Re: RIM / BlackBerry Thread

Postby Swisha » January 30th, 2013, 5:24 pm

thread needs to be renamed btw, there is no more RIM

Khafra

Re: Official BlackBerry Thread

Postby Khafra » January 30th, 2013, 5:59 pm

Q10 - i actually like it a lot more than i thought i would, typing is still excellent
IMG_00000388 (Small).jpg
IMG_00000388 (Small).jpg (24.93 KiB) Viewed 2446 times

Postby Stephon. » January 30th, 2013, 6:13 pm

All RIM hadda do is send all their phones Trinidad. BB7 devices still more expensive than Apple and Android devices (only in Trinidad) they could make a fortune lol

tallman1986

Postby tallman1986 » January 30th, 2013, 6:16 pm

http://caribdaily.com/a/2346211/digicel ... smartphone.
So ah guess we will get it by April.

Postby Stephon. » January 30th, 2013, 6:44 pm

Sooooo here is a summary I guess, taken from AC:

BlackBerry Z10 and Q10 officially announced: specs, price and availability

Blackberry, formally known as Research In Motion (RIM), announced today its much anticipated BlackBerry 10 operating system in a press even that was streamed on the Internet. RIM claims that its Blackberry operating system has been “Re-designed. Re-engineered. Re-invented”, as it announced two devices the Z10 and Q10 that are sporting BB 10 on which the Canadian company’s hopes are so urgently pinned on. Here are the facts fresh from the stream, let’s see how well it compares to our first look.

The Blackberry 10 release has suffered delays, and is seen by most in the industry as a last-ditch attempt to keep the once enterprise-focused smartphone platform afloat. Blackberry has seen numerous setbacks in recent years. It’s much valued end-to-end encryption of email and its proprietary Blackberry Messenger (BBM) system were seen as being compromised when the company had to comply with draconian demands for access by Middle Eastern governments. Further to that, the Blackberry name was on the tips of many in the UK after the London riots where it was claimed that young rioters had used the BBM system to coordinate criminal activities. << (Brotherhood shade)

The new Blackberry operating system is a complete makeover of the old OS, which was largely based on candy bar form factor devices with front facing full QWERTY keyboards. Whereas the new devices are touch slabs, as has become standard by every other smartphone manufacturer.

[u]Early looks at the new operating system suggests it’s a completely touch-based OS, and a cursory look at the new operating system seems to borrow elements from from existing mobile user interfaces.
For example the ‘Flow’ feature for swiping between different applications is reminiscent of WebOS and MeeGo Harmattan, while the emphasis on tasks rather than apps and the social and contact Hub is very much like what is seen in Windows Phone.

The new operating system may be enough to retain existing users, to whom the new touch interface will be new and fresh. However, RIM needs to introduce a new unique innovation that might tempt users away from Android and iOS.

CEO, Thorsten Hines, emphasised productivity and business, and alluded to true multitasking and mobile computing.

Two devices were announced, the Z10 and Q10. The flagship Blackberry Z10 is a 4.2-inch touch slab device sporting an 8MP camera. The Blackberry Q10 is essentially the same device as the Z10, but equipped with a 3.1-inch AMOLED screen and full physical keyboard, as demanded by Blackberry customers and supporters.

Blackberry say that its new devices will ultimately be available via 650 global carriers.

BlackBerry Z10

1.5GHz dual-core CPU
    2GB RAM
    LTE, HSPDA, EDGE, GPRS
    4.2-inch 1280 x 768, 356 ppi, LCD screen
    Bluetooth 4.0
    Wi-Fi 802.11 a/b/g/n dual-band
    Camera, 8MP autofocus. LED Flash
    Front Camera, 2MP, 720p, 30fps.
    Battery: Li-Ion 1800 mAh

Blackberry’s CEO, Thorosten Hines, stated the following availability details for the Z10, as the company is lab testing the Z10 with 110 carriers globally.

USA – AT&T, Verizon, Sprint, T-Mobile announce pre-orders and price plans today
UK – Available tomorrow from EE, O2, Phones4U, and more.
Canada – February 5 retails $149.99 on 3-year contract
UAE – February 10

Bmobile - March - Source, tr1ad post on the last page
Digicel - April - Source - that guy above this post

BlackBerry Q10

The Q10 is essentially the same device as the Z10, but is restructured to accommodate a full QWERTY keyboard – a feature much loved by Blackberry fans. The differences to the Z10 specifications are as follows:

3.1-inch AMOLED screen
Biggest battery in a BlackBerry smartphone (according to an official video, but size not confirmed)
Physical QWERTY keyboard
Glass weave body for strength and weight reduction.

