Rough Seas Bulletin #4
Issued 6pm 27/2/2013

roughseas4 27-2-2013.jpg

MonsterPower

Re: The official tropical weather thread

Postby MonsterPower » February 27th, 2013, 7:47 pm

much thanks hook

btw is this due to the high winds we are experiencing???

Postby Hook » February 28th, 2013, 8:01 am

Not really. The underwater dynamics are different, but at this time of year, we expect wave heights to be moderate, occasionally rough owing to the seasonal increase in the surface winds. Remember, we're in "kite flying season".
What was important here was the long period of the wave, period being a function of the speed. When it has that long to build, by the time it gets to shallower water, it has considerable energy and it crashes violently.

However, the bulletin has been discontinued. Please excuse the fact that this particular forecaster didn't sign and scan the document.

Rough Seas Bulletin #5.
Bulletin Discontinued.

roughseas5 28-2-2013.JPG

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » March 6th, 2013, 12:05 am

more waves?
waves-warning-2013.jpg

link

Postby link » March 6th, 2013, 7:41 am

SUNDAY 10TH MARCH.....................
GREAT SURFER CHALLENGE :!: :!: :!:

nismaniac

Postby nismaniac » March 6th, 2013, 9:31 am

20 feet, interesting to look at from a safe distance.

Postby Hook » March 6th, 2013, 10:14 am

Someone forwarded me a screen shot of the facebook comments associated with that image/document (since I'm not on the book of faces of course). Lemme try to clear up a few things brought up in the comments. Please inform the ignorant.
NOTE: Some of these are my personal thoughts. I am in no way speaking on behalf of the Trinidad and Tobago Meteorological Services.

1. The Met Office has no wave monitoring equipment, no wave physicists, no marine meteorology department, nor any marine automatic weather stations to the north. Thus far, several successive governments have not deemed such things as important enough to fund, despite the fact that the TTMS have been entrusted with the responsibility of being the tsunami early warning centre for the region. Take that up with the relevant minister.
The TTMS do not get wave information from any "seaweed" website. There are official, dedicated meteorological information networks for that.

2. ODPM, TEMA are the first responders/coordinating bodies in the event of any mishaps and they have been informed since Monday, as well as the relevant government departments. When it concerns you, you'll know.

3. Comments about "anomalies", "freak waves" etc. are necessary layman terms so that what is disseminated is easily understood. The public forecast, believe it or not, is ridiculously "dumbed down" so the public doesn't misinterpret all the technical terms and explanations involved in an actual forecast.
Despite that, the public still panics every time the term "tropical wave" is mentioned. The public doesn't need to know EVERYTHING concerning the weather. Most times, all you need to know is if/when/how hard it's going to rain and if seas are going to be rough.
That "seas slight to moderate, waves up to 2.5m in open waters and less than 1m in sheltered areas" might not be pertinent to you, but some end users need it, so shut up about it. You're going to ignore the parts irrelevant to your interests anyway. Grow up.

4. It is not the Met Office's policy to issue public warnings five and six days in advance as there is an increased level of inaccuracy and uncertainty the further away any forecast is projected (you'll remember that in the hurricane season, forecasts tracks for tropical cyclones several days in advance are given as a "cone of uncertainty").

5. At the very least, you would have had 96hrs warning. This is protocol. Neither you nor I have any say in that matter.

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » March 6th, 2013, 10:41 am

Hook wrote:3. Comments about "anomalies", "freak waves" etc. are necessary layman terms so that what is disseminated is easily understood. The public forecast, believe it or not, is ridiculously "dumbed down" so the public doesn't misinterpret all the technical terms and explanations involved in an actual forecast.
Despite that, the public still panics every time the term "tropical wave" is mentioned. The public doesn't need to know EVERYTHING concerning the weather. Most times, all you need to know is if/when/how hard it's going to rain and if seas are going to be rough.
That "seas slight to moderate, waves up to 2.5m in open waters and less than 1m in sheltered areas" might not be pertinent to you, but some end users need it, so shut up about it. You're going to ignore the parts irrelevant to your interests anyway. Grow up.

Imagine if they said Tropical tsunamis....

Bezman

Postby Bezman » March 6th, 2013, 3:27 pm

Our forecast tools and models for wave height are very accurate.. only off by a few hours and one or two feet. We are able to forecast up to 17 days ahead with a fair bit of accuracy. this swell coming next week is bigger than the one that mashed up the road before Mt Irvine (Grange bay) and sank a boats etc..

Screen shot 2013-03-06 at 3.15.13 PM.png
Screen shot 2013-03-06 at 3.11.11 PM.png
Screen shot 2013-03-06 at 3.14.43 PM.png

Bezman

Postby Bezman » March 6th, 2013, 3:30 pm

This is video of the last swell which was allot smaller than this one

Postby Hook » March 6th, 2013, 4:07 pm

Maybe y'all should approach the relevant bodies to start some actual research on waves here.

Bezman

Postby Bezman » March 6th, 2013, 4:12 pm

We have approached them several times, call them every time a swell is coming, and we are greeted with the same response.. pretty much exactly what you said above... no new equipment etc is needed, all they need to do is check the LOLA sites that offer this info, this is no rinky dink "seaweed" websites.. they get their info from the US NAVY/WAM/LOLA.

shorty d

Postby shorty d » March 6th, 2013, 5:35 pm

I wanna see this

Yorkshirelass
CARS Member

Postby Yorkshirelass » March 6th, 2013, 10:56 pm

searchingone

Postby searchingone » March 7th, 2013, 8:07 am

so where's the best spot to go wave watching?

gundelero

Postby gundelero » March 7th, 2013, 10:01 am

good stuff

Postby Hook » March 8th, 2013, 3:57 pm

http://www.metoffice.gov.tt

Have a safe weekend folks.

4-Day Weather Outlook

4DWO 8-3-2013.jpg

Rough Seas Bulletin #1

RSB 8-3-2013.jpg

nismaniac

Postby nismaniac » March 10th, 2013, 8:32 am

searchingone wrote:so where's the best spot to go wave watching?

North coast I guess.

xtech

Postby xtech » March 10th, 2013, 8:40 am

I not going toco to watch waves that too far for me...I have a nice spot west side

Postby streetbeastINC. » March 21st, 2013, 3:08 pm

some weather approaching.....

Postby noshownogo » March 21st, 2013, 3:39 pm

Good heads up, no washing of car this weekend.

Postby Hook » March 21st, 2013, 4:24 pm

yeh bai :( and I was due for a wash this wknd inno...oh well...just clean the inside I guess

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » March 21st, 2013, 5:12 pm

Hook any 3 day forecast for the weekend?

Postby streetbeastINC. » March 21st, 2013, 5:14 pm

myt be lucky and it dissipates

Postby Hook » March 21st, 2013, 6:19 pm

The 4-day weather outlook comes out 2mro. I'll post it when I get it.

Postby hustla_ambition101 » March 21st, 2013, 6:21 pm

Well my plants will be happy.....

Postby hustla_ambition101 » March 27th, 2013, 11:02 am

Omgwtfbbq.........rain pouring in Chaguanas, dark skies..........

Postby kurpal_v2 » March 27th, 2013, 11:50 am

Rain in stagustine, quite dark.

Padna bbm'ed saying flood in pos?

cornfused

Postby cornfused » March 27th, 2013, 12:00 pm

No there is not flood downtown at 12 noon . Now persons are going about their business as usual , the rain fall is not very hard but its still coming down .

Postby black start » March 27th, 2013, 12:00 pm

kurpal_v2 wrote:Rain in stagustine, quite dark.

thanks, I be staying home today folks