Synthetic engine Oil for a 4G15 engine - Oil Changed !

venum

Postby venum » August 30th, 2005, 2:28 pm

cool

will check yuh round that time

thanx

Rudman
Location: Finding out all the good tyres in life begins with "R".

Postby Rudman » September 5th, 2005, 2:26 pm

O.K fellas, I hooked up with Terran over the weekend and I bought some Shell Helix plus from him.

The deal seems legit enough, he gives you an authentic looking receipt from the blending plant in Pt. Lisas with a trace no. It does not look like stolen stuff, as far as I can tell.

The price went up though, to about $78/gal. That still is way better than what U getting outside.

What could be better? the oil U want at a very competitive price. :wink:

venum

Postby venum » September 22nd, 2005, 9:12 am

:bump: for SIR CIVIC

Z Tourer vtec

Postby Z Tourer vtec » September 22nd, 2005, 9:27 am

Terran, Venum
Count me in for the Shell Helix Plus (blue bottle).
I due for service next 1000 kms, which may be till the end of October, but if you all ready before that, lemme know.

email me: adam@crism.com

Terran

Postby Terran » September 22nd, 2005, 4:53 pm

Yeah, anytime anybody ready, just PM me.

TurboDrive

Postby TurboDrive » September 27th, 2005, 6:52 am

Terran I'll pm you when I get my car back fron those F@#kers at the garage. :mrgreen:

venum

Postby venum » September 27th, 2005, 8:29 pm

2nrs

had the oil changed today

I used the Shell Helix Plus 15W 50 (blue bottle)

did not flush

just emptied out the old Castrol GTX 20W 50 and poured in the Helix

and as usual, with every oil change, I changed the filter, put in the usual: FRAM

will advise on how the car responds with this new oil, in particular the lifters

lookin to run it for ~ 3000km, as a flush

paid $115.00 for the gallon

so Terran, I'll be calling or PM you closer to the end of October (did not have time to do it b4 this change, so I bought it from the garage where I changed the oil)

Terran

Postby Terran » September 28th, 2005, 4:30 pm

$115... hmmm... I had no idea the retail prices were that high. So $78 per AG is really worth giving me a call! :wink:

Z Tourer vtec

Postby Z Tourer vtec » September 28th, 2005, 4:33 pm

Terran wrote:$115... hmmm... I had no idea the retail prices were that high. So $78 per AG is really worth giving me a call! :wink:

You have my confirmed order, you know which one I want right?

When will you be able to get it for me?

Terran

Postby Terran » September 28th, 2005, 6:09 pm

I'm trying to get it for Friday.

I'll let you know for certain by tomorrow.

My g/f is coming your way to service her car on Friday, so I'll get her to drop it off for you once I get it.

venum

Postby venum » September 28th, 2005, 7:38 pm

yea boy Terran

it definately worth calling you

for a couple of gallons one time

I am still monitoring its effect on my engine

so ince it passes the test,

I will be calling you

Postby ~Vēġó~ » September 28th, 2005, 11:11 pm

weeee $115..... I get meh oil and filter with dat..........

Z Tourer vtec

Postby Z Tourer vtec » September 29th, 2005, 1:17 pm

Terran wrote:I'm trying to get it for Friday.

I'll let you know for certain by tomorrow.

My g/f is coming your way to service her car on Friday, so I'll get her to drop it off for you once I get it.

Great
Looking forward to it!

venum

Postby venum » September 29th, 2005, 10:12 pm

~˜VëgŲ˜~ wrote:weeee $115..... I get meh oil and filter with dat..........

when I was using GTX I used to get oil, filter and the change with that

SPEED THRILLZ

Postby SPEED THRILLZ » October 2nd, 2005, 11:17 am

Hmmmm why not install a oil pressure gauge on your car, so you can monitor it as you go. If viscosity breaks down below acceptable levels before the 5000km then change it if not wait till 5000km. Mobil 1 has my backing because that oil is impressive, but everyone has different driving habits and our cars have different cooling systems as some do the work better than others. Because the way some of us drive a normal oil wouldn't last because we redline our engines and keep it there for periods at a time and repeated over lets say a week can have a bad effect on it as for some peeps never ever see over 4500 rpm. So my 2 cents get a oil pressure gauge and monitor it for yourself. Oil is Oil I guess just like some of us say barbecue is barbecue, its just some are crap and some are the best.

venum

Postby venum » October 2nd, 2005, 10:00 pm

I like your suggestion

but I switched primarily because that oil does keep my lifters happy, well happier than the GTX

so far, I can say that it does in fact do so :arrow: I have noticed quieter lifters.

I do average driving mostly, just when I get a urge to step it up, then I dies step it up.

the 7500km average for the synthetic oil will work for me

but good input there though