is there a law for loud music in your home?

Re: is there a law for loud music in your home?

Postby black start » March 4th, 2012, 12:10 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Ignant behavior.

Anyway
Why people feel everybody else wanna listen to what they listening to?

Exactly. And unless you live in a 10x10 box, you could play your music quite loud enough for you to hear and still not disturb the neighbours...

But duane, "ignant?"....really?

*goes to tuner dictionary ched*

Postby sMASH » March 4th, 2012, 12:43 pm

i rattle odder people's galvanize

konartis

Postby konartis » March 4th, 2012, 1:59 pm

chemist wrote:its a car i ran in to some problems and fixed some stuff in so i jus wanted to check for distortion i dont own an oscope so i use my ear... i am a student dont be home often cuz i study in school till early morning. i dont play music to disturb peace its just my hobby.. i drive with glass up a/c on except when on the highway late...my volume was at a loud level for no more than 5min every 2 hours from 11am to 5pm... like i say i was jus testing...its not like i do it everyday....

the only place legally you can play your music loudly before 11pm is on a recreation ground...so go there, make sure it ent have ppl around and test the music there!

chemist

Postby chemist » March 4th, 2012, 3:33 pm

ok kool thanks we used to do that but the same neighbor park their trucks in the playing field so cant really go there their house is two feet from my walls their roof is like under ours.... i wont lie my bass is reasonably extra loud but that. may be crossing the 120 db peak level but its not continuous....but thanks i accept i am wrong next time i wait till they not home

Postby pioneer » March 4th, 2012, 3:42 pm

man leggo chune in dey arse

face de m&m's out de window an all

pure fyaahz

Postby nervewrecker » March 4th, 2012, 3:44 pm

nervewrecker wrote:I want to start on my home entertainment system next year & wondering how loud should I go.

simple really. Is it a home entertainment system, or a neighborhood nuisance system?

In my family there are a few "systems" that are enjoyed, and the neighbors are not disturbed.

Police have been called for petty sheit around here already. It's to watch movies and stuff on really, lock up house, take off lights, get the popcorn bizness.
I prefer to be safe than sorry.

Postby pioneer » March 4th, 2012, 3:50 pm

play this chune

OAR!

wheel whores

Postby wheel whores » March 4th, 2012, 4:12 pm

lol the music installers play a song like the as there test tune

there place is 1 lot away from where i live

good thing they don't get much work

Postby nervewrecker » March 4th, 2012, 4:31 pm

If that is what they use to test with, it shows how good they are as installers.

wheel whores

Postby wheel whores » March 4th, 2012, 4:56 pm

for real there are alot of fly but nights out there and is a recognized shop as well
there is another shop that the guy takes out the RCA's and scratches the place where the rcas go on the amp to see if he getting signal.
pulls the RCA's in and out with all the power on he does his work right up the road from by me

Postby sMASH » March 4th, 2012, 5:31 pm

ur story actually made me...

wheel whores

Postby wheel whores » March 4th, 2012, 6:03 pm

true story bro

no lie

and the man place does be full

sleepertercel

Postby sleepertercel » March 4th, 2012, 6:09 pm

Stephon. wrote:There isn't any law

O RLY????

LAWS OF TRINIDAD AND TOBAGO
Environmental Management Chap. 35:05 95
Noise Pollution Control Rules

For Zone 3 - General Areas:

Daytime Limits—On Mondays to Sundays of every week from
8.00 a.m. to 8.00 p.m. on each day—
(a) the sound pressure level when measured as equivalent
continuous sound pressure level shall not be more than 5 dBA
above the background sound pressure level; and
(b) the sound pressure level when measured as instantaneous
unweighted peak sound pressure level shall not exceed
120 dB (peak).
Notwithstanding the above, no person shall emit or cause to be emitted
any sound that causes the sound pressure level when measured as the
equivalent continuous sound pressure level to exceed 80 dBA.
Night-time Limits—On Mondays to Sundays of every week from
8.00 p.m. to 8.00 a.m. on each day—
115 dB (peak).
equivalent continuous sound pressure level to exceed 65 dBA.

Postby nervewrecker » March 4th, 2012, 7:18 pm

sleepertercel wrote:
Stephon. wrote:There isn't any law

O RLY????

LAWS OF TRINIDAD AND TOBAGO
Environmental Management Chap. 35:05 95
Noise Pollution Control Rules

For Zone 3 - General Areas:

Daytime Limits—On Mondays to Sundays of every week from
8.00 a.m. to 8.00 p.m. on each day—
120 dB (peak).
equivalent continuous sound pressure level to exceed 80 dBA.
Night-time Limits—On Mondays to Sundays of every week from
8.00 p.m. to 8.00 a.m. on each day—
115 dB (peak).
equivalent continuous sound pressure level to exceed 65 dBA.

OK, enlighten me about this:

Where is this point of measurement?

Postby sMASH » March 4th, 2012, 7:19 pm

wait nah, i tawt those levels supposed to be measured at the boundary of ur premises?

