Official BlackBerry Thread

snypaz

Re: RIM / BlackBerry Thread

Postby snypaz » January 30th, 2013, 9:42 am

The day is here. Let's hope it lives up to the hype.

*praying it does*

Postby Chimera » January 30th, 2013, 10:19 am

Postby Greypatch » January 30th, 2013, 10:20 am

did it start ?

10 AM ET is what in TT time ?

Khafra

Postby Khafra » January 30th, 2013, 10:40 am

it will start 11am TT

you guys can see the pics on facebook.com/triniberry
or follow me on twitter as well @triniberry

trying to post as much info as possible and will round up with a blog post at the end of it all.

Postby kurpal_v2 » January 30th, 2013, 10:49 am

Will hold strain for the blog post yes.

I stop run down live stream of launches since Steve jobs died.

Carbon12

Postby Carbon12 » January 30th, 2013, 11:28 am

Postby tr1ad » January 30th, 2013, 11:29 am

ole dawg like mike inna d dance

Khafra

Postby Khafra » January 30th, 2013, 11:35 am

boom!!
IMG_00000349 (Small).jpg
IMG_00000349 (Small).jpg (22.68 KiB) Viewed 1429 times

~*Pãñdorą*~
Location: You're Either On My Side, By My Side Or In My Fcuking Way!!

Postby ~*Pãñdorą*~ » January 30th, 2013, 11:43 am

Loving the Blackberry Hub feature!!

~*Pãñdorą*~
Location: You're Either On My Side, By My Side Or In My Fcuking Way!!

Postby ~*Pãñdorą*~ » January 30th, 2013, 12:14 pm

Man say Canadian $149.99 with a 3 yr contract.

Postby tr1ad » January 30th, 2013, 12:15 pm

thats subsidized,

due to release in trinidad in march

Postby tr1ad » January 30th, 2013, 12:18 pm

Alicia Keys yes

Postby j.o.e » January 30th, 2013, 12:25 pm

take my money dammit

Postby RASC » January 30th, 2013, 12:26 pm

BB...don't ever ever ever ever ever...use your CEO for presentations again.

E V E R

Postby tr1ad » January 30th, 2013, 12:31 pm

Processor: Dual-Core 1.5GHz
Display: 4.2”, 4 point multi-touch LCD display, 1280 x 768 resolution at 356 DPI, Touch On Lens
Camera: 8MP rear facing camera, Auto Focus, 5X digital zoom, 1080p HD video recording ・2MP front facing camera, 3X digital zoom, 720p HD video recording
Memory: 2GB RAM ・16GB Internal Storage ・Hot Swappable microSD Slot
WiFi: 802.11 a/b/g/n ・2.4/5GHz ・4G Mobile Hotspot
GPS: Assisted, Autonomous, and Simultaneous GPS
Battery: 1800mAh Removable ・Talk Time: up to 10 hours on 3G・Standby Time: up to 305 hours on 3G, up to 316 hours on 2G・Audio Playback: up to 60 hours・Video PlayBack: up to 11 hours
Sensors: Accelerometer, Magnetometer, Proximity, Gyroscope, Ambient light sensor
Connectivity: NFC ・microUSB ・microHDMI-Out ・Bluetooth 4.0 Low Energy
Size (LxWxD): 130mm x 65.6mm x 9mm

Swisha

Postby Swisha » January 30th, 2013, 12:40 pm

Z10 reviews have started coming in...

Engadget:

BlackBerry's BlackBerry Z10 is genuinely a pretty nice phone. Performance, helped by the lightweight QNX-based OS, is more than acceptable. The form factor offers you plenty of screen size in a device that may not feel luxurious, but does at least seem durable. And, bucking the trend, the battery is removable. Camera performance is adequate in most cases and overall there's really a lot to like.

But, tragically, there's really nothing to love. Nothing in the Z10 stands out as class-leading and, while the BB10 OS does have a lot of charm and brings all the best productivity-focused attributes of BlackBerry to bear in a much more modern package, the app selection is poor and the gestures here aren't so good that they make up for that major shortcoming. Will more and better apps come with time? Absolutely, but after waiting this long (and then making Americans wait another month yet) BlackBerry really needed to make a huge impact out of the gate. Unfortunately, it hasn't.

All is not lost: at $199 (which BlackBerry says is the suggested on-contract price in the US), the Z10 and BB10 are a nice piece of kit. The BlackBerry faithful who've been waiting patiently for something more modern will flock to this (and its QWERTY-having cousin) in droves, but there simply isn't enough here to woo those consumers who have already made investments in Android or iOS. Too little? Maybe. Too late? Sadly.

http://www.engadget.com/2013/01/30/blac ... 10-review/

The Verge:

The Z10 is a good smartphone. Frankly, it's a better smartphone than I expected from RIM at this stage in the game. It does everything a modern phone should do, usually without hesitation. It doesn't do everything perfectly, but it does many things — most things — reasonably well.

