PC Tech/Gaming Info Thread

HCCA

Re: PC Tech/Gaming Info Thread

Postby HCCA » August 4th, 2011, 10:03 pm

ruffneck_12 wrote:how do you unlock a core? Obeah?

really cool build, love d board,,, get a better PSU doh

Some boards come with unlocking features in the BIOS, ACC is usually the name. Depending on teh cpu and batch number you can get a successful core unlock.

I know for a fact the Sempron 140 2.7GHz supertech selling unlocks to ah Athlon II dual core. Some Athlon II x3's unlock to eitehr a Athlon II x4 or ah Phenom II x4 as well.

xaira

Postby xaira » August 5th, 2011, 12:01 pm

imagine a low budget build can have 8 gigs of ram nowadays

anybody know where i can get a sata to microsata cable?

[X]~Outlaw

Postby [X]~Outlaw » August 5th, 2011, 1:56 pm

My i7 build should be finished this weekend. I'm very pleased the way my cable management came out. The Corsair 600T is a very nice case. I did replace all the stock fans to ones with better airflow and static pressure.

Got my 23" IPS display yesterday (Dell U2311H). Cost $465 to ship via aeropost. I must say even working with a 21" display at work a 23" is a big difference. Haven't gotten a chance to really use it yet but the colors are just brilliant. A big difference from the AOC monitors I usually buy.

jeevdude199

Postby jeevdude199 » August 5th, 2011, 2:04 pm

xaira wrote:imagine a low budget build can have 8 gigs of ram nowadays

anybody know where i can get a sata to microsata cable?

check bz tech in curepe

xaira

Postby xaira » August 5th, 2011, 4:43 pm

thx m8 :)

Chiney

Postby Chiney » August 5th, 2011, 11:43 pm

Postby Ronaldo95163 » August 5th, 2011, 11:53 pm

Uploaded today.

Postby M_2NR » August 6th, 2011, 4:39 am

hosss omfgggg the obeah to unlock the cores crack me up so much :rofl:

[X]~Outlaw wrote:My i7 build should be finished this weekend. I'm very pleased the way my cable management came out. The Corsair 600T is a very nice case. I did replace all the stock fans to ones with better airflow and static pressure.

Got my 23" IPS display yesterday (Dell U2311H). Cost $465 to ship via aeropost. I must say even working with a 21" display at work a 23" is a big difference. Haven't gotten a chance to really use it yet but the colors are just brilliant. A big difference from the AOC monitors I usually buy.

take some pics of the cable management na? :oops:

and yup! The size difference is noticeable. I had a 21" and went to a 24". The 21" seemed so small for my viewing distance.
I could imagine the difference in color due to IPS vs TN panel too. The only downfall of these TN's is that and its highly noticeable in photoshop :(

HCCA

Postby HCCA » August 6th, 2011, 9:05 am

M_2NR wrote:take some pics of the cable management na? :oops:

Antec 900 ftw.

jeevdude199

Postby jeevdude199 » August 6th, 2011, 9:39 am

unlocking that 4th core was d bes ting i eva do...wheyyyyy....i rel backward in technology but wheyyyy.....dis pc runnin relll nice.......now next question..wtb..graphic card....

HCCA

Postby HCCA » August 6th, 2011, 10:06 am

jeevdude199 wrote:unlocking that 4th core was d bes ting i eva do...wheyyyyy....i rel backward in technology but wheyyyy.....dis pc runnin relll nice.......now next question..wtb..graphic card....

The only type of card u can run on your psu is one with a 6 pin pcie power connector on it.

Anything above that and ur psu have to change.

