Making child for US citizenship? Party done.

Re: Making child for US citizenship? Party done.

Postby SR » October 31st, 2018, 8:54 am

But it have a few tuners who done that already.......

Postby pugboy » October 31st, 2018, 9:07 am

Fatca is not worth the headache

Postby Dave » October 31st, 2018, 9:08 am

Few lol

Postby The_Honourable » October 31st, 2018, 10:09 am

hydroep wrote:
The_Honourable wrote:I'm surprised how many Trinis on social media vex about this. Preggers travelling to the US going to increase :lol:

The argument is that the context of the 14th amendment at the time was for the then newly freed slaves. It was not intended as a loophole for immigrants to come in legally or illegally to have a baby or babies and get a pass plus benefits.

Since the details of the plan is absent, we are speculating but it seems Trump not going after the 14th amendment directly but is currently seeking a way to define the parameters of american citizenship and end birthright fully. If he is really doing an Executive Order, it will be challenged and a court can strike it down meaning that the order may be enforced temporarily. Trump can always appeal and take it to the now "Conservative" supreme court...

Thanks for this!

Miktay

Postby Miktay » October 31st, 2018, 10:54 am

Iz plenty upper middle class Colombian gyal pickey get they US papers just so...

cryotec

Postby cryotec » October 31st, 2018, 11:08 am

you could just go canada instead.

Postby 88sins » October 31st, 2018, 12:54 pm

pugboy wrote:Fatca is not worth the headache

ent :lol: I remember the issue with a man from France.
He born in the U.S., his mother was French & his father American . But she left with him went back to France when he was a couple weeks old, & they never returned to the U.S. When he reach a big old man some U.S. agency call him & say he owing how many thousands in back taxes & penalties, because as far as they know he's still a U.S. citizen even though he's never been to the country & has no intention to visit the country, & their tax laws mandate that every citizen has to pay income taxes whether they in the country on not.

but on a serious note with this trump nonsense, yuh know, if he do this end of birthright citizenship crap, everyone in America (including those that think they're born American citizens today with nothing to worry about) will have to apply for citizenship for their children & future generations. So if you're a citizen there' lived there all your life, & you end up making a child there, you gonna hadda apply for citizenship for your children. Now, let's say your kid's application is denied, or gets lost or unduly delayed for a long time for whatever reason, where they gonna deport the youngster to I wonder?

In all honest I suspect this is just a trump halloween stunt to scare immigrants. nuttn gonna come of this

Postby Slartibartfast » October 31st, 2018, 1:33 pm

ent :lol: I remember the issue with a man from France.
He born in the U.S., his mother was French & his father American . But she left with him went back to France when he was a couple weeks old, & they never returned to the U.S. When he reach a big old man some U.S. agency call him & say he owing how many thousands in back taxes & penalties, because as far as they know he's still a U.S. citizen even though he's never been to the country & has no intention to visit the country, & their tax laws mandate that every citizen has to pay income taxes whether they in the country on not.

but on a serious note with this trump nonsense, yuh know, if he do this end of birthright citizenship crap, everyone in America (including those that think they're born American citizens today with nothing to worry about) will have to apply for citizenship for their children & future generations. So if you're a citizen there' lived there all your life, & you end up making a child there, you gonna hadda apply for citizenship for your children. Now, let's say your kid's application is denied, or gets lost or unduly delayed for a long time for whatever reason, where they gonna deport the youngster to I wonder?

In all honest I suspect this is just a trump halloween stunt to scare immigrants. nuttn gonna come of this

Will they be applying this retroactively? If yes, how far back will it go? Will Donald Trump have to applly for citizenship? Will Native Americans finally get back their land?

Postby The_Honourable » October 31st, 2018, 2:00 pm

Highly doubt it would be retroactive because of costly court challenges and plus, the IRS is going to loose a tax net.

If you are already a citizen and you make a child on US soil, you are safe. He's attempting to address the abuse of foreigners coming in and making a child (anchor babies) to get citizenship. Birth tourism is a thing in California for example.

Assuming he is serious about this, he fully knows that his executive order will get shut down at the federal court. He wants it to go to the supreme court to clear any ambiguity on what the 14th amendment was intended to mean and for them to rule in his favor.

