Low Carb\Low Cal\Healthier Food\Healthier Lifestyle Thread

Re: Low Carb\Low Cal\Healthier Food\Healthier Lifestyle Thre

Postby AllTrac » May 17th, 2012, 3:48 pm

Dj_Bee wrote:So i started the gym at the beginning of the year, weighed 270lbs, today I'm at 240lbs...still going but I've been at 240lbs since last month and have started losing weight much slower.
I try to get at least 3 to 4 days workout a week, starting off by burning 500cals in cardio (treadmill or Arc trainer) and then to weights each time.

My diet is for breakfast a bowl of quaker instant oatmeal mixed with a little peanut butter and honey for sum more flavor and 1 or 2 bananas if i have. lunch is usually anything i get to eat but in small moderation, i cut down on soft drink, i drink like about a 20oz bottle a week if so much. The problem is when the night comes i start craving food like crazy, sometimes I'll munch down a half bag of cereal before i go n sleep other times i make a pack of ramen noodles just before sleep. Recently i started working night shifts and all they bringing to eat is level fast foods and that's all I'm eating...

Advice??

too much carbs buddy, cut out the quaker oats, at mornings a high protein, good fats breakfast jump starts your metabolism and start the fat burning. Cut out the carbs at night also especially before you go to bed.
If you need a snack to hold you over at night, buy planters peanut butter, cut an apple in 4 pieces and spread about 1tablespoon of peanut butter on the 4 pieces.
Or drink a nice warm cup of tea, not too much sugar and a touch of milk. That half bag of cereals and ramen noodles screwing with your calorie deficit.
If you are hungry all the time, then take a good look at your diet, you are probably eating to much simple carbs which gives u an insulin spike then crash after.
Change your diet with foods that last longer so you stay fuller longer. Ive come to learn that weight loss is 70% diet and 30% exercise.

Postby AllTrac » May 17th, 2012, 3:53 pm

good stuff AP, i take a "reset" yearly, i should do it every 6 months tho

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » May 17th, 2012, 3:55 pm

AllTrac wrote:too much carbs buddy, cut out the quaker oats, at mornings a high protein, good fats breakfast jump starts your metabolism and start the fat burning.

Oatmeal is a complex carb though. Not sure why you would suggest he cut out the Quarker oats in his diet.

Please provide an example of a high protein good fats breakfast.

Postby crazybalhead » May 17th, 2012, 3:56 pm

prostrate health??

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » May 17th, 2012, 4:04 pm

crazybalhead wrote:prostrate health??

I mean prostate. Thanks. :P

Dj_Bee

Postby Dj_Bee » May 17th, 2012, 8:39 pm

Well today before i went to the gym i had a handful of cereal then when i came home I had a bowl of oats and 2 bananas for breakfast, lunch about 2pm which was a piece of grilled fish with macaroni salad and fresh green salad.
After work, my mums cooked dhal and rice but i just drank a cup of dhal and ate a pear, then dis evening ate a few crix with butter. Im feeling full atm hope it lasts until tomorrow.

I have never tried any supplements other than normal seven seas cod liver oil and Jameson vitamin c tablets, i"ll look into the probiotics.

Im looking to go on a serious diet, but every time i say that it never happens smh.

Postby AllTrac » May 17th, 2012, 8:42 pm

AbstractPoetic wrote:
AllTrac wrote:too much carbs buddy, cut out the quaker oats, at mornings a high protein, good fats breakfast jump starts your metabolism and start the fat burning.

Oatmeal is a complex carb though. Not sure why you would suggest he cut out the Quarker oats in his diet.

correct, while it may be a complex carb it still has 17g net carbs in one cup. He is at 240lbs and his weight loss has slowed down, he is still to early in his weight loss program to be adding so much carbs in the morning, further more its instant oats not old fashion steel cut oats with bananas, which is about 20grams of carbs, minus dietary fiber (about 3grams) making it 17grams plus the carbs from a medium size banana which is about 24grams (minus 3 grams fiber) to add to that he said he is adding honey.
One table spoon of honey is 17g of carbs no dietary fiber. With just one cup of instant oats, one banana, one table spoon of honey he is putting in a whooping 61grams of carbs for breakfast.
I would typically recommend grains and oats in the later phase of his diet when he has dropping out of the 200lb + range.

