Postby Redman » November 7th, 2021, 11:44 am

At 88 and Dizzy
https://www.radiantnuclear.com

5th gen Nuclear is walk away safe.

https://thorconpower.com/power/

https://www.statista.com/statistics/494 ... gy-source/

Sorry had to check the pit.

ETA
Historically govts chose.not to research nuclear for.military and political reasons and as such plants in operation today are old tech.
Fukishama was 1970s tech.

however there 15 or so private sector cos that are leading the charge and making nuclear more practical as a source of clean energy at a utility scale.

We already have military ships and subs using it for propulsion.

Re: Economic Disaster/COP26 incoming

Postby 88sins » November 7th, 2021, 12:04 pm

Portable nuclear power and all that other jazz is all fine and dandy. But the hurdles I mentioned are still there. This place too small to go nuclear, it's not a cost effective option, and we still going to have to find something to do with the waste material generated by the process.

I see they making some advances in nuclear fusion earlier this year though. That would be a better alternative.

Postby Redman » November 7th, 2021, 12:40 pm

Waste is reduced by 90% and what waste there is is much easier to deal with.
The tech has solved your concerns.

In terms of cost again the tech has brought costs down.

https://world-nuclear-news.org/Articles ... on-for-Can
A single eVinci micro-reactor is expected to be between 14% and 44% more economic than a diesel generator, depending upon the price of diesel fuel and the price for carbon, and in mining scenarios, such a unit - with diesel back-up - could reduce carbon emissions by about 90%, the report notes in its key takeaways.

https://www.oecd-nea.org/jcms/pl_60360/ ... wer-plants

Definitely worth looking into.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » November 7th, 2021, 1:54 pm

Just a question, why go nuclear when solar and wind are better options for us?

I think nuclear is definitely a good idea, but not for us.

Postby redmanjp » November 8th, 2021, 12:58 am

Can't trust trinis with nuclear. And we are a small island country. If God forbid we had a Chenobyl here we gone through. Bigger countries will survive but here d whole island go be contaminated.

Postby 88sins » November 8th, 2021, 3:44 am

Wouldn't even require an incident like the Chernobyl event.
One good hurricane pass and drop some large chunks of debris in critical areas and is problems.
Make no mention that NOBODY going to want to live within 10 km of it, so they hadda know where they want to put it that's far away enough from populated areas. The logistics of that alone is a headache, to come up with a location that's remote enough to not be of concern to the public, yet has access to roads, water, and a point to which it can connect to the existing power distribution grid. Simply put, this place too small and disorganized for nuclear power.

I wouldn't expect wind to be a viable option either, I doubt that the air currents we have here are consistent enough at the heights wind generators usually set up at to provide consistent turbine speeds.
But solar? Definitely an easy option. And very doable, especially if promoting end user residential installations.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » November 8th, 2021, 5:47 am

88sins wrote:Wouldn't even require an incident like the Chernobyl event.
One good hurricane pass and drop some large chunks of debris in critical areas and is problems.
Make no mention that NOBODY going to want to live within 10 km of it, so they hadda know where they want to put it that's far away enough from populated areas. The logistics of that alone is a headache, to come up with a location that's remote enough to not be of concern to the public, yet has access to roads, water, and a point to which it can connect to the existing power distribution grid. Simply put, this place too small and disorganized for nuclear power.

I wouldn't expect wind to be a viable option either, I doubt that the air currents we have here are consistent enough at the heights wind generators usually set up at to provide consistent turbine speeds.
But solar? Definitely an easy option. And very doable, especially if promoting end user residential installations.

I believe wind power is definitely viable on the east coast.

Postby Redman » November 8th, 2021, 7:17 am

Wind and solar are not flexible wrt location.

Getting power from the unpopulated east coast to the population centers requires a whole new network.

The intermittent nature of both require installing excess capacity and storage.

So they are A SOLUTION...not the only solution.

@88 your concerns are based on the old tech, and that is simply not what is being discussed.

Postby hover11 » November 8th, 2021, 7:22 am

We could have been the very first Caribbean country to invest in solar energy and supply the entire Caribbean with the equipment and resources to gain profits yet we didn't, we held onto T&TEC for whatever purpose and simply going with the flow. I not saying completely do away with T&TEC as they provide employment and other social needs, however use it in tandem with solar energy

Postby zoom rader » November 8th, 2021, 7:22 am

Redman wrote:Wind and solar are not flexible wrt location.

Getting power from the unpopulated east coast to the population centers requires a whole new network.

@88 your concerns are based on the old tech, and that is simply not what is being discussed.

You are so correct, that Wind and solar are not flexible wrt location. Seems Trinidad is buying a cat in bag by going ahead with the their Solar farm.

Postby timelapse » November 8th, 2021, 7:22 am

Nuclear is an excellent solution.Only problem is Trinis.We'd have to import workers for that.Trinis are too lackadaisical to maintain something as dangerous as a nuclear power plant.

