Chiney

Re: PC Tech/Gaming Info Thread

Postby Chiney » September 5th, 2010, 7:00 pm

nice questions... great answers

liking this thread!

i plan to post pics and explanation wen i am building my i7 sli rig for ppl to see wats high end and understand few things...

strictly information sake and not e-penis...

unlike other ppl..the system will be sorta over kill, but at the same time it will be used practically...

shud be a good ting..i think hcca said he gonna join me on it with his systems to

where he at?

xaira

Postby xaira » September 5th, 2010, 8:15 pm

"information sake" ofcorse

HCCA

Postby HCCA » September 5th, 2010, 8:32 pm

xaira wrote:"information sake" ofcorse

Yup for informational purposes. It have people who just wanna brag cuz they have money but i really don't want to see that sorta stuff here. Trinituner has a lot of visitors 24/7 so if they could get some good info on PC systems from local enthusiasts i think that would be a good thing. Instead of reading biased reviews on the net all the time nah. :wink:

You can learn things such as cable management, case modding, performance tweaking, budget builds etc here.

Feel free to add pics of y'all personal systems as well. :wink:

Postby bushwakka » September 5th, 2010, 8:37 pm

if ppl only knew the cost savings involved in buyin parts an building it urself....

when i built mine 2 yrs ago, ppl from computer shops was tellin me yea, ud get a nice system for 4000k.....when i looked closer at the specs that they were callin nice, i realise it was budget budget components from manfrs i never even heard of

being out of the desktop thing for a while, i had to go do an extensive bit of reading and research, and at the end of it all, i built a system with 300% more power than what they had on paper for the same price after buyin my own parts

Chiney

Postby Chiney » September 5th, 2010, 9:00 pm

HCCA wrote:
xaira wrote:"information sake" ofcorse

Yup for informational purposes. It have people who just wanna brag cuz they have money but i really don't want to see that sorta stuff here. Trinituner has a lot of visitors 24/7 so if they could get some good info on PC systems from local enthusiasts i think that would be a good thing. Instead of reading biased reviews on the net all the time nah. :wink:

You can learn things such as cable management, case modding, performance tweaking, budget builds etc here.

Feel free to add pics of y'all personal systems as well. :wink:

of which i know u and i do ALOT of...

i wont go into how much my costing
but i kno its gonna be a learning experience i dont mind sharing.

but here are the specs so far

gtx 480s ( SLi )
evga classified e760
6gb of some ram
500gb hdd ( storage is always external for me )
enermax revolution85+ 1050w 6rail psu
havent decided cooling
and the silverstone rv02

simple enough, but go wok!

as for bushwakka..

wel said buddy! :mrgreen:

Postby M_2NR » September 5th, 2010, 10:28 pm

Chiney wrote:nice questions... great answers

liking this thread!

i plan to post pics and explanation wen i am building my i7 sli rig for ppl to see wats high end and understand few things...

unlike other ppl..the system will be sorta over kill, but at the same time it will be used practically...

shud be a good ting..i think hcca said he gonna join me on it with his systems to

where he at?

I am looking forward to this. Lets keep it clean and just the way it is in this thread! going excellent thus far.

Cnuts and lil boy small piggy mentality free. Good job guys. Keep it up.

TBH cable management is such a b!tch in my antec 900. HCCA, any advice? I think at some point ill have to cut it up, or part with her. But being non-modular adds to the pain.

Chiney

Postby Chiney » September 5th, 2010, 10:39 pm

u wah see cable management?
lemme show u what its all about

desert punk

Postby desert punk » September 5th, 2010, 10:42 pm

it aint no up to date pc but it does run games good.

good info on building pc here keep up the good work guys.

Postby bushwakka » September 5th, 2010, 11:16 pm

Chiney wrote:u wah see cable management?
lemme show u what its all about

what case is that?
i hav an antec 1200, nice an black inside like urs...the only improvement i cud make on my cable management is to get a modular PSU....cudnt dish out the extra $ for the modular, but the PSU is at the bottom of mine, so no biggie

Chiney

Postby Chiney » September 5th, 2010, 11:22 pm

thermaltake armor extreme

HCCA

Postby HCCA » September 5th, 2010, 11:36 pm

M_2NR wrote:
Chiney wrote:nice questions... great answers

liking this thread!

where he at?

