THE OFFICIAL MITSUBISHI Q & A THREAD (NO BUY OR SELL POSTS!)

Mitsu Lancer, Evo, GSR, MIVEC, 4G**, GDI, Galant, Outlander, L200 Sportero/Triton etc.

JJ16

Re: Ask ANY QUESTION HERE!!

Postby JJ16 » August 19th, 2010, 8:25 am

^^ :lol: man say it was kinda cool watching it happen yes...well hopefully when they change it the price is cool as well yes....but that is kinda odd yes...kinda lame 2 ...hope it doesnt cost a milli to fix.

QG

Postby QG » August 19th, 2010, 5:09 pm

neocyst wrote:
Neocyst, i always sticked with NGK...maybe you can give the platinum NGK a try.

Thanks, will try the platinum ...if i could get them in south!

Sheriff on cipero street has them and Gayahs on top of cipero street has them as well.

(Sheriff cheaper :lol:)

neocyst
Location: lookin' for love in all the wrong places....and lovin' it!

Postby neocyst » August 19th, 2010, 5:29 pm

Thanks ...QG...will check them on Saturday!

JJ16

Postby JJ16 » August 20th, 2010, 6:04 am

to me from what i've asked around about, ppl use normal NGK plugs on 4g15's and they work perfectly fine...

dont buy plugs that are too cold u know...nxt ting d man go and see price and think expensive means better for him, and buy some iridium 7's :lol:

QG

Postby QG » August 20th, 2010, 4:49 pm

JJ16 wrote:to me from what i've asked around about, ppl use normal NGK plugs on 4g15's and they work perfectly fine...

dont buy plugs that are too cold u know...nxt ting d man go and see price and think expensive means better for him, and buy some iridium 7's :lol:

LOL...he should know to use the heat range as the previous normal plugs which are either 5 or 6 heat range lol. I use range 5 at present.

JJ16

Postby JJ16 » August 20th, 2010, 5:24 pm

yea 5 would be good for a regular engine, i use 7's , used 8's also..

neocyst

Postby neocyst » August 20th, 2010, 6:00 pm

So... does the Platinum NGK's come in 5's?

JJ16

Postby JJ16 » August 20th, 2010, 7:25 pm

QG

Postby QG » August 23rd, 2010, 9:56 pm

neocyst wrote:So... does the Platinum NGK's come in 5's?

Yup...and also in Irridiums as well.
I use the NGK Irridiums BKR5E IX in the AD Wagon...will work just fine for the Lancer too.

JJ16

Postby JJ16 » August 24th, 2010, 7:26 am

well, when you go to the parts place just tell them its for a Lancer and what engine type and they should just hand you some plugs which would be good for that engine, or which is usually used on that engine type..

spam

Postby spam » August 26th, 2010, 9:17 am

how do you know when your injectors need cleaning ?

:|:|:|

chindian88

Postby chindian88 » August 27th, 2010, 1:12 am

can i use amsoil power foam to spray out the throttle body on the 4G15?

JJ16

Postby JJ16 » August 27th, 2010, 5:16 am

oh scene na u dont u know...it depends on the type of spark plugs u use i guess

the last time i changed spark plugs were in march i believe, i use irridum 7's (turbo) so i would tend to use those plugs....and well i changed my filter in july or so...for some strange reason i would change my filter alot more than my spark plugs due to the actually damage done to the filter...

what i knwo some ppl do, is take out their spark plugs and just tend to pass a metal brush over it, jus to clean it up a bit, im not sure if its recommended..when my plugs need changing i just usually change them.

QG

Postby QG » August 28th, 2010, 5:24 pm

spam wrote:how do you know when your injectors need cleaning ?

When you press down to get the engine kick down, and it doesn't happen right away or takes a long while before the engine kicks in. And finally when it do kick in the car feels like it goes know where lol :lol:

A sign is burning up extra gas than regular on a day to day normal driving.

TheOne

Postby TheOne » August 29th, 2010, 9:55 pm

Hi guys, been hearing a clickin sound everythime I mash the brakes. The click actually occurs as soon as I engaging the brake pedal but it is not constant however. I have noticed that is usually clicks when the brakes are "cold."...

I was wondering if the shims are worn and this could be the possible cause, any help would be appreciated.

JJ16

Postby JJ16 » August 30th, 2010, 11:12 am

spam wrote:how do you know when your injectors need cleaning ?

apart from what was said...i will also add.

If your engine is breaking up, this can be caused by fuel problems....leading / meaning your injectors or fuel filter should be changed/or checked..

