mero wrote:Wait till we hear Kamla podium promises.Dizzy28 wrote:No to any of those thingshover11 wrote:Increasing pensions and social welfare grants, settling public service wage negotiations at an acceptable percentage, increasing the personal tax allowance yet again. Removal of taxes off items possibly hybrid. The goal is for a re election, trinis lack the foresight to see the mamaguy but when reelected they will suffer them for another four years and only treat them nice on election years. Just remember whenever the government gives with one hand they always take with the nextAlphaMan wrote:What exactly can he do to mamaguy us. We already have to pay property taxes.
They know we can't afford it and would be sensible enough
Actually kams came good , promising speedy trials, reforming the education system, modernizing the prisions, reviewing all criminal laws and discarding the obsolete ones. However, let's talk about matters of import, what has PNM accomplished in their nine years of government, don't worry I will wait. Performance beats Ole talk. Kams did more in her 5 years that Rowley couldn't do with two consecutive termsmero wrote:Wait till we hear Kamla podium promises.Dizzy28 wrote:No to any of those thingshover11 wrote:Increasing pensions and social welfare grants, settling public service wage negotiations at an acceptable percentage, increasing the personal tax allowance yet again. Removal of taxes off items possibly hybrid. The goal is for a re election, trinis lack the foresight to see the mamaguy but when reelected they will suffer them for another four years and only treat them nice on election years. Just remember whenever the government gives with one hand they always take with the nextAlphaMan wrote:What exactly can he do to mamaguy us. We already have to pay property taxes.
mero wrote:Wait till we hear Kamla podium promises.Dizzy28 wrote:No to any of those thingshover11 wrote:Increasing pensions and social welfare grants, settling public service wage negotiations at an acceptable percentage, increasing the personal tax allowance yet again. Removal of taxes off items possibly hybrid. The goal is for a re election, trinis lack the foresight to see the mamaguy but when reelected they will suffer them for another four years and only treat them nice on election years. Just remember whenever the government gives with one hand they always take with the nextAlphaMan wrote:What exactly can he do to mamaguy us. We already have to pay property taxes.
The media spins alot and you should understand not everything is to take at face value. Are you aware TTMF is but One subsidiary of NIB, NiB is a multi BILLION not million , BILLION dollar company , they not failing , they have money that's why the government always " borrowing" fundsmero wrote:Kams came good when? When n where she make them promises? Kams prob gonna bawl she gonna increase nis pension again and really actually crash the system this time. You work NIB so tell me how that worked out last time.
And u list out the 5 years of accomplishment and performance since u have time , even though work now start lol
Thats for 1%, free moneyhover11 wrote:The media spins alot and you should understand not everything is to take at face value. Are you aware TTMF is but One subsidiary of NIB, NiB is a multi BILLION not million , BILLION dollar company , they not failing , they have money that's why the government always " borrowing" fundsmero wrote:Kams came good when? When n where she make them promises? Kams prob gonna bawl she gonna increase nis pension again and really actually crash the system this time. You work NIB so tell me how that worked out last time.
And u list out the 5 years of accomplishment and performance since u have time , even though work now start lol
Any entity that takes in 2b less than it sends out whilst it also has lost value on it cash and assets is not going to be sustainablehover11 wrote:The media spins alot and you should understand not everything is to take at face value. Are you aware TTMF is but One subsidiary of NIB, NiB is a multi BILLION not million , BILLION dollar company , they not failing , they have money that's why the government always " borrowing" fundsmero wrote:Kams came good when? When n where she make them promises? Kams prob gonna bawl she gonna increase nis pension again and really actually crash the system this time. You work NIB so tell me how that worked out last time.
Like Clico it is too big to fail, the government WILL have to bail outDizzy28 wrote:Any entity that takes in 2b less than it sends out whilst it also has lost value on it cash and assets is not going to be sustainablehover11 wrote:The media spins alot and you should understand not everything is to take at face value. Are you aware TTMF is but One subsidiary of NIB, NiB is a multi BILLION not million , BILLION dollar company , they not failing , they have money that's why the government always " borrowing" fundsmero wrote:Kams came good when? When n where she make them promises? Kams prob gonna bawl she gonna increase nis pension again and really actually crash the system this time. You work NIB so tell me how that worked out last time.
