COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 88944 (+964) cases, 2718 (+37) deaths, 16543 active, 696 recovered in T&T

Postby redmanjp » December 28th, 2021, 6:41 pm

paid_influencer wrote:some update on the variant situation

- CDC revised its estimates on Omicron. They previously declared it was 73% for last week, this was subsequently revised downward to 22%. This week's (current) estimate is 56%.

So Delta is still hold its own right now.

and, Delta is continuing to evolve. Apparently they sequenced a Delta case with 22 mutations. So Delta and Omicron might be fighting back and forth for dominance going forward.

delta plus? didnt see anything about 22 mutations tho

widdyphuck

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 88944 (+964) cases, 2718 (+37) deaths, 16543 active, 696 recovered in T&T

Postby widdyphuck » December 28th, 2021, 6:44 pm

What going on here.....
FB_IMG_1640731339816.jpg
FB_IMG_1640731055301.jpg
FB_IMG_1640726615729.jpg

Postby paid_influencer » December 28th, 2021, 6:47 pm

redmanjp wrote:delta plus? didnt see anything about 22 mutations tho

not delta plus. somebody found a random sample of Delta that was heavily mutated, but I donno how important it is other than "yea this stuff will continue to evolve in new and fantastic ways"
FHsxrcyXsAEIUe0.jpeg

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » December 28th, 2021, 7:19 pm

wtf wrote:No party boat guys.
It was a "floating restaurant"

Smh. The audacity of these people.
FB_IMG_1640726615729.jpg

So who lie al rawi or scoon?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » December 28th, 2021, 9:12 pm

Dizzy28 wrote:Add Jamaica to that and any point in trying to link vaccines to deaths goes out the window
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Image

To me it shows that our deaths per million are much higher than Canada.
If you prefer to look at the effects of the vaccines we can look at our own numbers, apples to apples
Screenshot 2021-12-03 at 12.42.27 AM-1.jpg
Screenshot 2021-12-03 at 12.42.27 AM-1.jpg (11.59 KiB) Viewed 1584 times

Postby pugboy » December 28th, 2021, 9:17 pm

yeah but some vaxxed still ded so that means the vaccines not working
at least that is what they does say

Postby MaxPower » December 28th, 2021, 9:42 pm

Those who are following the protocols STRICTLY are not being infected.

Trinis need to stop lying by saying OH i was wearing my mask all the time bla bla….yeh my ass they were.

I will say for the millionth time from DAY 1….the objective is to protect your self from harmful airborne particles and surfaces…..follow the protocols….for heavens sake it’s a virus.

Postby hover11 » December 28th, 2021, 9:49 pm

MaxPower wrote:Those who are following the protocols STRICTLY are not being infected.

Trinis need to stop lying by saying OH i was wearing my mask all the time bla bla….yeh my ass they were.

I will say for the millionth time from DAY 1….the objective is to protect your self from harmful airborne particles and surfaces…..follow the protocols….for heavens sake it’s a virus.
X3000

Everybody who get covid " I don't know how I get it , I was wearing my mask, sanitizing maintaining my distance " so how the firetruck you get it then again complacency sets in rather quickly

Postby sMASH » December 28th, 2021, 10:11 pm

hover11 wrote:
MaxPower wrote:Those who are following the protocols STRICTLY are not being infected.

X3000

Everybody who get covid " I don't know how I get it , I was wearing my mask, sanitizing maintaining my distance " so how the firetruck you get it then again complacency sets in rather quickly
Kinds consigned.
I will follow all the measures; social distance, Sanitize, mask up, don't congregate.
Also added the horse paste, zinc and vitamin d to the mix.

I just ain't taking that chemical in my body.

So far, so good.

And, omicron gonna change the game, natural immunity.
By mid January, omicron will over take delta, and by end January u will see that rate dive.
Everybody will get antibodies.

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » December 28th, 2021, 10:18 pm

Allya gorn sleep nah, it's day and night allya on tuner b!tching about the same shite over and over.

Postby st7 » December 28th, 2021, 11:08 pm

DMan7 wrote:Allya gorn sleep nah, it's day and night allya on tuner b!tching about the same shite over and over.
ent.

only jamette does get on so

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » December 28th, 2021, 11:18 pm

redmanjp wrote:
paid_influencer wrote:
redmanjp wrote:efficacy may have fallen with variants but its not zero. especially with a booster dose. u are implying that its no different and that it is in fact zero.

not to spook anybody, but there's a possibility that vaccine effectiveness can infact fall to below zero. Negative effectiveness.

:drinking:

perhaps only if vaxxed ppl lower their guard and go out like dpd to a million and one limes and get infected :D

So far so good eh.

All vaxxed limes ftw

Postby adnj » December 29th, 2021, 7:05 am

An early Omicron cluster in the U.S. suggests the variant has a shorter incubation period.

... A study of the group released on Tuesday by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention suggested that Omicron may have a shorter incubation period than previous variants: about 72 hours.

It may take as little as three days for people to develop symptoms, become contagious and test positive, compared with four to six days with Delta infections and those caused by original coronavirus, the authors observed.

