3 buying choices.... suggestions?

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
4g63

Re: 3 buying choices.... suggestions?

Postby 4g63 » October 19th, 2012, 6:35 pm

droppa.... funny you mentioned the brakes... when i was going down mon chagrin and through vistabella, i had to depress the brakes quite firmly to stop... it is as if in this case the vehicle was to heavy and i felt like my stopping distance would be long. the hilux in comparison, as you said, stopped real bess.
i went to m rampersad to see if i could get a 6 speed manual wildtrak.

but these are really expensive... i still hate that door locking crap though...value for money, hilux hands down. we have to compare the 2.2 with the hilux because of price, but there is no comparison in terms of power. i have yet to feel the 3.2 but that may not be easily achieved as those are sold on the water.

i lik ehow the ranger looks, no doubt it is a good looking vehicle. but so too is the hilux... it would be a matter of preference as to which has the egde. hands down, i think in the interior, the ranger wins.... but that won't be enough to tip the scale.

i will let you guys know when i know what a manual wildtrack will run us... till then... it looks like the hilux...
i hope this thread can help other like minded shoppers.

jpec

Postby jpec » October 24th, 2012, 1:09 pm

ended up test driving the 3.2??

4g63

Postby 4g63 » October 25th, 2012, 4:52 pm

nope they didn't have any for me to test drive. however, the new mazdas are out, so even though i~ve paid down on a new hilux, i have a test drive of the mazda 3.2 booked.... if only i could get over its extreme ugliness....
it seems to be packed full of features compared to the ranger and still about 20 gran cheaper. mazda may be the way.

Postby Aaron 2NR » October 25th, 2012, 5:57 pm

Test drove the 2.2 4x4 ranger today. Beautiful vehicle. Power delivery is a lot smoother than the previous model. The suspension feels a lot like my hilux. The manual shifts so smoothly

civic minded

Postby civic minded » October 25th, 2012, 6:54 pm

If you paid down on your hilux , why still go for the bt50 test drive? That's wasting time IMO

tourniquet

Postby tourniquet » October 25th, 2012, 7:31 pm

^^^the man wanted to test drive the 3.2L from ford from the get go, if the mazda's 3.2 is the closest he can get to that engine in the short run, then let him have his fun.
4g63, I look forward to that review, cause lord knows I won't be stepping into a SS dealership anytime soon :lol:

pickups only

Postby pickups only » October 25th, 2012, 10:21 pm

hey fellas waite nah ! after all that all yuh forget bout the mother of all trucks ? the navarrrra best truck 4 money 2.5 engine and 3.0 output with little fuel cost and grt looks naah come on . best center of gravity unlike the others [ LOL] won't roll over . but take into consideration you don't need heavy t and its almost as big as d ford ranger

Postby Stephon. » October 25th, 2012, 10:32 pm

Did you guys catch the features of the new bt50? Also if your hilux isn't ready yet you can get your money back lol.

Postby Stephon. » October 25th, 2012, 10:35 pm

Stephon. wrote:When your work requires a pick up truck, you shouldn't have to trade in luxury for a van tray, you should enjoy your work. When you want a vehicle that can transport goods, with the toughness of a lion but the luxury of a top class sedan, you have found the next gen BT-50.

Safety & Security:
-Six Airbags - Driver/Passenger/Side/Curtain
-Anti Lock Breaking System (ABS)
-Electronic Break Assist (EDB)
-Dynamic Stability Control (DSC)
-Steel Reinforcement Rigid Cabin
-Hill Descent Control (HDC)
-Reverse Sensors with Monitor
-Seat Belt Warning Indicator
-Bluetooth Handsfree Device
-Engine Immobilizer

Performance
-2.2 / 3.2 Turbo Charged Diesel Engine with Inter-cooler
-16-Valve Double Overhead Cam (SHC)
-4 Cylinder
-Common Rail Direct Injection
-Turbo Charger
-6 Speed Automatic

