BBC: “Coronavirus wreaks havoc on African American communities”

Re: Evidence black people harder hit by coronavirus?

Postby The_Honourable » April 8th, 2020, 10:35 am

Sharpton, Jackson, Farrakhan, etc gonna milk this and make lots of money.

Postby bluefete » April 8th, 2020, 10:45 am

All of whose data? Who did the research? Who paid for it? What about the people who are just as or even more obese who live in the Mid-West USA, in far greater numbers?

You do not ever hear anything about obesity in Caucasian Americans. They minimise anything that shows them in a bad light from a medical perspective.

Always remember that statistics can be spun in any direction to meet a specific agenda.

Gladiator wrote:Blue...even before COVID, all the data showed that African Americans had a higher incidence of High Blood Pressure, Heart Disease, Diabetes, and prostate cancer. Its only logical that with COVID their community would be hit harder due to the pre-disposition.

Added to that they make very bad food choices.... look at how we black (indian and african) people get on for KFC and Doubles in Trinidad. When you go across to the US the African Americans and Caribbean - Americans all obese and always pack up in popeyes and mac donalds. I have cousins living over there that big like bisons.

bluefete wrote:^^^ So you come in to post exactly what I have been trying to say but you seemed to have missed the point totally.

rexsmith

Postby rexsmith » April 8th, 2020, 11:20 am

virus killing people all over the world and it takes an idiot to bring up race in covid 19.
probably a black man because if a black man finds favor and a white man doesn't no one complain and if a white man finds favor and a black doesn't then the black man says racism .
everybody is dying left, right and center there is no race

Postby MaxPower » April 8th, 2020, 11:33 am

Sorry for the black people,

This will give more reasons for people to discriminate, and they have Covid19 as an excuse.

Its always a race thing yes.

The world we live in.

Skanky

Postby Skanky » April 8th, 2020, 11:41 am

It's about time certain groups take responsibility for themselves instead of pulling the victim/ race card and blaming every other group for their problems.

Maybe... just fcuking maybe the problem isn't everybody else....but you!

The world will be a much better place if certain groups got their sheit together and started reaching their full potential instead of blaming the past.

Postby nemisis » April 8th, 2020, 11:57 am

I agree those who have been exploited and contributed significantly to the up wards momentum of other races must now catch up on their own in a fraction of the time while ignoring entire systems put in place too keep it from happening.
Skanky wrote:It's about time certain groups take responsibility for themselves instead of pulling the victim/ race card and blaming every other group for their problems.

The world will be a much better place if certain groups got their sheit together and started reaching their full potential instead of blaming the past.

Postby nemisis » April 8th, 2020, 12:01 pm

On a semi related note hope when the african Clovid vaccine becomes available you remember who to thank for your lives.... the caucasians obviously

Skanky

Postby Skanky » April 8th, 2020, 12:09 pm

nemisis wrote:I agree those who have been exploited and contributed significantly to the up wards momentum of other races must now catch up on their own in a fraction of the time while ignoring entire systems put in place too keep it from happening.
Skanky wrote:It's about time certain groups take responsibility for themselves instead of pulling the victim/ race card and blaming every other group for their problems.

Thanks for giving a clear example of the victim mentality that I mentioned.

Postby nemisis » April 8th, 2020, 12:24 pm

Your welcome any time. If you need your ego stroked just throw a pm
Skanky wrote:
nemisis wrote:I agree those who have been exploited and contributed significantly to the up wards momentum of other races must now catch up on their own in a fraction of the time while ignoring entire systems put in place too keep it from happening.

Thanks for giving a clear example of the victim mentality that I mentioned.

Postby adnj » April 8th, 2020, 12:32 pm

Here is a sample of the most common marginalized groups:

GLBT

Senior citizens

Racial/Cultural minorities

Military Combat Veterans

Persons of below average intelligence

Hearing, visually, and Physically  Challenged Persons

Persons with a serious and Persistent Mental Illness (SPMI)

Persons with Cognitive Impairments

Gamblers and Substance Abusers

Autism Spectrum Persons

Gifted and Talented Persons

Persons with disfigurements

Persons Living in Poverty

Sex Offenders

The Homeless

Felons

While this is only a listing of those most commonly referred to as marginalized, there are other individual people who just do not fit into mainstream culture, and suffer the same consequences. Such persons are all around us but virtually invisible…unless they cause problems or disrupt the lifestyles of mainstream persons.

Significant disparities exist for marginalized people in every aspect of their lives such as health care, employment, legal rights under the law, housing, and access to services. They are often the silent and invisible victims of discrimination, violence, social stigma, and assault. Sometimes they are abused by bullies and predators or exploited and mistreated by caregivers, family, neighbors, friends, acquaintances, and professionals.

Those of us who feel a sense of personal empowerment in our lives may see the marginalized as being somewhere or someplace else, and not within our living circle. The marginalized are very skilled in keeping a low profile.  They have been repeatedly hurt, and aware of the stereotypes applied to their group.  They are all around us, right in our community, on the job, or residing in our own homes. They are our children, siblings, relatives, co-workers, neighbors, and partners. Everyone I know has a marginalized person within their network.  We are all guaranteed that over our lifespan we will all have physical, mental, and emotional issues that will make us a marginalized person as well. None of us are immune from injury, disease, mental illness, and changes due to aging.

https://www.mnpsych.org/index.php?option=com_dailyplanetblog&view=entry&category=division%20news&id=71:marginalized-populations

Re: BBC: “Coronavirus wreaks havoc on African American communities”

Postby Rovin » April 8th, 2020, 4:01 pm

why everything hadda have race in it so , d virus doh watch dozens of different looking ppl & pick n choose which to jump on ....