I probably can earn more returns on my NIS contributions if I invest it personally than having it fund people who paid pittance then to get the size of benefits they get now.hover11 wrote:Like Clico it is too big to fail, the government WILL have to bail outDizzy28 wrote:Any entity that takes in 2b less than it sends out whilst it also has lost value on it cash and assets is not going to be sustainablehover11 wrote:The media spins alot and you should understand not everything is to take at face value. Are you aware TTMF is but One subsidiary of NIB, NiB is a multi BILLION not million , BILLION dollar company , they not failing , they have money that's why the government always " borrowing" fundsmero wrote:Kams came good when? When n where she make them promises? Kams prob gonna bawl she gonna increase nis pension again and really actually crash the system this time. You work NIB so tell me how that worked out last time.
Diz,Dizzy28 wrote:I probably can earn more returns on my NIS contributions if I invest it personally than having it fund people who paid pittance then to get the size of benefits they get now.hover11 wrote:Like Clico it is too big to fail, the government WILL have to bail outDizzy28 wrote:Any entity that takes in 2b less than it sends out whilst it also has lost value on it cash and assets is not going to be sustainablehover11 wrote:The media spins alot and you should understand not everything is to take at face value. Are you aware TTMF is but One subsidiary of NIB, NiB is a multi BILLION not million , BILLION dollar company , they not failing , they have money that's why the government always " borrowing" fundsmero wrote:Kams came good when? When n where she make them promises? Kams prob gonna bawl she gonna increase nis pension again and really actually crash the system this time. You work NIB so tell me how that worked out last time.
Are you in agreement of higher contributions ?
Political suicide, PNM don't have the belly to do that nor devalue the dollar to ease access to forex. They have belly to do many things but those two they know they will never see power again so they do what they do best and kick the can down the road until it's somebody else's problemAlphaMan wrote:End the electricity subsidy, says chamber![]()
Energy Chamber president Dr Thackwray Driver has called for the removal of the electricity subsidy in the upcoming September 30 national budget.
Speaking at yesterday’s Trinidad and Tobago Coalition of Services Industries (TTCSI) pre-budget discussion at the Little Carib Theatre in Port of Spain, he said this and other chamber recommendations will help T&T become a green economy.
We need to be realistic—we have to remove the subsidy on electricity in the country. Natural gas is subsidising, we’re putting incredibly cheap natural gas into the electricity sector which we could be earning a lot more (foreign exchange) for if we put it into petrochemical and LNG sectors,” he said.
He added that “an increased rate does not mean a higher bill” if energy efficiency policies are implemented.
“Leave the subsidies in place for the poorest households, but better-off households in the top tariff levels do not need an electricity subsidy and commercial businesses should be paying the market rate for electricity,” Driver said.
T&T’s electricity will still be cheaper than in neighbouring islands, he said.
Economist Dr Marlene Attzs said there needed to be a national discussion on moving the pendulum from non-renewable energy sources to renewable ones.
“T&T is still holding on to something that we have grown very accustomed to, and comfortable with, in terms of the energy conversations. But CBAM (Carbon Border Adjustment Mechanism) is going to bite countries like T&T...very seriously in parts we don’t wish to be bitten.”
CBAM is the European Union’s tool to put a fair price on the carbon emitted during the production of carbon-intensive goods entering the EU as a way to encourage cleaner industrial production in non-EU countries.
Voicing the TTCSI’s expectations for the budget, president Dianne Joseph called for a dedicated services task force, initiatives to boost services exports, implementation of measures for businesses to adopt more technology, funding to carry out research among other aspects and the establishment of a strong services brand for T&T.
https://trinidadexpress.com/newsextra/end-the-electricity-subsidy-says-chamber/article_24623172-7696-11ef-a896-c3fe24782d27.html
hover11 wrote:Political suicide, PNM don't have the belly to do that nor devalue the dollar to ease access to forex. They have belly to do many things but those two they know they will never see power again so they do what they do best and kick the can down the road until it's somebody else's problemAlphaMan wrote:End the electricity subsidy, says chamber![]()
653974b99e89c.image.jpg
Energy Chamber president Dr Thackwray Driver has called for the removal of the electricity subsidy in the upcoming September 30 national budget.
Speaking at yesterday’s Trinidad and Tobago Coalition of Services Industries (TTCSI) pre-budget discussion at the Little Carib Theatre in Port of Spain, he said this and other chamber recommendations will help T&T become a green economy.
