T&T OFFICIAL New Vehicle Prices & Discussion Thread

Seeker

Re: NEW VEHICLE PRICES IN TRINIDAD & TOBAGO

Postby Seeker » December 15th, 2012, 12:49 pm

I might be looking for my first new vehicle as all I ever owned is fu and second hand.

I have read this forum up and down and side to side; and this I have learned:

1. Dealers are trying to rip off consumers with second rate vehicles with ridiculus pricing.

2. People don't care how they spend their hard earned, just as long their carriage is stamped "Toyota" or something - they will carry it home. (Never understood brand loyality)

3. Other brands such as Kia, Hyundai etc. are stepping to the plate.

4. I am a nissan fan but the new sedans they are offering makes me wonder if the designers are smoking some serious drugs while at work. My 4yr old niece could design better.

5. Due to the current pricing as I stated earlier, I would be looking for a vehicle that suits my needs and affordability, not because of the name of the vehicle. I had owned 2 toyotas, 1 mitsubushi, 1 nissan and a mazda: so the name means nothing to me.

In the circumstances I will be visiting showrooms soon, when I have the time.

nemesis

Postby nemesis » December 15th, 2012, 1:01 pm

1. Buy yuh car now. End of year sales are about the best prices you might get for the year. At least at some dealers. And not all have their vehicles heavily overpriced. Most, but not all.

2. Brand loyalty USUALLY stems from some sort of of actual experience with the brand before, OR when there is little knowledge on the subject and public opinion sways the buyer. Good advertising can make a difference too. It's not always a bad thing. Sometimes the reasons are quite well founded. But you have the right idea.. check out everything before you decide. A vehicle isn't exactly a small purchase.

Seeker

Postby Seeker » December 15th, 2012, 2:05 pm

Thanks for your info

agent007

Postby agent007 » December 16th, 2012, 4:44 pm

suzuki swift sport auto - $209k
manual - $195k

Postby noshownogo » December 16th, 2012, 6:52 pm

:rofl: That pricing is whack, smack in Elantra, Mazda3, Civic and Lancer territory.

Postby S_2NR » December 16th, 2012, 7:03 pm

How much was the swift sport before?

Postby M_2NR » December 16th, 2012, 8:21 pm

See OP S_2NR it eh change yet. I think it was 193k auto.

Postby noshownogo » December 17th, 2012, 3:25 pm

Don't get me wrong, the Swift is a nice small car with good handling and power to weight but it's basically half the car it's competing against in the price segment.

damieG82

Postby damieG82 » December 17th, 2012, 3:34 pm

At what point are finance companies going to start requesting valuations for NEW cars also?

I think it's more than needed given the ludicrous prices these days. Not to mention, should the borrower default, the financier does not stand a good chance at recovering all of their money since the used car buying market will not support paying exorbitant prices for any car, far less for lowly econoboxes like the Swift.

Perhaps once buyers are denied loans, or cannot receive adequate financing, due to these high prices which cannot be validated through valuations, only then will the price gouging stop.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » December 17th, 2012, 5:40 pm

You think financial institutions care? There is excess liquidity right now. Banks gonna wanna do something with their money so they gonna give out loans. They don't care about the actual price of the vehicle because they getting back their money in general.

I know we like to beat up about prices but really how many people you know not paying their loans vs paying for theirs? You really think the bank gonna beat up just cuz you find d price high?

agent007

Postby agent007 » December 18th, 2012, 9:48 am

damieG82 wrote:At what point are finance companies going to start requesting valuations for NEW cars also?

I think it's more than needed given the ludicrous prices these days. Not to mention, should the borrower default, the financier does not stand a good chance at recovering all of their money since the used car buying market will not support paying exorbitant prices for any car, far less for lowly econoboxes like the Swift.

Perhaps once buyers are denied loans, or cannot receive adequate financing, due to these high prices which cannot be validated through valuations, only then will the price gouging stop.

dunno if this means much but in the US they have kbb.com and a host of bodies/organizations watching/comparing new vehicle prices. In TT we don't have anyone watching prices except trinituner members. :(

Postby noshownogo » December 18th, 2012, 12:37 pm

2013 Hyundai i30 5door hatchback is $229k

2013 Hyundai Sante Fe starts $360k - $430k

Postby cinco » December 18th, 2012, 12:51 pm

noshownogo wrote:2013 Hyundai i30 5door hatchback is $229k

:shock: :shock: :shock: :shock:
they couldnt sell it at 160
they decide a HUGE hike will raise sales?

Postby noshownogo » December 18th, 2012, 2:41 pm

The i30 is loaded with 7airbags, push button start, leather, LEDs, Bluetooth and iPod connectivity, keyless entry, glass roof, HID headlights, rear sensors and camera, 17" alloys, 1.6 with about 118hp and 6speed auto.

I have to agree though $229k is a tough sell and now makes the newly price adjusted Swift sport look like the more compelling buy.

We really reach a point where 200k+ for a small hatch :rofl:

Didn't think it would be this soon.

Postby cinco » December 18th, 2012, 3:38 pm

but they couldnt get it to sell at 160 how the hell they expect to sell it at 229
btw its been 2 years now i put in 3 calls to hyundai about test driving an i30cw and ive still yet to see one show up or get called back

damieG82

Postby damieG82 » December 19th, 2012, 8:46 am

The i30 price, though laughable (as is the case with most new cars here), isn't that bad, all things considered equal. A Civic and Impreza for instance are both in that price bracket and do not have half of those features.