Let me give you an example of myself on how i ended up realizing my morning carb intake was too much at the begining of my plan.

In March i weighed 197lbs. I started p90X. For breakfast I ate old fashion steel cut oats (not the processed kind he did, no sugar) probably 2 cups, i added some raisins to that and some chopped nuts, on some days i would substitute the nuts with bananas.
Luch was a cup of brown rice and some type of meat.
afternoon was probably some peanuts or shredded post wheat (NOT the sugar coated one). Did p90x, dinner would be whole grain bread and meat.
P90x is a 60min a day 6 days a week workout. I followed the workout regiment to a "T"
never missing a day. For 30 days that was basically my diet, not exactly like that but more or less the same nutritional content. Now from reading that you can see off the bat that my diet looked ALOT cleaner than his.

On the firstday of April. I weighed myself and I was 196lbs. One lb, i wanted to fling away the scale and say fcuk it. Go pig out. How could i torture myself for 30 days, cut out drinking, workout for every single day, eat clean and only lose one fcuking lb?
I studied it and from good sources and advise it nailed it down to my diet and realized it was the carbs.
First day of April, changed up diet again, breakfast, 4-5 eggs (3egg white, one whole egg) made an omlette with various vegetables, had some baby carrots.
Mid morning snack, more baby carrots dipped in low carb peanutbutter.
Lunch, 1-2 grilled chicken breast with one slice of cheese, stir fry vegetable, no oil, just cut up a bunch of veges, lots of mushrooms, throw a little oyster sauce on it and skillet that sheit up.
afternoon, one cup of black coffee (great appetite suppressant)

at 5pm had a large green apple and a can of tuna soaked in water, at 6pm stated phase 2 of my p90x.
After p90x, had one scoop of designer whey protein in water for recovery then hit the bed.

That was basically my nutritional intake, different meats etcIt was more or less a Paleo/Caveman diet, for one month, no bread, no rice, no oats, no pasta, no hydrogenated flour and oils, no grains, no disgusting gluten.
First day in May i weighed 185lbs. Lost 12lbs of pure fat in one month.
Thing is i made my body pull energy from fat stores not from the carbs i ate since i ate very low amount of carbs which most ended up being dietary fiber.
Now i have added back some carbs, even eat oats, i just burn that sheit up now, gonna have pasta and meatball tomorrow, in moderation ofcourse, im sure i wont put on an ounce. This worked for me, it might or might not work for him, you have to be your own testbed.

Postby AllTrac » May 17th, 2012, 8:49 pm

Dj_Bee wrote:Well today before i went to the gym i had a handful of cereal then when i came home I had a bowl of oats and 2 bananas for breakfast, lunch about 2pm which was a piece of grilled fish with macaroni salad and fresh green salad.
After work, my mums cooked dhal and rice but i just drank a cup of dhal and ate a pear, then dis evening ate a few crix with butter. Im feeling full atm hope it lasts until tomorrow.

I have never tried any supplements other than normal seven seas cod liver oil and Jameson vitamin c tablets, i"ll look into the probiotics.

Im looking to go on a serious diet, but every time i say that it never happens smh.

Dj_Bee, you really need to have a good hard look at your diet, you need to write it down and start learning the nutritional value of each thing you put into your body.
Ive learnt that exercise is easy, diet and nutrition 24/7 is hard.
Go to livestorng.com and start tracking.

Dj_Bee

Postby Dj_Bee » May 17th, 2012, 10:58 pm

I think I gonna try my hand at the flax seed bread you were talking about and cut the oats out for a while, that's a lot of carbs I'm my breakfast as you said (and I taught it was nothing). I'm always on livestrong site but I never really made a diet plan. Tomorrow I'll work it out and start fresh from next week.

Postby ~Vēġó~ » May 18th, 2012, 5:30 am

that breakfast thing to jumpstart metabolism, I don't believe in....yeah science etc says that it does such, but why should I eat breakfast if I am not hungry? my metabolism is cranked via my cardio/strength training and coffee.....hey it works for me....