I am looking forward to this. Lets keep it clean and just the way it is in this thread! going excellent thus far.

Cnuts and lil boy small piggy mentality free. Good job guys. Keep it up.

TBH cable management is such a b!tch in my antec 900. HCCA, any advice? I think at some point ill have to cut it up, or part with her. But being non-modular adds to the pain.

Get a different case. The back of that case between the back side panel have very little space to hide cables. Even if u cut new holes in the case to route cables through u go have issues. Plus inside dey real cramped. I had two a time and i sell dem fast fast. The cooling bess though.

If you're looking for a decent mid sized case the Coolermaster HAF 922 would suit you fine. The back side panel made in such a way as to accomodate cables routed behind the motherboard tray. Plus there's a big holes in the back of the cpu area so you can attach aftermarket coolers without removing your board. best tool free installation as well and the cooling is like wow.

If u ent believe me you can ask Chiney as he had one as well. :wink:

Chiney

Postby Chiney » September 5th, 2010, 11:42 pm

yep he asked u so i didnt butt in

but yeh..
exactly wat HCCA said there is wat i did.. no cutting needed for that . as the back panel's depth from mobo tray to side cover was made to fit the cables to the back easily for management sake. the way the case was built was for that really..there is a hole by the psu mounting area for the cables to go straight to the back den hole around for various standard plug holes..

the case u have really and truly is outdated in terms of cable management design..

xaira

Postby xaira » September 6th, 2010, 12:14 am

who say cable manageent

Postby bushwakka » September 6th, 2010, 1:16 am

^who say u spilling something on that?

Postby M_2NR » September 6th, 2010, 4:12 am

Thanks so much Chiney and HCCA :oops: Chiney, sorry i mentioned HCCA because i knew he had one 900 b4.

If it's one thing feel free to throw any info out all the time. :)

That HAF 922 looking suhweet! if i knew of it being better than that 900 i would have bought it! I didnt investigated cases much when i bought it.

Definitely when i upgrade again (in a year or two) it will be in my plans.

That Armor is WOW!!!

questions i have are how is the cooling on the HAF? And i was seeing a blue lit one with a clear side for 20USD more...

http://www.newegg.com/Product/ProductList.aspx?Submit=ENE&DEPA=0&Order=BESTMATCH&Description=+HAF+922+&x=0&y=0

what's the difference?

Thanks much guys

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » September 6th, 2010, 4:42 am

I have a armor case also which I got from chiney, tons of room inside. full tower ftw!! only downsides is that you cant carry it to a lan party.

Postby M_2NR » September 6th, 2010, 5:45 am

Ohh and one more thing... i have been running in single channel for the longest while, since i got GTA IV. It used to work but now it just doesnt.
Thing is i never sorted this out... My RAM never boots in dual channel mode... the system never posts. I thought i was alone until i googled it...

In other words it boots in A1 and A2 but not A1 and B1.

i was reading this:
http://www.ocztechnologyforum.com/forum/showthread.php?51324-Memory-Having-Major-Problems-with-ASUS-P5Q-SE2
and
http://forums.techarena.in/motherboard-processor-ram/1115336.htm

does that seem a viable solution? to up the volt to 1.98?

Does running in single channel over dual matter much?

I have a ASUS P5Q-E and (2x2GB) DDR2-1066 OCZ HPC

If you all remember a back i had two sets of these on sale, that's cause i was trying 4x2GB and it didnt work. I believe it didnt because it wasn't on the Comp. list.

Virus

Postby Virus » September 6th, 2010, 6:03 am

Sorry i have been MIA for a bit but am getting read and write errors on my SSD planning to make a claim so until then i refuse to use a 10k hd its too slow for my liking, but thankfully i was able to keep yup with the readings of the thread keep it up

I am also going to do a write up on the new x6 AMD line 2.8 and 3.2 in my new rig so stay tune

xaira

Postby xaira » September 6th, 2010, 8:40 am

sux dued, so the whole 1million hours thing is a scham?

