MaxPower wrote:So basically after the 14 day quarantine...
These pests in Barbados will be allowed in?
Steups.
bluefete wrote:MaxieP: Yuh need a good reason to keep them out after that.
Ramesh: PAP letter waiting in the wings.MaxPower wrote:So basically after the 14 day quarantine...
Steups.
bluefete wrote:MaxieP: Yuh need a good reason to keep them out after that.
Ramesh: PAP letter waiting in the wings.MaxPower wrote:So basically after the 14 day quarantine...
Steups.
Redress10 wrote:hydroep wrote:sMASH wrote:facebook wrote:By Wayne Sturge!
The man who died from COVID 19 was not an imported case since he arrived here on 5 February. Given what we know of COVID 19 he had to have contracted the virus in late February as much as many don't want to hear it, just after Carnival.
Did the MOH issue a statement on this? If they didn't clarification is necessary not only for the public but for themselves since it would probably impact their strategy going forward...
If it came with carnival then there would have had more community spread and deaths etc. Remember during carnival you have wet parties, poor hygiene and general lower community immunity resulting in "carnival flu" resulting in the yearly carnival flu. All of these are perfect conditions for something such as corona to flourish.
Had this been here since carnival we would have been seeing deaths and hospitalisations as the older population would have contracted it by now. Apart from cruise ship 40 we have what 20 cases all with recent travel history etc?
Our first case presented on 12th of March and this was a 52 year old who recently returned from switzerland. Meaning he would have been infected 5-7 days before. The average time for symptoms to develop is 5 days. The max incubation period is 14 days meaning that it could take "up to" 14 days for symptoms to show up but realistically it's between 3-7 days. A virus isn't going to hide in your body for 14 days and then decide to act up on the 15th day. That's not how infectious diseases work. Most people can't tell you when they suspect infection so 14 days upper limit is always just a legal/medical precaution.
The minute you are infected, your immune system recognises it as a foreign body and begins to work to counter it hence the symptoms such as fever and other symptoms. Fever is always a sign that your body is battling an infection. A fever that refuses to break is a sign of a systemic infection. A viral infection fever is one that you will recognise. You literally feel like you burning up. There may also be shivers and nightsweats. All these accompany the fever.
With that being said. Let's say that this spread began with as soon as carnival finish. Carnival ended on the 25th I believe. Let's say that person caught it on that day. Developed symptoms 5-7 days. That puts their max incubation period of 14 days at 3rd of March. So the 3rd of march was the last day for all your carnival cases to start popping up. Once that incubation period is over and no symptoms then no disease.
So what people with this carnival angle trying to say is there are people here who contracted corona over a month now and have been going about their lives without infecting others? Trinidadians live in extended families with grand parents/babies (vulnerable groups) in close quarters and still didn't infect others?
That making sense?
bluefete wrote:62.
A pardner of mine who came in from NY last week, just tested positive. Now got the results.
I wonder if they will reach out to everyone who was on the CAL flight he came in.
MaxPower wrote:bluefete wrote:MaxieP: Yuh need a good reason to keep them out after that.
Steups.
Our borders are closed is more than enough reason.
But cool, open up the borders for them and anyone who crying to come back in after their galavanting.
The flight crew should choose not to fly.
Get the country under control first, then we will sort them out.....stay put means stay put.
sMASH wrote:Redress10 wrote:hydroep wrote:sMASH wrote:facebook wrote:By Wayne Sturge!
The man who died from COVID 19 was not an imported case since he arrived here on 5 February. Given what we know of COVID 19 he had to have contracted the virus in late February as much as many don't want to hear it, just after Carnival.
Did the MOH issue a statement on this? If they didn't clarification is necessary not only for the public but for themselves since it would probably impact their strategy going forward...
If it came with carnival then there would have had more community spread and deaths etc. Remember during carnival you have wet parties, poor hygiene and general lower community immunity resulting in "carnival flu" resulting in the yearly carnival flu. All of these are perfect conditions for something such as corona to flourish.
Had this been here since carnival we would have been seeing deaths and hospitalisations as the older population would have contracted it by now. Apart from cruise ship 40 we have what 20 cases all with recent travel history etc?
Our first case presented on 12th of March and this was a 52 year old who recently returned from switzerland. Meaning he would have been infected 5-7 days before. The average time for symptoms to develop is 5 days. The max incubation period is 14 days meaning that it could take "up to" 14 days for symptoms to show up but realistically it's between 3-7 days. A virus isn't going to hide in your body for 14 days and then decide to act up on the 15th day. That's not how infectious diseases work. Most people can't tell you when they suspect infection so 14 days upper limit is always just a legal/medical precaution.
