Best ISP for Gaming?

Re: Best ISP for Gaming?

Postby TRAE » April 19th, 2012, 9:15 am

nismodriver wrote:
suprakidd wrote:360 Communications Fiber Straight to the Premise with a 100GBPS local loop on laser fiber

100G you say ! What router you connecting that to ? Not domestic i hope ! And we only have laptops with 1G nic cards :lol:

360 uses flow lines to provide services... they rent flow's service

Postby TRAE » April 19th, 2012, 9:16 am

kaylex wrote:anyone here plays battlefield 3... need some local team mates to piong aka push some numbs.. Share some corn with headset...

ADD MEH.... PBLEK3

i on 360--- add meh bloodytrae

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » April 19th, 2012, 12:01 pm

I wonder if this new 4G net could run games?

I mean TSTT said their cell towers are linked to eachother via fiber optics. So I think we might be looking at near landline Pings.

STORM1234

Postby STORM1234 » April 19th, 2012, 12:36 pm

thelem wrote:I jump on the flow band wagon. 15mbs

Gonna start back playing COD and stuff now. Blink 2mbs was sheit.

just upgraded from 5mbs to 15mbs, disappointed, i find videos could be streaming faster, downloads speeds are definitely better but still not as high as I would expect them to be. Might switch back after 1 month, we'll see.

Postby stev » April 19th, 2012, 12:45 pm

remember a lot of sites wont give u full bandwidth through a single connection. i normally use a download manager to get full speeds.

casper

Postby casper » April 19th, 2012, 4:12 pm

lost to all wrote:

just upgraded from 5mbs to 15mbs, disappointed, i find videos could be streaming faster, downloads speeds are definitely better but still not as high as I would expect them to be. Might switch back after 1 month, we'll see.

yea bro...same here...i have 25mbs from FLOW as i said before and my streaming is rel sheit as well..imagine even with 25mbs youtube vids STILL have to buffer...daz rel $hit jred stupesss...still gettin same amount of bars in COD that i used to get with 5mb FLOW as well so no big change there either...only major difference i seein is downloadin dem updates and games u buy on d PSN store or xbox store etc

STORM1234

Postby STORM1234 » April 19th, 2012, 8:02 pm

casper wrote:
lost to all wrote:

yea bro...same here...i have 25mbs from FLOW as i said before and my streaming is rel sheit as well..imagine even with 25mbs youtube vids STILL have to buffer...daz rel $hit jred stupesss...still gettin same amount of bars in COD that i used to get with 5mb FLOW as well so no big change there either...only major difference i seein is downloadin dem updates and games u buy on d PSN store or xbox store etc

I can only stream uninterrupted from youtube at 480p, 720p and 1080p buffering plenty. I will definitely be switching back next month. The 5mb connection is a good deal for the price, but the 15mb connection is definitely not worth the extra $100.

Postby S_2NR » April 20th, 2012, 5:12 pm

maybe u all should check allyu routers.
i have 5mb and youtube doh ever ever stick.

fouljuice

Postby fouljuice » April 20th, 2012, 6:39 pm

S_2NR wrote:maybe u all should check allyu routers.
i have 5mb and youtube doh ever ever stick.

1080 only sticks for me if other people browsing same time when I streaming.
Ollour could try connecting the modem directly to the pc too.

Scoobert Bauce

Postby Scoobert Bauce » April 20th, 2012, 7:40 pm

Flow All day. I play SF4 online, from time to time, works like a charm

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » April 20th, 2012, 7:45 pm

TSTT always stick when streaming videos. I think they throttling it.

Postby The_Honourable » April 28th, 2014, 5:50 pm

Resurrecting this thread.

Does anyone know how to optimize internet connections for gaming? I get lag at times:

ISP: Flow
Speed: 10Mbps download/1Mbps Upload
Router: Linksis WRT320N
Modem: Arris TM822G
Console: Playstation 3
Connection: Wired - PS3 to Router to Modem

Thanks!

Postby M_2NR » April 28th, 2014, 5:59 pm

flow generally lags at times :| as of recently.

If you are really bored and have a router with custom firmware such as tomato with QoS...
http://www.linksysinfo.org/index.php?th ... ion.28349/

it ain't for the faint at heart and I didn't even bother doing this.

Postby The_Honourable » April 28th, 2014, 6:26 pm

M_2NR wrote:flow generally lags at times :| as of recently.

If you are really bored and have a router with custom firmware such as tomato with QoS...

Thanks M_2NR.

I realized that going 2 weeks now. I get interrupted streams and have to reload sites at times. 10 minutes ago, I did a ping test from http://www.pingtest.net and my connection was a grade D. Now it is a B.

I wonder if upgrading to the 20Mbps download/2Mbps Upload package is worth it?

Postby stev » April 28th, 2014, 11:00 pm

The_Honourable wrote:

Thanks M_2NR.

