Food prices in Trinidad and Tobago

Re: Food prices in Trinidad and Tobago

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » October 6th, 2021, 8:47 pm

People talking about the many incentives avaible to farmers but forgetting the everest a farmer has to climb to access these incentives!

Sins hit the nail on head: govt studying all kinda fancy thing but forgetting about land tenure for farmers. If a farmer does not have proper paperwork for land....HE HAS NOTHING TO GET FROM GOVT!!!!!!!!

Majority of farmers with land(deed in hand) inherited same and they will just pass it to their children(which is in the minority).

I see people talking about getting into agriculture like its toasting a piece of bread. It's not that simple if you dont have

Land tenure
Water supply
Access roads
Assistance with flooding/larceny

Govt need to address these issues first before looking at the "fancy" aspect of the industry.

Postby De Dragon » October 6th, 2021, 11:23 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:People talking about the many incentives avaible to farmers but forgetting the everest a farmer has to climb to access these incentives!

Sins hit the nail on head: govt studying all kinda fancy thing but forgetting about land tenure for farmers. If a farmer does not have proper paperwork for land....HE HAS NOTHING TO GET FROM GOVT!!!!!!!!

Majority of farmers with land(deed in hand) inherited same and they will just pass it to their children(which is in the minority).

I see people talking about getting into agriculture like its toasting a piece of bread. It's not that simple if you dont have

Land tenure
Water supply
Access roads

Govt need to address these issues first before looking at the "fancy" aspect of the industry.

The GORTT likes to treat Agriculture with scant respect, with programs that the majority of farmers cannot access.

Postby 88sins » October 7th, 2021, 6:05 am

I now get to realize something.
The vast majority of people in this country have absolutely no idea about what kinda state the local agricultural sector is in, or why it's in that condition, or why it's being INTENTIONALLY left that way.

Anywho, let the forex dry up, the "government" will borrow from the IMF to maintain this badminded trend. and guess what?

Is the poor people who gonna pay for it, and they gonna feel it the most.

Postby matr1x » October 7th, 2021, 6:46 am

The pnm big boys bring in the veggies, pnm gets the money, and Indian gets the bhaigan

Postby timelapse » October 7th, 2021, 7:12 am

pugboy wrote:i wanna know who have it been importing the durian fruits, been wanting to try fresh one for the longest while
Youth, we does call it Koah here.Check yuh bush family.My grandparents have a tree but I don't go there any more

Postby hover11 » October 7th, 2021, 7:25 am

88sins wrote:I now get to realize something.
The vast majority of people in this country have absolutely no idea about what kinda state the local agricultural sector is in, or why it's in that condition, or why it's being INTENTIONALLY left that way.

Anywho, let the forex dry up, the "government" will borrow from the IMF to maintain this badminded trend. and guess what?

Tbh I surprised we haven't knocked on the IMF's door yet

Postby De Dragon » October 7th, 2021, 7:35 am

hover11 wrote:

The LFD RFD PNM makes their supporters feel like they are the brave knight battling the IMF dragon. Thus they repeat it ad nauseam in their speeches, particularly at election time, or when adjustments are to be made like Property Tax, all while avoiding politically risky things like Public Sector job cuts, devaluation etc.
Make no mistake though, the LFD RFD PNM IMFing without the IMF.

Postby hover11 » October 7th, 2021, 7:42 am

hover11 wrote:

The LFD RFD PNM makes their supporters feel like they are the brave knight battling the IMF dragon. Thus they repeat it ad nauseam in their speeches, particularly at election time, or when adjustments are to be made like Property Tax, all while avoiding politically risky things like Public Sector job cuts, devaluation etc.
Make no mistake though, the LFD RFD PNM IMFing without the IMF.
This is what I noticing they doing what they want and saying well you know the IMF worse so that supposed to do what exactly make me feel good, JUHN comes on the platform everytime with scare tactics like you will lose your jobs , your pensions will cut, your wouldn't be able to buy groceries we saving you from that . Then the supporters rejoice and dance totally brainwashed

Postby Dizzy28 » October 7th, 2021, 8:19 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:

Land tenure
Water supply
Access roads

This is what I hoping for earlier when I asked Hover11 about what incentives he wants to see. Shakes is right, the above issues are important but they are more enabling environment factors that incentives. The enabling environment has to be good first and then incentives need to exist to support it.

The same goes for everything in Trinidad. We have a shiet enabling environment. Its the reason for the last two years of the Ease of Doing Business Report by the World Bank we are ranked 105th globally. Incentives don't matter when doing business is difficult.

So yes farmers have a comprehensive suite of incentives but its second tier to shakes 4 enabling environment issues.