We need to be realistic—we have to remove the subsidy on electricity in the country. Natural gas is subsidising, we’re putting incredibly cheap natural gas into the electricity sector which we could be earning a lot more (foreign exchange) for if we put it into petrochemical and LNG sectors,” he said.
He added that “an increased rate does not mean a higher bill” if energy efficiency policies are implemented.
“Leave the subsidies in place for the poorest households, but better-off households in the top tariff levels do not need an electricity subsidy and commercial businesses should be paying the market rate for electricity,” Driver said.
Economist Dr Marlene Attzs said there needed to be a national discussion on moving the pendulum from non-renewable energy sources to renewable ones.
“T&T is still holding on to something that we have grown very accustomed to, and comfortable with, in terms of the energy conversations. But CBAM (Carbon Border Adjustment Mechanism) is going to bite countries like T&T...very seriously in parts we don’t wish to be bitten.”
CBAM is the European Union’s tool to put a fair price on the carbon emitted during the production of carbon-intensive goods entering the EU as a way to encourage cleaner industrial production in non-EU countries.
Voicing the TTCSI’s expectations for the budget, president Dianne Joseph called for a dedicated services task force, initiatives to boost services exports, implementation of measures for businesses to adopt more technology, funding to carry out research among other aspects and the establishment of a strong services brand for T&T.
https://trinidadexpress.com/newsextra/end-the-electricity-subsidy-says-chamber/article_24623172-7696-11ef-a896-c3fe24782d27.html
Remember they need the citizens' help to paypaid_influencer wrote:they have belly enough to pay ttec how much billion the state owing too?
Jah help us if PNM get another Five years. Who not dead will be badly woundedThe_Honourable wrote:hover11 wrote:Political suicide, PNM don't have the belly to do that nor devalue the dollar to ease access to forex. They have belly to do many things but those two they know they will never see power again so they do what they do best and kick the can down the road until it's somebody else's problemAlphaMan wrote:End the electricity subsidy, says chamber![]()
653974b99e89c.image.jpg
Yes they have the belly to it... they proved that with petrotrin, property tax and slowly with wasa.
They would not do it this budget as general elections is a year or so away. They already sent a message to the population that they will reduce electricity subsidies and increase rates... just not right now. If they win next year, full speed with WASA, and T&TEC next.
Paid,paid_influencer wrote:^ wha i doh understand is why these budget expenditure always increasing.
it come like you going gym every day for 10 years
but at the end of the ten years the scale say you gain 10 billion kilograms in weight also
hover11 wrote:Since Minister of Finance, Colm Imbert delivered his first fiscal package in October 2015, the government has spent, or allocated to spend, approximately $476 billion in the nine fiscal years to 2024.
Read more:
https://www.guardian.co.tt/business/mor ... c8661f0b75
$476 Billion , simply amazing but what do we have to show for suchFB_IMG_1727006513049.jpg
Transfers and subsidies usually command a majority of Government expenditure, with Sunday Business Guardian estimates putting the total spending on that allocation amounting to an estimated $252 billion between the 2016 and 2024 fiscal years.
Generally, transfers and subsidies account for more than half of all the money spent by the Government in a fiscal year. ...
Transfers to households include several key social programmes. According to the 2022 review of the economy, some programmes that fall under this item are pensions and gratuities, senior citizens grant, social assistance, disability grant, and the food price support programme. Another significant programme listed under this item is the Government Assistance for Tuition Expenses (GATE). ...
Subsidised costs have consistently been addressed in the past decade, notably with adjustments to the fuel subsidy six times. ...
“We have to remove the subsidy on electricity in the country,’ said Dr Driver at the event, “We’re putting incredibly cheap natural gas into the electricity sector which we could be earning a lot more foreign exchange if we put it into petrochemical and LNG sectors,” he said,
Again didn't think I had to be specific,what tangible assets or accomplishments do we have to show. Please don't reply with regurgitation, show evidence. Also when did Trinidad become a welfare state?adnj wrote:hover11 wrote:Since Minister of Finance, Colm Imbert delivered his first fiscal package in October 2015, the government has spent, or allocated to spend, approximately $476 billion in the nine fiscal years to 2024.
Read more:
$476 Billion , simply amazing but what do we have to show for suchFB_IMG_1727006513049.jpgTransfers and subsidies usually command a majority of Government expenditure, with Sunday Business Guardian estimates putting the total spending on that allocation amounting to an estimated $252 billion between the 2016 and 2024 fiscal years.