Have a dude with a new 1gb GTX 460 SSC for $1200, great card. 2 6 pin doh.

jeevdude199

Postby jeevdude199 » August 6th, 2011, 10:42 am

i watchin d psu i have it have extra connectors like 3 an i tink i cud power a good gpu..i'll take pics and show yuh later.....

another ting..wat u all does use to monitor temp an ting?

mickey17

Postby mickey17 » August 6th, 2011, 10:43 am

alu think a quad core phenomII x4 at 3.7ghz and 2 6870 radeon cards will be able to run BF3 at 1080p ??

jeevdude199

Postby jeevdude199 » August 6th, 2011, 10:50 am

mickey17 wrote:alu think a quad core phenomII x4 at 3.7ghz and 2 6870 radeon cards will be able to run BF3 at 1080p ??

wat u tink bro?

HCCA

Postby HCCA » August 6th, 2011, 11:59 am

jeevdude199 wrote:i watchin d psu i have it have extra connectors like 3 an i tink i cud power a good gpu..i'll take pics and show yuh later.....

another ting..wat u all does use to monitor temp an ting?

CoreTemp for CPU monitoring, EVGA precision for nvidia and ATI cards, MSI afterburner as well. Gigabyte may have ah monitoring utility of their own so you can use that.

I have a cpu and vga sidebar monitoring gadgets on my desktop, u can get them on windows website.

mickey17 wrote:alu think a quad core phenomII x4 at 3.7ghz and 2 6870 radeon cards will be able to run BF3 at 1080p ??

Yes it can but the cpu may bottleneck those cards a bit, a core i5-2500K or Phenom II x6 1100TT would be better for those.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 6th, 2011, 12:47 pm

[X]~Outlaw wrote:My i7 build should be finished this weekend. I'm very pleased the way my cable management came out. The Corsair 600T is a very nice case. I did replace all the stock fans to ones with better airflow and static pressure.
sweet post specs and pics!!!

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 6th, 2011, 12:52 pm

gracen wrote:Uploaded today.

the FTW board is SWEEET!!!

love the CF card slot!
get a 90MB/s SanDisk 16GB card and use it as a scratch disk

Postby Ronaldo95163 » August 6th, 2011, 1:32 pm

^

I'm so jealous right now :oops:

http://www.evga.com/products/moreinfo.asp?pn=160-SB-E689-KR

Oh well...even if i waited for this I probably couldn't use it as my case only supports up to ATX form factor motherboards :P

Postby M_2NR » August 6th, 2011, 3:45 pm

HCCA wrote:

Antec 900 ftw.

sigh
is because of that case i does appreciate case management :oops:

HCCA

Postby HCCA » August 6th, 2011, 5:47 pm

M_2NR wrote:
HCCA wrote:

Antec 900 ftw.

sigh
is because of that case i does appreciate case management :oops:

All u hadda do is get a dremel and cut some holes in the areas around the board and near the psu and route the cables out the back of the case. Get some metal clips to hold down the cables and u good to go.

Apparently Antec learnt from their mistakes with that case and designed the 902 series.

Postby M_2NR » August 6th, 2011, 6:08 pm

i eh buying a next antec case EVER! CM ftw.

That dremel idea is there. But i eh have the funds to go that direction yet. i always wanted a dremel though.
You have one? if you do, which one i should buy? i know im going wired but... im only seeing old posts on them on overclocker.net :(

_____

BTW anyone still playing GTR Evolution or Race07?

HCCA

Postby HCCA » August 6th, 2011, 7:58 pm

captain jacksparow wrote:finish build my rig for battlefield 3 tell me what all yuh think

amd phenom x6 1100t overclocked to 4.2
asus corsair v formula 990fx rog series
8gig corsair 1600mhz dual channel
750watts corsair tx psu
evga 570gtx 1280mb ddr5
cooler master haf 932 full tower case

anything i need to upgrade guys :)

That should be enough to run it well.

Dunno why people upgrading for that game nah, what are the recommended system requirements anyway?

@ M_2NR: i doh have ah Dremel nah, Chiney should give u an idea abt one though since he use to mod cases.

