Re: SEA 2023

Postby fokhan_96 » July 3rd, 2023, 2:09 pm

Website real sticking... as usual.

Postby eliteauto » July 3rd, 2023, 2:26 pm

Took about 30 mins to access the site after the 12:00pm "launch" almost 3 hours later some of my daughter's classmates are now getting their results

Postby ruffneck_12 » July 3rd, 2023, 2:32 pm

Fellas I pass for my first choice

Talk to me nice :fist: :fist: :fist:

Curepe jr sec aint ready for me

Postby paid_influencer » July 3rd, 2023, 5:30 pm

eliteauto wrote:Took about 30 mins to access the site after the 12:00pm "launch" almost 3 hours later some of my daughter's classmates are now getting their results

why not launch at midnight why. just stressing ppl out more

Postby maj. tom » July 3rd, 2023, 5:34 pm

Maybe an official email system would be better. Let a system generate an email and match the name with the results from the database. Send email batch. I assume all this stuff in on a database in 2023 right? I sure the Ministry can hire some programmers and roll that out.

Postby pugboy » July 3rd, 2023, 5:50 pm

did govt decide if they not naming the high performing students and schools ?

Postby redmanjp » July 3rd, 2023, 5:57 pm

would love to know how this year results compare to last years which was supposedly affected by pandemic school closures

Postby paid_influencer » July 3rd, 2023, 5:59 pm

redmanjp wrote:would love to know how this year results compare to last years which was supposedly affected by pandemic school closures

me too. who placed 1st is a kinda useless thing since somebody had to come first. that is not achievement for the govt to be celebrating.

but the % that fail, how the median scores changed, what % scores is for a first-choice pass, now that is useful information. hopefully they give we that

Postby Gladiator » July 3rd, 2023, 6:39 pm

paid_influencer wrote:
redmanjp wrote:would love to know how this year results compare to last years which was supposedly affected by pandemic school closures

me too. who placed 1st is a kinda useless thing since somebody had to come first. that is not achievement for the govt to be celebrating.

but the % that fail, how the median scores changed, what % scores is for a first-choice pass, now that is useful information. hopefully they give we that

The govt don't "celebrate" the 1st place, but its an accomplishment that should be recognized

Postby paid_influencer » July 3rd, 2023, 6:51 pm

Gladiator wrote:
paid_influencer wrote:

The govt don't "celebrate" the 1st place, but its an accomplishment that should be recognized

disagree. The SEA was never designed for that purpose - the top places announcement is a harmful sideshow for all involved

Postby alfa » July 3rd, 2023, 6:56 pm

paid_influencer wrote:
Gladiator wrote:
paid_influencer wrote:

disagree. The SEA was never designed for that purpose - the top places announcement is a harmful sideshow for all involved

How is it a harmful sideshow? It may not be the objective of SEA but celebrating excellence could never be a bad thing. Kids need to learn form young, and 11 isn't all that young to know that there are winners and losers in life. You could have top notch scores but go to an interview with someone who has something better and guess what, you're not getting the job.

Postby paid_influencer » July 3rd, 2023, 7:07 pm

it had several top 10 students in my class and most start smoking weed and didn't make it into form 6

Postby redmanjp » July 3rd, 2023, 7:11 pm

CNC3: 58% got more than 50% in 2023 compared to 37% scoring more than 50% in 2022

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » July 3rd, 2023, 7:33 pm

Are people truly celebrating their lil brats going to a new school for a country that doesn't have much of a future? :shock:

Postby Gladiator » July 3rd, 2023, 7:48 pm

paid_influencer wrote:
Gladiator wrote:
paid_influencer wrote:

I don't think it was... entire villages celebrated with their top students. It made them proud and increased the comradery amongst neighbors. Many top performing but needy students received sponsors from private sector for books, clothes etc. The Govt also gave a scholarship for the top place.

Postby st7 » July 3rd, 2023, 8:03 pm

Gladiator wrote:
paid_influencer wrote:
Gladiator wrote:
paid_influencer wrote:

I don't think it was... entire villages celebrated with their top students. It made them proud and increased the comradery amongst neighbors. Many top performing but needy students received sponsors from private sector for books, clothes etc. The Govt also gave a scholarship for the top place.

