dyno day 16th !!!

Jimbo

Postby Jimbo » July 18th, 2005, 10:07 am

R. Mutt wrote:Well the Sir was running lean before vtec and rich in vtec....which resulted in a depressing 145 whp and a sad 101 lb/ft of torque:(

We need some serious ecu tuning. HELP!

Big up to SR18primera....the man made 169.2 whp. 139 lb/ft

Nissan definetly blew out Honda today :lol:

Those figures are basically what you get from a stock B16 lol.
But the factory ECU setting is really rich in VTEC, I don't know about before VTEC though but how lean is lean? What AFR reading were you getting?

dry

Postby dry » July 18th, 2005, 10:12 am

between 14.7 and 15.0 pre-vtec, ~11.5 and under post vtec.

Jimbo

Postby Jimbo » July 18th, 2005, 10:16 am

Sounds like a stock B16 ECU to me :?

Silvermike no waaaaayy you beat a manual SR20VE in a primera :lol:

Picasso

Postby Picasso » July 18th, 2005, 10:38 am

I was deh man I came in around 3:20pm from work.......

The dyno man cool jed... When I got there junki and some next rasta dude was deh

Jimbo

Postby Jimbo » July 18th, 2005, 11:01 am

^^Woi!
101 lb/ft of torque

Check at dat measly torque figure B, something for you to mash up. Call him out nah! :lol:

sentraman

Postby sentraman » July 18th, 2005, 11:15 am

having high horse power 145whp and low torque 101lb/ft will mean what in a quarter mile vs a car with more torque than the 101 but less horse power than the 145

Picasso

Postby Picasso » July 18th, 2005, 11:38 am

having high horse power 145whp and low torque 101lb/ft will mean what in a quarter mile vs a car with more torque than the 101 but less horse power than the 145

Horse I think yuh eh finish wah yuh was saying eh :|

Yeo

Postby Yeo » July 18th, 2005, 11:43 am

Picasso wrote:

Add a question mark...

having high horse power 145whp and low torque 101lb/ft will mean what in a quarter mile vs a car with more torque than the 101 but less horse power than the 145?

Jimbo

Postby Jimbo » July 18th, 2005, 11:57 am

it would mean lower 60/ft times and maybe even 1/8th mile times (you didn't specify how much mroe torque) but the higher HP car will have a lower E/T and higher trap speed. This is if we talkin figures like maybe 125lb/ft of torque with 120hp

Notorious Scullman

Postby Notorious Scullman » July 18th, 2005, 12:11 pm

sheit!

blasted Legal Imports......six months yuh know!!!!!!

When's the next dyno day?

TriniParts.com
Location: As of June 1st 2008, we NO LONGER RETAIL.We will strictly be involved in MARKETING & WHOLESALING

Postby TriniParts.com » July 18th, 2005, 12:41 pm

sr18 Primera wrote:Thanks guys. I gained HP and torque through the entire rev range with some basic tuning on the dyno. It was well worth it.

Thanks to dry, Dave and the rest of the guys for the help.

I know you know how to make more power. You giving them B18s something to be afraid of.

sentraman

Postby sentraman » July 18th, 2005, 2:32 pm

Picasso wrote:

oops sorry there :lol:

Picasso

Postby Picasso » July 18th, 2005, 2:36 pm

^^ well

sentraman

Postby sentraman » July 18th, 2005, 2:39 pm

having high horse power 145whp and low torque 101lb/ft will mean what in a quarter mile vs a car with more torque 121 but less horse power 126whp?

Will that be a close race or will the car with more horses win?

sr18 Primera

Postby sr18 Primera » July 18th, 2005, 2:45 pm

ADAH 303 wrote:
sr18 Primera wrote:Thanks guys. I gained HP and torque through the entire rev range with some basic tuning on the dyno. It was well worth it.

Thanks to dry, Dave and the rest of the guys for the help.

I know you know how to make more power. You giving them B18s something to be afraid of.

