Tax on Doubles ?

Re: Tax on Doubles ?

Postby skylinechild » May 15th, 2018, 1:33 pm

who says the doubles max / taxi driver / hair dresser / carpenter etc doesnt pay taxes ??

the doubles man buys raw materials - flour oil channa doubles wrapping paper drinks napkins etc. all these items have VAT on it. which stands for VALUE ADDED TAX - ie a type of TAX. when he goes to make his product he is consuming electricity which is also taxed... lights etc.

same goes for taxi man. purchase car - MVT comes into play- and insurance etc- also taxable with VAT.
purchasing replacement parts- also VAT.

same goes for hair dresser - cost of machines / equipment - TAX cost of hair care products / treatments etc...also paid with VAT

they want the self employed to pay MORE taxes. i agree enforcement should be done to ensure those ppl pay their share of taxes income tax but dont make a blanket statement with a scapegoat saying they doing tax evasion.

Postby Dave » May 15th, 2018, 1:42 pm

FYI, insurance is zero rated for Vat and thus Insurance companies are not registered for Vat. They charge 6% Insurance tax. If you are charged Vat on your insurance then consider cancelling if you can and taking another policy with a well-known insurance company.

Postby wagonrunner » May 15th, 2018, 1:55 pm

good info dave.

yeah to vendors paying VAT.
however income tax Is on all income exceeding $6000 a month, at $4 / doubles, that's just 1500 doubles a month.

Postby Dave » May 15th, 2018, 2:21 pm

By shorten definition tax evasion is knowingly you should pay tax and not doing so. As wagon said if your income is more than $6k a mth then you are evading tax. Tax avoidance is using legal means to pay less tax. Check me on the later.

Postby pugboy » May 15th, 2018, 2:28 pm

the long and short is many persons are not paying tax on EARNED revenue
ie doubles profits, doctor fees and so on
this is not the same as paying tax on cooking utensils, medical equipment etc

self employed or not you supposed to pay tax on your earned income, of course you can defray with costs of your operation.

the largest tax paying group are those who are employed by companies esp established companies
who follow all the normal accounting regulations.

many of those who are not paying taxes are also siphoning money out of the country too whilst using our resources
eg chinese run casinos
most of the big 1% owned casinos are fronted by turkish guys who in partnership with the local 1%

Postby 88sins » May 15th, 2018, 2:33 pm

& allyuh vote fuh dat AFTER these overdressed mules tell allyuh up front dat is what they planned to do. So since d die-hard peeonems now gettin frequent pungently aromatic golden showers, yuh asked for it, & yuh get it, don't complain. yuh get exactly what yuh want & deserve

mitch1980

Postby mitch1980 » May 15th, 2018, 2:38 pm

Daran wrote:
pugboy wrote:agreed but its a monumental task to tax everybody
there just isnt the enforcement infrastructure in place
its equivalent to fighting crime from a manpower point of view

the best approach is always to tackle the high yield groups to send the message
the doublesman is the usual bad guy smallman
and the casinos rake in millions monthly
not to mention those churches collecting 10% salary

a vene hairdresser two houses from me charges at least $500 a client
work out how much he makes if he doing 6-8 a day

Doctors who take cash only as payment regardless of how much the bill is are probably a bigger tax leakage than doubles men. How much people have doctors that actually operate on a non-cash basis?

100% true too.

Let's just get this straight. Anyone who has a small business (sole trader) and is collecting cash is 95% likely not paying tax on that income.

Most private medical institutions - Specialist doctors take cash only... the general shared services like Xray and Blood testing you can use cash/card etc.
The doctors consultation fees many cases is $400 minimum . is not reported as revenue and not taxed.
this practice have been going on for years.

Premchand1976

Postby Premchand1976 » May 15th, 2018, 2:55 pm

Why do we pay taxes ???? Reflect on the quality of life of lately in tnt then answer k

Postby wagonrunner » May 15th, 2018, 3:33 pm

Premchand1976 wrote:Why do we pay taxes ???? Reflect on the quality of life of lately in tnt then answer k

ent.
no need for things like traffic lights, gas stations, schools, airports, etc.
go sort and collect yuh own mail
be your own security.
get your own gasoline at one or two locations
create your own electricity
dispose of your own garbage,
etc.
don't pay taxes and enjoy it all on your own terms.

this selfishness is ingrained in so many, yet it's conveniently forgotten when there is a need.