The problem with the Z10 is that it doesn't necessarily do anything better than any of its competition. Sure, there are arguments that could be made about how it handles messages or the particulars of its camera, but no one could argue that there's a "killer app" here. Something that makes you want or need this phone because it can do what no other phone can do. That's not the case — in fact if anything is the case, it's that the Z10 can't yet do some things that other devices can. Or at least, can't do them quite as well.

And that's where I end up. The Z10 is a fine device, well made, reasonably priced, backed by a company with a long track record. But it's not the only device of its kind, and it's swimming against a massive wave of entrenched players with really, really good products. Products they figured out how to make years ago. Products that are mature. The smartphone industry doesn't need saving.

If you love RIM and the BlackBerry brand and really want to keep supporting them, buying a Z10 wouldn't be a mistake. But I think there are better phones on the market, and I don't yet see a compelling reason for most customers to choose this phone over those better ones. So why the Z10? Why now? Until Research In Motion can answer that question, I would be careful about how you spend your money.

http://www.theverge.com/2013/1/30/39297 ... z10-review

snypaz

Postby snypaz » January 30th, 2013, 12:48 pm

RASC wrote:BB...don't ever ever ever ever ever...use your CEO for presentations again.

E V E R

He was sounding like Mr Bean at times. Love the new Devices and OS. Can't wait to buy one.

Postby Rooki3 » January 30th, 2013, 12:48 pm

well well

Postby noshownogo » January 30th, 2013, 1:24 pm

I'll give it a try, and I was one of the first to dismiss the company to the tombs of ancient history.

Postby M_2NR » January 30th, 2013, 1:29 pm

Reviews are saying battery life sucks. The Verge has a good video review on the qualms of the OS. May be Khafra when he is back can say if indeed it's fact. The notification hub and app launcher/home screen is broken honestly if it works the way The Verge described which is you'll be doing a lot of unnecessary navigating.

Can't wait to use one though.

Carbon12

Postby Carbon12 » January 30th, 2013, 1:31 pm

One of the most biased reviews ever

http://reviews.cnet.com/blackberry-z10/

Carbon12

Postby Carbon12 » January 30th, 2013, 1:31 pm

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 30th, 2013, 1:44 pm

OUCH!

RIM Stock Tanks After Revealing BlackBerry 10
Research In Motion renamed itself 'BlackBerry' and unveiled its long-awaited BlackBerry 10 lineup, but it looks like investors were not impressed.

The stock had been up as much as 5% on Wednesday to $16.62 a share leading up to the launch event. After Thorsten Heins unveiled the new BlackBerry 10 phones, however, the stock did an about-face and plummeted by 11% from the day's high, falling to as low as $14.41 a share — a loss of 6% for the day.

http://mashable.com/2013/01/30/rim-stoc ... kberry-10/
Seth Fiegerman / 1 hour ago

Postby RASC » January 30th, 2013, 2:39 pm

Hardluck there BB faithful...

Postby kurpal_v2 » January 30th, 2013, 2:47 pm

Bb stock will stay profitable.

Mark my words, they may not be looking for market dominance but just enough market share to stay afloat and control their niche.

original_lollybob

Postby original_lollybob » January 30th, 2013, 2:48 pm

oh well... switch to WP

*duck and run*

Khafra

Postby Khafra » January 30th, 2013, 4:19 pm

Funny how sites are reviewing BB10 and can't get out of their android and iOS mentalities, its almost like they want BB10 to act like its ios or android, the Hub is extremely useful, the camera is very very good, most of the shots on the facebook page were taken with my dev alpha in low light with it held over my head, and still came out at least decent.

I'm configuring my Z10 as i type, Some ppl like to get things done, the others use Android and iOS

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 30th, 2013, 4:21 pm

kurpal_v2 wrote:Bb stock will stay profitable.

Mark my words, they may not be looking for market dominance but just enough market share to stay afloat and control their niche.
The business smartphone niche?

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » January 30th, 2013, 4:24 pm

Khafra wrote:Funny how sites are reviewing BB10 and can't get out of their android and iOS mentalities, its almost like they want BB10 to act like its ios or android, the Hub is extremely useful, the camera is very very good, most of the shots on the facebook page were taken with my dev alpha in low light with it held over my head, and still came out at least decent.

I'm configuring my Z10 as i type, Some ppl like to get things done, the others use Android and iOS

You were going good till the bold part. There is a reason why those sites compare this new BB to iOS/Android ways. They are the new benchmarks basically and people who in fact do like getting things done do use these devices as well.

Give it time though. I'm sure more positive reviews will be forthcoming. Device looks good. I hope it works as well as it seems in the vids when I get my hands on one. I'm hoping for cheaper unlocked prices though. Saw one for 480 pounds.

Khafra

Postby Khafra » January 30th, 2013, 4:31 pm

yea that last part was pure ego, but i honestly don't rely on my android of iphone to get anything done, i much prefer the BlackBerry way. Hopefully as more and more ppl use the BB10 OS they will come to realise it's power, same way most BB users now have no idea some of the functionality their devices carry - most ppl dont even know the keyboard shortcuts (which i love).