Discussion: LCD/LED/OLED 4k 8K UHD HDR TV Tech

scotty_buttons

Re: Question for the LCD/LED/4k Ultra TV Techies

Postby scotty_buttons » November 25th, 2014, 7:24 am

^^ But the sharp 4K smart led is only 3000US :lol:
That's pretty good considering when plasma just came out my old man got a 42inch Panasonic 720p plasma at courts for 20k [FLUSHED FACE]

Sharp LC-70UD27U 70-Inch Aquos 4K Ultra HD 2160p 120Hz Smart LED TV https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00MCHE3ZW/re ... Dub17SCQV8

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 25th, 2014, 8:06 am

scotty_buttons wrote:^^ But the sharp 4K smart led is only 3000US :lol:
That's pretty good considering when plasma just came out my old man got a 42inch Panasonic 720p plasma at courts for 20k [FLUSHED FACE]

Sharp LC-70UD27U 70-Inch Aquos 4K Ultra HD 2160p 120Hz Smart LED TV https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00MCHE3ZW/re ... Dub17SCQV8
yeah but the picture quality on the Sharp is not as good

scotty_buttons

Question for the LCD/LED/4k Ultra TV Techies

Postby scotty_buttons » November 25th, 2014, 8:13 am

I agree. But since he was tempted to get the sharp 1080p LED, might as well go 4K in the same brand/line?

On another note, isn't plasma being phased out? I was considering a large plasma at a pretty good price but was discouraged after reading that somewhere.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 25th, 2014, 9:39 am

scotty_buttons wrote:

I agree. But since he was tempted to get the sharp 1080p LED, might as well go 4K in the same brand/line?

On another note, isn't plasma being phased out? I was considering a large plasma at a pretty good price but was discouraged after reading that somewhere.
Manufacturers are phasing it out only because LED is cheaper to produce. But plasma picture quality is considerably better. OLED is better than plasma but it is VERY expensive.

Postby RBphoto » November 25th, 2014, 10:16 am

*Pulls cobwebs from cave* Wait, it actually have OLED big screens (larger than 40") ?????
:Shock:

*Rubs eyes* Plasma still on the market?

Really asking here, I don't keep up with these things.

scotty_buttons

Postby scotty_buttons » November 25th, 2014, 10:33 am

^^ yup. Saw a OLED 1080p 55inch LG I think for around 3000us too. I rather that than a similarly priced and sized 4K TV.
LG gonna come out with 65inch 4K OLED TV soon apparently. That would be amazeballs. Priced to suit too!

There are some manufacturing issues last time I checked with OLED TVs. Hopefully temporary.

Postby gastly369 » November 25th, 2014, 11:03 am

Samsung UN105S9

Dear God....... jebus

Premchand1976

Postby Premchand1976 » November 25th, 2014, 11:55 am

Heard from best buy that the 8k Samsung is already manufactured and they just waiting to launch. Don't want to launch too soon after the launch of 4 tv ' s.

scotty_buttons

Postby scotty_buttons » November 25th, 2014, 1:27 pm

Samsung just overdoing it now. Just like they do with their phones. 8K can't be fully appreciated unless the screen is ridiculously huge or you sit rather close to your TV.

Take for instance this diagram. Most ppl sit at least 10 feet from their TVs. You won't appreciate the difference in 4K unless the screen is at least 75inches.
Imagine for an 8K TV!!!

ImageUploadedByTapatalk1416936457.166662.jpg
ImageUploadedByTapatalk1416936457.166662.jpg (42.89 KiB) Viewed 3044 times

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 25th, 2014, 5:50 pm

RBphoto wrote:*Pulls cobwebs from cave* Wait, it actually have OLED big screens (larger than 40") ?????

yes and yes

Best picture quality TVs of 2014
1st place is a 55" OLED by LG and 2nd place is a 64" Plasma by Samsung

http://www.cnet.com/topics/tvs/best-tvs ... e-quality/

LG 55" OLED
http://www.cnet.com/products/lg-55ec9300/
eBay has it for US$3250

LED TV's are actually LCD with LED backlights instead of cffl bulbs.
The problem with LCD is that the picture does not produce light and needs to be lit from the back or sides. Light bleeds all over the place and so they need to use local dimming, which does not always produce the best black levels.
In a plasma panel, each sub pixel is like a neon light with plasma gas in it, so there is almost no light bleeding. Black levels are deep and contrast ratios are considerably better on plasma.
OLED is similar to plasma in that each pixel is individually lit, not just an LCD with backlighting like a regular LED TV.

OLED and plasma have similar deep black levels (much craved by those after great picture quality), but OLED can get a lot brighter without light bleeding into nearby pixels.
OLED beats plasma in energy efficiency and lower heat too.

The only thing plasma had on OLED is size and price and we can see that changing fast!

Soundwave

Postby Soundwave » November 25th, 2014, 9:42 pm

RBphoto wrote:*Pulls cobwebs from cave* Wait, it actually have OLED big screens (larger than 40") ?????

yes and yes

LG 55" OLED
eBay has it for US$3250

The problem with LCD is that the picture does not produce light and needs to be lit from the back or sides. Light bleeds all over the place and so they need to use local dimming, which does not always produce the best black levels.
In a plasma panel, each sub pixel is like a neon light with plasma gas in it, so there is almost no light bleeding. Black levels are deep and contrast ratios are considerably better on plasma.
OLED is similar to plasma in that each pixel is individually lit, not just an LCD with backlighting like a regular LED TV.

OLED and plasma have similar deep black levels (much craved by those after great picture quality), but OLED can get a lot brighter without light bleeding into nearby pixels.