Postby zoom rader » October 7th, 2021, 8:24 am

Its the same poor folk that will continue to vote Red back in.

My great grandfather always told me black people don't like nothing good.

Postby timelapse » October 7th, 2021, 9:27 am

hover11 wrote:

If I see Rowley and his house elf knocking on my door asking for money, I would pretend I not home

Postby zoom rader » October 7th, 2021, 9:31 am

timelapse wrote:
hover11 wrote:

If I see Rowley and his house elf knocking on my door asking for money, I would pretend I not home
But you will be first to vote them back in

SuperiorMan

Postby SuperiorMan » October 7th, 2021, 9:51 am

timelapse wrote:
hover11 wrote:

dogg

Postby dogg » October 7th, 2021, 11:38 am

With all this food price talk, it might be a good time for you to take the plunge and visit a posh (to you) Massy stores supermarket. Make sure to post pix for your grandchildren to see in later years.

timelapse wrote:
MaxPower wrote:Trinis LOVE the 4rin ting.

Their googly yellow eyes does open big big when they see these foreign items.
So true.I knew a guy that put up a sign in his pet shop ' imported tropical fish' .The imported fish used to sell faster than the local.Funny thing was the same , exact fish.
Grass is greener abroad.Most Trinis do not appreciate what they have
Probably why Max loves his Venes

Exactly bro.

Trinis don’t appreciate anything at all. The majority that is.

I like Venes, Syrians and Chinese and i will support them over a typical Trini anyday anytime.

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » October 7th, 2021, 11:56 am

1 billion dollars for agriculture but food importers getting forex to import 7 billion tt of foreign foods into Trinidad.

Postby timelapse » October 7th, 2021, 12:12 pm

timelapse wrote:
hover11 wrote:

Zoom I fedup tell you I don't vote red.

ftitan

Postby ftitan » October 7th, 2021, 3:04 pm

Agri is a waste of time unless you live on the land with appropriate security and manpower. Incentives don't work unless you have a link. I've been waiting on my startup incentives and rebate since 2019. I stop reading the agri incentives in budget because most people can't access it. Imagine farmers choosing backhoe and excavator men who have links with extension officers. They write you a check double of what it cost to work and promise guaranteed checks within 3 months..This way you getting back everything you put out. Otherwise you gonna suffer waiting on rebates.
Before you even reach to that level of fight down, it have men who farming years with freehold land but still getting fight down for a farmers card.
Thief will take out everything and chop up your trees if you reap before them, but praedial larceny squad, police and defending your property is a joke in this country.

They not targeting the right problems but claiming to help out farmers. Whatever yes.

timelapse wrote:
pugboy wrote:i wanna know who have it been importing the durian fruits, been wanting to try fresh one for the longest while
Youth, we does call it Koah here.Check yuh bush family.My grandparents have a tree but I don't go there any more

koah or cowa is jackfruit. Durian grows here but doesn't fruit well unless you get specific varieties, which impossible to bring in unless you smuggle the seedling. Because plant quarantine not giving you a valid permit unless you know them personally.

Food prices in Trinidad and Tobago

Postby MaxPower » October 7th, 2021, 3:15 pm

dogg wrote:With all this food price talk, it might be a good time for you to take the plunge and visit a posh (to you) Massy stores supermarket. Make sure to post pix for your grandchildren to see in later years.

*yawwwwn

dogg come na man, don’t be the ONLY jackass who constantly bringing up Massy stores as posh.

No one is saying that but you and for some reason it’s bothering you clearly to be bringing it up. Save your money to shop in Massy if it makes you feel better i guess.

We moved on to other topics doggo, get with the times bro.

Postby zoom rader » October 7th, 2021, 3:21 pm

Redress10 wrote:1 billion dollars for agriculture but food importers getting forex to import 7 billion tt of foreign foods into Trinidad.
It's the only way to tote US out of trini.

All the cold countries are wealthy because they are heavily involved in agriculture while hot countries remain poor.

See how the Cold nations hoodwink black countries to buy their food products.

Cold countries will distroy hot countries agriculture program. They did it with sugar and tried with bananas, coffee and coca.

Postby timelapse » October 7th, 2021, 5:09 pm

ftitan wrote:Agri is a waste of time unless you live on the land with appropriate security and manpower. Incentives don't work unless you have a link. I've been waiting on my startup incentives and rebate since 2019. I stop reading the agri incentives in budget because most people can't access it. Imagine farmers choosing backhoe and excavator men who have links with extension officers. They write you a check double of what it cost to work and promise guaranteed checks within 3 months..This way you getting back everything you put out. Otherwise you gonna suffer waiting on rebates.
Before you even reach to that level of fight down, it have men who farming years with freehold land but still getting fight down for a farmers card.
Thief will take out everything and chop up your trees if you reap before them, but praedial larceny squad, police and defending your property is a joke in this country.