Postby Slartibartfast » October 31st, 2018, 2:03 pm

The_Honourable wrote:Highly doubt it would be retroactive because of costly court challenges and plus, the IRS is going to loose a tax net.

If you are already a citizen and you make a child on US soil, you are safe. He's attempting to address the abuse of foreigners coming in and making a child (anchor babies) to get citizenship.

Assuming he is serious about this, he fully knows that his executive order will get shut down at the federal court. He wants it to go to the supreme court to clear any ambiguity on what the 14th amendment was intended to mean and for them to rule in his favor.
Yeah I could see that happening. Especially now with Brett "I hope I spell his last name correctly" Kavenaugh on the supreme court now.

Postby adnj » October 31st, 2018, 2:49 pm

This is an old, old 150 year old argument about the US 14th Amendment.

It essentially points to whether or not an illegal immigrant, Native American or freed slave can have a child in the US that automatically becomes a citizen.

A couple of other points:

Birthright citizenship comes from the King having subjects that must pay taxes and serve in the military.

The UK had birthright citizenship until around 1981.

ent I remember the issue with a man from France.

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » October 31st, 2018, 6:36 pm

What's the point in doing all of that to give your child a US passport if your chile can't even get pass CXC math.

That passport still wouldn't be of much use to improve the children lives resulting in people who become burdensome to the state anyhow.

Plenty ppl in tnt have US citizenship via this same method and still can't benefit from that. I know quite a few cepep workers etc who have US passports but ketching they nenen to make ends meet in TnT because US offers little opportunity due to their limited education etc and cost of living is actually higher.

Never understood the joy of attaining such a passport in a country that has little or no regards for black and brown people who are indigenous to that land so far less for black and brown people from lands that they consider "inferior".

But I guess trinis would do anything to propagate the belief that out dey better than here even though they living in a basement in a less desirable neighbourhood, stocking shelves at the cornershop and working 2 additional menial jobs just to make ends meet.

Funny how "massa days done" but they running to the US to "mine" massa children whilst neglecting their own resulting in a generation of neglected barrel babies.

PS....Ent healthcare exp as fork in the US....How them delivering babies in the US? Wouldn't that cost a pound and a crown?

xtech

Postby xtech » October 31st, 2018, 7:21 pm

Redress10 wrote:PS....Ent healthcare exp as fork in the US....How them delivering babies in the US? Wouldn't that cost a pound and a crown?

No charge, Medicaid will pay.

Birth is considered emergency, and will be covered by Medicaid.

In Florida nearly one-third of Bethesda Hospital East’s 2,900 births each year are paid for by Emergency Medicaid, these are for births that covers mainly illegal immigrants homeless people and legal immigrants who’ve been in the country less than five years.

Postby Gladiator » November 1st, 2018, 10:12 am

xtech wrote:
Redress10 wrote:PS....Ent healthcare exp as fork in the US....How them delivering babies in the US? Wouldn't that cost a pound and a crown?

In Florida nearly one-third of Bethesda Hospital East’s 2,900 births each year are paid for by Emergency Medicaid, these are for births that covers mainly illegal immigrants homeless people and legal immigrants who’ve been in the country less than five years.

This is not so.... Medicaid will not pay. I have a friend that got slapped with a bill 5 years after his child was born and got his Passport stamped "Deferred" when he went to renew his VISA. He could not get a visa unless the bill was paid off in full with penalties.

xtech

Postby xtech » November 1st, 2018, 11:19 am

Gladiator wrote:
xtech wrote:

This is not so.... Medicaid will not pay. I have a friend that got slapped with a bill 5 years after his child was born and got his Passport stamped "Deferred" when he went to renew his VISA. He could not get a visa unless the bill was paid off in full with penalties.

First of why his name on file if anything his wife should be facing the penalties. Sounds like he planned something showed up prepared at the hospital. Emergency Medicade always covers.

