CK Lancer, terrible fuel economy

Postby ~Vēġó~ » February 28th, 2006, 2:20 pm

^^Yeah me too........

Hear whattrinigamer, 1) full right up, 2) reset yuh trip meter, 3) do whatever distance for a couple days like how yuh normally drive, 4) go and full up and note the reading on your trip meter....... and then come back and tell us how much yuh take to full up and how much distance yuh covered.

Cah really use them notches to give a proper estimation as to fuel used.......

venum

Postby venum » February 28th, 2006, 9:13 pm

^^^ taht sound like a better plan

I just need to know the mileage you getting to:

1/4 tank

1/2 tank

3/4 tank

to be able to tell you if it good or things not good

those lil notches ent the best guide

Postby ~Vēġó~ » March 1st, 2006, 9:56 am

^^^My I suggest that you possibly post your figure as per guage levels as well.......

For eg. in my usage:

1/4 tank used ought to have given me 275+km

1/2 tank used " " " " 350+km (yes that seems strange but that's how the guage reads)

3/4 tank used " " " " 475+km used

When fuel light come on 620+km.........

It's just an example and my tank does take around $160+ to fill with premium....(55litres capacity)

My average is if I do say a days commute (approx 140km) then I ought to have burnt $36 in premium..........however it does be around $32 so I does be kinda glad............buh if I run hard well then that economy goes down the manifold like dat!

trinigamer

Postby trinigamer » March 1st, 2006, 10:07 am

^^ Ok just filled up, $59 premium. One thing though, I drive on average 5km a day, (live in San Juan work in Barataria), so I'll check over a week.

venum

Postby venum » March 1st, 2006, 7:11 pm

for my Lancer (4G15 DOHC)

1/4 tank = 100 - 150 km

1/2 tank = 200 - 220 km

3/4 tank = 300 - 350 km

these are my figures for a 50 litre tank

Vega, that GDI doing some impressive mileage man

Viento 4G63?

Postby ~Vēġó~ » March 4th, 2006, 7:28 pm

Viento 4G63?

nah EXCEED 4G93.........thing is the route I travel helps with the economy plenty...no hills and long flat stretches.......easy running

venum

Postby venum » March 6th, 2006, 12:07 am

cool scene man

would you be so kind as to inform me of the tranny code?

compling a register nah

trinigamer

Postby trinigamer » March 6th, 2006, 9:03 am

Right, tank showed quarter tank on Saturday, so i filled up - $21 premium. Tripmeter said 37km. BTW I'm running on 195/60/15, if that makes a difference.

Postby Dave » March 6th, 2006, 9:37 am

that is terrible mileage still

trinigamer

Postby trinigamer » March 6th, 2006, 9:49 am

^^ I'm thinking about getting another electronic diagnosis, anywhere on the East-West corridor that does it? I know MasterServe does it, but they're expensive.

Postby Dave » March 6th, 2006, 10:43 am

last time(weekend) i filled my 4g13 carb, with zero trip was 155km and $42 to fill and the carb seals leaking

SPEED THRILLZ

Postby SPEED THRILLZ » March 6th, 2006, 9:45 pm

wow thats really bad, if you do solve please do share the info.

venum

Postby venum » March 6th, 2006, 9:55 pm

trinigamer wrote:Right, tank showed quarter tank on Saturday, so i filled up - $21 premium. Tripmeter said 37km. BTW I'm running on 195/60/15, if that makes a difference.

do you mean that you are getting 37km to a 1/4 tank :shock:

:wtf: man

that horrible

which engine is it again?

Postby ~Vēġó~ » March 6th, 2006, 10:32 pm

:shock: :shock: :shock: $21 for 37km :shock: :shock: :shock: man bess you take ah taxi or walk yes.......that is horrendous mileage.

Keep us informed as to what yuh next scan say.......

trinigamer

Postby trinigamer » March 7th, 2006, 8:30 am

venum wrote:do you mean that you are getting 37km to a 1/4 tank :shock:
:wtf: man
that horrible
which engine is it again?

4g13.