Postby nervewrecker » March 4th, 2012, 7:20 pm

I see a lot about the spl....

I wonder how loud does a pair of those usual dj speakers have to be to even increase the split by 5db at the point of disturbance?

chemist

Postby chemist » March 4th, 2012, 8:18 pm

yeah thats wat i read on the ema site....
http://www.ema.co.tt/cms/images/stories ... es%20(mola).pdf
and at the very bottom states

"NOTE: The point at which measurementsfor determining the background
sound pressure level are taken, should be preferably in the immediate
vicinity of the point at which the background sound pressure level with the
source in operation would be taken; however, such measurements for
determining background sound pressure levelshould not be taken at points
outside a radius of 100 metres from the source under investigation"

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » March 4th, 2012, 8:33 pm

OP - on a sunday u shud not really be making noise since thats when most ppl are home but some neighbors does really be over sensitive when u testing something

does always have that problem by me , when i used to build sub boxes & testing them out d neighbor watching me hard & telling me how i making noise , mids is just 2 door speakers which u cant really hear outside my wagon & sometimes is just a lame 500wrms sub but from d time he hear a lil bass he getting horrors

last time i test any music by my workshop was nearly 6mths ago & 2 wks ago i trying out some bass & u know d neighbor come out he house & telling me i vibrating he house - bwtf is nearly 6mths i eh test anything but d man complaining yes & saying how i does always be doing dat

for carnival last wk he allowed a DJ to set up in front his place for 3 days straight too which making 1000 times more noise than i cud ever make & it bothering all d neighbors so let him play he coming to tell me any sh1t now about testing anything & i will let him know when he was making his noise for 3 days if dat wasnt bothering him but my lil testing bothering him : take some bass now & doh complain .... :twisted: ..... :lol:

Postby pioneer » March 4th, 2012, 8:39 pm

very cool story rovin

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » March 4th, 2012, 8:45 pm

well is me so it must be cool ... :lol:

wheel whores

Postby wheel whores » March 4th, 2012, 8:48 pm

Noise is not just a nuisance; It's a health hazard

World Health Organization's recognition of noise as a serious health hazard from that of a nuisance, is a healthy development. It will pave the way for the governments to legislate noise control measures to protect the noise victims just like the recent introduction of legislative measures to protect the passive smokers.

World Health Organization has identified the following as the main health risks of noise.

Pain and fatigue
Hearing impairment
Impact on social behaviour leading to aggressiveness, protest and helplessness
Interference in communication leading to misunderstandings and arguments
Sleep disturbance and its consequences
Negative impact on cardiovascular health
Hormonal changes and its impact on metabolism and immunity
Negative impact on performance in school affecting attention, memory, reading, problem solving etc.
Impact on mental health leading to irritability, mood swings, depression, anxiety, hysteria etc.

The NIOSH (U.S National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health) has recommended a maximum exposure limit of 85 decibels (85 dB) for 8 hours in a 24-hour day. The higher the decibels, the lower the recommended time-exposure. Higher decibels or higher exposure-time leads to hearing impairment.
Here is a list of activities and its respective sound levels. An increase of 10 decibels increases the impact of sound by ten fold. That means, in an office where normal conversations are permitted (60dB), the impact of sound is 100 fold compared to a quiet office (40dB).

Softest sound…………………………………...............………...0
Normal breathing………..………………………............……...10
Whisper……………………………………………………................20
Quiet library………………………………................……….……33
Quiet office………………………………................………..……41
Rainfall……………………………………………...................…...50
Normal conversation……………………….............…………..60
Alarm clock, vacuum cleaner……………….…………..........74
Toilet Flushing…………………....................................75
Telephone…………………………………………….................…80
Heavy vehicles………………………………………................ 99
Crying baby…………………………………………................…110
Factory………………………….....................................110
Stereo………………………………………………..................…112
Rock concert, ambulance siren. ……......................120
Power drill………………………………………………................130
Noisy toys…………………………………................………..…135
Fire alarm………………………………………………................140
Plane taking off…………………………………..............….. 140
Jet taking off…………………………………………..............…150
Balloon pop……………………………….....................………157
Rock band……………………..................………………….… 160
Fire cracker……………………….................………..……...162
Shot gun…………………………………………………….............170
Rocket launch………………….………….…..................… 180

http://www.inneruniverse.org/apr08.htm

Postby gastly369 » March 4th, 2012, 8:52 pm

i woulda just level down he house after rovin

Postby wagonrunner » March 4th, 2012, 9:00 pm

(...Rovin...) wrote: for carnival last wk he allowed a DJ to set up in front his place for 3 days straight too which making 1000 times more noise than i cud ever make & it bothering all d neighbors so let him play he coming to tell me any sh1t now about testing anything & i will let him know when he was making his noise for 3 days if dat wasnt bothering him but my lil testing bothering him : take some bass now & doh complain .... :twisted: ..... :lol:

what i go tell yuh? doh study it.
CDA does be up in dey mudda skunt over noise, yet..............