Abt the case choice, if u into Coolermaster the CM 690 II's and HAF mid atx are pretty good for the price, very nice features and u doh have to chap it up. :lol: If u going full tower make sure the case can take up to an extended ATX board as well (future upgrades nah ;) ).

xaira

Postby xaira » August 6th, 2011, 8:05 pm

Minimum requirements for Battlefield 3

Processor: Core 2 Duo @ 2.0GHz
RAM: 2GB
Graphic card: DirectX 10 or 11 compatible Nvidia or AMD ATI card.
Graphics card memory: 512 MB
Hard drive: 15 GB for disc version or 10 GB for digital version

Recommended system requirements for Battlefield 3

Processor: Quad-core Intel or AMD CPU
RAM: 4GB
Graphics card: DirectX 11 Nvidia or AMD ATI card, GeForce GTX 460, Radeon Radeon HD 6850
Graphics card memory: 1 GB
Hard drive: 15 GB for disc version or 10 GB for digital version

Rumour though, nothing official yet, still working on developing a concrete set

Postby M_2NR » August 6th, 2011, 8:39 pm

HCCA, if its one thing i learn... if im getting a case.. you all will be hearing first :|

After using two CM690's in builds, im sure i'll be going CM without a doubt. I just love how those cases were made. I never like Tt though. Some reason they feel lower in quality to the CM's. May be its just the piano black finish on them... i dunno...

I really did say this was my last PC but... the looks of it, i'll be updating God willing next year and not sooner. Hopefully nothing dies again.
I starting to notice the slow down... or is it that i didnt do over windows in a long while! :lol:

How often you guys do over your windows OS?

(PS i dont know why people update for games on the whole.... i did that for GTA IV... and then wahm! it was a crappy port :( if i did it for games, i would have already gotten an i7 just to run BlOps :lol: )

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » August 6th, 2011, 9:10 pm

M_2NR wrote:HCCA, if its one thing i learn... if im getting a case.. you all will be hearing first :|

After using two CM690's in builds, im sure i'll be going CM without a doubt. I just love how those cases were made. I never like Tt though. Some reason they feel lower in quality to the CM's. May be its just the piano black finish on them... i dunno...

I really did say this was my last PC but... the looks of it, i'll be updating God willing next year and not sooner. Hopefully nothing dies again.
I starting to notice the slow down... or is it that i didnt do over windows in a long while! :lol:

How often you guys do over your windows OS?

(PS i dont know why people update for games on the whole.... i did that for GTA IV... and then wahm! it was a crappy port :( if i did it for games, i would have already gotten an i7 just to run BlOps :lol: )

I do over windose yearly, once you defrag and run ccleaner, machine works just like when your first install, just when you start loading program that stay resident in memory daiz when things start to slow down imo, eg all the realpalayer updates, adobe updates.

Postby M_2NR » August 6th, 2011, 10:55 pm

boy i try all a datt.. ccleaner, defrag, etc. never worked. I just backup what i remember to and hope for the best. I do mine yearly as well but i too lazy to do it now :oops: although i should... hmm. I hope i can bear it til next year june yes!

Virus

Postby Virus » August 7th, 2011, 11:17 am

LOL but why reinstall, whats the purpose of doing that :)

I dont use none of them registry cleaners
Cant defrag SSD

The most i does do is off site backup

And as for building over a pc for a game hmmmm the only game i do that for was dirt 3 nothing else is worth it at lease for this year

All you really need is one solid GPU - CPU combo and you good to go ask Chiney the man when from SLI with multiple high end gpu's only to settle in the end goals where reach and there is only so much performance a human can really perceive

Postby Ronaldo95163 » August 7th, 2011, 12:14 pm

mickey17

Postby mickey17 » August 7th, 2011, 12:32 pm

yuh see any real testing wit this yet?? i wanna buy 1 but i wa see some results

HCCA

Postby HCCA » August 7th, 2011, 12:54 pm

mickey17 wrote:yuh see any real testing wit this yet?? i wanna buy 1 but i wa see some results

http://www.hardocp.com/article/2011/07/ ... r_review/3