Trinituner Fish Keepers, Aquarists & Aquascapers...

MonsterPower

Re: Trinituner Fish Keepers, Aquarists & Aquascapers...

Postby MonsterPower » November 2nd, 2011, 10:46 pm

thankx a mill .. will call them tmr

thetriniman

Postby thetriniman » November 3rd, 2011, 8:57 am

MonsterPower - did u try PetShop Boys in Sando?

Postby UML » November 3rd, 2011, 11:30 am

MonsterPower wrote:hey guys tried searching in the 116 pgs and couldnt find.. i am looking for an intank filter for my aq its a 20 gal by my estimate
thng is its a boat shaped tank and was given to my wife by her sister as a b-day gift and the resun filter started to leak currant into the water... when i touched the glass or the water i was feeling the shock
tried all the places in south except the mall and they all looked at me and said i need an external filter ..i cant because of the cover .. either i find a decent intank filter or a cut a new opening in the glass cover

anyone seen in any fish place and can help plz post

why not take the old filter to Chai's (who sells resun products....believe the authorised dealer) and see if they have the same filter and replace it. They have other in tank applications like this u can use

Chai's (Azoo) Store 646-0596

evil_twin

Postby evil_twin » November 3rd, 2011, 6:12 pm

does anyone know who has calico orandas rite now? not too big maybe around $50 each lookin for 6

MonsterPower

Postby MonsterPower » November 3rd, 2011, 7:59 pm

Thanks alot for all the responses
Sharkman i called up the guy but he only had external ones
Called up Agent roro and he pointed me in the direction of ST joseph agri and pet supplies on royal road.Spoke to the owner and he was very knowledgable guy who advised me on the tetra whisper internal power filter. i also bought a bubble stone and water treatment for the cloudy water.He also had some colorful fishes which looked like guppies . i may go back another day for them

Now Harold,kumar,fred and joe swimming rather happily in their newly filtered water.(wifey said that )

I will post up pics of my tank when i get some time

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » November 3rd, 2011, 8:10 pm

i wonder if chemi-pure will work good in these without clogging

Postby sharkman121 » November 3rd, 2011, 8:27 pm

MonsterPower wrote:Now Harold,kumar,fred and joe swimming rather happily in their newly filtered water.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » November 3rd, 2011, 9:27 pm

sharkman121 wrote:
MonsterPower wrote:Now Harold,kumar,fred and joe swimming rather happily in their newly filtered water.

d man could of at least put in ah lil woman fish for dem......... and name her LOLA!!!!

MonsterPower

Postby MonsterPower » November 3rd, 2011, 9:31 pm

wifey named them ...

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » November 4th, 2011, 8:12 pm

anybody know whah happen tuh ryantt? he get ban or whah. is ages he aint post

UML, you decide on what lighting and other stuff you want to go with yet?
and how d curing of live rock going

Postby UML » November 4th, 2011, 9:06 pm

^^^ aye aye Rome wasnt built in a day :lol: :lol:

is year+ i planning this tank eh..so doh expect miracles nah :oops:

k well i more t5 inclined AGAIN...although I was hoping LED because of the low temp change i leaning back to t5 because it tried and tested and reviews that mushrooms lose the brightness of their colour with leds....maybe before i decide to buy a chiller the led quality wud improve and i wont have to buy it again 8-)

about curing the rock.....i have everything EXCEPT the rock :oops:

i might get it this weekend or next weekend...not sure when..waiting on a next partner who also upgrading his nano tank to a 4ft.

we thinking our curing process will be a week max...cause the rock wudnt be out of the water for not more than an hour or two.

i will share my experience with u guys

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » November 4th, 2011, 9:06 pm

Head and Lateral Line Erosion (HLLE)

Cause: Environmental; nutrition, stray voltage, pathogens, water quality, activated carbon

Description: Head and Lateral Line Erosion has almost never been observed on reef fishes, except when they are housed in aquaria. It has an unknown cause. Possibilities include pathogens, stray voltage, copper medications, activated carbon, poor water quality, and others. It may be that there are a number of causative factors that lead to the formation of this disease.
Symptoms: Pigmentation begins to disappear from the head region around the eyes. Lesions develop and advance from the head region down the lateral line (sense organ for vibrations) along the side of the fish. Pigmentation loss continues to the point that internal organs may become visible. Fin and opercular tissue (bony covering over the fish gills) may also be lost.
Treatment: Since there is specific known cause, there is no specific known solution. Successful treatments have included: removal of the affected from from their aquarium environment and placement into a new system with clean water; dietary change with an increase in vitamins.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » November 4th, 2011, 9:11 pm

UML, ent you buying the rock from raj? or yuh getting it from toco

Postby UML » November 4th, 2011, 9:14 pm

HondaB20B wrote:UML, ent you buying the rock from raj? or yuh getting it from toco

chaguaramas or toco

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » November 4th, 2011, 9:17 pm

