ARA Drag & Wind #6 - 29th July 2012

AutoSport

Re: ARA Drag & Wind #6 - 29th July 2012

Postby AutoSport » July 26th, 2012, 8:14 pm

Death-Row wrote:run the car, had a time a b14 came and make reallll men feel sick hahahah. all for the fun meng.

btw, please dont flame but any word on if the "noise restrictions" for the cars staying? or will it be dropped in time to come? i know the horses are affected but anything being put in place to go back to normal? or restrictions stays? was getting a sponsor for my car and with the recent mods, its a bit noisy now, will pass the limit i think.

If you had attended the Briefing meeting last night, you would realize that we are still not out of the woods, and NO, the restrictions will NOT be removed. As a mater of fact even those cars that were below our limit last event, we have asked them to work on making less noise.

On Sunday we will have some ARC members and horse owners in attendance to see what we are actually doing and report back to ARC.

Please work with us to maintain use of this location in the future.

Death-Row

Postby Death-Row » July 26th, 2012, 8:21 pm

yea man, no hate. couldnt make it to the meeting last night, really busy these days. really not sure how to make my car quiet again so i guess ill have to sit out until i can. will try and come up still for spectator support tho.

professor

Re: ARA Drag & Wind #5, #6 Presentation

Postby professor » July 26th, 2012, 9:14 pm

DSC09827.JPG

DSC09828.JPG

DSC09829.JPG

DSC09830.JPG

DSC09833.JPG

DSC09834.JPG

DSC09838.JPG

DSC09839.JPG

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » July 26th, 2012, 9:16 pm

^ thanks Professor!

professor

Postby professor » July 26th, 2012, 9:19 pm

DSC09842.JPG

DSC09844.JPG

DSC09847.JPG

DSC09848.JPG

DSC09850.JPG

professor

Postby professor » July 26th, 2012, 9:22 pm

DSC09851.JPG

DSC09853.JPG

DSC09854.JPG

DSC09855.JPG

I would review it and see if I missed anyone.

Postby SR » July 26th, 2012, 9:25 pm

whats the acceptable dB level set by arc for noise

Death-Row

Postby Death-Row » July 26th, 2012, 9:43 pm

from the last D&W post made by autosport i saw 100DB but hearing of an even less figure from a friend that went to the meeting last night. can anyone confirm?

matthew2730mvp

Postby matthew2730mvp » July 26th, 2012, 10:12 pm

Yip the dropped it to 85db to be safe, some ARC members and horse owners in attendance to see what autosport is actually doing and report back to ARC.

Death-Row

Postby Death-Row » July 26th, 2012, 10:15 pm

so 85db from next to the car? or 85db from outside the compound? lets say, distance on average to where the horses are.

AutoSport

Postby AutoSport » July 26th, 2012, 10:19 pm

I said it sometime before, and will say it again. Several years ago some Circuit cars came from England, and had everybody stunned. They all ran with silencers, absolutely no noise, and were just as fast. That was the requirement in England and they all complied. I also said that when the Evo's first came out, the first big modification everybody run and make was to install 3" exhausts. Johh Powell did the same, Then he brought a tuner to help him match strides with his Jamaican counterparts - first instruction, put back the 2.5" exhaust and tune otherwise and he got more power.

So please understand the major issue - ARC is not Waller Field.

AutoSport

Postby AutoSport » July 26th, 2012, 10:27 pm

Regretfully it may come down to how comfortable the ARC members are and what they think.
THEY are in control of the ARC facility, we are granted a favour to use it.
They are concerned about their expensive horses.
WE must also try to not push and end up without "the best motor racing facility" that we have at this time!
Tough to believe this but so true.

Death-Row

Postby Death-Row » July 26th, 2012, 10:29 pm

thanks again for the info. i just wanna get the info on point b4 i waste my time entering my car then to be told on race day that its too loud.

from the info on the net i got, (could be off, correct if wrong) my car is too loud.

A whisper is 15 decibels
A normal conversation is 60 decibels (raising your voice so that someone can hear you is about 90 decibels)
Snoring is 85 decibels
Lawn mowers and hair dryers are 90 decibels
A car horn is 110 decibels
Rock concerts and jet engines are 120 decibels
Gunshots and firecrackers are 140 decibels

just posting the above so others can use it to help determine the DB output of their noise makers. again, correct me if im wrong.

also, based on ur above statement about the smaller exhausts, alot of different stuff can contribute to that outcome. it all boils down to the "wants" of the owner and what parts are used. im sorry but i went from 2.5" exhaust to a 3 1/4" piping, nothing but pipe and barrel lol and it made a huge difference.

again, thnx for the info/quick responses. good luck with the event.

Death-Row

Postby Death-Row » July 26th, 2012, 10:30 pm

and yup, horses really gets the big money rolling. cant hate on them for protecting their investments/hobby also.

Postby crazybalhead » July 27th, 2012, 7:38 am

Death row, a lot of people have SPL meters. I have one, you can download an app for your phone. Instead of guessing, do a full throttle ricer fly by and check your levels!

