Kamla 2015 elections email/phonecalls

trinibourbon

Re: Kamla 2015 elections email/phonecalls

Postby trinibourbon » August 6th, 2015, 8:00 pm

A man in work got one in his work email. I asked him if he used it other than for work.. He said he only used it on his GATE forms.

So based on this.. Can we reason that the possible source is from government forms. Keep in mind this isn't the government contacting people... But a party... Potentially using government resources or information for their own personal campaign. Is that really a good thing?

Re: Kamla 2015 email spam

Postby redmanjp » August 6th, 2015, 10:41 pm

is it mostly gmail users getting it?

Postby 88sins » August 7th, 2015, 12:34 am

Most likely once you out an email addy/tel number as a contact on any govt form/document they just pull it & use it to spam or call ppl to convince them to vote unc. If that is what they doing i believe its actually illegal.

Lance

Postby Lance » August 7th, 2015, 6:38 am

The PP spokespersons seems to be actively avoiding this thread.

UML, ZR. Care to chime in?

Postby Rainman » August 7th, 2015, 7:32 am

I honestly don't see the big deal. People complain about privacy but then have their boat ride skin out pics all over social media, they complain about companies sharing their information but never bother to take a second look at the privacy statements on the user agreements where they willingly click Accept.

It's the government, they have a lot more information on you than just your phone number and email.

Postby desifemlove » August 7th, 2015, 7:50 am

^ lolol...choice fella.

Postby shogun » August 7th, 2015, 8:18 am

Rainman wrote:I honestly don't see the big deal. People complain about privacy but then have their boat ride skin out pics all over social media, they complain about companies sharing their information but never bother to take a second look at the privacy statements on the user agreements where they willingly click Accept.

It's the government, they have a lot more information on you than just your phone number and email.

Careful inno, i caused a beatup tsunami for saying the same, a while back.

Postby dougla_boy » August 7th, 2015, 8:24 am

but how long now ah tell allyuh that they was calling?? steups.....

Postby Rainman » August 7th, 2015, 8:24 am

Well pal, the funny thing is that i will most likely be labeled a PP sympathizer although i have clearly stated on numerous occasions that I remain neutral/undecided. But alas election time really brings out the "best" in folks.

Postby UML » August 7th, 2015, 8:47 am

Spam mail. U read it or you don't.

Wahs d beat up about?

eyeballz

Postby eyeballz » August 7th, 2015, 9:03 am

Oh please you've already made up your mind.

Kamla2015 is NOT the gov't. That's a private organisation running for a public office. IF this is what was done then this is illegal.

Should duane decide to support the pnm (since zr already claims he is). Would it be cool with you if he gave them your email/contact info so they can start sending you spam?

MY email (gmail) is MINE and i did not subscribe to spam from Kamla. Why can't you see the need to respect that?

Postby Habit7 » August 7th, 2015, 9:14 am

ppl expect scrupulous company to steal the contact info to sell them porn, electronics, viagra, etc.

the govt stealing your contact info to sell you governance, is kinda cheapening what they have to offer.

Postby Dizzy28 » August 7th, 2015, 9:15 am

eyeballz wrote:Oh please you've already made up your mind.

Kamla2015 is NOT the gov't. That's a private organisation running for a public office. IF this is what was done then this is illegal.

Should duane decide to support the pnm (since zr already claims he is). Would it be cool with you if he gave them your email/contact info so they can start sending you spam?

MY email (gmail) is MINE and i did not subscribe to spam from Kamla. Why can't you see the need to respect that?

I don't agree with the email and phone blast going on but really how difficult is it to apply the filter to the Kamla mail just as you would to those "Make your dick 3 inches longer" spam ads?

Postby rollingstock » August 7th, 2015, 9:31 am

I've never heard of that 'make your dick 3 inches longer ad'
You have a link? Just curious :|

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 7th, 2015, 10:30 am

eyeballz wrote:Should duane decide to support the pnm (since zr already claims he is)
zr only says that because he got banned for making racist comments.

Postby Rainman » August 7th, 2015, 10:47 am

Would it be cool? No. Would it be legal? Probably. It all depends on what you agreed to. If someone is legitimately pissed about the emails from tanty then why aren't they also equally pissed off at those Nigerian princes or the super effective dieting pill companies.

Raising this non issue just shows that both sides are content with nit picking over the simplest sh!t vs dealing with real issues. Which is why i remain undecided and my 2 hours off to vote will most likely be spent on the beach, because i rather not vote than vote for "well this one eh as bad as the next one". Wake the f@*k up Trinidad.

Postby dougla_boy » August 7th, 2015, 10:53 am

u ah mexican...ollour cyah vote here....

Postby Habit7 » August 7th, 2015, 10:54 am

Raiman you are equating our government with Viagra pills spammers.

They are two different entities with different responsibilities.

Postby 88sins » August 7th, 2015, 11:10 am

Rainman wrote:

Would it be cool? No. Would it be legal? Probably. It all depends on what you agreed to. If someone is legitimately pissed about the emails from tanty then why aren't they also equally pissed off at those Nigerian princes or the super effective dieting pill companies.

