*$kїđž!™ wrote:That cold charge is nonsense ...from the accounting pov....that's a sunk cost...the cost of the refrigerator...because this was a decision made by the grocery to operate the fridge...the consumer did not come in and request u put a fridge there to cold drinks....so that charge is irrelevant ...that was your choice. .that the consumer should not have to bear.....also they get these refrigerators free from suppliers...and electricity is a fixed overhead...so it's very unfair for.the consumer.....
88sins wrote:src, you are part of the public as well eh. & we eh living in or talking about London, NY, or FL, we talkin T&T
I don't believe ALL businesses are out here to dig out ppl eye, but I am aware that PLENTY ppl start a business with that exact intention. How else they could justify a 400% profit margin on a product? Especially when some of them running their business from a room/section of their home.
Problem with the banking sector is as you say, they aren't regulated, but that doesn't mean they can do whatever they want & you have no options. Don't like Scotia's habit of increasing & adding fees? Tell them so & proceed to cash out your account & let them know you going by the competition. Enough ppl do this see how fast that increased fees talk die out.
And then there's the local bodies that claim to be supporters of the local business communities, DOMA, AMCHAM, et al. Let them know whats going on, an d take them to task as regards how could they claim to be supportive of local merchants & sit idly by with their thumbs planted firmly up their behinds while the banking sector essentially taxes businesses with a fee & charge for everything & nothing. Same should be put to the Ministry of Fine Ants, the trade ministry, and the CBTT, as to WHY exactly they do not see a need to regulate the local banking sector, & motivate them to see a need & propose & enact legislation & change as needed.
But trying to pass bad treatment off on the customer will not stop the banks, or unscrupulous suppliers, or anyone else.
RedVEVO wrote:*$kїđž!™ wrote:That cold charge is nonsense ...from the accounting pov....that's a sunk cost...the cost of the refrigerator...because this was a decision made by the grocery to operate the fridge...the consumer did not come in and request u put a fridge there to cold drinks....so that charge is irrelevant ...that was your choice. .that the consumer should not have to bear.....also they get these refrigerators free from suppliers...and electricity is a fixed overhead...so it's very unfair for.the consumer.....
electricity is a fixed overhead .. ?
src1983 wrote:88sins wrote:src, you are part of the public as well eh. & we eh living in or talking about London, NY, or FL, we talkin T&T
I don't believe ALL businesses are out here to dig out ppl eye, but I am aware that PLENTY ppl start a business with that exact intention. How else they could justify a 400% profit margin on a product? Especially when some of them running their business from a room/section of their home.
Problem with the banking sector is as you say, they aren't regulated, but that doesn't mean they can do whatever they want & you have no options. Don't like Scotia's habit of increasing & adding fees? Tell them so & proceed to cash out your account & let them know you going by the competition. Enough ppl do this see how fast that increased fees talk die out.
And then there's the local bodies that claim to be supporters of the local business communities, DOMA, AMCHAM, et al. Let them know whats going on, an d take them to task as regards how could they claim to be supportive of local merchants & sit idly by with their thumbs planted firmly up their behinds while the banking sector essentially taxes businesses with a fee & charge for everything & nothing. Same should be put to the Ministry of Fine Ants, the trade ministry, and the CBTT, as to WHY exactly they do not see a need to regulate the local banking sector, & motivate them to see a need & propose & enact legislation & change as needed.
But trying to pass bad treatment off on the customer will not stop the banks, or unscrupulous suppliers, or anyone else.
But business not transferring bad treatment, they transferring the cost of doing that type of business. It you make a product and it costing you $10, you will not sell it for $9. Same with businesses especially for supermarkets some items profit margin so low selling it using a credit card would not only erode profit but erode the cost.
Doesn't matter want bank you go they have the same charges same rates
It's like moving from iPhone to iPhone. Its only when this starts to affect the customers the banks will back down. When they say no merchant is accepting credit cards and complain the banks will come to the table. But now they could do what they want.
*$kїđž!™ wrote:In terms of costing it will be considered fixed....electricity and power....as in this case it would still be incurred regardless if they operate a fridge or not ...the additional cost of operating one fridge in a large grocery would make it immaterial to be really considered a variable cost....
hydroep wrote:Large grocery on my side has a huge sign on the refrigerator door..."$ 0.75 additional for cold drinks," so there's full disclosure...no one is forcing customers to part with their hard earned cash.
As a side note those small sodas are a real rip off. $5 - $6 for a 16 oz bottle, and you can get a 2 Liter for $8 - $9. That's 4+ times the amount for less than twice the cost, a heavy price to pay for convenience.
hong kong phooey wrote:make meh care wrote:yes them chinese groceries are doing this.
It is not only the Chinese grocery which is doing this , it is all of them including Massy , MS supermarket , G&N, Tru Value.
I agree with them . It's a cost to run their fridge . The price which most sell for is still cheaper than in a shop.