Comfort
-Tilt, Leather wrapped multi functional steering wheel
-17" Aluminum Wheels
-265/70/R17 Tyres
-Air Condition (Factory from Mazda)
-Auto Climate Control
-Fully Powered Mirrors
-Fully Powered Windows
-Fully Powered Door Locks
-Power Fold in Mirrors
-Chrome Mirrors
-Audio System: AM/FM, MP3 player, Six Speaker Surround Sound System
-Digital Clock
-Glove Box (with lock) and Sliding Tray in Dash
-iPod Connection (in glove-box)
-Leather Interior
-Height Adjustable Driver Seat
-Mud Flaps (4 wheel)
-Interior Rope Hooks
-Side Steps
-Chrome Door Handles (Interior and Exterior)
-Center Armrest with Dual Compartments for Driver and Passenger
-Anti Pinch Windows
-6 Cup Holders (four in the front and two in the back)
-Cig Lighter and Extra Power Outlet
-Removable Ashtray
-Internal Lid Opener
-Rear View Dimmers (light sensitive rear view)
-Auto Intelligent Lighting System

This isn't another big pick up truck, this is a Mazda.

My post from the new car prices thread :*

282 - 2.2
315 - 3.2

Anyone have a list of features of the Ford the Toyota and the navara for better comparison?

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » October 26th, 2012, 5:33 am

^^ i like them prices, lol!

ask me how much I paid for my old datsun!

4g63

Postby 4g63 » October 26th, 2012, 6:23 am

@ civic minded... if i decide on a bt-50 i~ll just take my money back from toyota... but at least my van is booked, them ting selling on the water and before.

aaron, did you take that 2.2 up any hills or pressured it any.... cuz i was real disappointed. weaker, way weaker than the hilux. i think the bt-50 is 312K for fl auto. i can try to update my new van prices thread with the mazda prices.

@ stephon: mazda promised me lots of features, many of which you've listed, however we were waiting on a container to be cleared yesterday to get the features of the manual. when i get that i can post them up. the ranger though has almost nothing in the manuals and lacking even in the auto limited which is the top of the line down here. no hill decent, SC, trailer sway, side steps.... real lacking. the auto has bluetooth and an extra power outlet in the tray which i like.

if the mazda manuals are coming with the features of the auto.... then a 3.2 mazda mite be the best one to buy... esp if it is 20 K cheaper than the ford like the auto. however, that is still plenty for a van. but i'll feel better buying it if it is loaded up a lil more.

the hilux has bluetooth, keyless entry, side mirror indicators, non auto folding though, running boards, usb-sd card deck and all the other standard features.

about the navara jed, is a nice van but that should be up for model change soon, that shape has been out for a while.

Postby Aaron 2NR » October 26th, 2012, 8:55 am

the ranger is a pretty study truck....it's doesn't has as much torque as the previous 2.5 but it didn't feel as if it wud stall or anything..... @ the price as well it's a good truck

2.2 4x4 manual is $245,
2.2 auto 4x2 is $265
didn't get the price for the auto 4x4

4g63

Postby 4g63 » October 27th, 2012, 7:19 am

fellas ... it looks like the bt-50 comes with a LRD (locking rear diff).... you are supposed to be able to lock it up on demand... this is great for me. the previous mazdas also had a RFW from inside, no other vans to my knowledge had this. i hope the new one has it too...this is a big plus for me.

civic minded

Postby civic minded » October 27th, 2012, 7:34 am

RFW means release front wheel . You press then when you are moving from 4 wheel drive to 2 wheel .

Postby Aaron 2NR » October 27th, 2012, 12:00 pm

should be getting a 2.2 4x4 manual next week.....really nice truck...haven't been able to do a proper comparison against my hilux but will do when i get the vehicle home

4g63

Postby 4g63 » October 28th, 2012, 6:22 am

if i take the hilux we can load the trays and do some comparison tests if you are up to it.