Yea! Spend more money! :(

Picasso

Postby Picasso » July 18th, 2005, 2:47 pm

I feel the one with more Tq will leap quicker once he can get the power down to the road, but the one with more HP will eventually make up the lost ground as it is stronger in the higher gears.. correct me if I am wrong fellas

Picasso here to learn :|

Jimbo

Postby Jimbo » July 18th, 2005, 2:49 pm

sentraman wrote:having high horse power 145whp and low torque 101lb/ft will mean what in a quarter mile vs a car with more torque 121 but less horse power 126whp?

Will that be a close race or will the car with more horses win?

too many variables are left open e.g. weight of the cars, gearing of transmission as well as wheels, weight of wheels.

If your question is if your Sentra could beat Silvermike's Civic, then the most probable answer is nope. I highly doubt it

Picasso

Postby Picasso » July 18th, 2005, 2:52 pm

Nah leh we say P11 for P11 same size tyres same engine tranny just diferent HP and TQ figures

sentraman

Postby sentraman » July 18th, 2005, 2:53 pm

I thought so, that was some nice horses he put down.

Jimbo

Postby Jimbo » July 18th, 2005, 2:59 pm

sentraman wrote:I thought so, that was some nice horses he put down.

Pretty much stock figures from a B16A

Picasso wrote:Nah leh we say P11 for P11 same size tyres same engine tranny just diferent HP and TQ figures

The engine that can maintain torque over a greater RPM range will be the winner. Remember horsepower is nothing but a function of torque, basically tells you, how long the torque can be maintained for. It is better to make torque at high RPM's so that you can take advantage of gearing.

sentraman

Postby sentraman » July 18th, 2005, 3:13 pm

Jimbo wrote:
sentraman wrote:I thought so, that was some nice horses he put down.

Pretty much stock figures from a B16A

hmmmm Stock u say :D

I wonder how much I will gain with a set of cams. Which leads to my next question. Does after market cams affect the way the car idles?

Jimbo

Postby Jimbo » July 18th, 2005, 3:24 pm

Well it depends lol!
They have mild upgrade cams, like TODA Spec A's and then they have like really aggressive grinds like Spec C's which will give you a lumpy idle. This is all really general though.

Why don't you just go turbo? It so easy for allyuh SR men and you get so much nice power... embarassing power if you want :lol:

Jimbo

Postby Jimbo » July 18th, 2005, 3:26 pm

look, Toda makes cams for DE as well as DET

http://www.todaracing.com/products/niss ... hafts.html

or you can just go with Jim Wolf, I hear they damn good and great price too.

sr18 Primera

Postby sr18 Primera » July 18th, 2005, 3:38 pm

I had the JWT S3R's in a sr18de and the idle was fine.

Picasso

Postby Picasso » July 18th, 2005, 3:43 pm

sr18 Primera yuh doh like meh PM or wah

sr18 Primera

Postby sr18 Primera » July 18th, 2005, 3:52 pm

Sorry deh... I multi-tasking in work and forget :lol:
Yea, it's a sr20ve with intake and exhaust.

Picasso

Postby Picasso » July 18th, 2005, 4:02 pm

Ok fellas now an SR20VE is rated from the factory @ 187 hp now lets say giving ware and tare on the engine for a couple years you lose app 20 hp? Jah thats alot dude now yuh could imagine the hp rating for them used SR20DE engines seing that from the factory you should 140.. no wonder alot of men who put in these motors get washed by and a B16a cause the hp on a B16a stock is around the 160 region( anm I wrong) given a few lost hp for the ware and tare then you meh be riding around with about 140ish HP? ( Correct me if I am wrong now again fellas )

Jimbo

Postby Jimbo » July 18th, 2005, 4:04 pm

no joker, what the losses are called are Drivetrain losses. That 187hp is at the crankshaft, then the power has to go through a transmission and axles and to wheels so some power MUST Be lost...

:mrgreen:

sr18 Primera

Postby sr18 Primera » July 18th, 2005, 4:05 pm

Picasso, the factory rating is hp to the crank. The dyno results are hp to the wheels.

Picasso

Postby Picasso » July 18th, 2005, 4:06 pm

yeah but Jimbo so much dread way aiight then so wah is the power at the wheel figures for a B16a stock