the 300,000-strong UNC.
Report Ad

This, after a recent anonymous social media post hinting at issues between the UNC and NTA.

Both parties entered an electoral arrangement for the August 2023 Local Government Elections, where UNC contested 110 districts and NTA 31. The partnership appeared to continue subsequently, with both sides indicating they would facilitate another accommodation for the upcoming general election (GE).

Griffith “starred” at the UNC’s January anti-crime town hall consultation, but there was divergence of views on the idea of a state of emergency, which Persad-Bissessar supported and Griffith didn’t. NTA subsequently announced it would hold its own consultations and opened nominations for all constituencies.

The social media post had named John as advising Persad-Bissessar that UNC needs no other party and can win alone. Griffith subsequently said what was required to ensure a change of government is for all political leaders “to be mature and appreciate that all hands are needed on deck.”

After Persad-Bissessar’s retorts on Monday, Griffith yesterday said, “It was disheartening to witness the recent rhetoric from Opposition Leader, Persad-Bissessar, who appears to have forgotten the importance of inclusivity and collaboration in our political landscape. Her divisive remarks and dismissive attitude towards third parties are not only regressive but also reminiscent of past failures.

“The recent attempts by certain individuals within the UNC to undermine the role of third parties are shortsighted and counterproductive, and I’m convinced isn’t shared by the majority of the executive or their membership, who understand that unity, not division, is the winning strategy.”

Griffith said what was clear on Monday, “... is that lessons have not been learnt from past mistakes, and the same patterns of arrogance and exclusion are resurfacing, which can be best described as ‘Crab in a Barrel Syndrome’. (But) UNC has never achieved success in a general election under its current leadership, without political partners.

“No amount of wishing, hoping and beating of chests can change this fact, which is why fair warning to those who seem intent on maintaining this path: expect the same outcomes.”

Griffith said the “maths ain’t mathsing”, and even if the UNC were to secure 20 seats, it still leaves them and their huge base of supporters in opposition for another five years.

Griffith added, “Third constituency voters, be it known by different previous names—ONR to NAR to COP to NTA—are a very sensitive and important lot, and the comments by Mrs Persad-Bissessar (Monday), which showed blatant disrespect and disregard for the relevance of those voters, who last numbered 147,000 back in 2007, would yet again ensure that they remind her of how important that third constituency indeed is.”

He cited historical electoral evidence that whichever way the voters in the third constituency sway, that usually determines who will be T&T’s leaders.

‘Jearlean is the problem’

Before this week’s situation erupted, Griffith said since Persad-Bissessar had said the same system the UNC and NTA used for the successful LG election would be used for the GE, the NTA sent correspondence to the UNC to move to the next step.

“We’d have gone with a team with people from both parties to establish proper structure seat allocation, et cetera,” he said.

“But this was prior to us knowing Kamla has now been manipulated into believing—thanks to Jearlean John—that the UNC has a snowball’s chance in hell to win alone.”

Griffith said he met Persad-Bissessar and John before the last election and claimed John said, “’We don’t need you, we can win on our own’.”

Griffith said, “I started to walk away but Kamla called me back and we began talks. So Jearlean has always been the problem but it seems Kamla now believes her opinion and is being influenced by her.”

“UNC supporters must question whether their leader is willing to prioritise pride and ego over practical considerations, especially as NTA has been and remains open to dialogue.”

He said the UNC could never win in a three-party race and could lose San Juan, Chaguanas West and Moruga.

Griffith said the NTA would target marginals.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » February 28th, 2024, 10:01 am

And that's how the cookie crumbles

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » February 28th, 2024, 10:03 am

Is things like that above is the reason why PNM is going to win for the foreseeable future not just 2025.

Postby The_Honourable » February 28th, 2024, 11:15 am

At this rate, Rowley on easy mode in 2025

Postby bluefete » February 28th, 2024, 11:49 am

The_Honourable wrote:At this rate, Rowley on easy mode in 2025

Ah tort he say he was thinking about stepping down.