Virus

Postby Virus » September 6th, 2010, 9:03 am

xaira wrote:sux dued, so the whole 1million hours thing is a scham?

Yes Intel could say what they want by me SCAM....................

The 1st time it recovered by itself all i had to do was leave the pc off ie unplug the psu and then it would work now hundreds of intel fan boys are having the same problem even after firmware upgrade

Symptoms include BSOD where memory dump occurs, System hangs and goes non responsive could be minutes sometimes even hrs if you willing to wait, the HD light stays on as if it was doing something only to have windows time out then it would work again

Chkdsk /r /b nothing helps its either sticks or restarts

Next on the list is get an OCZ or Corsair.... Tired of the back an forth with Intel

HCCA

Postby HCCA » September 6th, 2010, 9:19 am

@ M_2NR

If you're into the whole clear side case thing you can get that one in the link. The case comes standard with 3 fans: 200mm blue/red led front intake (LED on/off switchable), 200mm top exhaust and a 140mm rear exhaust. Should be sufficient cooling for a nice sli setup. If it's the non clear side panel version, you can use 2 x 120mm fans on the side panel and top panel for better cooling using high cfm fans.

When i originally bought the Antec 900 is was purely from reading reviews on it being a 'gaming case'. Apparently i missed the parts where it said it was cramped inside. :?

As for the memory issue, if you ram operates at a certain speed at a higher than standard DDR2 voltage (1.8V) and timings then you must set the RAM timings/voltage according to what they're rated at. Thing abt brand name memory is that they work with certain boards which is why i using Markvision memory now which has more compatibility across different mainboards than most other brands. 8-) Had your kinda board before with a Q9300 but was using Crucial Ballistix 800/1000MHz DDR2 RAM, no problems in dual channel mode. Updated the BIOS to the latest as well.

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » September 6th, 2010, 1:23 pm

Virus wrote:Sorry i have been MIA for a bit but am getting read and write errors on my SSD planning to make a claim so until then i refuse to use a 10k hd its too slow for my liking, but thankfully i was able to keep yup with the readings of the thread keep it up

I am also going to do a write up on the new x6 AMD line 2.8 and 3.2 in my new rig so stay tune

cool looks forward to review as I may be considering to build a system around that x6

Virus

Postby Virus » September 6th, 2010, 2:20 pm

Yup will be conducting pros an cons on both configs ie DDR2 mobo ASUS M3A78-EM and DDR3 ASUS M4A89GTD PRO/USB3 both being O/C to be stable

Will also include a comparison to a 940 and 955 black (hopefully)

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Socket_AM2%2B

Virus

Postby Virus » September 6th, 2010, 2:21 pm

Last edited by Virus on September 6th, 2010, 2:31 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Chiney

Postby Chiney » September 6th, 2010, 2:27 pm

ditto on the memory there hcca

as well as OCZ has known issues for older models of ram and board/chipset compatibility...

Virus

Postby Virus » September 7th, 2010, 8:46 am

Well guys since my SSD hit the bricks i have been searching for some alternative drives ie SSD but i think i found the best of both worlds so for your reading pleasure i bring to you

http://www.seagate.com/www/en-us/produc ... ifications

Chiney

Postby Chiney » September 7th, 2010, 9:00 am

Virus

Postby Virus » September 7th, 2010, 9:06 am

I see the 250Gb XT is about 99USD so am thinking about going that direction, looking at review and benchmarks to see how it flavors against a full SSD i must say tho am sad cause my SSD gone but on to new things i think i will order by months end so its back to my Black WD

Chiney

Postby Chiney » September 7th, 2010, 9:13 am

i would of went back with a SSD
the performance is unmatched even next to the XT there

check reviews.. it still doesnt touch SSD

only if it see u using a program over and over

Virus

Postby Virus » September 7th, 2010, 9:25 am

Well i not going to give up on my SSD just going to try something i can still keep the drive as storage in the long run, just switching SSD vendors so am looking into the OCZ Vertex 2