S.E.A. Student Commits sucicide

Re: S.E.A. Student Commits sucicide

Postby nervewrecker » May 8th, 2014, 5:37 pm

Country_Bookie wrote:I does cringe when I hear about these kids who from standard 4 have lessons 5 days a week after school, then all day on saturday too. When do they get time to enjoy life and be a kid?

Same place them lil gyul does find to bull and make front page on the papers when results come out and belly big so they can't go.

sonygoup

Postby sonygoup » May 8th, 2014, 5:50 pm

^^Lmaooo :lol:

Yodins

Postby Yodins » May 8th, 2014, 6:02 pm

RIP to the yute man. prolly had something really bad going on in his life at that time, and for that to be happening at such a young age tings real bad

Postby supercharged turbo » May 8th, 2014, 7:54 pm

bonzo.specb wrote:
supercharged turbo wrote:LOL @ cruel and inhumane to ask 12/13 yr old to sit for a 3 hr exam.So because one of them committed suicide supposedly over SEA,we have to look at a new form of testing them?What about all the others who sat the exam and passed/failed and moved on with their lives:-?

Ent. These younguns soft yes. Some parents over do it with pressuring their kids but nothing is wrong with the exam. If your child dotish, so be it.
I agree that some parents really over do it with lessons.Lessons after school hours+homework+saturdays classes...nah man das over doing it.Every parent hadda know what their child capable of.If you know your child not too academically inclined,ah lil evening classes wouldn't hurt.But if yuh know yuh child really cya learn,well yuh hadda make sure they could read,write and spell and possibly look into a trade.

Postby X_Factor » May 8th, 2014, 10:00 pm

when u all have kids you will understand that SEA in its present format is the most important exam you will have to write..

remember unlike other exams, its a placement exam...meaning you do good you go to a good school...do bad....bad school....and depending on the school you go to...it does have SOME influence on your learning.....add the factor that you compete with maybe 8000 other kids
so when parents go overboard....you'll understand why.....and its compounded x10 if some family member does good when he/she wrote....... even more pressure on the kid to live up to standard

but at the same time, a parent should know the emotional and educational strength of their child and should push/guide accordingly

its sad news that the kid took his own life......it just reinforces that parents need to really need to have quality time with their child and balance the book with recreation

Postby dougla_boy » May 8th, 2014, 10:31 pm

Get rid of SEA. Waste of time. Don't see why u hadda write an exam at age 12 to determine what school u gonna go.....

And also...I know a fella living round the area....was the youth 2nd time writing SEA...did fail the first time......

Postby K74T » May 8th, 2014, 10:31 pm

Need to get rid of CAC.

Postby Trini Hookah » May 8th, 2014, 10:50 pm

dougla_boy wrote:Get rid of SEA. Waste of time. Don't see why u hadda write an exam at age 12 to determine what school u gonna go.....

And also...I know a fella living round the area....was the youth 2nd time writing SEA...did fail the first time......

Poll on TV6 was if viewers preferred a zoning method vs SEA...so you telling me some students can't reap the benefits of their hard work also?

Agreed @ K74T, that sheit is pointless and exhausting.

bluespeed

Postby bluespeed » May 8th, 2014, 11:03 pm

dougla_boy wrote:Get rid of SEA. Waste of time. Don't see why u hadda write an exam at age 12 to determine what school u gonna go.....

I knew when it was "common entrance" you could have failed, I thought they cannot fail SEA?...

Postby S_2NR » May 8th, 2014, 11:52 pm

To separate the goat from the sheep.
Puts all the bright, hard working children together and the idiots and delinquents on a farm somewhere.

Postby dougla_boy » May 9th, 2014, 12:35 am

S_2NR wrote:

To separate the goat from the sheep.
Puts all the bright, hard working children together and the idiots and delinquents on a farm somewhere.

Ammmm.....What? Clearly you are a sheep if u believe that.....SEA, Common extrance is a waste of time. All it does is put unnecessary stress on students (by parents and family and teachers) whose only goal is not to understand the concepts of the work being taught but to simply pass the exam.

Postby S_2NR » May 9th, 2014, 12:40 am

Did u pass for your first choice?
I sensing some sour grapes

Postby dougla_boy » May 9th, 2014, 12:44 am

S_2NR wrote:Did u pass for your first choice?
I sensing some sour grapes

Yes I did. Last batch of children to write common entrance actually. Cud say what you want, you just grasping at straws, ,but answering what I said earlier with this statement just exposes your stupidity.

Postby S_2NR » May 9th, 2014, 12:51 am

Oh well in that case, what u beating up for?
Students are awarded based on merit since they start primary school with the place system. If you not bright, go junior sec and be with like minded individuals. If u smart pass for a prestige school and do the same. What if they start zoning now and u live in a bad neighborhood like laventille and your child bright you would want your child spending most of his day with the wayward youths from your area? Or... Children who are just as smart and ambitious?

pyromaniax

Postby pyromaniax » May 9th, 2014, 1:23 am

Ent it have no more junior secs?