The minute you are infected, your immune system recognises it as a foreign body and begins to work to counter it hence the symptoms such as fever and other symptoms. Fever is always a sign that your body is battling an infection. A fever that refuses to break is a sign of a systemic infection. A viral infection fever is one that you will recognise. You literally feel like you burning up. There may also be shivers and nightsweats. All these accompany the fever.
With that being said. Let's say that this spread began with as soon as carnival finish. Carnival ended on the 25th I believe. Let's say that person caught it on that day. Developed symptoms 5-7 days. That puts their max incubation period of 14 days at 3rd of March. So the 3rd of march was the last day for all your carnival cases to start popping up. Once that incubation period is over and no symptoms then no disease.
So what people with this carnival angle trying to say is there are people here who contracted corona over a month now and have been going about their lives without infecting others? Trinidadians live in extended families with grand parents/babies (vulnerable groups) in close quarters and still didn't infect others?
That making sense?
i will repeat it again, akash:
they have clear instructions to NOT test people who dont have recent travel history. if carnival people came and spread it on a local backside, then flew out, and the local catch it, no matter what symptoms they have, they WILL NOT BE TESTED.
given that 80% of the people would have mild mild mild symptoms, and that people still moving around like normal, it woudl spread, with only a few getting severe, and those would NOT BE TESTED for corona, and it will be written of as respiratory illness or flu or pnemonia or what ever.
its not that its not here, its that we are not testing the NON TRAVELED public.
now they ahve ian spread it, and a few isolations violating, they can now blame it on other people and say 'is we fault it spread'
and is unc wanted to drink rum, that cause it
Status of COVID-19
As of 19 March 2020, COVID-19 is no longer considered to be a high consequence infectious diseases (HCID) in the UK.
The 4 nations public health HCID group made an interim recommendation in January 2020 to classify COVID-19 as an HCID. This was based on consideration of the UK HCID criteria about the virus and the disease with information available during the early stages of the outbreak. Now that more is known about COVID-19, the public health bodies in the UK have reviewed the most up to date information about COVID-19 against the UK HCID criteria. They have determined that several features have now changed; in particular, more information is available about mortality rates (low overall), and there is now greater clinical awareness and a specific and sensitive laboratory test, the availability of which continues to increase.
The Advisory Committee on Dangerous Pathogens (ACDP) is also of the opinion that COVID-19 should no longer be classified as an HCID.
The need to have a national, coordinated response remains, but this is being met by the government’s COVID-19 response.
The_Honourable wrote:CMO Parsaram admitted that there can be persons who can go well beyond the 14 day incubation period.
Redress10 wrote:Smash
You still not making any sense and I am wondering if it makes sense to even respond to you at this point. You all are stuck in your ignorant ways so no amt of scientific facts does change alluh minds.
I already broke it down for you down to infection and incubtion period. Now you come here talking abt ppl flying in and spreading corona during carnival and flying back out? Are you a proper dunce?
The incubation period is maximum 14 days. That carnival incubation period ends on 4th March. A whole week before our first official case. Are you trying to say that this was spreading all through months of February with all the feteing etc taking place? Steups.
Mild flu symptoms. Do you know what mild means? A flu is more severe than the cold. A cold runs its course over 3-5 days whilst a flu could last for up to a month. Flu symptoms are different to cold. Much different.
Anyone who had corona im Feb, the virus has already run its course cause its almost a month and the incubation period is 14 days.
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:65 cases now
Redress10 wrote:The_Honourable wrote:CMO Parsaram admitted that there can be persons who can go well beyond the 14 day incubation period.
Same with any other disease. Remember incubation period is when ya body recognise the virus and starts reacting to it. So a person who taking cancer treatment or someone who had an organ transplant and on immuno suppresant therapy would have different testing requirements as their body wouldnt be able to create the antibodies necessary for an accurate test results.
Medicine has to say certain things for medical and legal purposes. So the majority may be within 14 days with the average being 5 days but you also have to mindful of "outliers". This is just medical talk for legal basis etc.
Just look at it like this...a negative result becomes more accurate the further from the potential infection incident it is taken. Meaning a negative test result taken at 14 days is more reliable than a test taken at day 5.
That is why when you test is also crucial to stop false negatives. Calm down peeps. Calm down.
carluva wrote:These media outlets something else... PM clearly said that the country is not going into lockdown nor a SOE. It's if you are non-essential, stay home. And the list of non-essential will be sent out before Sunday
The media is pushing public fear and drama.
carluva wrote:I knew that as well, but what is the underlying reason for that? What are the limitations? At what point would it switch to do more testing?