As for shifting them off of the showroom floor, cinco I don't know where you hail from but they are a common sight here in the northwest. They appear to be a favourite of the soccer mom/ grandma set who might find an SUV too unwieldy

agent007

Postby agent007 » December 20th, 2012, 7:44 am

the top 11 cheapest cars in the market (except yaris):

chevrolet spark 1.0 - $128k
fiat punto - $128k (dunno if this is still imported though)
nissan march 1.2 - $133k
nissan versa 1.5 - $149k
ford fiesta 1.4 - $150k
hyundai accent 1.4 basic - $150k
skoda fabia combi 1.6 - $155k
suzuki swift 1.4 - $155k
kia rio 1.4 - $155k
hyundai accent 1.4 loaded - $160k
suzuki sx4 - $160k

NEW ARRIVALS:

2013 all new Hyundai Santa Fe
2013 all new Hyundai i30 h/b
2013 all new Mazda BT-50
2013 all new Isuzu D-MAX
2013 all new Chevrolet Colorado
2013 refreshed Kia Sorento
2013 refreshed Chevrolet Cruze
2013 Chevrolet Spark (finally arrived)

COMING SOON:

2013 Kia Cerato
2013 Chevrolet Sonic
2013 Toyota Corolla
2013 Nissan Sentra/Pulsar
2013 Toyota RAV4
Last edited by agent007 on December 20th, 2012, 8:17 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby noshownogo » December 20th, 2012, 7:58 am

Out of the cheapest cars, I could probably live with the Suzuki Swift overall.

New Sentra really coming? Hmmm it's not bad looking but we'll probably get a smaller engine vs the US 1.8.

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » December 20th, 2012, 8:11 am

What diesel cars can we see coming?

Postby Rooki3 » December 20th, 2012, 8:26 am

have a turbo diesel accent

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » December 20th, 2012, 8:33 am

aside from that i mean

Postby MG Man » December 20th, 2012, 9:11 am

you can get diesel Mercedes Benz cars

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » December 20th, 2012, 9:35 am

Anything for less than $200,000 :oops:

tourniquet

Postby tourniquet » December 20th, 2012, 9:45 am

noshownogo wrote:

I really thought I saw one on the road yesterday :) I like the looks of it, but that's out of my budget.

anyway it looks like we're not too far from this being the "normal" starting price, with what used to be affordable Japanese/ Korean vehicles:
$200K for a subcompact, entry level vehicle
$300K for compact cars, and pick up trucks
$400K for small SUVs

Postby cinco » December 20th, 2012, 10:04 am

versa price will be 155+ come january
the versa WAS the best buy on the market in small cars with the price hikes it is a toss up now

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » December 20th, 2012, 10:14 am

tourniquet wrote:
noshownogo wrote:

I really thought I saw one on the road yesterday :) I like the looks of it, but that's out of my budget.

anyway it looks like we're not too far from this being the "normal" starting price, with what used to be affordable Japanese/ Korean vehicles:
$400K for small SUVs

$400K for small SUVs? I have to disagree with that statement tourniquet, not when you have the X-Trail Classic, Tuscon/Sportage, Grand Vitara, ASX, Terios, Juke, RAV4, etc. Even some mid-sized are sub $400k, e.g. the Captiva.

Postby noshownogo » December 20th, 2012, 10:19 am

cinco wrote:versa price will be 155+ come january
the versa WAS the best buy on the market in small cars with the price hikes it is a toss up now

:shock: cinco the versa looks unfinished and clumsy. I sorry, I rather drive a slightly less practical Swift 1.4 over that any day.

tourniquet

Postby tourniquet » December 20th, 2012, 10:24 am

NorStar2K wrote:
tourniquet wrote:
noshownogo wrote:

$400K for small SUVs

$400K for small SUVs? I have to disagree with that statement tourniquet, not when you have the X-Trail Classic, Tuscon/Sportage, Grand Vitara, ASX, Terios, Juke, RAV4, etc. Even some mid-sized are sub $400k, e.g. the Captiva.

^^^which is why is said "not too far from" :)

lenzomaru

Postby lenzomaru » December 20th, 2012, 11:01 am

agent007 wrote:the top 11 cheapest cars in the market (except yaris):

chevrolet spark 1.0 - $128k
fiat punto - $128k (dunno if this is still imported though)
nissan march 1.2 - $133k
nissan versa 1.5 - $149k
ford fiesta 1.4 - $150k
hyundai accent 1.4 basic - $150k
skoda fabia combi 1.6 - $155k
suzuki swift 1.4 - $155k
kia rio 1.4 - $155k
hyundai accent 1.4 loaded - $160k
suzuki sx4 - $160k

NEW ARRIVALS:

2013 all new Hyundai Santa Fe
2013 all new Hyundai i30 h/b
2013 all new Mazda BT-50
2013 all new Isuzu D-MAX
2013 all new Chevrolet Colorado
2013 refreshed Kia Sorento
2013 refreshed Chevrolet Cruze
2013 Chevrolet Spark (finally arrived)

COMING SOON:

2013 Kia Cerato
2013 Chevrolet Sonic
2013 Toyota Corolla
2013 Nissan Sentra/Pulsar
2013 Toyota RAV4

So why u leave out yaris?

lenzomaru

Postby lenzomaru » December 20th, 2012, 11:03 am

cinco wrote:versa price will be 155+ come january

Yea sure mannual windows in the back, with a crappy sound system..bess buy indeed!