Postby pugboy » February 28th, 2024, 1:23 pm

when allyuh predict unc and gg will kiss and make
up again?

Postby mero » February 28th, 2024, 3:50 pm

New year, new L's

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » February 28th, 2024, 4:18 pm

But Gary made up numbers say that over 50% of the population support him. So why he need kamla now

Postby Habit7 » February 28th, 2024, 4:25 pm

If Farley and TPP (NAR 2.0) get the 2 seats in Tobago, it will be UNC Alliance again. Farley can become president too.

Postby The_Honourable » February 28th, 2024, 11:26 pm

bluefete wrote:

He just thinking about it. Not seeing anybody being groomed to take the helm so far.

UNC is a mess right now so if Rowley sees an easy win in 2025 that would further cement his political legacy, why not?
3-0 against unc clean? patos didn't have that luck.

pugboy wrote:when allyuh predict unc and gg will kiss and make
up again?

ah lil patchwork later in the year

Postby maj. tom » February 29th, 2024, 7:33 am

I eh go lie, these clowns in a tent like they stuck inside a role playing video game and every elections think they getting a Nvidia video card upgrade and believing they're fresh. But is the same shiet over and over and over. So tired and fed up of this opposition bullshiet Bold and the Beautiful politics. They're clearly enjoying themselves right where they are and have no further interest in this country.

Jack wants to make peace between Kamla, Gary
https://www.guardian.co.tt/news/jack-wants-to-make-peace-between-kamla-gary-6.2.1937450.34449be344
Former government minister Jack Warner believes the fracture in the relationship between Kamla Persad-Bissessar and Gary Griffith can be repaired, and he can also play a role in mending it.

Warner’s comment came yesterday after Persad-Bissessar and Griffith traded verbal jabs over the NTA’s ability to bring a meaningful contribution to the UNC’s push in next year’s general election.

Even with the apparent rift, Warner said he will not let the parties go their separate ways.

“The situation is, it’s not, of course, irretrievable and I think dialogue on both sides can resolve it and I will do what I can to assist in getting that dialogue together,” Warner said.

He said he would not comment further on the matter, as he wants to be in the best position to mediate in the issue.
Last edited by maj. tom on February 29th, 2024, 7:36 am, edited 1 time in total.

Skanky

Postby Skanky » February 29th, 2024, 7:36 am

Whether UNC wins or PNM wins next election one thing remains constant.....the people of Trinidad will continue to suffer as long as they both control power and pretend to fight one another.

It's a big show...a big soap opera..it's acting....I can't believe in 2024 people have to be told that these people just pretending to fight one another while living like Kings and Queens off your hard work/taxes....they are friends.....work colleagues.........while people who vote for them continue to suffer.

Stop listening to the sheit politicians say...start looking at what they do.

Imagine if I were to tell you our neighbours up North is the same thing and nothing really serious going to happen to Trump they just pretending/acting also,it's just Americans smarter so they have to try harder and pretend better to fool them.

People who hold power don't just give it up just so..they do whatever it takes to hold on to it.

They don't care about you.....just your money and your obedience.

Postby VexXx Dogg » February 29th, 2024, 10:37 am

maj. tom wrote:I eh go lie, these clowns in a tent like they stuck inside a role playing video game and every elections think they getting a Nvidia video card upgrade and believing they're fresh. But is the same shiet over and over and over. So tired and fed up of this opposition bullshiet Bold and the Beautiful politics. They're clearly enjoying themselves right where they are and have no further interest in this country.

Jack wants to make peace between Kamla, Gary
https://www.guardian.co.tt/news/jack-wants-to-make-peace-between-kamla-gary-6.2.1937450.34449be344
Former government minister Jack Warner believes the fracture in the relationship between Kamla Persad-Bissessar and Gary Griffith can be repaired, and he can also play a role in mending it.