I'm going to run the tank down to empty and check the mileage. That'll take about 2 weeks.

sameerali78

Postby sameerali78 » March 10th, 2006, 2:19 pm

u sure u not kicking down every chance u get? or pushing the car to the limit even in short distances?

if the gears taking long to change over, that eh go affect the fuel consumtion too ?

trinigamer

Postby trinigamer » March 10th, 2006, 4:15 pm

^^ I just start driving in November, 14 years after I got my license. I don't know how to kick it down yet. Besides the routes I normally drive are either in traffic, or on backroads, where you have to stop on every corner, so the opportunity to drive fast doesn't come up. I've never driven the car faster than 100km/hr.

venum

Postby venum » March 10th, 2006, 11:16 pm

wait nah hoss

you new to this bizniss

after 14 years?

:shock: :shock: :shock:

Stixer7

Postby Stixer7 » March 11th, 2006, 7:53 am

Throttle Position Sensor or it's wiring may be bad

as aforesaid one or more of the injector seals may be bad

or a leak in the line which you could test(let your mech hook up the fuel pressure gauge & leave it for a while to see if the pressure drops

air flow meter bad

Defective O2 sensor can also result in this

venum

Postby venum » March 11th, 2006, 10:40 pm

^^^ good points to consider

but if you meant the MAF sensor by "air flow meter" - I do not think the 4G13 uses MAF

MAP, but no MAF

at least the 4G15 doesn't

4G92 uses MAF and MAP

blazing

Postby blazing » March 12th, 2006, 12:15 am

I do not think the 4G13 uses MAF

correct

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » March 12th, 2006, 10:42 pm

this is the worst fuel economy i've ever seen.
well i does get about 160km for about $40, which i find is plenty(highway)
ah nex thing, up to now i eh hear u confirm or deny the air filter clean. this is the first thing to check. see if u pull up ah plastic bag or sumthing.

venum

Postby venum » March 12th, 2006, 11:50 pm

cacasplat3 wrote:see if u pull up ah plastic bag or sumthing.

the intake vents for the CK engine are loacted in two places:
1. Inside the engine itself, just behind the left headlight\indicator

2. inside the front left fender, between the front bumper and the wheel-well, which is sealed off at the bottom

how the rats-clat arse he could have suck up a bag?

but then again, anything is possible

But I also believe that when the car went for servicing, the mechanic would have chcked the filter, at the very least took it out and given it a blow out, so he should have seen a plastic bag in there

trinigamer

Postby trinigamer » March 13th, 2006, 8:48 am

venum wrote:wait nah hoss
you new to this bizniss
after 14 years?

Man, I spent most of my time either in school/university or being unemployed, couldn't afford a car until recently.

Postby Dave » March 13th, 2006, 8:54 am

ck1 carb this morning went 149.7 on $41 fill
ent efi supposed to be better than carb

trinigamer

Postby trinigamer » March 13th, 2006, 8:54 am

I replaced the air filter recently. Also stuck my hand inside the air intake as far as it could go, no obstructions there. The 4G13 only has a MAP sensor. I'll have to get the mechanic to recheck. Probably have to get a second opinion too. If you know a good mechanic on the East-West corridor, you can PM me the contact info.

Postby Dave » March 13th, 2006, 8:58 am

not too sure if this was said but those engines have a series of vacuum lines and a car of this age may some some that are leaking
when i replaced my c62 lines, the car ran much different, had power and idle was improved not that the car was working bad before
get the thick walled lines and replace each one at a time and coat the outside with some silicone spray or rubber protectant for longevity

Jian

Postby Jian » March 13th, 2006, 10:21 am

XTREME AUTO SHOP 752-6166
Rapsey Street Curepe

Let a good Mech check it out :)

trinigamer

Postby trinigamer » March 15th, 2006, 10:47 am

Ok, just returned from the mechanic Jian recommended. He showed me where the spark plug (changed in December) was being fouled on one side and said that the cylinder head needed to be sandblasted and and valves decarbonised. Hooked up a vacuum gauge too, apparently valves leaking.
Last edited by trinigamer on March 15th, 2006, 5:11 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Jian

Postby Jian » March 15th, 2006, 10:58 am

trinigamer, Told ya he was a crackshot mechanic 8)