No availability details were announced by Blackberry for the Q10 during the media event.

Postby Stephon. » January 30th, 2013, 6:49 pm

I does feel real unappreciated on this forum inno, if you know how long that post take to make, Ian Alleyne went on commercial bout 3 times before I was able to click submit. Had to put in all them codes to highlight the impiortant parts and all dem codes for the pictures and youtube videos. I sure nobody even going and notice that I put the specs in a [list] tag. Steups!

Postby ismithx » January 30th, 2013, 7:18 pm

doh worry stephie i appreciate your hard work ;)

BB10 win hoss!!

Postby tr1ad » January 30th, 2013, 7:49 pm

That's ok Stephanie..... I appreciate that you took the time to post up all that info....

What's your view on BB10 ?

Postby Stephon. » January 30th, 2013, 8:11 pm

ty ty

And now a question from one of my fans:

tr1ad wrote:What's your view on BB10 ?

Believe it or not, I was excited for the Z10 but the Q10 looks really good too apart from the not so high end specs. I think the physical keyboard has something to do with it. If I do get one tho I'd probably get the Z10, whenever Bmobile has their BB 10 sale.

I kinda scared for Blackberry now though because it's the moment of truth now and some reports are saying that the OS isn't as great as it was hyped to be but I guess only time would tell.

original_lollybob

Postby original_lollybob » January 30th, 2013, 9:50 pm

So fellow os strugglers (wp fanboy here)

Did this new phone/os renew your faith or is it the nail in the proverbial coffin?

Postby Trini Hookah » January 30th, 2013, 10:03 pm

For me it is. Sad to say.

I've only been on this ship about 3 years but I feel at home with my Android.

I can't do like the other guys in here to put all my faith in one OS/Phone, my heart can take no more.

Postby Chimera » January 30th, 2013, 10:09 pm

Trini Hookah wrote:

doh walk outside after 6 eh dan

Strauss

Postby Strauss » January 30th, 2013, 10:15 pm

original_lollybob wrote:So fellow os strugglers (wp fanboy here)

Did this new phone/os renew your faith or is it the nail in the proverbial coffin?

I was hoping they would innovate or leapfrog everyone with some super amazing phone (really).

But all they did was play catch up. Why would people switch (back) to Blackberry if it offers nothing like iOS and Android? i.e. eco-system and apps.

Postby kurpal_v2 » January 30th, 2013, 10:16 pm

I will be staying on board yes, bb still is the cheapest phone and package locally and it gets what I need done.

iOS is great as my tab, android could dispense my toilet paper but bb will be my phone.

Postby Trini Hookah » January 30th, 2013, 10:17 pm

ABA Trading LTD wrote:
Trini Hookah wrote:

doh walk outside after 6 eh dan

CLONG :lol:

I still on whatsapp dan ogoar :oops:

Postby Stephon. » January 30th, 2013, 10:20 pm

I don't think this is the end for them and even though the Windows Phone got a head start for #3rd place I think Blackberry still has a chance

Postby kurpal_v2 » January 30th, 2013, 10:22 pm

Strauss wrote:

I was hoping they would innovate or leapfrog everyone with some super amazing phone (really).

But all they did was play catch up. Why would people switch (back) to Blackberry if it offers nothing like iOS and Android? i.e. eco-system and apps.

Maybe people exist who don't need an "Eco-system" and 1000 apps and just need a device that can do what they require a mobile phone to do :|

Postby Stephon. » January 30th, 2013, 10:30 pm

Hardware wise; Blackberry Z10 vs. The Best Of Android: (Apple not included because their specs are from 2010)

I'd say they stack up pretty well for a "non factor"

Postby Trini Hookah » January 30th, 2013, 10:32 pm

HTC screen is a beast...but that RAZR Battery :shock:

Postby Stephon. » January 30th, 2013, 10:39 pm

Yeah I now noticing that battery yes :shock: I find 2000mAh should be the standard when it comes to batteries tho, so Blackberry barely pass that mark with that 1800mAh battery but it's always a plus that th battery is removable so an extended battery is possible. At least it's not ... I dunno, a 1400 mAh non-removable battery or something like that, so I'd still give it a try

Postby M_2NR » January 30th, 2013, 10:52 pm

Khafra don't let ego get the best of you. There are flaws in every system. All OS' have that.
Tell me what if your eighth tile is weather? And you just opened a new app and want to check the weather. You end up in the same boat as iOS. Having to open the apps list and find weather back. Right?

