Soldier shot in the Barracks at Cumuto

hong kong phooey

Re: Soldier shot in the Barracks at Cumuto

Postby hong kong phooey » March 31st, 2017, 6:22 am

Some useless info but i did not know where a WO2 stood in the ranks.
link below if any body need this useless info.
http://www.armyrecognition.com/trinidad ... ombat.html

Postby Slartibartfast » March 31st, 2017, 9:21 am

assassin wrote:
hong kong phooey wrote:stop the rumors . you all making it difficult to cover this up

Army slams rumours on soldier’s death

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/20170330 ... 217s-death

Francis did not specify what these rumours were but stated that “these inaccuracies are having the effect of unfairly tarnishing the image of WO2 Samaroo and the Regiment by extension”.

So the army issued a response saying that there were a lot of inaccuracies being reported but did not identify what they were or seek to clarify the facts???

Brilliant
Don't know why you surprised. RS does this all the time on tuner.

Anyway, who commits suicide by shooting them self in the neck of all places? Also, why would a highly distinguished special forces soldier with an impeccable record get transferred to be a warrant officer clerk? Things just not adding up.

I find it even funnier that they don't want to "tarnish" his name with rumours about him being murdered for being a witness. How is that tarnishing his name? It makes him seem honest an innocent. Instead they believe it is better to remember him as someone that was depressed and suicidal (which doesn't make him a bad person btw). I just find it funny how the TTR is "showing" that they are on his side.

Postby bluefete » March 31st, 2017, 9:25 am

Reverse psychology ftw.

Postby Dizzy28 » March 31st, 2017, 9:33 am

Expecting the TTDF to have a transparent investigation is like expecting Desi to write a sensible post....just not going to happen.

Postby De Dragon » March 31st, 2017, 12:21 pm

Dizzy28 wrote:Expecting the TTDF to have a transparent investigation is like expecting Desi to write a sensible post....just not going to happen.

Or if they do, they will couch its disclosure in don't mean sheit words like 'procedures not followed" issues corrected" etc, all the while not holding anyone accountable.

Postby bluefete » March 31st, 2017, 4:40 pm

Talked to some military people today.

This guy was close to leaving the service and his benefits would have been quite good.

He had no logical reason to kill himself.

Would love to know if the broken ribs were self-inflicted.

Postby The_Honourable » March 31st, 2017, 6:10 pm

Lawsuit threat in "suicide" death of soldier

Opposition Senator Wayne Sturge intends taking legal action if the Defense Force does not investigate the circumstances surrounding the death Warrant Officer Omar Samaroo, whose death has been ruled a suicide.

In a letter to the Chief of Defense Brigadier General Rodney Smart and copied to Attorney general Faris Al Rawi and National Security Minister Edmund Dillon, Sturge said that Samaroo death was suspicious, based on his injuries and how he was found.

Samaroo died on Tuesday night, hours after being found in a dormitory at Camp Cumuto, Wallerfield.

According to the post mortem report, Samaroo died from a gunshot wound to the head and and also sustained a number of broken ribs, said Sturge.

Sturge said that the public and the family of Samaroo has a right to know the circumstances under which he died and if there was an “wrongdoing” in relation to his death.

He said that it was reported that Samaroo was transferred to Camp Cumuto as a warrants officer clerk II, after which he became increasingly depressed.

Samaroo was found in a slumbered position in his quarters around 9:50 a.m. on Tuesday. He was treated by the on base medics and later transferred to the Arima Healthy Facility and the Mt Hope Medical Sciences Complex.

In the letter, Sturge stated: “There should be an effective official investigation when individuals such as officer Samaroo have lost their lives in suspicious circumstances while on duty as a servant and or agent of the State. This officer lost his life while on duty at an army base under your command.”

He said that it is a matter of “great public importance” that the requires “expeditious action” on the part of the State.