- Rovin's car audio - wrote::shock: bwda man beatin up over 50c\75c even a $1 for a drink to be cold .... how cheap some ppl really is boi , u feel d drinks come pre-cold from d factory & d company brings it from a fridge truck & packs it straight into ur fridge & it magically stays cold with 0 expense to d shop owner
wanna save dat precious few cents then buy it hot , tote it home & use ice\coldness from ur fridge ...
airuma wrote:- Rovin's car audio - wrote::shock: bwda man beatin up over 50c\75c even a $1 for a drink to be cold .... how cheap some ppl really is boi , u feel d drinks come pre-cold from d factory & d company brings it from a fridge truck & packs it straight into ur fridge & it magically stays cold with 0 expense to d shop owner
wanna save dat precious few cents then buy it hot , tote it home & use ice\coldness from ur fridge ...
I hope this is a joke, otherwise some of us will always be slaves!
I think the real issue here is awareness, this practice has been around a long time now. I will assume that the supermarket owners assume that it's common knowledge, but this is just foolish.
The OP is being a sensible consumer (not cheap, and not a slave to those who make you feel like less of a person for making sensible buying choices), which I consider to be a positive attribute. Had he known before, he would have made a better decision e.g. purchase a 2 litre, bag of ice and cups instead.
The supermarkets are adding value so I think they are reasonable in adding an extra cost. If they sold it at the same price as the ones on the shelf, the chiller might be empty more often (since people will take it cold even if they have no intentions of consuming it right away) and this may deter consumers by it not being available when needed.
maj. tom wrote:The fridge should have been labelled with the prices, and it's up to you to buy it. Yes the surcharge is fair if labelled, all groceries do this. This price is factored in the cost of running the fridge + the convenience that you're getting a cold drink on demand. I really don't understand some of you all here and the issue with that. Drinks don't have to be stored in cold conditions. Neither does beer. Or even chocolate. The meat and food stuff in the freezers need to however, and it's a health hazard if not stored properly. And yes, the cost of the freezers for meats is factored in somewhere. Nothing is free. What a dumbass weak argument.
If goods aren't properly labelled in the grocery with prices and conditions, they obviously don't want you to buy it. Chinese groceries notorious for this, either mislabelling, or not at all. I get so fed up of this that I just don't go there anymore, except for maybe a small items like milk or a can of beans on a Sunday when everything else closed. I gone Happiness in Curepe and pick up a salt labelled $5.99 on the shelf, when I reach by the cashier the thing scan as $14.99. I just leave it there and done.
No price label, no buy. Fcuk dem lazy mofos!
screwbash wrote:pass bbq connection today, ask the fair gyul for a $20 box wich is 1/4 bbq and 2 sides and ask for a 20oz coke an ah pay with ah $100. she gave me change and i just push it in meh pucket, when i reach home i check the change they gyul rob meh ah $20 yes. Ah know if i go back tom they go play they aint know nutting abt it but god doh sleep and if they wah rob a customer like dey aint see what happening to them chinee resturant and grocery.
Average wrote:airuma wrote:- Rovin's car audio - wrote::shock: bwda man beatin up over 50c\75c even a $1 for a drink to be cold .... how cheap some ppl really is boi , u feel d drinks come pre-cold from d factory & d company brings it from a fridge truck & packs it straight into ur fridge & it magically stays cold with 0 expense to d shop owner
I hope this is a joke, otherwise some of us will always be slaves!
I think the real issue here is awareness, this practice has been around a long time now. I will assume that the supermarket owners assume that it's common knowledge, but this is just foolish.
The OP is being a sensible consumer (not cheap, and not a slave to those who make you feel like less of a person for making sensible buying choices), which I consider to be a positive attribute. Had he known before, he would have made a better decision e.g. purchase a 2 litre, bag of ice and cups instead.
The supermarkets are adding value so I think they are reasonable in adding an extra cost. If they sold it at the same price as the ones on the shelf, the chiller might be empty more often (since people will take it cold even if they have no intentions of consuming it right away) and this may deter consumers by it not being available when needed.
From Rovin's response, somewhere in the dark cavernous reaches of Grocery Hell, are several supermarket owners huddled together. Evil snickering and the rubbing of dry hands together can be faintly heard due to their countless hours of counting money.....the sounds intensify and you can hear them all start chanting...
yessss....![]()
yessssss......![]()
yessssssss......![]()
spenddddd........![]()
spenddddddd.......![]()
SPEND!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
hong kong phooey wrote:I still dont see why there is a big discussion on this .
You have a choice , if you do not want the spend the 50 or 75 cents extra just pick up the hot one off the shelf.
The thing is if he want to stop in a parlour or road side shop or bar to purchase it cold he will be paying much more for it .
Phone Surgeon wrote:i agree with the extra charge.
commercial electricity rate isnt cheap
plus you have to make a worker pack the fridge
when it cheaper to just leave it in the case or on the shelf.