I realized that going 2 weeks now. I get interrupted streams and have to reload sites at times. 10 minutes ago, I did a ping test from http://www.pingtest.net and my connection was a grade D. Now it is a B.

more bandwidth doesn't mean lower latency....unfortunately there is very little u can do in the end. :/ there may be some optimization tips and trick out there that might help a bit but not drastically.

Postby S_2NR » April 28th, 2014, 11:05 pm

This may sound silly but... Did you call them?

Postby M_2NR » April 29th, 2014, 7:43 am

S_2NR wrote:This may sound silly but... Did you call them?
yeah :( fed up. Thing is they can't repeat it on their end and it happens randomly. I end up forcing a new IP if it gets bad and affects bandwidth.

-Roach-

Postby -Roach- » April 29th, 2014, 8:47 am

Last Result:
Download Speed: 20175 kbps (2521.9 KB/sec transfer rate)
Upload Speed: 2044 kbps (255.5 KB/sec transfer rate)
Latency: 18 ms
Tuesday, 29 April 2014 08:45:52 AM

Get@MeBro.

Postby S_2NR » April 29th, 2014, 10:35 am

M_2NR wrote:
yeah :( fed up. Thing is they can't repeat it on their end and it happens randomly. I end up forcing a new IP if it gets bad and affects bandwidth.

Get them to send a tech to check it. Had similar sporadic problems. Turned out...wait for it... It was a problem on the friggin pole.

Postby The_Honourable » April 29th, 2014, 1:11 pm

stev wrote:
The_Honourable wrote:

Thanks M_2NR.

more bandwidth doesn't mean lower latency....unfortunately there is very little u can do in the end. :/ there may be some optimization tips and trick out there that might help a bit but not drastically.

Ahh so is latency i should be checking. Learnt something there. I will check online and see how I can reduce it on my end but yeah, i realized is only so much I can do.

S_2NR wrote:
M_2NR wrote:

Get them to send a tech to check it. Had similar sporadic problems. Turned out...wait for it... It was a problem on the friggin pole.

I will call them also so they can just check the lines for good measure.

Captain Awesome

Postby Captain Awesome » April 29th, 2014, 1:47 pm

I have both flow and tstt (20 and 2mbps respectively) at home for gaming. I generally get better and smoother performance out of the DSL connection in Battlefield 4. Flow is an excellent downloading connection but a poor gaming connection.

Postby M_2NR » April 29th, 2014, 10:37 pm

http://cloudmonitor.ca.com/en/ping.php
ping your gateway.
see my post about it in the flow thread.

Postby The_Honourable » May 4th, 2014, 5:33 pm

M_2NR wrote:http://cloudmonitor.ca.com/en/ping.php
ping your gateway.
see my post about it in the flow thread.

Thanks! :D

Postby The_Honourable » February 4th, 2019, 9:59 pm

Ok guys... resurrecting this ched because i had it with flow. Gaming lag bringing out a demon i thought i never had.

How is gamers experience with Digicel and Amplia?

Postby Redman » February 5th, 2019, 6:23 am

I'm not a gamer but my son is chronic on fortnite.

InPalmiste Amplia is rock steady, his Pings are in the low 80s, no packet loss.

Away from that the bandwidth has never tested much below the contract, we don't have significant down time...as was constantly the reality with flow.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » February 5th, 2019, 7:29 am

The_Honourable wrote:Ok guys... resurrecting this ched because i had it with flow. Gaming lag bringing out a demon i thought i never had.

How is gamers experience with Digicel and Amplia?

I play mainly fighting games which are the most sensitive type of games when it comes to internet connections, things like fortnite can run just fine even on crappy DSL but not fighting games.

I found Flow to be really good for me even for games like DBFZ which uses dated delay based netcode, anything with GGPO like injustice 2 or Killer Instinct works flawless on my flow even like offline.

But a Fiber connection would be better since it would have less latency. But there is no getting around the fact that Trinidad is just so far from the USA this alone accounts for most of the latency.

Postby The_Honourable » February 5th, 2019, 11:32 am

Thanks Redman. I'll look into Amplia.

ED is fighting games i does run so you know how it is when you doing moves and not getting it, plus frame drops, shadow hits, etc.

Anybody has experience with Digicel and gaming?

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » February 5th, 2019, 3:01 pm

The_Honourable wrote:Thanks Redman. I'll look into Amplia.

ED is fighting games i does run so you know how it is when you doing moves and not getting it, plus frame drops, shadow hits, etc.

Anybody has experience with Digicel and gaming?

Yeah in that case if you can get your hands on fiber would be great, street fighter 5 net code is notorious for being hot garbage unless both connections are excellent.

Also a 144hz monitor and disable vsync you will get way less frame input lag online and 144hz should eliminate screen tearing at 60 fps which fighting games are locked at