Postby Redman » November 8th, 2021, 7:39 am

After 100+years in oil and gas we diving back into having fking BP and Shell controlling our energy production?

Timelapse.....the truth is that we can get trained up...and the companies that developing the tech will have a solution for that.

These reactors are inherently safe.

Postby teems1 » November 8th, 2021, 8:16 am

Redman wrote:After 100+years in oil and gas we diving back into having fking BP and Shell controlling our energy production?

Timelapse.....the truth is that we can get trained up...and the companies that developing the tech will have a solution for that.

Name one government run piece of infrastructure which is well maintained.

A nuclear power plant is way too complex for Trinidad to think about.

Wind and solar are the only green options we have.

Postby zoom rader » November 8th, 2021, 8:35 am

Redman wrote:After 100+years in oil and gas we diving back into having fking BP and Shell controlling our energy production?

Whose to blame?

Postby timelapse » November 8th, 2021, 8:40 am

We can't even get a wastewater management system off the ground.Pipes still resting all over chaguanas on the ground.The theoretical truth is that we can accomplish anything.The realistic truth is that our politicians will never allow it, and the grassroots voting population is lazy af.Which person from Sealots and Beetham you seeing working on a nuclear plant? Realistically?Then, given the nature of our idiotic programming,the plant will be an 'indo' thing, then it will be a UNC thing,or it will be an 'afro ' thing,then a PNM thing.Idiots will try to make themselves sound intelligent arguing party politics, while ignoring any notion of progress.Crabs in a barrel.This is why it is so easy for foreigners to come in and take what they want.Once we get over PNM/UNC and people/creole, potential is limitless.Until then, we will spin top in mud

worksux101

Postby worksux101 » November 8th, 2021, 8:44 am

How exactly is solar not flexible wrt location? Sun shines differently in different parts of a miniscule island?
Not being facetious - genuine question.

Postby zoom rader » November 8th, 2021, 9:28 am

worksux101 wrote:

How exactly is solar not flexible wrt location? Sun shines differently in different parts of a miniscule island?
Not being facetious - genuine question.

Solar farms have proven to be failures around the world, lots of mistruths sold on solar

https://www.greentechmedia.com/articles ... -pulls-out
https://www.wsj.com/articles/high-tech- ... 1434138485
https://www.abc.net.au/news/2020-01-28/ ... t/11903706
https://jpt.spe.org/becoming-obsolete-h ... bankruptcy

Trinidad is getting conned .

However Solar for home installations is a way forward and not on farms

Postby 88sins » November 8th, 2021, 10:31 am

For all your lust for a nuclear powered T&T, & all your "old tech" talk, you are yet to explain
1-How we disposing of any waste that may occur? and what would be the cost of disposal of that waste material?
2-Who do you now that wants to live near a nuclear power plant? Old tech or New tech, same difference. Nobody wants to live around the immediate vicinity of these things, and for safety reasons, homowners are justifiably wary.
Where would be the best place to put it so that it can connect to the existing grid without displacing or displeasing residents, while simultaneously being as cost effective to connect to the existing grid? Keep in mind, this is one small-ass island, with only so much space.

Postby sMASH » November 8th, 2021, 10:41 am

i disagree with dedicating so much land space to solar. that land space might have better returns if dedicated to food production and reduce the food import bill.

locally, nat gas cheap enough that solar isnt really that competitive. the new gastation that has the solar roof, i think thats a better way to go into solar. smaller niche projects that over time, gets integrated. but not a giant push.... all because we have our own natural gas.. we dont have to buy it like other islands.

while the cost to upgrade the transmission system to port the electricity from the east, to the normal west, is a significant cost, i wouldnt really say its a reason to not do that project. any new power generation site will NEED infrastructure to tie it into the grid. so, its just an inherent cost. just put it on the 'cons' column wiht its estimated costs. all projects will have that cost, but with different values.

Postby 88sins » November 8th, 2021, 11:07 am

sMASH wrote:i disagree with dedicating so much land space to solar. that land space might have better returns if dedicated to food production and reduce the food import bill. .

thus why the emphasis in my previous post was on incentivizing home-owners to go solar. It costs the state nothing, reduces load on the grid and fuel consumption for energy generation, and would aid in significantly lowering our carbon footprint

Postby sMASH » November 8th, 2021, 11:30 am

sMASH wrote:i disagree with dedicating so much land space to solar. that land space might have better returns if dedicated to food production and reduce the food import bill. .

thus why the emphasis in my previous post was on incentivizing home-owners to go solar. It costs the state nothing, reduces load on the grid and fuel consumption for energy generation, and would aid in significantly lowering our carbon footprint

correk is rite

Postby The_Honourable » November 8th, 2021, 11:30 am

I believe the idea is to use previous quarried lands not suitable for agriculture anymore for solar. Ok sounds good but do we need to? We already have oversupply of power. Since the government is planning in some way to remove the subsidy from electricity, Solar will become more attractive for domestic use which I agree the focus should be.