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » May 18th, 2012, 10:12 am

AllTrac wrote:
AbstractPoetic wrote:

correct, while it may be a complex carb it still has 17g net carbs in one cup. He is at 240lbs and his weight loss has slowed down, he is still to early in his weight loss program to be adding so much carbs in the morning, further more its instant oats not old fashion steel cut oats with bananas, which is about 20grams of carbs, minus dietary fiber (about 3grams) making it 17grams plus the carbs from a medium size banana which is about 24grams (minus 3 grams fiber) to add to that he said he is adding honey.
One table spoon of honey is 17g of carbs no dietary fiber. With just one cup of instant oats, one banana, one table spoon of honey he is putting in a whooping 61grams of carbs for breakfast.
I would typically recommend grains and oats in the later phase of his diet when he has dropping out of the 200lb + range.

Let me give you an example of myself on how i ended up realizing my morning carb intake was too much at the begining of my plan.

In March i weighed 197lbs. I started p90X. For breakfast I ate old fashion steel cut oats (not the processed kind he did, no sugar) probably 2 cups, i added some raisins to that and some chopped nuts, on some days i would substitute the nuts with bananas.
Luch was a cup of brown rice and some type of meat.
afternoon was probably some peanuts or shredded post wheat (NOT the sugar coated one). Did p90x, dinner would be whole grain bread and meat.
P90x is a 60min a day 6 days a week workout. I followed the workout regiment to a "T"
never missing a day. For 30 days that was basically my diet, not exactly like that but more or less the same nutritional content. Now from reading that you can see off the bat that my diet looked ALOT cleaner than his.

On the firstday of April. I weighed myself and I was 196lbs. One lb, i wanted to fling away the scale and say fcuk it. Go pig out. How could i torture myself for 30 days, cut out drinking, workout for every single day, eat clean and only lose one fcuking lb?
I studied it and from good sources and advise it nailed it down to my diet and realized it was the carbs.
First day of April, changed up diet again, breakfast, 4-5 eggs (3egg white, one whole egg) made an omlette with various vegetables, had some baby carrots.
Mid morning snack, more baby carrots dipped in low carb peanutbutter.
Lunch, 1-2 grilled chicken breast with one slice of cheese, stir fry vegetable, no oil, just cut up a bunch of veges, lots of mushrooms, throw a little oyster sauce on it and skillet that sheit up.
afternoon, one cup of black coffee (great appetite suppressant)

at 5pm had a large green apple and a can of tuna soaked in water, at 6pm stated phase 2 of my p90x.
After p90x, had one scoop of designer whey protein in water for recovery then hit the bed.

That was basically my nutritional intake, different meats etcIt was more or less a Paleo/Caveman diet, for one month, no bread, no rice, no oats, no pasta, no hydrogenated flour and oils, no grains, no disgusting gluten.
First day in May i weighed 185lbs. Lost 12lbs of pure fat in one month.
Thing is i made my body pull energy from fat stores not from the carbs i ate since i ate very low amount of carbs which most ended up being dietary fiber.
Now i have added back some carbs, even eat oats, i just burn that sheit up now, gonna have pasta and meatball tomorrow, in moderation ofcourse, im sure i wont put on an ounce. This worked for me, it might or might not work for him, you have to be your own testbed.

Makes perfect sense. Thanks for explaining this!!

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » May 18th, 2012, 10:14 am

~Vēġó~ wrote:that breakfast thing to jumpstart metabolism, I don't believe in....yeah science etc says that it does such, but why should I eat breakfast if I am not hungry? my metabolism is cranked via my cardio/strength training and coffee.....hey it works for me....

I eat breakfast for sustenance (as I do my other meals) and not necessarily because I am hungry.

But hey, if that approach is working for you then great.

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » May 18th, 2012, 10:19 am

Dj_Bee wrote:Well today before i went to the gym i had a handful of cereal then when i came home I had a bowl of oats and 2 bananas for breakfast, lunch about 2pm which was a piece of grilled fish with macaroni salad and fresh green salad.

That macaroni salad should have been replaced with more veggies.

That crix and butter should have been replaced with a healthy fat snack (peanut butter/carrots, piece of chocolate, nuts as an example) or protein shake.

jm3

Postby jm3 » May 18th, 2012, 10:25 am

AllTrac wrote:

Dj_Bee, you really need to have a good hard look at your diet, you need to write it down and start learning the nutritional value of each thing you put into your body.
Ive learnt that exercise is easy, diet and nutrition 24/7 is hard.
Go to livestorng.com and start tracking.

i second that learning what you are really eating will really help you see what to eat i have had many surprises since i started doing a food log but i have also learned that it's very easy to be overeating without feeling full.