Raising this non issue just shows that both sides are content with nit picking over the simplest sh!t vs dealing with real issues. Which is why i remain undecided and my 2 hours off to vote will most likely be spent on the beach, because i rather not vote than vote for "well this one eh as bad as the next one". Wake the f@*k up Trinidad.

Rain yuh hadda try to see the bigger picture here.
It's not solely about Kamla spamming ppl inbox. The deeper issue is that by some means(most likely illegally) they got a hold of persons contact information most likely through gov't forms & breached the confidentiality of said information by using it to issue mass unsolicited spam mail & uninvited phone calls. Nowhere on any of the gov't forms I have ever seen has a disclaimer or notice informing the applicant that their information will be distributed to a political party or anyone else for that matter. The Data Protection Act of 2011 clearly states in Section 1, subsection 6, paragraph C that "knowledge and consent of the individual are required for the collection, use or disclosure of personal information;"
Further reading for anyone thats interested.
http://www.ttparliament.org/legislations/a2011-13.pdf

This type of activity is just another blatant example of this current PP regime's complete disregard for the law & the citizenry of T&T. And imho all those that defend this type of dotishness & find nothing wrong with it are just as dutty & corrupt as this current piss poor alliance that's trying to pass itself off as a government to their half-wit supporters

HSA

Postby HSA » August 7th, 2015, 11:18 am

i eh mind the email...at least i getting ah email

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » August 7th, 2015, 11:26 am

But ent they do this same thing in USA and all other developed nations?

Didn't Obama do the same? I dunno nah we does look like real cave men in this place arguing over this yes. I have ah bunch of porn links in my spam section of my email, I doh take it on unless it starring Amy Reid

eyeballz

Postby eyeballz » August 7th, 2015, 11:41 am

Those Nigerian emails are scams trying to trick me into allowing them to steal my cash. So they doing that is expected. Should I assume the same from Kamla2015?

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » August 7th, 2015, 11:43 am

eyeballz wrote:Those Nigerian emails are scams trying to trick me into allowing them to steal my cash. So they doing that is expected. Should I assume the same from Kamla2015?

considering Obama do the same as Kams what do you think?

Postby Habit7 » August 7th, 2015, 11:58 am

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:
eyeballz wrote:Those Nigerian emails are scams trying to trick me into allowing them to steal my cash. So they doing that is expected. Should I assume the same from Kamla2015?

considering Obama do the same as Kams what do you think?

So Kamla should start drone bombing drug cartels in Venezuela and Colombia? Or invade foreign countries for fugitives? Or cease assets of countries that don't agree with T&T foreign policy?

Obama and which ever world leader that spammed their ppl was criticised. It is first world to protect your citizens from spam, not spam them yourself.

Postby zoom rader » August 7th, 2015, 1:01 pm

eyeballz wrote:Should duane decide to support the pnm (since zr already claims he is)
zr only says that because he got banned for making racist comments.

Duane don't need to decide to support PNM, he already is PNM and all of tuner.

Ask Bezman since he was brought out by PNM.

Postby rfari » August 7th, 2015, 1:03 pm

Waiting on email or call from kamala

Daran

Postby Daran » August 7th, 2015, 1:06 pm

Folks this isn't rocket science.....but firstly, I can't say they didn't get it from a state enterprise etc.

However, all they usually do is ask the persons who assisting in the campaign to give them emails of all the people they know. Each person provides dozens of people in their address book, some may take an entire dump of their company etc and they quickly build up a massive directory of 'local' active emails.

Again, I'm not defending it as I do find it these tactics quite useless, but it's fully legal and done all over the world in any election.

Postby zoom rader » August 7th, 2015, 1:08 pm

rfari wrote:Waiting on email or call from kamala

Me too,

Only difference is that PP will call while PNM sends out thugs to do their surveys.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » August 7th, 2015, 1:16 pm

Daran wrote:Folks this isn't rocket science.....but firstly, I can't say they didn't get it from a state enterprise etc.

However, all they usually do is ask the persons who assisting in the campaign to give them emails of all the people they know. Each person provides dozens of people in their address book, some may take an entire dump of their company etc and they quickly build up a massive directory of 'local' active emails.

Again, I'm not defending it as I do find it these tactics quite useless, but it's fully legal and done all over the world in any election.

This is all I was saying, we looking like real bush men and cave men in this place, if people on the outside world didn't know better they would think we live in huts and have never seen an electronic communication device before.

I do agree however I don't want emails from these people because I feel strongly nearly every politician in this country is ah old crook just looking for my vote so he or she could go and full they pocket. But at the end of the day if they want to email me plans on how they plan on making this country better then no scene just don't over do it is all. Because I tend not to keep up on politics as I lost a lot if faith in UNC when they appointed Ganga Egg to Chaguanas West safe seat.

The man who stab UNC in the back when he was COP the man who did nothing for Caroni East, the man who looks down at others as if we are lower than him. This man they put to run that sea a neglected seat that needs a young vibrant person who is genuine in the cause to meet the needs of the people. Now there is a big uproar in Chaguanast West over him being appointed, I lost a lot of respect for UNC over this whole issue.

In retaliation I have decided to vote PNM.

Postby zoom rader » August 7th, 2015, 1:17 pm

Suppose the telephone call inviting you to have a conversation came from President Barack Obama, would Pnmites be getting on with such " righteous indignation"?