Reasons to be denied

—CAME INTO COUNTRY NEAR DUE DATE
—LIED ON APPLICATION
—HE OWES TOO MUCH MONEY.
—HIS INCOME IS TOO HIGH.
—INCOME TRUST NOT PROPERLY FUNDED.
—FILING TOO EARLY.
—FILING TOO LATE.
—SUBMITTED INCOMPLETE APPLICATIONS OR DOCUMENTS.
—PHYSICIAN'S STATEMENT IS INCOMPLETE
—FAILURE TO QUICKLY ANSWER FOLLOW-UP QUESTIONS.

https://www.pbs.org/newshour/health/how ... -treatment

Miktay

Postby Miktay » November 1st, 2018, 3:33 pm

Gladiator wrote:
xtech wrote:

Medicare doh pay fuh day. Homeowners pay.

Postby RedVEVO » November 2nd, 2018, 12:03 pm

You can get FREE medical in USA.

So go have plenty babies in USA ! Or UK which is better and more free - if that is possible.

You just need to check the State etc., you want to have your little dream Chucky .

Forget the media saying that Trump will change or amend the Constitution .

Trump cannot change the US Constitution and soon he will be a normal citizen next election .

Maybe Trump will apply to be a Russian citizen .

Postby The_Honourable » January 23rd, 2020, 12:13 pm

US to impose visa restrictions for pregnant women

The Trump administration is coming out Thursday with new visa restrictions aimed at restricting "birth tourism," in which women travel to the US to give birth so their children can have a coveted US passport.

Visa applicants deemed by consular officers to be coming to the US primarily to give birth will now be treated like other foreigners coming to the US for medical treatment, according to State Department guidance sent Wednesday and viewed by The Associated Press. The applicants will have to prove they are coming for medical treatment and they have the money to pay for it.

The State Department planned to publicize the rules Thursday, according to two officials with knowledge of the plans who spoke to the AP on the condition of anonymity. The rules will take effect Friday.

The practice of travelling to the US to give birth is fundamentally legal, although there are scattered cases of authorities arresting operators of birth tourism agencies for visa fraud or tax evasion. And women are often honest about their intentions when applying for visas and even show signed contracts with doctors and hospitals.

President Donald Trump's administration has been restricting all forms of immigration, but Trump has been particularly plagued by the issue of birthright citizenship — anyone born in the US is considered a citizen, under the Constitution. The Republican president has railed against the practice and threatened to end it, but scholars and members of his administration have said it's not so easy to do.

Regulating tourist visas for pregnant women is one way to get at the issue, but it raises questions about how officers would determine whether a woman is pregnant to begin with and whether a woman could get turned away by border officers who suspect she may be just by looking at her.

Consular officers don't have the right to ask during visa interviews whether a woman is pregnant or intends to become so. But they would have to determine whether a visa applicant would be coming to the US primarily to give birth.

Birth tourism is a lucrative business in both the US and abroad. American companies take out advertisements and charge up to $80,000 to facilitate the practice, offering hotel rooms and medical care. Many of the women travel from Russia and China to give birth in the US has been cracking down on the practice since before Trump took office.

There are no figures on how many foreign women travel to the US specifically to give birth. The Center for Immigration Studies, a group that advocates for stricter immigration laws, estimated that in 2012, about 36,000 foreign-born women gave birth in the US, then left the country.

The draft rule is "intended to address the national security and law enforcement risks associated with birth tourism, including criminal activity associated with the birth tourism industry," a State Department spokesperson said.

Source: http://www.looptt.com/content/us-impose ... nant-women

Postby Dizzy28 » January 23rd, 2020, 12:33 pm

My brother in law is German born but was not automatically German because his parents are from another European nation. There is no birthright citizenship there.
That concept is almost entirely a western hemisphere thing.

Postby 88sins » January 23rd, 2020, 1:25 pm

I chuckled @ "a coveted US passport"
I wonder, coveted by whom exactly?

Postby teems1 » January 25th, 2020, 12:53 pm

Soil law vs blood law.
Dizzy28 wrote:My brother in law is German born but was not automatically German because his parents are from another European nation. There is no birthright citizenship there.
That concept is almost entirely a western hemisphere thing.

Postby supercharged turbo » January 25th, 2020, 2:27 pm

People from the Caribbean
88sins wrote:I chuckled @ "a coveted US passport"
I wonder, coveted by whom exactly?