Postby Aaron 2NR » November 2nd, 2012, 9:04 pm

ImageUploadedByTapatalk1351904569.121128.jpg
got her today

Paullct

Postby Paullct » November 4th, 2012, 9:05 pm

^ that's a beauty right there

jpec

Postby jpec » November 5th, 2012, 12:46 pm

Aaron 2NR wrote:
ImageUploadedByTapatalk1351904569.121128.jpg
got her today

sooo which one you prefer? 8-)

Postby Aaron 2NR » November 5th, 2012, 1:13 pm

its a hard choice lol....but i prefer my hilux because of the power, the ranger lacks a tad bit of power low down but it isnt bad....the ride is almost similar...the ranger has a lot more features compared to the hilux.... auto headlights, rain sensitivity wipers, shift point light when coming out of economy mode.

droppa

Postby droppa » November 5th, 2012, 1:33 pm

Paullct wrote:^ that's a beauty right there

the black one ent?? the one behind???

ford cant walk in toyota shoes no day.......

u guys shud really do some practical tests and post vids and results......

"top gear trini new 4X4 shootout"

Postby Aaron 2NR » November 5th, 2012, 2:59 pm

When Toyota and Ansa sponsor it we can...

tourniquet

Postby tourniquet » November 5th, 2012, 6:54 pm

^^ :lol:
anyway, Aaron 2NR, are there any significant features that comes with the auto, that you don't get with the manual? I mean, I believe the 2.2L auto 4x4 is over $280K, I'd hate to think that they're charging over $35K for just an automatic transmission and maybe some leather seating :|
Also, how soon till you get it retrofitted? :lol:

Postby Aaron 2NR » November 5th, 2012, 8:23 pm

Got the manual not the auto. I think the only diff is the transmission....
Not sure about the retrofitting yet....the continental tires are lovely.

gundelero

Postby gundelero » November 7th, 2012, 8:25 am

Stephon, are the features the same on both the 2.2L and 3.2L new BT-50?

From the looks of it, the Hilux is the better vehicle.

4g63

Postby 4g63 » November 8th, 2012, 10:40 pm

there are many differences with the auto ranger and the manual.
auto has that the manual doesn't:
- bluetooth
- sidesteps (3.2)
- duraliner (3.2)
- power outlet in the tray

and there are a few others i can't remember.
the 3.2 auto is what they call the limited. the 3.2 manual is exactly what aaron would have bought with a 3.2 engine... no extra features.

2.2 and 3.2 mazda have the same features basically. they have a 2.2 ready for me to test drive with the 6 fwd box! i can post my thoughts after.
@ aaron, i should be getting my hilux in a couple weeks... just waiting to have it registered.
i would be interested in taking the two of them up some hills to see what is what. i tested the hilux on some different hills than i did the ranger and that test drive sealed me on the hilux. i was struggling with the ranger going up.
i believe the 6 fwd box on the mazda should help a lot with this.

i think i will stick with the hilux for now and wait for 3 years or so and sell it and get a 3.2 manual bt-50 if they decide to make one. i much prefer the look of the ranger to the bt-50 but the bt-50 comes with waaaaay more toys and features than the ranger for comparable and much cheaper prices depending on the model. eg. fl bt-50 auto is 312, equivalent ranger, 337K. bt-50 comes with everything the ranger does plus, side steps, hill decent, stability control, hill start assist, anti-trailer sway, locking diff etc. etc. etc. i don't want an auto tho.

many of the above features are there to really fassy down your driving skills...but, it is still more than what the ranger is offering.

the black ranger looks real nice though. i wanted a black, but there was none available so i had booked a white.

hope you enjoy it.

4g63

Postby 4g63 » November 8th, 2012, 10:42 pm

where did you get the running boards?

Postby Aaron 2NR » November 9th, 2012, 9:27 am

remember the ranger is a 2.2 where as the hilux is a 3.0 so obviously the hilux would feel a lot better going uphill....

the sidesteps, tray liner, reverse sensors and tint were all installed by the firm for free....

4g63

Postby 4g63 » December 12th, 2012, 10:53 pm

just to close this thread; i got the hilux about a month ago. it is sitting parked in a garage since i am not around to drive it. it has the power i was hoping for and much more than the 2.2 ranger as expected. as to date i haven't driven the 3.2 manual. so i should be able to post what the mazda feels like with the 2.2 engine and the dratorque (6fwd) box.
the hilux idles up the hill in my driveway in first. fantastic.

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”