Postby Dizzy28 » May 15th, 2018, 3:51 pm

skylinechild wrote:who says the doubles max / taxi driver / hair dresser / carpenter etc doesnt pay taxes ??

the doubles man buys raw materials - flour oil channa doubles wrapping paper drinks napkins etc. all these items have VAT on it. which stands for VALUE ADDED TAX - ie a type of TAX. when he goes to make his product he is consuming electricity which is also taxed... lights etc.

same goes for taxi man. purchase car - MVT comes into play- and insurance etc- also taxable with VAT.
purchasing replacement parts- also VAT.

same goes for hair dresser - cost of machines / equipment - TAX cost of hair care products / treatments etc...also paid with VAT

they want the self employed to pay MORE taxes. i agree enforcement should be done to ensure those ppl pay their share of taxes income tax but dont make a blanket statement with a scapegoat saying they doing tax evasion.

Yunno salaried individuals pay PAYE and also all those taxes you highlighted above r.e. the doubles man, taxi driver etc.

Postby streetbeastINC. » May 15th, 2018, 6:02 pm

Legal state extortion...gowild

wickedtuna

Postby wickedtuna » May 15th, 2018, 6:31 pm

Gold chain tax .....

Average

Postby Average » May 15th, 2018, 6:50 pm

Lol some real hate in here for the doublesman and taxi driver boy.......

Postby sMASH » May 15th, 2018, 7:18 pm

pot hole tax

urbandilema

Postby urbandilema » May 15th, 2018, 8:18 pm

U sure the vene seeing about hair for that price lol

Postby pugboy » May 15th, 2018, 8:32 pm

lot of embassy folks go there
a chap called victor martinez, he been in trini a long time and have the expat hair market

urbandilema wrote:

mitch1980

Postby mitch1980 » May 15th, 2018, 8:35 pm

Premchand1976 wrote:Why do we pay taxes ???? Reflect on the quality of life of lately in tnt then answer k

ent.
be your own security.
etc.

this selfishness is ingrained in so many, yet it's conveniently forgotten when there is a need.

In full Agreement here.
ple believe they entitled to basic needs without their fair contribution.

Postby 88sins » May 15th, 2018, 10:37 pm

mitch1980 wrote:

ent.
be your own security.
etc.

In full Agreement here.

& when you pay your fair share & then some & don't get Jack Squat for it, ie, same shiddy roads & potholes all over the place , bed & medicine shortages in hospitals, same skyrocketing crime rates, same flooding leaving you stranded & half drowned when 3 drops of rain fall, or our lovely porous borders that allow the passage of arms & narcotics despite spending billions on all these things annually for decades, then what? Be happy & pay more taxes, to the same fruitless end? nope, start over

ppl doh mind paying taxes cuzo, the problem is ppl fedup paying taxes & not getting or even seeing any tangible returns.
yuh actually supposed to benefit from your tax dollars, but trini politicians find that to be an alien concept borne out of a sci-fi flick.

toyota2nr

Postby toyota2nr » May 16th, 2018, 12:18 am

pugboy wrote:note all the noise impsbert make about increasing taxing on casinos and it aint happen yet
guess which % group own all the big casinos

Well actually BIR has been charging and collecting the new tax. Whether that's legal or not is a different story.

Postby RedVEVO » May 16th, 2018, 12:24 am

fallen_angel wrote:Doubles men pay taxes when they buy goods to prepare their product, taxi men pay taxes when they buy gas and car parts, putting insurance and vehicle inspection etc.

I saw someone earlier said target property tax rather than doubles men...people pay taxes every step of the way before they could have a property to rent out. you pay stamp duty when you buy land and pay vat when you buying building material and doing construction. If government so bent on taxing men who renting apartments....then give a tax break for buying material and building when the people trying to construct something...

It not fair to just tax everything left right and center...it will reach a state where we paying tax on a tax...how that making sense?

If they bringing more taxes then some concessions should be made to prevent tax overlap, or else all they doing is fueling frustration in the people who sacrificing their life working for the 1% and their financee to be fat.

Poor people don't pay, they avoid, evade and collect handouts from the government, rich people don't pay because they have the money and contacts in high places to find the loopholes, its the shrinking middle class that keeping this country afloat, while the fat ones ride their back and the poor ones sit on the sideline and complain.