Warner’s comment came yesterday after Persad-Bissessar and Griffith traded verbal jabs over the NTA’s ability to bring a meaningful contribution to the UNC’s push in next year’s general election.

Even with the apparent rift, Warner said he will not let the parties go their separate ways.

“The situation is, it’s not, of course, irretrievable and I think dialogue on both sides can resolve it and I will do what I can to assist in getting that dialogue together,” Warner said.

He said he would not comment further on the matter, as he wants to be in the best position to mediate in the issue.

Of course jack would resurface around election. Might as well piss in the gaping hole of a sinking ship.

This is PNM’s election to lose,
Not other parties’ one to win.

There is a difference.

Postby j.o.e » February 29th, 2024, 11:20 am

Habit7 wrote:If Farley and TPP (NAR 2.0) get the 2 seats in Tobago, it will be UNC Alliance again. Farley can become president too.

A lot of ifs there. PNM 2025

Postby pugboy » February 29th, 2024, 11:43 am

crab in barrel syndrome is embedded deep in the dna, always their downfall

Postby maj. tom » March 1st, 2024, 7:20 pm

You know what's a pity. I just watch Kamla on the news in Parliament and she is absolutely a brilliant lawyer and valuable Member of Parliament contributor to the debates. But like when she stand up on that elections platform she get dotish and wajang in the same manner how Rowley does get on.

So what so hard for her to let go of the opposition leadership but keep working as an MP?
Wouldn't that allow someone new to take the reigns and organize for 2025? But she would have all the name glory still, all the salary and perks, and most of all the respect and proper dignified leadership behaviour and example that the population needs to see of persons in power.

Like VexXxDog said 2025 is PNM's election to lose. And it's not that hard to start putting things in place from now. It's just so sad to know this is what the UNC of today is compared to that progressive vision that Panday had created.

Postby bluefete » March 2nd, 2024, 4:54 am

maj. tom wrote:You know what's a pity. I just watch Kamla on the news in Parliament and she is absolutely a brilliant lawyer and valuable Member of Parliament contributor to the debates. But like when she stand up on that elections platform she get dotish and wajang in the same manner how Rowley does get on.

So what so hard for her to let go of the opposition leadership but keep working as an MP?
Wouldn't that allow someone new to take the reigns and organize for 2025? But she would have all the name glory still, all the salary and perks, and most of all the respect and proper dignified leadership behaviour and example that the population needs to see of persons in power.

Like VexXxDog said 2025 is PNM's election to lose. And it's not that hard to start putting things in place from now. It's just so sad to know this is what the UNC of today is compared to that progressive vision that Panday had created.

Something about power and the treasury and holding on to it makes them Tootoolbay.

Williams dead in office. Chambers, Robinson, Manning, Kamla all got kicked out.

Panday was the victim of a palace coup by Robinson, initially, and then got a Julius Caesar stabbing from Maharaj, Sudama and Maraj.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » March 2nd, 2024, 7:23 am

bluefete wrote:

Why step down when victory is so easy ?

Postby paid_influencer » March 2nd, 2024, 6:24 pm

unity between PEP and UNC

Phillip Edward Alexander
·
MEDIA RELEASE - Today at an extraordinary meeting of the Progressive Empowerment Party, the executive and members present voted to endorse Kamla Persad Bissessar and to publicly support the UNC in the upcoming general elections.

It is the party’s position that the country will not do well under a third term of the current administration, and as all other options including going it alone or joining with the other third parties only help the incumbent, the PEP has decided to use its resources and strong voice to help the UNC form the next government of Trinidad & Tobago.

No other third party has contested a general election, a local government election or three by elections as we have, so we speak with considerable authority when we say this is the best way forward for Trinidad & Tobago at this time.

Phillip Edward Alexander
Political Leader
Progressive Empowerment Party

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » March 2nd, 2024, 7:01 pm

Welcome aboard

Postby The_Honourable » March 2nd, 2024, 7:08 pm