The only thing plasma had on OLED is size and price and we can see that changing fast!

you couldn't be more wrong...

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 25th, 2014, 11:32 pm

Soundwave wrote:

yes and yes

LG 55" OLED
eBay has it for US$3250

you couldn't be more wrong...
lol not this again
#comenahman

Postby ~Vēġó~ » November 27th, 2014, 2:50 am

^^^^lol.....but DFC's "billie, janine" is epic....

auto prune resistance 4ever...

Postby X2 » November 27th, 2014, 3:15 am

RBphoto wrote:What do you disagree with? LED>LCD?

I thought LCD was the display and LED, the back light... I'm not up to date on the TV tech...aren't all non plasma TV's... LCD ?

meh... nevermind... didn't read page 2... carry on...

Postby sMASH » November 27th, 2014, 6:43 am

LED means light emitting diode... Just like the lights that used to be on them equalizer.
LCD means liquid crystal display.... Just like what used to be in those watches back in the same day.when it dark and u needed to see the time, u needed to press the light button.

So, LCD needs a light either backlight or side light.
LED not really.

But some LCD uses LED lighting.

OLED means organic light emitting diode. Its a different technology from normal LED the first time u would have seen that used would be 12 years ago or more. After pioneer stopped using LCD in their displays in the higher end decks. U started to see color displays without backlight .

Postby 16 cycles » November 27th, 2014, 8:00 am

http://www.amazon.com/Samsung-UN40HU695 ... ords=4k+tv

40" 4K for 600USD

dunno if it make sense at that size....but thaz a superb price for a 4k tv

edit_ read the reviews....seems some marketing employed to sell the tv ...

lancer3

Postby lancer3 » November 27th, 2014, 9:02 am

Duane was ur opinion on the UN65H7150. To me it look like a good tv

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 27th, 2014, 9:46 am

16 cycles wrote:http://www.amazon.com/Samsung-UN40HU6950-40-Inch-Friday-Special/dp/B00PMEL5FS/ref=sr_1_1?s=tv&ie=UTF8&qid=1417089570&sr=1-1&keywords=4k+tv

40" 4K for 600USD

a good source just told me that Pricesmart will have a Quasar 55" 4K LED TV for TT$6500 tomorrow alone as part of their Black Friday sale. Available at all branches, Movietowne, Mausica, Price Plaza and La Romaine.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 27th, 2014, 9:51 am

lancer3 wrote:Duane was ur opinion on the UN65H7150. To me it look like a good tv
check this quick review on the Samsung UNH7150 lineup. The review will be for all sizes including the 65" model you asked about since all sizes in the same model mostly carry the same features and panel quality.
http://www.cnet.com/products/samsung-un60h7150/

the specs say it is edge lit - I'd try to get a TV that is backlit with local dimming if you are going LED. If you are going plasma then you don't need to worry about that since plasmas don't suffer from lighting issues like LEDs do.

Postby pete » November 27th, 2014, 9:57 am

Yikes, I'll have to remember to avoid there tomorrow.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 27th, 2014, 9:59 am

sMASH wrote:LED means light emitting diode... Just like the lights that used to be on them equalizer.
LCD means liquid crystal display.... Just like what used to be in those watches back in the same day.when it dark and u needed to see the time, u needed to press the light button.

LED not really.
no that's not right.

LED is LCD just with an LED backlight instead of the CFFL (fluorescent) bulbs that usually used in LCD TVs

OLED emits its own light.

Plasma emits its own light too.

Postby pete » November 27th, 2014, 10:01 am

Duane, PS has a 50" Seiki 4K tv for $4200 on their website. I don't know if that's an error.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 27th, 2014, 10:02 am

pete wrote:Duane, PS has a 50" Seiki 4K tv for $4200 on their website. I don't know if that's an error.
link?

Postby pete » November 27th, 2014, 10:04 am

Postby gastly369 » November 28th, 2014, 3:24 pm

16 cycles wrote:http://www.amazon.com/Samsung-UN40HU6950-40-Inch-Friday-Special/dp/B00PMEL5FS/ref=sr_1_1?s=tv&ie=UTF8&qid=1417089570&sr=1-1&keywords=4k+tv

40" 4K for 600USD

a good source just told me that Pricesmart will have a Quasar 55" 4K LED TV for TT$6500 tomorrow alone as part of their Black Friday sale. Available at all branches, Movietowne, Mausica, Price Plaza and La Romaine.

Ummm that quasar brand any good?

Saw something about "by" Motorola

Sold like hops bread today at pricemart

ru$$ell

Postby ru$$ell » November 28th, 2014, 3:36 pm

^lets see how long they live,my first flatscreen tv was purchased from pricesmart back in 2k7,some brand called A Star,didnt even make it a year when it started having problems.

Postby S_2NR » November 28th, 2014, 3:40 pm

quasar sounds like a pokemon

Postby gastly369 » November 28th, 2014, 3:59 pm

If Google eh know I eh buying :/
1417204707593.jpg

Soundwave

Postby Soundwave » November 28th, 2014, 4:43 pm

S_2NR wrote:quasar sounds like a pokemon

doh be insulting pokemon so dan...

Postby sMASH » November 28th, 2014, 5:10 pm

sMASH wrote:LED means light emitting diode... Just like the lights that used to be on them equalizer.

LED not really.
no that's not right.

LED is LCD just with an LED backlight instead of the CFFL (fluorescent) bulbs that usually used in LCD TVs

OLED emits its own light.

Plasma emits its own light too.

... ehem, u mean, couldn't be moar...