Re: *** THE OFFICIAL HOME THEATER & AUDIO THREAD**

Postby X_Factor » August 17th, 2013, 2:34 pm

yeah, did that already

another decent one is immortals
the part where posideon leaps from the heavens and hits the water
some decent subsonics there as well

tron legacy has nice music through out the movie

hunger games---the scene where they are in the forest and the ship hovers over...
insane stuff!

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 17th, 2013, 3:01 pm

^ nice!!!

ru$$ell

Postby ru$$ell » August 17th, 2013, 3:30 pm

Tried the norm yet?

ALA Jurassic park T-Rex scene?

Postby X_Factor » August 17th, 2013, 4:25 pm

^nopes....aint locate it yet
trying to find war of the worlds with tom cruise as well

btw, whats allyuh thoughts on the burnt blu rays everyone sells these days?
should be like the original rite?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 17th, 2013, 5:06 pm

^ should be, could be, maybe - copied bluray discs don't play on all players, that's why I buy originals - they last longer too

Postby X_Factor » August 17th, 2013, 8:06 pm

i jus look at a movie once and most of the time i give it away after

hunger games is a nice one to look at, nice visuals and really good audio

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 17th, 2013, 8:33 pm

X_Factor wrote:i jus look at a movie once and most of the time i give it away after

hunger games is a nice one to look at, nice visuals and really good audio
try vudu

It's 1080p and 5.1 DTS but its not HD audio.

Soundstream_626

Postby Soundstream_626 » August 17th, 2013, 9:27 pm

Justice League - The Flashpoint Paradox worked my subs pretty good, try that.

GLANIMAL

Postby GLANIMAL » August 18th, 2013, 4:28 am

anywhere in trini sells high end home theatre subs?

GLANIMAL

Postby GLANIMAL » August 18th, 2013, 5:26 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ should be, could be, maybe - copied bluray discs don't play on all players, that's why I buy originals - they last longer too

all plays on the highend oppo bdp8x and 9x series bluray players...also all their firmware updates do not support cinavia protection

ru$$ell

Postby ru$$ell » August 18th, 2013, 5:58 am

GLANIMAL wrote:anywhere in trini sells high end home theatre subs?

you can check triniwattage,they recently started bringing down Klipsch stuff from what i understand.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 18th, 2013, 11:44 am

GLANIMAL wrote:
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ should be, could be, maybe - copied bluray discs don't play on all players, that's why I buy originals - they last longer too

all plays on the highend oppo bdp8x and 9x series bluray players...also all their firmware updates do not support cinavia protection
you bought an expensive Oppo and use pirated / burn copy movies on it?

GLANIMAL

Postby GLANIMAL » August 18th, 2013, 9:30 pm

GLANIMAL wrote:

you bought an expensive Oppo and use pirated / burn copy movies on it?

50/50 lol

but i did gt the oppo for better video processing and if i had to play burnt movies ..wouldnt hv a problem either...i buy originals movies only when im away...i cant justify to myself paying 250 for a movie locally and watching it once..20us is ok

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 18th, 2013, 9:32 pm

^ agreed.

The Oppo really is a fantastic player. Super Audio CDs and HD Audio is another great reason to own an Oppo.

GLANIMAL

Postby GLANIMAL » August 18th, 2013, 10:30 pm

ru$$ell wrote:
GLANIMAL wrote:anywhere in trini sells high end home theatre subs?

you can check triniwattage,they recently started bringing down Klipsch stuff from what i understand.

they only carry def tech and mirage...klipsch own these companies..i prefer svs, velodyne or paradigm...think sound n security in valpark has sunfire which is rated high..but they have amp problems from reviews that i have read

Postby X_Factor » August 18th, 2013, 11:06 pm

SVS13 ultra probably 13k+ landed
sunfire atmos 15k+ landed
others may start atleast 6k landed

you can look into the dayton titanic line

but, if u have the space about 7cubes, a DIY 15" with amp may cost around 6K and keep up to almost any other in the market

GLANIMAL

Postby GLANIMAL » August 19th, 2013, 6:38 am

X_Factor wrote:SVS13 ultra probably 13k+ landed
sunfire atmos 15k+ landed
others may start atleast 6k landed

you can look into the dayton titanic line

but, if u have the space about 7cubes, a DIY 15" with amp may cost around 6K and keep up to almost any other in the market

i looking for a mid end sub....my theatre room is only 13 x 13...those more powerful sub would be an overkill

svs pb1000 looks good...i think ill hv to order one on amazon

Postby crazybalhead » August 19th, 2013, 7:32 am

Go on the paradigm website, the local dealer is there and the prices are EXCELLENT. Landed will be close to US list price.