Android, iOS, wp, bb10, webOS, etc all have their greatness and flaws. If you truly want to multitask try a webOS platform if you think bb10 is cool. Too bad it's almost dead now.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 30th, 2013, 11:11 pm

kurpal_v2 wrote:Maybe people exist who don't need an "Eco-system" and 1000 apps and just need a device that can do what they require a mobile phone to do :|
like be in a well supported eco system?

Postby kurpal_v2 » January 30th, 2013, 11:17 pm

kurpal_v2 wrote:Maybe people exist who don't need an "Eco-system" and 1000 apps and just need a device that can do what they require a mobile phone to do :|

If you don't require an Eco system then why would you need to be in a well supported Eco system? :|

Postby Stephon. » January 30th, 2013, 11:19 pm

*Eco System*

*Had to buy dongles to make my speaker dock compatible*

Postby Trini Hookah » January 30th, 2013, 11:41 pm

Stephon. wrote:Yeah I now noticing that battery yes :shock: I find 2000mAh should be the standard when it comes to batteries tho, so Blackberry barely pass that mark with that 1800mAh battery but it's always a plus that th battery is removable so an extended battery is possible. At least it's not ... I dunno, a 1400 mAh non-removable battery or something like that, so I'd still give it a try

1700 is about the standard right now.

Postby j.o.e » January 30th, 2013, 11:44 pm

For a new OS I think its good..alot of the issues can be sorted out with updates over time. IOS and Android have been tweaked many times. Up to recently IOS still didn't have a clear way of posting notifications(missed calls etc). That's a major flaw but it was fixed.

Khafra

Postby Khafra » January 31st, 2013, 1:20 am

I don't think BB is dead at all, BB10 may not be a leapfrog of technology, but it is a v1 afterall. the iphone launched without several obvious features and still made it - because they kept improving in a predictable fashion, both in hardware and software.

Android is "fun" because ppl know it's going to keep getting better as well, but somehow everyone seems to think BB10 is what it is now and will never improve, not sure why. And if you read some of the reviews you will realise they were using final hardware with beta OS builds on it (they had it prior to launch)

I would speculate that while the Z10 and Q10 are the current flagships, it's possible that BB will release a higher end device late this year, remember this is their starting point from which they would seek to improve, this isn't the device that will compete with upcoming iOS and Android devices, this is bring their existing users up to mark.

You can't have a perfect 1st go out the door, and to be honest a lot of the "complaints" i am seeing on the blogs, i am yet to experience. i LOVE the hub, i LOVE the camera quality (even if it's not a Lumia 920) but then i wouldnt say having the #1 camera is a dealbreaker for most BB users, it just has to be good - which it is. I have gotten much better shots than what i see in some of the reviews.

I don't think the Z10 is going to grab a lot of users away from iOS of Android at this stage other than those who want that Q10 keyboard. the Z10 will give current BB users an acceptable upgrade path to a respectable, high performance smartphone.

I am hoping the unannounced Aristo will be the one to take things further this year with higher specs.

And i agree with all who said the OS could have been presented better during the launch, cause there are a lot of things they didnt show but i actually like a lot in the OS. little things like if u are playing music and u adjust the volume using the buttons on the side - a floating music control shows on the screen and you can play/pause/back/next without having to go into the music player.

I'm putting mine through the paces before i make the switch away from my ever faithful 9900

Strauss

Postby Strauss » January 31st, 2013, 4:22 am

kurpal_v2 wrote:

If you don't require an Eco system then why would you need to be in a well supported Eco system? :|

Which means you don't need a SMART PHONE.
Hell, you don't even need BB10.
Get a Nokia 1100.

Blackberry is dying not because of yesteryear's devices. They have no real eco-system. People jump ship because of how much more they can do with their phones - work, play games, social networks, read books/magazines, watch movies, online purchases, edit movies/phones, create music, stream a presentation, assist with apps for medicine, military, education etc etc

Postby tr1ad » January 31st, 2013, 9:32 am

the launch didn't provide any major wow factor to generate new customer base
it'll be a pretty decent upgrade

Postby Stephon. » January 31st, 2013, 10:40 am

Building an eco system is just a few apps away tho. straws you act like all is said and done and you can't do anything more than what you saw yesterday. Jeez