They not targeting the right problems but claiming to help out farmers. Whatever yes.

timelapse wrote:

koah or cowa is jackfruit. Durian grows here but doesn't fruit well unless you get specific varieties, which impossible to bring in unless you smuggle the seedling. Because plant quarantine not giving you a valid permit unless you know them personally.
Look the same to me but I guess I was wrong.

Postby pugboy » October 7th, 2021, 5:15 pm

they don’t look the same at all
durian is round hard spiky , could damage you if it hit you
jackfruit is shaped more like giant soursop

dogg

Postby dogg » October 7th, 2021, 9:57 pm

What? Who can forget someone (you) saying that Walmart, Target AND Massy Stores, Superpharm and Pricesmart are only for upper-class folks?? :D

You taking never-see-come-see to a whole new realm. You poor pitiful man.

dogg wrote:With all this food price talk, it might be a good time for you to take the plunge and visit a posh (to you) Massy stores supermarket. Make sure to post pix for your grandchildren to see in later years.

*yawwwwn

dogg come na man, don’t be the ONLY jackass who constantly bringing up Massy stores as posh.

No one is saying that but you and for some reason it’s bothering you clearly to be bringing it up. Save your money to shop in Massy if it makes you feel better i guess.

Postby MaxPower » October 8th, 2021, 4:34 am

dogg wrote:What? Who can forget someone (you) saying that Walmart, Target AND Massy Stores, Superpharm and Pricesmart are only for upper-class folks?? :D

You taking never-see-come-see to a whole new realm. You poor pitiful man.

*yawwwwn

*yawwwwwwn

Morning bro,

Get work and get productive.

Postby bluefete » October 9th, 2021, 11:31 am

CBS MoneyWatch
"We haven't seen anything yet": Food prices continue to climb
CBSNews
Wed, October 6, 2021, 4:27 AM

If you think you're paying more at the grocery store – you're not wrong. Wholesale prices are at record highs and some items are scarce, CBS Los Angeles reports.

One woman said her grocery bill has been slowly climbing over the past few weeks. "The prices are just so high," she said.

She's not alone.

"Everything just seems to be a dollar to two dollars higher," said shopper Kathleen Postal. "This creep has just happened and it's very expensive."

According to the Labor Department, wholesale prices jumped 8.3 percent from August of this year compared to August of 2020 -- the biggest gain since the department started tracking those prices more than a decade ago.

"We haven't seen anything yet," said SuperMarketGuru.Com editor and food industry analyst Phil Lembert. "Prices are going to continue to go up for a good year and a half."

"The biggest increases we will see has to do with anything with animals," he said, "Whether it's eggs or milk or pork or beef."

Northern California wildfires have decimated their feed suuply.

General supply chain issues like bottlenecks at the Port of Los Angeles and labor shortages are also to blame.

"We have a huge problem with a lack of truck drivers," Lembert said. "Refrigerated transport is up about 10.4 percent in cost."

And as prices have increased, supplies have decreased.

"We're just having a hard time finding the types of things we want," Postal said.

CBS L.A. saw limited supplies of things like milk, butter, soda, snacks, paper products and baking supplies at stores it visited.

"Retailers who are filling out their orders to fill their shelves are not getting what they order," Lembert said. "It's estimated to be anywhere between 50 and 70 percent of what they order."

Experts say it still pays to shop around. Shoppers may want to try independent grocers or stores with different business models like The Dollar Store or grocery outlets.

https://www.yahoo.com/finance/news/have ... 21480.html

Postby hover11 » October 9th, 2021, 11:39 am

Accurate
FB_IMG_1633792537166.jpg

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » October 9th, 2021, 9:50 pm

Zooom...how many cows you have?

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » October 10th, 2021, 5:51 am

i looking to buy some beans wholesale. does it come in 50 pound bags of 100 pounds bags only? where has the best prices for wholesale beans?

Postby timelapse » October 10th, 2021, 7:38 am

daring dragoon wrote:i looking to buy some beans wholesale. does it come in 50 pound bags of 100 pounds bags only? where has the best prices for wholesale beans?
What kind of beans?

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » October 10th, 2021, 7:53 am

timelapse wrote:
daring dragoon wrote:i looking to buy some beans wholesale. does it come in 50 pound bags of 100 pounds bags only? where has the best prices for wholesale beans?
What kind of beans?

red beans, channa, dhal etc.

Postby zoom rader » October 10th, 2021, 10:32 am

Redress10 wrote:Zooom...how many cows you have?