Dj_Bee

Postby Dj_Bee » May 18th, 2012, 11:39 am

Tried the protein shake all trac was talking about had it right after gym, it really fulled me and I'm still going not even hungry. Going in the grocery to see if I get the ingredients to make the flax seed bread after work.
I need sum meal options tho any help?

Postby crazybalhead » May 18th, 2012, 11:42 am

Yes, simple recommendation. Whatever you eat, make sure at least half of the plate is fresh produce.

Postby AllTrac » May 18th, 2012, 12:03 pm

Dj_Bee wrote:Tried the protein shake all trac was talking about had it right after gym, it really fulled me and I'm still going not even hungry. Going in the grocery to see if I get the ingredients to make the flax seed bread after work.

yea the protein shake is fulling, make sure you dont go to bed right after drinking it, stay up about about 1-2 hours so it can work through your system. To be honest DJ_Bee at your present weight you should try making the same shake with water instead of milk,
1scoop protien
1banana
250ml of water.

See how it works for u for like 2-3 weeks. Then u could switch back on the milk. I didnt start that shake with milk until later down. Always remember to bring the intensity when working out. Dont half ass your work out or go at one speed. Think of it like this way, when riding a bike at one constant speed when you stop peddling it slows down in a couple seconds, now peddle reall hard and fast then stop peddleing, the bike continues to to go for a longer time at the speed before slowing down. It somewhat like that with your metabolism, work out hard and intense and your burn would continue a long while after the workout is done.

Porn Star

Postby Porn Star » May 18th, 2012, 12:03 pm

Now seeing this.
Excellent thread guys and gals.
Keep up the great work.

Postby AllTrac » May 18th, 2012, 12:28 pm

was waiting to post this, hopefully it would help. Ive always had bad hand eczema from birth, its hereditary, for as long as I can remember I always go to the same dermatologist probably 1-2times for the year for a cream to rub when the eczema broke out on my arms. It worked like clock work, every 2 weeks i would see the outbreak starting and then I would apply the cream for 5-6 days and it would go away. Gone for another 2 weeks then return again. That was the procedure all my life, it just became one of the things I did.
2 months ago since I started my Paleo/Primal diet, i decided to also cut out the most amount of gluten i could from it (no bread, wheat, pasta, grains, pastry, flour of any kind, only nuts i ate was almonds and cashew etc).
Its been almost 2 months and ive yet to get another break out, last break out was in the middle of March, nothing so far. Its hard staying off gluten products in Trinidad, as we dont have gluten free areas int he supermarket. So its a bit trying to stay off, but ive been doing well so far. The gluten in my diet was triggering the eczema and I was a person who used to eat bread at least 2 times a day, sometimes 3. Gonna continue to monitor it. Anyone with eczema, hope this helps.

Dj_Bee

Postby Dj_Bee » May 18th, 2012, 4:55 pm

AllTrac wrote:
Dj_Bee wrote:Tried the protein shake all trac was talking about had it right after gym, it really fulled me and I'm still going not even hungry. Going in the grocery to see if I get the ingredients to make the flax seed bread after work.

yea the protein shake is fulling, make sure you dont go to bed right after drinking it, stay up about about 1-2 hours so it can work through your system. To be honest DJ_Bee at your present weight you should try making the same shake with water instead of milk,
1scoop protien
1banana
250ml of water.

See how it works for u for like 2-3 weeks. Then u could switch back on the milk. I didnt start that shake with milk until later down. Always remember to bring the intensity when working out. Dont half ass your work out or go at one speed. Think of it like this way, when riding a bike at one constant speed when you stop peddling it slows down in a couple seconds, now peddle reall hard and fast then stop peddleing, the bike continues to to go for a longer time at the speed before slowing down. It somewhat like that with your metabolism, work out hard and intense and your burn would continue a long while after the workout is done.

I go to the gym atleast 5 days a week, and each workout session is started off with cardio, i burn 500 calories on cardio ( treadmill, arc trainer) then go on to weight lifting for bout an hour. So im sure my workout is good and intense.