UML wrote:
HondaB20B wrote:UML, ent you buying the rock from raj? or yuh getting it from toco

chaguaramas or toco

:shock: :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock:

Postby sharkman121 » November 4th, 2011, 9:20 pm

HondaB20B wrote:Head and Lateral Line Erosion (HLLE)

Cause: Environmental; nutrition, stray voltage, pathogens, water quality, activated carbon

Description: Head and Lateral Line Erosion has almost never been observed on reef fishes, except when they are housed in aquaria. It has an unknown cause. Possibilities include pathogens, stray voltage, copper medications, activated carbon, poor water quality, and others. It may be that there are a number of causative factors that lead to the formation of this disease.
Symptoms: Pigmentation begins to disappear from the head region around the eyes. Lesions develop and advance from the head region down the lateral line (sense organ for vibrations) along the side of the fish. Pigmentation loss continues to the point that internal organs may become visible. Fin and opercular tissue (bony covering over the fish gills) may also be lost.
Treatment: Since there is specific known cause, there is no specific known solution. Successful treatments have included: removal of the affected from from their aquarium environment and placement into a new system with clean water; dietary change with an increase in vitamins.

yeh tests confirm activated carbon has shown to cause HLLE in fish...especially tangs. What however is up in the air is how come thousands of reefers run activated carbon and fish dont get HLLE.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » November 4th, 2011, 9:23 pm

well its in one of the CORAL mags

Postby sharkman121 » November 4th, 2011, 9:31 pm

HondaB20B wrote:well its in one of the CORAL mags

yeh think thats exactly where i read it, in reefkeeper or advanced aquaris magazine or sumn.

They did some tests and proved carbon was causing it, but didnt know how come lots of reefers never got it with everyone running act carb these days.

Postby UML » November 4th, 2011, 9:31 pm

and i now buy activated carbon for my tank :(

btw what is chemi pure? and where do u buy it?

Postby sharkman121 » November 4th, 2011, 9:37 pm

dont study too much about the activated carbon, keep running it in my opinion. Does alot more good than harm.

Chemi pure works, its still a glorified carbon & gfo item. Ive been reading alot of discussions about chemie pure, not if it works because it does, but if it does enough to justify the price tag. Some ppl swear by it, i was very impressed by the reviews and marketing myself so i do run chemi pure now. But tests done show that chemi pure doesnt do much really more than running carbon and gfo. Ill try to get the source from where i read it, cant remember where at the moment.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » November 4th, 2011, 9:43 pm

sharkman121 wrote:dont study too much about the activated carbon, keep running it in my opinion. Does alot more good than harm.

Chemi pure works, its still a glorified carbon & gfo item. Ive been reading alot of discussions about chemie pure, not if it works because it does, but if it does enough to justify the price tag. Some ppl swear by it, i was very impressed by the reviews and marketing myself so i do run chemi pure now. But tests done show that chemi pure doesnt do much really more than running carbon and gfo. Ill try to get the source from where i read it, cant remember where at the moment.

Postby Ted_v2 » November 4th, 2011, 9:49 pm

Question

where can i get a cone snail to buy?

is it legal to get? because i never saw any in trinidad

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » November 4th, 2011, 9:54 pm

sometimes you get it down d islands while diving. its not something you see on a regular basis.
St kitts have them by the thousands though

Postby sharkman121 » November 4th, 2011, 9:54 pm

HondaB20B wrote:
sharkman121 wrote:dont study too much about the activated carbon, keep running it in my opinion. Does alot more good than harm.

agree or disagree?

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » November 4th, 2011, 10:00 pm

sharkman121 wrote:
HondaB20B wrote:

agree or disagree?

at one time i had 3 bags inside my cannister filter in my 4ft and worked wonders. good thing, you reminding me i need to change it yes. water got crystal clear. need to set up one properly in my 6ft soon and see what happens

Postby Ted_v2 » November 4th, 2011, 10:01 pm

HondaB20B wrote:sometimes you get it down d islands while diving. its not something you see on a regular basis.
St kitts have them by the thousands though

cyah get one to buy in trinidad?

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » November 4th, 2011, 10:05 pm

^^^really dont know who to tell you to check nah?

Postby Ted_v2 » November 4th, 2011, 10:12 pm

HondaB20B wrote:^^^really dont know who to tell you to check nah?

normal snail self :(

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » November 4th, 2011, 10:13 pm

raj or santoo..................... what you want a snail for

Postby Ted_v2 » November 4th, 2011, 10:55 pm

HondaB20B wrote:raj or santoo..................... what you want a snail for

i wanted the cone snail for a pet but any snail will work until i get one