Veri veri impressed with the above ! :D :D

Somebody who understands life .. and tax :D :D
Last edited by RedVEVO on May 16th, 2018, 12:52 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby RedVEVO » May 16th, 2018, 12:27 am

88sins wrote:& allyuh vote fuh dat AFTER these overdressed mules tell allyuh up front dat is what they planned to do. So since d die-hard peeonems now gettin frequent pungently aromatic golden showers, yuh asked for it, & yuh get it, don't complain. yuh get exactly what yuh want & deserve

:D :D :D

Postby RedVEVO » May 16th, 2018, 12:31 am

wickedtuna wrote:Gold chain tax .....

Bullet tax

Claim on Income Tax .. Line 2(b)

Chain tax with Bullet tax .. and get a" tax exemption"

Postby sMASH » May 16th, 2018, 11:57 am

I replied on Kamla fb post about lowering taxes, that we don't need lower taxes, just a lower cost of living...
U can still be taxed yet incur a lower overall cost... If the taxes are used to to pave roads etc and encourage agriculture

Postby RedVEVO » May 16th, 2018, 12:05 pm

sMASH wrote:I replied on Kamla fb post about lowering taxes, that we don't need lower taxes, just a lower cost of living...
U can still be taxed yet incur a lower overall cost... If the taxes are used to to pave roads etc and encourage agriculture

Lowers taxes encourages investment - local and foreign .

Investment provides job opportunities - local.

Lowering cost of living is a myth and a communist concept .

supernedd

Postby supernedd » May 17th, 2018, 2:39 am

i feel no remorse.. but i hate pnm n unc .. we suppose to be looking for other sources of income.. we only relying on oil to survive . smh .. oil price low . so we taxing d middle class to feed the wealthy .. this country n world sickening

Sent from my SM-G935F using Tapatalk

supernedd

Postby supernedd » May 17th, 2018, 2:43 am

fallen_angel wrote:Doubles men pay taxes when they buy goods to prepare their product, taxi men pay taxes when they buy gas and car parts, putting insurance and vehicle inspection etc.

I saw someone earlier said target property tax rather than doubles men...people pay taxes every step of the way before they could have a property to rent out. you pay stamp duty when you buy land and pay vat when you buying building material and doing construction. If government so bent on taxing men who renting apartments....then give a tax break for buying material and building when the people trying to construct something...

It not fair to just tax everything left right and center...it will reach a state where we paying tax on a tax...how that making sense?

If they bringing more taxes then some concessions should be made to prevent tax overlap, or else all they doing is fueling frustration in the people who sacrificing their life working for the 1% and their financee to be fat.

Poor people don't pay, they avoid, evade and collect handouts from the government, rich people don't pay because they have the money and contacts in high places to find the loopholes, its the shrinking middle class that keeping this country afloat, while the fat ones ride their back and the poor ones sit on the sideline and complain.
very true

supernedd

Postby supernedd » May 17th, 2018, 2:45 am

wagonrunner wrote:good info dave.

yeah to vendors paying VAT.
however income tax Is on all income exceeding $6000 a month, at $4 / doubles, that's just 1500 doubles a month.
u sit there n feel doubles vendors making 1500$ a month ..

supernedd

Postby supernedd » May 17th, 2018, 2:47 am

the healthcare is crap.. police is crap . i could barely afford a house or land .. wasa water always dirty.. d roads need to pave .n always have traffic.. so what am i paying for . for rowley n kamla to waste my. money

supernedd

Postby supernedd » May 17th, 2018, 2:47 am

urbandilema wrote:

hahahah happy ending

mitch1980

Postby mitch1980 » May 17th, 2018, 10:28 am

mitch1980 wrote:

ent.
be your own security.
etc.

In full Agreement here.

& when you pay your fair share & then some & don't get Jack Squat for it, ie, same shiddy roads & potholes all over the place , bed & medicine shortages in hospitals, same skyrocketing crime rates, same flooding leaving you stranded & half drowned when 3 drops of rain fall, or our lovely porous borders that allow the passage of arms & narcotics despite spending billions on all these things annually for decades, then what? Be happy & pay more taxes, to the same fruitless end? nope, start over

ppl doh mind paying taxes cuzo, the problem is ppl fedup paying taxes & not getting or even seeing any tangible returns.
yuh actually supposed to benefit from your tax dollars, but trini politicians find that to be an alien concept borne out of a sci-fi flick.

Don't they still get those services free all their life. Perhaps if they pay their PAYE the extra 10plus billion per year the economists says can go towards public good as health and education and also amenities.

not only double vendors , all vendors, taxi drivers and professionals should be registered and file income tax.