PEA influenced sound like he never celebrated any intellectual accomplishments and want everyone to feel like him.

wing

Postby wing » July 3rd, 2023, 8:19 pm

paid_influencer wrote:
Gladiator wrote:
paid_influencer wrote:

I agree. This innovation was fairly recent and seems to be just for bragging rights among parents and schools. All the years prior with CE and early SEA never had this obsession with top 100 or whatever. And now it has become political when the minister revert to the old system and the lawyers(we know their affiliation) get involved.

Postby paid_influencer » July 3rd, 2023, 8:35 pm

redmanjp wrote:CNC3: 58% got more than 50% in 2023 compared to 37% scoring more than 50% in 2022

sea_2023_results_analysis_c2f0c1f4dab6e869463d9e647570072f.png

this is very good news for the whole country. I telling allyuh Dolly is the best MoE we get in a long time, better than Kamla or Hazel even.

maybe that 2022 SEA had some problems with the exam itself tho. that is a very big outlier

Postby Gladiator » July 3rd, 2023, 8:37 pm

paid_influencer wrote:
redmanjp wrote:CNC3: 58% got more than 50% in 2023 compared to 37% scoring more than 50% in 2022

sea_2023_results_analysis_c2f0c1f4dab6e869463d9e647570072f.png

this is very good news for the whole country. I telling allyuh Dolly is the best MoE we get in a long time, better than Kamla or Hazel even.

maybe that 2022 SEA had some problems with the exam itself tho. that is a very big outlier
Orrr...now seeing your political bias...carry on

Postby Gladiator » July 3rd, 2023, 8:39 pm

wing wrote:
paid_influencer wrote:
Gladiator wrote:
paid_influencer wrote:

I agree. This innovation was fairly recent and seems to be just for bragging rights among parents and schools. All the years prior with CE and early SEA never had this obsession with top 100 or whatever. And now it has become political when the minister revert to the old system and the lawyers(we know their affiliation) get involved.
Actually you know little of what you speak of, the common entrance always had a top 100 list and the first 3 or 5 students got medals in the independence day award ceremony.

They also got scholarships and public media recognition. It's only in the recent PNM times that this was discontinued.

Postby paid_influencer » July 3rd, 2023, 8:46 pm

allyuh fellas talking about that top 10 list and ent realize people want to scrap the whole exam and concordat too

Postby alfa » July 3rd, 2023, 8:49 pm

paid_influencer wrote:allyuh fellas talking about that top 10 list and ent realize people want to scrap the whole exam and concordat too

To introduce affirmitive action

Postby redmanjp » July 3rd, 2023, 9:20 pm

paid_influencer wrote:maybe that 2022 SEA had some problems with the exam itself tho. that is a very big outlier

it was poor performance due to pandemic school lockdowns

Postby pugboy » July 3rd, 2023, 9:26 pm

they only want to scrap it to spite them

paid_influencer wrote:allyuh fellas talking about that top 10 list and ent realize people want to scrap the whole exam and concordat too

Postby st7 » July 4th, 2023, 12:45 am

redmanjp wrote:
paid_influencer wrote:maybe that 2022 SEA had some problems with the exam itself tho. that is a very big outlier

it was poor performance due to pandemic school lockdowns

yes, but he said... shh.. he not quite logical

Postby maj. tom » July 6th, 2023, 8:25 pm

triniterribletim

Postby triniterribletim » July 7th, 2023, 10:10 am

They don't want to give out the $1000 dollars to Top 100 students anymore. Simple as. Save money on the awards ceremony at the LRC as well.

Postby paid_influencer » July 7th, 2023, 5:57 pm

triniterribletim wrote:They don't want to give out the $1000 dollars to Top 100 students anymore. Simple as. Save money on the awards ceremony at the LRC as well.

you could still do that if you want. use your own money

Postby redmanjp » July 7th, 2023, 6:20 pm

58% is better than last year but that still means 42% fail.

Postby paid_influencer » July 7th, 2023, 6:30 pm

i blame the cutbacks on the school feeding program. scores started falling and kept falling once the govt moved to the gatekeeper model for school lunches.

and a fillers is not lunch. the govt needs to give kids a reason to want to come to school in the morning