Only one member of the household was fully vaccinated, and all but one member, including the traveler, had experienced confirmed infections in 2020. No household members reported underlying medical conditions.

The study also reported that the family members experienced mild symptoms. The six described their illnesses as similar to, or milder than, those experienced during their first infection.

“It is unknown whether the mild clinical syndromes or differing symptom descriptions are a result of existing immunity or altered clinical features associated with Omicron infection,” the study’s authors wrote.

“The five reinfections, including one after full vaccination, might be explained by waning immunity, the potential for partial immune evasion by Omicron, or both.”

A study in Norway that examined a large cluster of individuals who were infected with the variant at a Christmas party in Oslo also suggested that the incubation period was around three days. It is not yet clear how long people remain infectious with Omicron.

https://www.nytimes.com/2021/12/28/worl ... s-cdc.html

Postby hover11 » December 29th, 2021, 7:14 am

"If another Covid wave were to push the health service to the point of collapse, Downing Street would face two possibilities: lock down everyone or reserve the harshest restrictions for the 5 million people who have declined to be vaccinated in the hope it would ease the burden on hospitals and slow the spread of an outbreak.'

https://www.theguardian.com/world/2021/ ... 1640712380

5 million is a lot of ppl, Boris has his work cut out for him.

Postby hover11 » December 29th, 2021, 7:16 am

How Alcohol Can Affect Your Immune System

Increased drinking can make people even more vulnerable to respiratory diseases like COVID-19.

https://www.healthline.com/health-news/ ... 9-outbreak

Postby Redman » December 29th, 2021, 7:18 am

sMASH wrote:
hover11 wrote:

X3000

Kinds consigned.
I will follow all the measures; social distance, Sanitize, mask up, don't congregate.
Also added the horse paste, zinc and vitamin d to the mix.
]

Add a little puncheon and Sunlight yuh GT.
:D

Couldn't resist...sorry

Postby sMASH » December 29th, 2021, 7:25 am

Okay, two tings I coudl avoid.
Nobidy want me on Alco, done mad enough when I sober.

N e ways, alllll deaths are covid deaths.
Giant pump and dump exercise. Pump up the figures, dump thr vaxes on the population.
Screenshot_2021-12-29-07-21-31_1.jpg

Postby adnj » December 29th, 2021, 7:30 am

COVID-19: How the rules for the unvaccinated vary around the world

Tuesday 7 December 2021 15:42, UK

Sky News looks at some of the strictest vaccine policies.

Austria

From 15 November, anyone unvaccinated in Austria has been banned from most public places, including restaurants, hotels, theatres and ski lifts.

Austria came out of a two-week national lockdown on 5 December, which was intended to curb the recent wave of infections affecting western Europe.

But the newly elected chancellor, Karl Nehammer, confirmed on 7 December that although society is opening up again, the unvaccinated will remain banned from the venues that had been closed and only allowed to leave home for essential reasons.

Germany

Before leaving office, former German chancellor Angela Merkel said her successor would look to introduce mandatory vaccinations to tackle huge case rates.

Describing it as a "lockdown of the unvaccinated", the move would likely see people who have not been jabbed only allowed to leave home for work, school, and other essential reasons.

Germany's ethics council is due to issue formal guidance, with a Bundestag (the German parliament) vote on legislation due by the end of the year.

Any legislation passed would come into effect in February.

Indonesia

COVID vaccinations have been mandatory across Indonesia since February.

In the capital city, Jakarta, people have been threatened with fines of up to five million rupiah (£270) if they are found outside their home without having had a jab.

They could also be denied government assistance or social services.

Greece

In January, Greece will make COVID vaccines mandatory for everyone over 60.

Under the new system, people who break the rules will be fined €100 (£85) for each month they remain unvaccinated.

Prime Minister Kyriakos Mitsotakis described it as a "health fee… not a punishment" and said the funds would go towards hospital COVID wards.

Saudi Arabia

All public and private sector workers in Saudi Arabia have been subject to compulsory vaccinations since May.

People must also be vaccinated to enter any government or educational establishment, including schools, colleges or universities.

Netherlands

From late September, across the Netherlands, anyone over 13 has been required to carry a so-called "corona pass" that shows proof of vaccination for certain venues.

The corona pass covers restaurants, bars, nightclubs, cinemas, museums, indoor and outdoor festivals.

USA

From 10 September, all US federal workers and contractors must have been vaccinated.

Private sector workers will either have to be tested weekly or have a vaccine from 4 January.

President Joe Biden had been trying to impose the same rules on private firms of more than 100 employees, but the decision has been halted by the federal court pending the same date.

In New York City, from 27 December, all private sector workers will have to be vaccinated.

Canada

In October, Canada started putting unvaccinated federal employees on unpaid leave.

COVID vaccines have been required for all 338 Canadian MPs since 22 November.

Anyone travelling by plane, train or ship also has to show proof of vaccine status.

France

From mid-December in France, people over 65 are now required to show proof of a booster vaccine on their digital health pass to go into restaurants and cultural venues and to travel by train or plane.

Everyone's had to show a COVID pass in these instances for some time.

All health care and care home workers have been required to have a first dose by 15 September, with 3,000 workers already suspended for failing to comply.

