WTK: Buying my first car

NR8

Re: WTK: Buying my first car

Postby NR8 » April 19th, 2012, 12:26 am

crossdrilled and uncle sam, I wish I had gotten advice like that when I was buying my first car! I had almost no car knowledge. The person who went with me to view the car advised me that it was good.
A week after purchase head gasket blew and battery died. Then I found out it was burning oil! In less than a year I've already replaced the radiator, engine, brake booster, master cylinder...can't remember what else. About to rebuild tranny now and found out recently that axles bad. Have to change shocks and maybe springs too. :evil:
I don't think I'll ever go back to Nissan.

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:Buy a B14. I actually serious about this. No thats a lie buy a Civic.

According to recent survey. Honda is the number 1 most reliable used vehicle.

I honestly wish I had done this! 2cry

Postby Trini Hookah » April 19th, 2012, 12:40 am

NR8 what model Vehicle you getting all those probs with man?

napster16

Postby napster16 » April 19th, 2012, 12:50 am

And what about Ae92? My neighbour have 1 there suffering :/

Postby Spitfir3 » April 19th, 2012, 1:23 am

good advice here.what about a ck2 doh?do you all think its a good buy?

napster16

Postby napster16 » April 19th, 2012, 1:53 am

Spitfir3 wrote:good advice here.what about a ck2 doh?do you all think its a good buy?

Well they recommended the Ck4, SO i'm guessing it's pretty much similar in terms of parts and what not.... I like them but they so expensive :/

NR8

Postby NR8 » April 19th, 2012, 2:10 am

Trini Hookah wrote:NR8 what model Vehicle you getting all those probs with man?

B12 boy... I guess I should have just put out the lil extra and bought the civic yes

napster16

Postby napster16 » April 19th, 2012, 2:51 am

NR8 wrote:
Trini Hookah wrote:NR8 what model Vehicle you getting all those probs with man?

B12 boy... I guess I should have just put out the lil extra and bought the civic yes

Yuh know what I not gonna buy

Postby RBphoto » April 19th, 2012, 7:55 am

Napster, what exactly is your budget?

Postby S_2NR » April 19th, 2012, 8:18 am

Cheap/fast/reliable

Choose two.

Postby nervewrecker » April 19th, 2012, 9:03 am

nervewrecker wrote:where you does get parts for civic?

:?: :?: :?:

anyways, team loco, now that you mention it, I never really notice an airbag light come on when the ignition is turned on in any car / van. I hadda check :shock:
Is it like that in all vehicles?

Postby tr1ad » April 19th, 2012, 9:08 am

all vehicles with airbags

Postby nervewrecker » April 19th, 2012, 9:12 am

I feeling like a real woman now, I dont know when last I even watch a dashboard when the ignition on. Is only when I driving I does watch & thsi includes quite a few vehicles :lol:

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » April 19th, 2012, 9:28 am

Carry a reliable, knowledgeable, actual mechanic (...not an e-mechanic) to check out the car with you to do a quick once over.
Budget a bit extra than the cost of the car+insurance...cater for changing all fluids (basically a basic service), new tyres, new brake pads/shoes, sanitizing the interior (you never know what went on inside the car).

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » April 19th, 2012, 10:00 am

Also suspension parts eg shocks.

napster16

Postby napster16 » April 19th, 2012, 10:04 am

crossdrilled wrote:Napster, what exactly is your budget?

$30,000 MAX

Postby Trini Hookah » April 19th, 2012, 10:17 am

CK2 was my first car, only problems it had was leaking AC and battery died short while after purchase.

Only thing I miss about it now is using Super :|

Postby RBphoto » April 19th, 2012, 10:28 am

viewtopic.php?f=55&t=420673&hilit=Suzuki+jimny

viewtopic.php?f=55&t=432871

How about this? use the extra money for insurance and anything additional for minor repairs.

or a little over your budget
viewtopic.php?f=55&t=426254

Just testing to see what condition/ vintage of car you like/ willing to put up with.

Postby Trini Hookah » April 19th, 2012, 10:49 am

Yuh really want de man have a high gas bill boy CD

Postby RBphoto » April 19th, 2012, 12:46 pm

I did not recommend those... I just trying to figure out what type of car he likes, then we could help him more...and to let lim get an idea of what he can get for that money.

napster16

Postby napster16 » April 19th, 2012, 1:31 pm

crossdrilled wrote:http://www.trinituner.com/v3/forums/viewtopic.php?f=55&t=420673&hilit=Suzuki+jimny

viewtopic.php?f=55&t=432871

How about this? use the extra money for insurance and anything additional for minor repairs.

or a little over your budget
viewtopic.php?f=55&t=426254

Just testing to see what condition/ vintage of car you like/ willing to put up with.

EK5...

Postby MG Man » April 19th, 2012, 1:33 pm

pfffffffffffft
swift ftw

Postby cinco » April 19th, 2012, 1:35 pm

ek5 no
why would you want a 4wd car?

napster16

Postby napster16 » April 19th, 2012, 1:40 pm

Swift Looks horrible meng! I doh even wanna consider the functionality....

Postby MG Man » April 19th, 2012, 2:05 pm

to each his own, but the Swift is a true drivers car

napster16

Postby napster16 » April 19th, 2012, 2:10 pm

MG Man wrote:to each his own, but the Swift is a true drivers car

Yeah boy sorry, probably a .... generational thing

Postby MG Man » April 19th, 2012, 2:11 pm

u sayin the younger generation cya drive?
:P
but yeah, maybe

Postby dougla_boy » April 19th, 2012, 2:19 pm

that swift sweet! always loved those cars meng.....i think if he had a drive in it, he would change his mind.........

napster16

Postby napster16 » April 19th, 2012, 2:19 pm

MG Man wrote:u sayin the younger generation cya drive?
:P
but yeah, maybe

Not that.... Just the preference nah.... I want a Range Rover one day.... *looks up at sky* damn, I sound like 10 lol

Postby MG Man » April 19th, 2012, 2:23 pm

lol never give up your dreams man
I just bought a car I wanted since 1997............always boils down to preference
I like the Swift because it gives a pure driving experience.......average power but lightweight and excellent handling