I am not advocating exceeding the speeding limit of driving dangerously eh. But a first gear pull for a few seconds should get a reasonable value.

Go from there.

best of luck with the even Sunday Autosport! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

The solodex guys coming to beat upon the others again! :lol:

Death-Row

Postby Death-Row » July 27th, 2012, 7:48 am

crazybalhead, ah gyul mashup meh iphone hoss, lend meh yours nah :(

southside crew

Postby southside crew » July 27th, 2012, 8:24 am

Death-Row wrote:crazybalhead, ah gyul mashup meh iphone hoss, lend meh yours nah :(

She went all Chuck Morris on it or wha?> :lol:

Death-Row

Postby Death-Row » July 27th, 2012, 8:28 am

southside crew, hoss the kinda cusssssssssss you gonna get later. WTF dan LMFAO!!!!

Postby crazybalhead » July 27th, 2012, 8:46 am

Death-Row wrote:crazybalhead, ah gyul mashup meh iphone hoss, lend meh yours nah :(

HAHAHAAHAHAHAA! I can't help yuh dey hoss.

Death-Row

Postby Death-Row » July 27th, 2012, 10:02 am

LMAO!!!

AutoSport

Postby AutoSport » July 27th, 2012, 10:04 am

crazybalhead wrote:Death row, a lot of people have SPL meters. I have one, you can download an app for your phone. Instead of guessing, do a full throttle ricer fly by and check your levels!

Look trouble, do I need to hire even more Police?

Midnight_Demon

Postby Midnight_Demon » July 27th, 2012, 12:21 pm

AutoSport wrote:
crazybalhead wrote:Death row, a lot of people have SPL meters. I have one, you can download an app for your phone. Instead of guessing, do a full throttle ricer fly by and check your levels!

Look trouble, do I need to hire even more Police?

them solodex gus violent! look proof :
Roberry.gif

AutoSport

Postby AutoSport » July 27th, 2012, 4:57 pm

Nice one there Midnight Demon, no more proof needed!

ingalook

Postby ingalook » July 27th, 2012, 10:45 pm

85 db? That is talking volume.... every single car (with the exception of a stock tiida) exceeds that

Run your Tiida hoss... looks like you'll be winning all the trophy dem!

@Autosport - I hope allyuh get rid of the blasted hard plastic barriers at the end of the straight, I had my bumper repainted after hitting it early in the year, last event I come back and see the barriers up, so I opted not to run... only to see the same barrier take a chunk out of the red ANP civic hatch front bumper paint

Could you guys not just put a rally style run-off zone at the end of the straight, those barriers do nothing more that mash up people car... not everybody can afford a race car eh... some of us running our daily drivers and don't have a support trailer with parts waiting to swap out :roll:

Mr. Fixables

Postby Mr. Fixables » July 28th, 2012, 12:53 am

The barriers are there for a reason, maybe some smarter braking will stop the repainting efforts.

If you hit the barriers, it is a driver error.

Kirk

Postby wagonrunner » July 28th, 2012, 2:22 am

Exactly.
How about driving to ensure you don't hit the barriers?

:lol: :lol: no wait. it's a civic. must win at any cost. will complain about cost after. :poke:

Midnight_Demon

Postby Midnight_Demon » July 28th, 2012, 5:38 am

ingalook I dissagree with u there man. Ur not supposed to hit the barriers, as Kirk said, smarter braking. I slapped the barrier at the end of the straight away once and didnt have any kind of visible damage just one tiny scrape. Think ur coming in to the corners way to hard or them Civic rel soft lol. Remember SLOW in FAST out, goodluck.

Mudboy

Postby Mudboy » July 28th, 2012, 6:05 am

Midnight_Demon wrote:ingalook I dissagree with u there man. Ur not supposed to hit the barriers, as Kirk said, smarter braking. I slapped the barrier at the end of the straight away once and didnt have any kind of visible damage just one tiny scrape. Think ur coming in to the corners way to hard or them Civic rel soft lol. Remember SLOW in FAST out, goodluck.

Them barriers have a mind of their own.....they does jump out in the track and spoof yuh......

welll....that's what I saw..... :cry: :cry: :cry: :cry:

narutouzamaki

Postby narutouzamaki » July 28th, 2012, 7:58 am

[quote="AutoSport"]So at the eleventh hour ARA is being permitted to stage its 6th Drag and Wind Event at the ARC Car Park on Sunday 29th July. Amen.

Wha time is the event on sunday if u dont mind me askin?????

is entry stil $30?

thanks

Postby wagonrunner » July 28th, 2012, 11:17 am

Mudboy wrote:Them barriers have a mind of their own.....they does jump out in the track and spoof yuh......

welll....that's what I saw..... :cry: :cry: :cry: :cry:

because you left your barrier magnet in the on position, thinking they were fixed, and you would drive 5mm from them. :poke: :lol: :lol:

When you deactivated the system, what happened? :lol: :lol:

Return to “AutoSport Drag & Wind”