Guess the car

NarendZORCE

Postby NarendZORCE » May 12th, 2005, 5:23 pm

Yuh know at first I thought you were joking eh Dragist (were u?) but it's true...

It's a Ferrari 250 GT "Breadvan" - 1961

Here's the story behind serial No. 2819 GT: in 1961 Count Giovanni Volpi wanted to race a 250 GTO but Enzo Ferrari refused to sell him one. Se he took a 250 GT SWB and modified it to GTO specifications. At the same time he had Piero Drogo clothe it with a body designed by Giotto Bizzarrini and based on the aerodynamic theories of Dr. Wunibald Kamm. The car was 6 inches lower than a 250 GTO. In spite of a higher top speed, it was only moderately successful. Best placements were a 2nd at the 1961 Tour de France and a 3rd at the Monthlerey 1000-Kilometers. However, with its nickname "Breadvan" (Camionette in France), it became world famous.

Postby MG Man » May 12th, 2005, 5:26 pm

Dragist boi, yoiu ent easy nah!!!!!!
Well done

Yeo

Postby Yeo » May 12th, 2005, 5:28 pm

Doh let Dragist fool allyuh eh...He advantaging allyuh!

Dragist

Postby Dragist » May 12th, 2005, 7:04 pm

:twisted: :twisted: Look nah Yeo dont be a Sore looser I just used the www the same way that you Do :lol: :lol: :lol: Mister Minister of Information :twisted:

worksux101

Postby worksux101 » May 12th, 2005, 10:31 pm

Bring something in my time nuh :? :(

Jahling
STAG 2NR Weekly Winner

Postby Jahling » May 12th, 2005, 11:27 pm

Wait nah, it was really called a breadvan for real?

Anyway, hold this. What car this from?

I feel I make this too easy but I trying to give worksux a chance.

Postby MG Man » May 13th, 2005, 8:30 am

OK ah holdin back till Sux give it ah try

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » May 13th, 2005, 8:41 am

Morris Minor cap?

worksux101

Postby worksux101 » May 13th, 2005, 10:20 am

Morris fuh shure....minor as well i presume? 1100..1300..1500?

Jahling
STAG 2NR Weekly Winner

Postby Jahling » May 13th, 2005, 11:22 am

Yup, it was a Morris Minor 1000. Series 2 to be exact. Here is my first car, a 1967 Minor.

Jahling
STAG 2NR Weekly Winner

Postby Jahling » May 13th, 2005, 12:05 pm

Ok that was a little too easy. Try this one fellas.

Postby MG Man » May 13th, 2005, 6:26 pm

hmmmm lets see.....1st thing pop into my mind was S Type.........so I'll go with that

tourniquet

Postby tourniquet » May 13th, 2005, 7:11 pm

i say XK :P

Jahling
STAG 2NR Weekly Winner

Postby Jahling » May 13th, 2005, 7:54 pm

The S Type answer is close enough I guess. Its actually a Mk2. I'm not sure of the exact differences but this is what I found:

Also in 1963 the S-type saloon car was announced. This was a pleasing compromise between the Mark II and the Mark X in shape. Most importantly the S-type was given independent rear suspension and the S-type was offered with either the 3.4 or 3.8 litre engine.

Jaguar S type 4 door Saloon 1964-1968
Similar to MK2 with extra length and a bigger boot. Used to be said "MK2 front with MKX back".

I think the S Type was a heavier car too.

Mk2

S Type
Last edited by Jahling on May 13th, 2005, 8:05 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby MG Man » May 13th, 2005, 7:57 pm

nah, none of the XK sportscars had foglights next to the grille: The 120 had a very narrow grille anyways....the 150 still did not have fogs as far as I can recall, thos that had aftermarket fogs had them outboard of the headlamps cuz the headlamps were too close to the grille to have fogs next to the grille too.....also the XKs had headlights above the horizontal centreline of the grille.....these lamps are below the centreline, further indicating that they are fogs..........if its not an S type, then definitely a Mk2......now that I think about it, the MK2 was mad in much greater numbers than the S type, so ods are its a Mk2 :shock:

yuh think is ah cortina?

Jahling
STAG 2NR Weekly Winner

Postby Jahling » May 13th, 2005, 7:58 pm

Well done MG Man sah. Ok, my last one for the weekend.

tourniquet

Postby tourniquet » May 13th, 2005, 8:18 pm

MG Man wrote:nah, none of the XK sportscars had foglights next to the grille: The 120 had a very narrow grille anyways....the 150 still did not have fogs as far as I can recall, thos that had aftermarket fogs had them outboard of the headlamps cuz the headlamps were too close to the grille to have fogs next to the grille too.....also the XKs had headlights above the horizontal centreline of the grille.....these lamps are below the centreline, further indicating that they are fogs..........if its not an S type, then definitely a Mk2......now that I think about it, the MK2 was mad in much greater numbers than the S type, so ods are its a Mk2 :shock:

yuh think is ah cortina?
damn now that i look at it, i was waaaaay off :oops: :oops: the proximity of the headlights, not to mention the thick bridge running alone the center of the grill should have been dead indicators :x
i love this game btw- losing and learning 8)
Last edited by tourniquet on May 13th, 2005, 8:59 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Ruff

Postby Ruff » May 13th, 2005, 8:46 pm

Ammm... Riley Elf

Jahling
STAG 2NR Weekly Winner

Postby Jahling » May 13th, 2005, 8:48 pm

Yeah you got it. Somebody else put up something.

Ruff

Postby Ruff » May 13th, 2005, 8:55 pm

I ain't win anything? :(

Jahling
STAG 2NR Weekly Winner

Postby Jahling » May 13th, 2005, 9:07 pm

Yeah, you win the chance to put up the next car. Don't waste this special opportunity.

Ruff

Postby Ruff » May 13th, 2005, 9:11 pm

Ok then.

Jahling
STAG 2NR Weekly Winner

Postby Jahling » May 13th, 2005, 9:22 pm

Looks like a Chrysler Valiant (60-62). I think there are still a few of these in Trini.

Postby MG Man » May 13th, 2005, 9:23 pm

PlymouthValiant !!!

Used to be a white one in San'do runnin taxi, push button automatic!!!!!!! There were a couple of shells off the CR Hiway, just b4 saghs as well
Last edited by MG Man on May 13th, 2005, 9:26 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Ruff

Postby Ruff » May 13th, 2005, 9:24 pm

Correctomundo...I really wouldn't mind owning one with a minimum of 383cid under the hood.

Postby MG Man » May 13th, 2005, 9:27 pm

somehow the front not as funky as the back tho....grille kinda boring....the fenders look really cool eh

Postby MG Man » May 13th, 2005, 9:29 pm

OK who can spot this baby?

Dragist

Postby Dragist » May 14th, 2005, 11:29 am

^^^ It looking like a Lotus

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » May 14th, 2005, 11:44 am

Lamborghini

Ruff

Postby Ruff » May 14th, 2005, 12:24 pm

Looks like Lamborghini Urraco... I maybe wrong.