Sturge is requesting that within the next 96 hours, a public announcement of the investigation is made, the name of the investigating officer in charge of the case, the length of time for the investigation and the proposed procedure for the involvement of the family Samaroo in the investigation.

Sturge went on to state: “Should there be no action on the part of the Defense Force and the State in this matter I hereby formally give notice that I shall be challenging the failure of the State to initiate a proper investigation in accordance with my request herein in the High Court in the public interest.

I wish to emphasize that the request for the investigation into the death of this officer is not one which ought to be triggered by anyone but one which should have been commenced forthwith by the State in the fulfillment of it substantive and procedural constitutional obligation to the deceased officer.”

Source: http://www.trinidadexpress.com/20170331 ... of-soldier

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » March 31st, 2017, 10:37 pm

Wake have real people tonight yes, I have never seen this much people in a wake before, Funeral is tomorrow I will have to go, he was a genuinely good man. He will be buried according to Hindu rights, his house is opposite ross trace in El Carmen, St Helena.

Postby rspann » April 1st, 2017, 6:50 am

Ross trace corner. Now that brings back some fond memories for me. Ed, you know the angel that use to live in that house? The one on the eastern side .

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » April 1st, 2017, 12:00 pm

rspann wrote:Ross trace corner. Now that brings back some fond memories for me. Ed, you know the angel that use to live in that house? The one on the eastern side .

Not personally but I believe I know who you talking about.

Postby rspann » April 1st, 2017, 12:08 pm

If your UNC neighbor smart, he have to fall in the wake and drink free rum till he get delirious.

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » April 1st, 2017, 11:56 pm

rspann wrote:If your UNC neighbor smart, he have to fall in the wake and drink free rum till he get delirious.

he is the one who carry ED to the wake

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » April 2nd, 2017, 12:04 am

^ ROFL :rofl:

Postby K74T » April 2nd, 2017, 4:24 am

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:Wake have real people tonight yes, I have never seen this much people in a wake before, Funeral is tomorrow I will have to go, he was a genuinely good man. He will be buried according to Hindu rights, his house is opposite ross trace in El Carmen, St Helena.

He was cremated not buried.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » April 2nd, 2017, 10:52 am

^ Sorry yes my mistake cremated.

gtiracer

Postby gtiracer » February 19th, 2022, 11:05 pm

Whats the latest on this? My kids need some firearm training. ..

Postby 88sins » February 20th, 2022, 9:25 am

assassin wrote:
hong kong phooey wrote:stop the rumors . you all making it difficult to cover this up

Army slams rumours on soldier’s death

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/20170330 ... 217s-death

Francis did not specify what these rumours were but stated that “these inaccuracies are having the effect of unfairly tarnishing the image of WO2 Samaroo and the Regiment by extension”.

So the army issued a response saying that there were a lot of inaccuracies being reported but did not identify what they were or seek to clarify the facts???

Brilliant

Not all TTR business is public business. Information on some things will be issued to the public, and on other topics, nary a whisper of a word will go out.
In the military, Information is disseminated on a need to know basis. And despite the high levels of curiosity of the bulk of the civilian population, they don't need to know. As far as TTR concerned, the only ones who need to know are the state, his superior officers, and his next of kin.

Postby bluefete » February 20th, 2022, 9:28 am

Murder by suicide!

Postby matr1x » February 20th, 2022, 9:33 am

Taxpayers deserve to know. You paying for a service not some unstable idiots with access to artillery

Postby rollingstock » February 20th, 2022, 10:24 am

You can't release information for a matter that is sub judice.
What I would like to know is the outcome of the inquest. If one was done, if not why was a coroner's inquest not held.

Postby bluefete » February 20th, 2022, 11:18 am

rollingstock wrote:You can't release information for a matter that is sub judice.
What I would like to know is the outcome of the inquest. If one was done, if not why was a coroner's inquest not held.

Bwoy, you dunno who I is orrrrr (in whiny AG's voice)?