Btw tried the flax seed bread recipie, came out a lil dry but tasted good still, had it with a slice of cheese and sum lettuce....that will surely be incorporated in my meal plan.

i'll try the shake with the water tomorrow and see how that goes.

Postby r3iXmann » May 18th, 2012, 5:18 pm

Dj_Bee wrote:I go to the gym atleast 5 days a week, and each workout session is started off with cardio, i burn 500 calories on cardio ( treadmill, arc trainer) then go on to weight lifting for bout an hour. So im sure my workout is good and intense.

Btw tried the flax seed bread recipie, came out a lil dry but tasted good still, had it with a slice of cheese and sum lettuce....that will surely be incorporated in my meal plan.

i'll try the shake with the water tomorrow and see how that goes.

that workout plan doesnt sound too healthy for you feller.

you shouldnt do heavy weight lifting on the same day that you do intense cardio

also, that 5 days of intense workout a week thing means your body isnt getting enough recovery time

Dj_Bee

Postby Dj_Bee » May 18th, 2012, 6:27 pm

I don't go too heavy on the weights, like 25lbs dumbells for arms and 2 45 plates for legs and 2 25 plates for benching.

Had a feeling that the cardio everyday was kinda overkill, but I was seeing calories being burnt so I just went with it.

Dj_Bee

Postby Dj_Bee » May 18th, 2012, 6:34 pm

Also I don't work my whole body everytime, I work certain parts on different days so I give the muscles about 2 days recovery, eg. I work out my chest and back on monday, then legs on tuesday, biceps and triceps on wednesday, abs and shoulders thursday then back too chest and back friday. And I keep mixing it up so I don't double up on the same area I worked out.

Postby r3iXmann » May 18th, 2012, 6:40 pm

the cardio every day isnt overkill..i thought u were doing heavy weights + cardio every day :lol:

Postby AllTrac » May 18th, 2012, 6:41 pm

yea DJ, dont over work yourself man, or else you will see the workout as painful and stressful time, once your mind is turned of on something you wont get your body to do it. There is something called over training. Get lots of sleep and count those calories.

Postby Trini Hookah » May 18th, 2012, 7:59 pm

Dj_Bee wrote:Also I don't work my whole body everytime, I work certain parts on different days so I give the muscles about 2 days recovery, eg. I work out my chest and back on monday, then legs on tuesday, biceps and triceps on wednesday, abs and shoulders thursday then back too chest and back friday. And I keep mixing it up so I don't double up on the same area I worked out.

Chuna sweat ftw, here's an actual testimonial:
adriano7910 wrote:checked my weight last night. i lost 3.5 lbs from yesterday.

Postby AllTrac » May 18th, 2012, 9:56 pm

Trini Hookah wrote:
Dj_Bee wrote:Also I don't work my whole body everytime, I work certain parts on different days so I give the muscles about 2 days recovery, eg. I work out my chest and back on monday, then legs on tuesday, biceps and triceps on wednesday, abs and shoulders thursday then back too chest and back friday. And I keep mixing it up so I don't double up on the same area I worked out.

Chuna sweat ftw, here's an actual testimonial:
adriano7910 wrote:checked my weight last night. i lost 3.5 lbs from yesterday.

:lol: :lol: :lol: fella wah you doing de man?

1lb is 3500calories, men burning 12,250cals in one sweat? :lol: rampy u would go in de man funeral eh lol

DJ_Bee, be realistic with your estimates, a nice steady loss is good. In the earlies you gonna lose alot of water weight, once that drops then the weight loss after is purely fat and a bit slower, bear in mind someone elses speed at losing weight might not be similar to yours as it depends on the age, height, weight and health of the person.

Postby VexXx Dogg » May 18th, 2012, 10:59 pm

according to the average weight calc, competitve soccer takes 240 mins to lose one pound.
240x3.5=840 mins = 14hours nonstop

that is one hell of a sweat dan.

Postby S_2NR » May 18th, 2012, 11:07 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:according to the average weight calc, competitve soccer takes 240 mins to lose one pound.
240x3.5=840 mins = 14hours nonstop

that is one hell of a sweat dan.

Postby r3iXmann » May 18th, 2012, 11:41 pm

water weight..