We have TGU overproducing but we talking nuclear plant? Nuclear sounds good and has its benefits but it is not a fit for T&T. The cost to build one alone is a deterrent with our economic predicament and most of the population will be against it to a higher degree than the smelter. 88sins has valid questions, how we are dealing with the nuclear waste? where are we going to build it? East? with all that agriculture and tourism potential? nah. South? with active agricultural, residential and commercial expansion? nah. Nelson or Caledonia Island? West trinidad and environmentalists not going to allow that with Venezuela watching us cross eye asking wtf we doing by the border.

Postby zoom rader » November 8th, 2021, 11:54 am

You have to understand that certain government ppl are pushing the Solar con in order to make money .

All over the world Solar farms have failed

The only way forward that would break even is home installations but the major cost will be the batteries.

Sundar

Postby Sundar » November 8th, 2021, 12:36 pm

Redman wrote:What's the compliance of countries with these types of initiatives ?

At 20m bopd of which 11m is oil the US has massive interests in keeping the hydrocarbon sector profitable and in play.

How do they enforce this initiative?

financing oil and gas is tied to control of the resource....is control of the resource the issue?

It's a fact that development increases per capita energy use.
https://www.eia.gov/todayinenergy/detai ... ion%20(EIA)

Get up to speed with the commercial develop of alternatives that match hydrocarbons flexibility and convenience.
Like 5th gen small scale nuclear for ships....now get worried.

We should go nuclear

Two major issues with this
One- we could barely maintain a water processing system, is a nuclear power plant yuh want?
Two- even if it were a viable option (and it's not because honestly this country too small for nuclear to be a cost effective option), when time to dispose of the waste, where we putting it? What it gonna cost to pay to dispose of it? And if there's a leak in that waste, what's it going to cost to clean up, if it's even possible to clean up?

This country, we can do our part and make a big difference in reducing our carbon emissions. A simple thing like promoting solar power for residential homes, by simply removing the taxes on the importation of items used to generate and store solar energy. If not, there's the option to issue a grant to homeowners for part or all of the cost of equipment. People would jump on that.

But we here too busy with kissing uncle sam arse, and uncle sam done do a whole lot of dirt to ensure that oil controls the global economy and he really doesn't want that to change if he can help it.

Price of solar power systems gonna sky rocket after that conference.

Postby Dizzy28 » November 8th, 2021, 12:42 pm

sMASH wrote:i disagree with dedicating so much land space to solar. that land space might have better returns if dedicated to food production and reduce the food import bill.

locally, nat gas cheap enough that solar isnt really that competitive. the new gastation that has the solar roof, i think thats a better way to go into solar. smaller niche projects that over time, gets integrated. but not a giant push.... all because we have our own natural gas.. we dont have to buy it like other islands.

while the cost to upgrade the transmission system to port the electricity from the east, to the normal west, is a significant cost, i wouldnt really say its a reason to not do that project. any new power generation site will NEED infrastructure to tie it into the grid. so, its just an inherent cost. just put it on the 'cons' column wiht its estimated costs. all projects will have that cost, but with different values.

TT has given a formal commitment to reducing greenhouse gas emissions by 15% from industry, power generation and the transport sector by 2030 from a business as usual baseline. In absolute terms that would be equivalent to one hundred and three million (103M) tonnes of carbon dioxide equivalent

This is why we cannot continue with natural gas only electricity generation

Postby 88sins » November 8th, 2021, 1:48 pm

You have to understand that certain government ppl are pushing the Solar con in order to make money .

All over the world Solar farms have failed

The only way forward that would break even is home installations but the major cost will be the batteries.

yup. generating the energy is one thing, but storing that energy is where it can get costly. But it doesn't have to. A lead acid battery bank is one way to go, cheaper than lithium but the downside is the physical size of the bank and number of batteries required for storage to run a household.

Postby timelapse » November 8th, 2021, 2:21 pm

Other options:
We have lots of unused rooftop space in towns and cities.Either plant stuff on top,or put solar and wind energy installations.Tax write off.Easy peasy

Postby Redman » November 8th, 2021, 5:13 pm

https://www.iaea.org/newscenter/news/wh ... ctors-smrs

Some facts.

All solar and wind technology still has the major intermittency problem.
Last I saw is that you need panels to supply 1.5x required generation output plus storage for minimum 25% of the capacity would give coverage 90% of the time.

Last year manufacturer cost was about 500,000 euro per MW of solar output
That's cost of equipment alone

Utility scale or distributed solar/wind will require a smart network or at least relocation of parts of the network.

What is the land requirement for us to go total solar?

Postby 88sins » November 8th, 2021, 5:53 pm

U sponsoring the project?

Postby sMASH » November 8th, 2021, 5:58 pm

govts break promises all the time.
not disputing what they going to do, just saying saying that it may not be the most prudent way forward.
imo, that incentive for individuals to install solar panels is a better way forward... to shift over to solar instead of nat gas.