Xecutive

Postby Xecutive » August 20th, 2013, 1:30 pm

X_Factor wrote:^nopes....aint locate it yet
trying to find war of the worlds with tom cruise as well

btw, whats allyuh thoughts on the burnt blu rays everyone sells these days?
should be like the original rite?

I would assume there would be some amount of data lost during ripping/compression, not so? But is it by a substantial amount to make a difference to the human ear and eye. My personal preference is just to purchase originals while abroad also but mainly collectors editions.

Postby X_Factor » August 21st, 2013, 12:15 am

viewtopic.php?f=11&t=524383

saw this in the classifies, excellent price/buy for someone

dredman1

Postby dredman1 » August 24th, 2013, 9:26 pm

Anyone know where I can find any of these 2 items locally? I know it's "old school" compared to more recent technology , but I'm trying to get piece of old school equipment to work :lol:

3.5mm Male to 2x RCA Female
41Z3d1toE+L._SX385_.jpg
41Z3d1toE+L._SX385_.jpg (11.16 KiB) Viewed 1934 times
41yTGBnnpqL._SX385_.jpg
41yTGBnnpqL._SX385_.jpg (12.06 KiB) Viewed 1934 times

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 24th, 2013, 10:21 pm

dredman1 wrote:Anyone know where I can find any of these 2 items locally? I know it's "old school" compared to more recent technology , but I'm trying to get piece of old school equipment to work :lol:

3.5mm Male to 2x RCA Female
Radio Shack will surely have those. Also try places like Balroops, Gopauls Electronics etc.

You can also get them on Amazon
http://www.amazon.com/Female-3-5mm-Ster ... B000I23TTO
http://www.amazon.com/C2G-Cables-40645- ... 000J1H4VI/

skybox and get it in a few days

dredman1

Postby dredman1 » August 24th, 2013, 10:27 pm

Thanks Duane - will try RS.
Saw them on Amazon, but looking to get it by Mon or Tues. They will be the last resort.

Postby X_Factor » August 24th, 2013, 11:28 pm

shams
steves
etc
i dont think thats a hard to find adapter
but in terms of quality might not be all that compared to whats available off amazon

Postby pioneer » August 24th, 2013, 11:36 pm

Radioshack sells a decent quality inhouse brand called Auvio, if I remember right they have those items.

Edit - link

http://www.radioshack.com/product/index ... d=16055126

Might be about $150

I bought an ipod cable for $100 listed at $12.99USD

The price isn't bad, the quality is amazing.

dredman1

Postby dredman1 » August 25th, 2013, 12:12 am

Forgot about Steve's and they around the corner from my work place.

Thanks for the links!

UPDATE: Got it at Steve's. Or at least a working solution, as they didn't have exactly what I was looking for.

3.5mm Male to 2X Male RCA, and a Female to Female RCA coupler

Thanks again.

Rallyfignis

Postby Rallyfignis » August 27th, 2013, 11:34 am

pioneer wrote:Radioshack sells a decent quality inhouse brand called Auvio, if I remember right they have those items.

Edit - link

http://www.radioshack.com/product/index ... d=16055126

Might be about $150

I bought an ipod cable for $100 listed at $12.99USD

The price isn't bad, the quality is amazing.

Been eyeing some Auvio products in Radio Shack recently and was wondering about the quality...

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 27th, 2013, 11:39 am

^ I switched my RCA composite cables for the FLOW digital cable box from the crappy generic ones to the AUVIO gold plated and it made a HUGE difference in picture and sound quality. I'm using the Pioneer Elite VSX-23TXH to upscale to 1080p to the TV and BBC and NatGeo look almost like HD.

Postby X_Factor » August 27th, 2013, 12:27 pm

Auvio is good stuff!!

Rallyfignis

Postby Rallyfignis » August 27th, 2013, 12:45 pm

I'll buy the cables and try them out!