Parvin

Postby Parvin » May 9th, 2014, 6:38 am

pioneer wrote:Clearly wasn't fit for survival.

Sounds legit

Postby Dizzy28 » May 9th, 2014, 10:04 am

X_Factor wrote:when u all have kids you will understand that SEA in its present format is the most important exam you will have to write..

remember unlike other exams, its a placement exam...meaning you do good you go to a good school...do bad....bad school....and depending on the school you go to...it does have SOME influence on your learning.....add the factor that you compete with maybe 8000 other kids
so when parents go overboard....you'll understand why.....and its compounded x10 if some family member does good when he/she wrote....... even more pressure on the kid to live up to standard

but at the same time, a parent should know the emotional and educational strength of their child and should push/guide accordingly

its sad news that the kid took his own life......it just reinforces that parents need to really need to have quality time with their child and balance the book with recreation

Passing for your 1st choice school is bollocks. When you reach 20 and over it don't start to matter what secondary school you went. Once you start to get job experience it matters even less.

Postby Ronaldo95163 » May 9th, 2014, 10:12 am

S_2NR wrote:Oh well in that case, what u beating up for?
Students are awarded based on merit since they start primary school with the place system. If you not bright, go junior sec and be with like minded individuals. If u smart pass for a prestige school and do the same. What if they start zoning now and u live in a bad neighborhood like laventille and your child bright you would want your child spending most of his day with the wayward youths from your area? Or... Children who are just as smart and ambitious?

Good point there.

fred1266

Postby fred1266 » May 9th, 2014, 10:13 am

The student is a family member to one of my co-workers such a shame

sonygoup

Postby sonygoup » May 9th, 2014, 10:18 am

Sigh see alot of ppl agree with zoning on tv6 people poll last night -_- like half of em living POS
The days the start that pay schools gonna be packed!

Postby dougla_boy » May 9th, 2014, 11:43 am

X_Factor wrote:when u all have kids you will understand that SEA in its present format is the most important exam you will have to write..

Passing for your 1st choice school is bollocks. When you reach 20 and over it don't start to matter what secondary school you went. Once you start to get job experience it matters even less.

Doh be talkin sense nah.....

Postby Ronaldo95163 » May 9th, 2014, 11:55 am

^The secondary school has a big influence in shaping up the individual tho :|...so it would have an impact on what job you actually get

Halfbreed07

Postby Halfbreed07 » May 9th, 2014, 1:31 pm

dougla_boy wrote:

Lol lol lol lol.
All my years of working no one ever ask me wah school I went, far less how much cxc passes I have.
Those things only matter in the sufferer world and public service.

Postby javishm » May 9th, 2014, 1:47 pm

R.I.P

searchingone

Postby searchingone » May 9th, 2014, 1:59 pm

When I wrote common entrance, all my fadda said to me was, "yuh could always mix concrete if it doh work out..."

That was enough push for me...

Postby MG Man » May 9th, 2014, 2:03 pm

when I pass for fuss choice, de folks was like...am....shht....we...u....din expect yuh tuh pass nuh....we din cater......go um....see which ah yuh brudda school clothes go fit yuh...........

Postby Trini Hookah » May 9th, 2014, 2:08 pm

Sabriel wrote:Youth man was weak in mind..plain and simple .

children with no arms have excelled with flying colors..in tdad.

Comparing two people who's story you have no idea of is as asinine as the statement bolded above.

rodfarva

Postby rodfarva » May 9th, 2014, 2:18 pm

Common Entrance/SEA was and is a lot of pressure. So what? Life aint easy. Study hard and get into a good school.
Its not the end of the world if you dont. A motivated student can still excel even if he/she doesnt get into one of the first choice schools.

dougla_boy wrote:
Dizzy28 wrote:Passing for your 1st choice school is bollocks. When you reach 20 and over it don't start to matter what secondary school you went. Once you start to get job experience it matters even less.

:lol: This is NOT sense.
Whatever school we attended must have an impact on our lives.
Thats like saying you spent 5 (or 7) years somewhere and it had no effect on you at all. Seen or unseen, it did.

Postby Dizzy28 » May 9th, 2014, 2:23 pm

Ronaldo95163 wrote:^The secondary school has a big influence in shaping up the individual tho :|...so it would have an impact on what job you actually get

Adequate nurturing at home should also have a big influence. Trini parents like to leave the parenting to the teachers though.

Postby MG Man » May 9th, 2014, 2:28 pm

Ronaldo95163 wrote:^The secondary school has a big influence in shaping up the individual tho :|...so it would have an impact on what job you actually get

Adequate nurturing at home should also have a big influence. Trini parents like to leave the parenting to the teachers though.

yes and no
yuh folks could do a wonderful job, but how many f us came form good backgrounds and still got up to slackness once we left the house?
peer influence is a heluva thing