But apart from the signs, i think it is safe to say that you should clean your injectors every 3months or so.....its cheap, easy and takes less than 20mins...

Also the fuel filter which cost like $30? or $45? should or can be changed every month if possible....If its one thing i dont make joke with is my fuel system, luckily i have a AEM wideband..which prevents you from any worries at all...

neocyst

Postby neocyst » September 4th, 2010, 12:20 am

Sheriff on cipero street has them and Gayahs on top of cipero street has them as well.

Bought them today $70/plug. Didnt get time to install it though !

QG

Postby QG » September 4th, 2010, 6:24 am

Cool! You cyah go wrong with them plugs. I have mines about 3 years now and they still good.

chindian88

Postby chindian88 » September 6th, 2010, 12:14 am

okay guys, i having a lil trouble with the 4G15, i sprayed out the throttle body following the directions on the can, then changed oil and plugs. car was working fine until the tappets started making noise. it's really bad, for some reason they're not getting any oil. you can tell that it's all of them making noise. it louder than the barrel (and that thing loud).
i know it could be low oil pressure but it not low enough for the check light to come on.
tried an engine restorer, no change.changed oil again and tried a bardahl2, after about 5 mins driving it quieted down, after about 10 mins was like normal (no noise at all), then drove for a little bit and switch off engine. when i start back up there it was again

anyone ever experience this or have any ideas as to what could cause it.
help

Sanctifier

Postby Sanctifier » September 6th, 2010, 3:28 am

^ ^ ^ Your tappets are dirty. Remove...Clean...and Replace. That's the only real fix.

MLR has the best tutorial available...Link--> How to clean lash adjusters/tappets.

My $0.02¢

altec

Postby altec » September 9th, 2010, 9:49 pm

new question,
occasionally when the ac cycles on in my ck2, the lights dim and the radio will cut likewhen you turning the key to start. The idle gets rough for a second. Car idles about 600-650 in drive,800 in park. What could be causing this?

Sanctifier

Postby Sanctifier » September 10th, 2010, 2:16 pm

^ ^ ^ Possibly defective alternator.

My $0.02¢

jussblaze

Postby jussblaze » September 12th, 2010, 10:37 pm

i'm thinking about buying an evo, just a few questions people, help/info would be much appreciated.
1. where can i get an evo 8 to by Roro, if i still can.
2. cost.
3. insurance cost, fully.
4. cost of maintenance and how often.

JJ16

Postby JJ16 » September 12th, 2010, 11:53 pm

An EVO 8, is a bit costly, but I believe there are one or two on 2nr for sale...

Insurance may be a problem depending on age, and record in previous... if you get insurance, im assuming you would want "proper" insurance, where you can possibly get fully comprehensive correct?

I've never owned a evo 8..so i cant really answer maintenance, but it would depend on what you plan on doing.....its a boosted car as well as a high performance car, so maintenance may be a bit more important than just a regular everyday car... however if you keep it stock then it should kill you...

also, how often i guess would also depend on how much you drive..

its nice 2 get this opinion or this information from actual evo 8 owners...use google search im sure you can find MANY sites, where people discuss evo 8's, builds and maintenance...as for insurance, i guess you can call your current insurance company/broker and see what information you can get

:)

QG

Postby QG » September 13th, 2010, 5:18 pm

Jodi ali in claxton bay had an evo 8 customize when last I checked. His evo evo 7 was 180,000 (about), so the 8 will be just above that. Send jodi a pm, he on tuner.
Insurance is a problem. There is a thread about insurance on this mitsubishi forum I believe or ole talk.

JJ16

Postby JJ16 » September 13th, 2010, 7:19 pm

^^ u sending d man by jodi :lol: uh wicked yes...

EVA Unit-01

Postby EVA Unit-01 » September 15th, 2010, 9:55 pm

JJ16 wrote:however if you keep it stock then it should kill you... :)

:shock: who wicked dey!? :lol:

John Wick

Postby John Wick » September 17th, 2010, 7:58 am

have a 2 door l200 tbb series
getting hard start in the morning alone
starts with half a bounce after
change glow plugs recently but not original
any advice

JJ16

Postby JJ16 » September 17th, 2010, 8:36 pm

EVA Unit-01 wrote:
JJ16 wrote:however if you keep it stock then it should kill you... :)

:shock: who wicked dey!? :lol:

:lol: i meant to say shouldnt kill you

QG

Postby QG » September 18th, 2010, 12:53 pm

Return to “MITSUBISHI”