Generally, transfers and subsidies account for more than half of all the money spent by the Government in a fiscal year. ...
Transfers to households include several key social programmes. According to the 2022 review of the economy, some programmes that fall under this item are pensions and gratuities, senior citizens grant, social assistance, disability grant, and the food price support programme. Another significant programme listed under this item is the Government Assistance for Tuition Expenses (GATE). ...
Subsidised costs have consistently been addressed in the past decade, notably with adjustments to the fuel subsidy six times. ...
“We have to remove the subsidy on electricity in the country,’ said Dr Driver at the event, “We’re putting incredibly cheap natural gas into the electricity sector which we could be earning a lot more foreign exchange if we put it into petrochemical and LNG sectors,” he said,
hover11 wrote:Again didn't think I had to be specific,what tangible assets or accomplishments do we have to show. Please don't reply with regurgitation, show evidence. Also when did Trinidad become a welfare state?adnj wrote:hover11 wrote:Since Minister of Finance, Colm Imbert delivered his first fiscal package in October 2015, the government has spent, or allocated to spend, approximately $476 billion in the nine fiscal years to 2024.
Read more:
$476 Billion , simply amazing but what do we have to show for suchFB_IMG_1727006513049.jpgTransfers and subsidies usually command a majority of Government expenditure, with Sunday Business Guardian estimates putting the total spending on that allocation amounting to an estimated $252 billion between the 2016 and 2024 fiscal years.
You still not making a point because the two aren't mutually exclusive, my point is simple as this tax businesses more and you would have more money to allocate to pensioners and increase such. Transfers similar to the ones done in point Lisas where companies are basically buying at cost price and basically selling to themselves to evade paying hefty corporate tax should not be at the expense of taxpayers just saying.adnj wrote:hover11 wrote:Again didn't think I had to be specific,what tangible assets or accomplishments do we have to show. Please don't reply with regurgitation, show evidence. Also when did Trinidad become a welfare state?adnj wrote:hover11 wrote:Since Minister of Finance, Colm Imbert delivered his first fiscal package in October 2015, the government has spent, or allocated to spend, approximately $476 billion in the nine fiscal years to 2024.
Read more:
adnj wrote:hover11 wrote:Again didn't think I had to be specific,what tangible assets or accomplishments do we have to show. Please don't reply with regurgitation, show evidence. Also when did Trinidad become a welfare state?adnj wrote:hover11 wrote:Since Minister of Finance, Colm Imbert delivered his first fiscal package in October 2015, the government has spent, or allocated to spend, approximately $476 billion in the nine fiscal years to 2024.
Read more:
So you saying pensions that ppl invested in should not keep up with inflation, not talking about senior citizens grant that's a political gimmick by itself.adnj wrote:adnj wrote:hover11 wrote:Again didn't think I had to be specific,what tangible assets or accomplishments do we have to show. Please don't reply with regurgitation, show evidence. Also when did Trinidad become a welfare state?adnj wrote:hover11 wrote:Since Minister of Finance, Colm Imbert delivered his first fiscal package in October 2015, the government has spent, or allocated to spend, approximately $476 billion in the nine fiscal years to 2024.
Read more:
hover11 wrote:So you saying pensions that ppl invested in should not keep up with inflation, not talking about senior citizens grant that's a political gimmick by itself.
adnj wrote:hover11 wrote:So you saying pensions that ppl invested in should not keep up with inflation, not talking about senior citizens grant that's a political gimmick by itself.
bluefete wrote:adnj wrote:hover11 wrote:So you saying pensions that ppl invested in should not keep up with inflation, not talking about senior citizens grant that's a political gimmick by itself.
You are playing smart with foolishness.
The quantum did NOT increase per person.
It is just that more people applied for old age pensions and thus the increase in payments.
No you dotish , no sugar coating, you still haven't provided tangible evidence for what the accomplishments were from billions spend in the nine years in the previous budgets. You fighting a losing battle bro, stop while you behind, way behind.adnj wrote:bluefete wrote:adnj wrote:hover11 wrote:So you saying pensions that ppl invested in should not keep up with inflation, not talking about senior citizens grant that's a political gimmick by itself.
You are playing smart with foolishness.
The quantum did NOT increase per person.
It is just that more people applied for old age pensions and thus the increase in payments.
Interesting - but not the point that was being made.