Since September in the French overseas territory of New Caledonia, jabs have been compulsory for all adults, including tourists.

Fiji

A "no jab, no job" policy was introduced in Fiji in August for all employees across the private and public sectors.

Public sector workers who fail to comply are placed on unpaid leave or eventually dismissed.

And private companies can face fines or be forced to stop their operations if enough staff remain unvaccinated.

Latvia

As of 12 November, politicians in Latvia have been made to get a COVID vaccine or have their pay cut.

From 4 November, businesses have been allowed to fire employees who either refuse to get the vaccine or work remotely.

Russia

In Moscow, all workers with public-facing jobs have been subject to mandatory vaccinations since June.

Since 9 November in St Petersburg, COVID jabs have been mandatory for people over 60 and those with chronic illnesses.

Ukraine

Vaccines have been compulsory for public sector employees, including teachers, since October.

People who are not vaccinated are not able to enter some restaurants, sport, and other large-scale public events.

New Zealand

Teachers in New Zealand have been subject to mandatory vaccines since October.

People working in health care jobs or with disabled people must also be fully vaccinated.

Morocco

Since 21 October, vaccine passes have been required for access to government buildings, cafes, restaurants, cinemas, and gyms in Morocco.

People also have to be vaccinated to travel by train or plane.

https://news.sky.com/story/covid-19-how ... d-12489003

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » December 29th, 2021, 11:56 am

First dose figures to be removed from daily updates

Postby redmanjp » December 29th, 2021, 1:01 pm

wtf wrote:First dose figures to be removed from daily updates

hmm. they didnt update the figure yesterday although public servants would have been off and coming to get vaxxed.

Postby redmanjp » December 29th, 2021, 2:43 pm

hmm. so Delta airlines gets to decide the quarantine period for the whole US, and likely many countries that follow CDC's guidance

https://twitter.com/shine_i1/status/1475892041427136512/photo/1

Last edited by redmanjp on December 29th, 2021, 3:06 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Postby adnj » December 29th, 2021, 3:00 pm

They were so careful, for so long. They got covid anyway.

... Across the nation and the world, people who thought they knew how to avoid covid are getting a rude surprise. Safety precautions that had for so long felt talismanic ― get vaccinated, mask up, avoid large indoor gatherings — have in the past week or two collapsed under the weight of omicron, a much more highly transmissible variant than the ones before it.

Schools and colleges returned to virtual learning. Flights were canceled as airline staff caught the virus. Long-anticipated holiday plans fell apart as people — young and old, vaccinated and unvaccinated — tested positive right and left. Those with negative tests worried it was only a matter of time.

They are likely right, according to Robert Frenck, professor of pediatrics and director of the Vaccine Research Center at the Cincinnati Children’s Hospital. “You know what? You’re probably going to get covid, but it’s okay,” he said.

Instead of thinking they lost the race against the virus, Frenck encouraged people to redefine their concept of winning. “It’s not that you failed,” he said. “You actually succeeded. You dodged the bullet. … What are people trying to prevent? Are we trying to prevent the common cold? Nobody’s going to do that. You’ve gotten your booster, you’ve done everything, and you still get covid, but how sick did you get?”

For most infected people with vaccines, he said, “What they’re having is a cold.”

People misunderstand what the vaccine is designed to do, Frenck said, adding that unvaccinated people are dying at a rate 20 times higher than people who are vaccinated and boosted. “Vaccines are going to stop people from being hospitalized and from ending up in the ICU and from dying,” he said. “This is nature saying, it hasn’t gone away now, and we need to go out and get vaccinated.”

https://www.washingtonpost.com/dc-md-va ... -positive/

ed360123

Postby ed360123 » December 29th, 2021, 3:04 pm

sMASH wrote:Okay, two tings I coudl avoid.
Nobidy want me on Alco, done mad enough when I sober.

N e ways, alllll deaths are covid deaths.
Giant pump and dump exercise. Pump up the figures, dump thr vaxes on the population.
Screenshot_2021-12-29-07-21-31_1.jpg
You can't even spell properly and you want to spin conspiracy theories?

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » December 29th, 2021, 3:25 pm

Embarrassing...
Screenshot_20211229-152418_Facebook.jpg

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » December 29th, 2021, 3:26 pm

Again, Trinidad is not a real place.

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » December 29th, 2021, 3:44 pm

16 dead get away from this nasty red gauva mint. rest in peace to all who died.

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » December 29th, 2021, 3:48 pm

Predictions for today? Should be low again considering people ain't gonna get tested when ole years coming up and plenty ole years parties and zess to go to where they won't be able to go if they test positive and in quarantine.

Postby K74T » December 29th, 2021, 4:01 pm

465/16

FB_IMG_1640808049067.jpg

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » December 29th, 2021, 4:04 pm

This holiday season is skewing the numbers with people not lining up to be tested, I just hope people aren't shocked when we return to "normal" numbers in 2 weeks time. That being said the number of deaths shouldn't be affected for the holiday season so are we seeing a decline in the number of deaths here?

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » December 29th, 2021, 4:19 pm

1000 cases in January 2022.
Wait for it..