yuh see d time.............? yuh recognize d spot? orrrrrrrr
https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=335189859865609&set=a.335185479866047.96728.112066878844576&type=1&ref=nf

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » March 4th, 2012, 9:12 pm

well i eh have d kinda fyaz steve meade have dey but i kinda glad d neighbor do it since that means when carnival dun he lost he rights for d rest of d year so i cud test my stuff when i need to & he cant say "ummm" again

i does try to live nice with him eh but oh shims when i testing something now\then is just for a lil while & is not like i does do it whole day , never in d nights or on a sunday & d other 3 neighbors houses across d road dont ever complain cause is not like i have a DJ set or music truck loud to body ppl ...

chemist

Postby chemist » March 4th, 2012, 11:41 pm

the only reason they does get it so loud is cuz their house is sooooo close to ours.... an it wasnt even sunday it was saturday.. but he son-in-law is a police so two ah them come and cussing me......but i waiting they like to hav party and drink rum...... i will hav my chance

Postby nervewrecker » March 5th, 2012, 9:21 am

I dont necissarily want something loud like those small home dj systems but want something with excellent sound quality & plenty bandwidth (esp on the low end). If you guys remember in Transformers 2 @ MT, battle with the Fallen in the desert, I swear there were some rumbles from the subs in there that made me feel like I was floating. I want that for my home. :mrgreen:
About 50 - 100 watts * 4 for mids & midbass & 240 watts on bass for starters can get quite loud if you ask me.

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » March 5th, 2012, 10:26 am

^^^go partsexpress & order up some stuff ...

Postby nervewrecker » March 5th, 2012, 10:32 am

Got my eyes on the dayton neo 8" drivers & havent decided on tweets. Saw a set of 2 way passives to go with them (somwhere).
Saw some nice Onyko & Sony 5.1 recievers (may look into geting TA with one of those) that I may have raptor ship in for me.
Already got the Dayton 240watt plate amp sitting here doing nothing. Im thinking a pair of low powered 2 ohm 12" in series to make up a 4 ohm load in a nice enclosure poretd & tuned to the low 20's.

Should keep me occupied for awhile. :mrgreen:

blaine

Postby blaine » April 15th, 2015, 1:01 am

Bumping this old tread.

http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/2012-11- ... t-property

Nuisance
A legal action to redress harm arising from the use of one's property.
The two types of nuisance are private nuisance and public nuisance. A private nuisance is a civil wrong; it is the unreasonable, unwarranted, or unlawful use of one's property in a manner that substantially interferes with the enjoyment or use of another individual's property, without an actual Trespass or physical invasion to the land. A public nuisance is a criminal wrong; it is an act or omission that obstructs, damages, or inconveniences the rights of the community.

Private Nuisance
A private nuisance is an interference with a person's enjoyment and use of his land. The law recognizes that landowners, or those in rightful possession of land, have the right to the unimpaired condition of the property and to reasonable comfort and convenience in its occupation.
Examples of private nuisances abound. Nuisances that interfere with the physical condition of the land include vibration or blasting that damages a house; destruction of crops; raising of a water table; or the pollution of soil, a stream, or an underground water supply. Examples of nuisances interfering with the comfort, convenience, or health of an occupant are foul odors, noxious gases, smoke, dust, loud noises, excessive light, or high temperatures. Moreover, a nuisance may also disturb an occupant's mental tranquility, such as a neighbor who keeps a vicious dog, even though an injury is only threatened and has not actually occurred.
An attractive nuisance is a danger likely to lure children onto a person's land. For example, an individual who has a pool on his property has a legal obligation to take reasonable precautions, such as erecting a fence, to prevent foreseeable injury to children.
Trespass is sometimes confused with nuisance, but the two are distinct. A trespass action protects against an invasion of one's right to exclusive possession of land. If a landowner drops a tree across her neighbor's boundary line she has committed a trespass; if her dog barks all night keeping the neighbor awake, she may be liable for nuisance.

Legal Responsibility
A private nuisance is a tort, that is, a civil wrong. To determine accountability for an alleged nuisance, a court will examine three factors: the defendant's fault, whether there has been a substantial interference with the plaintiff's interest, and the reasonableness of the defendant's conduct.
Fault Fault means that the defendant intentionally, negligently, or recklessly interfered with the plaintiff's use and enjoyment of the land or that the defendant continued her conduct after learning of actual harm or substantial risk of future harm to the plaintiff's interest. For example, a defendant who continues to spray chemicals into the air after learning that they are blowing onto the plaintiff's land is deemed to be intending that result. Where it is alleged that a defendant has violated a statute, proving the elements of the statute will establish fault.
Substantial Interference The law is not intended to remedy trifles or redress petty annoyances. To establish liability under a nuisance theory, interference with the plaintiff's interest must be substantial. Determining substantial interference in cases where the physical condition of the property is affected will often be fairly straightforward. More challenging are those cases predicated on personal inconvenience, discomfort, or annoyance. To determine whether an interference is substantial, courts apply the standard of an ordinary member of the community with normal sensitivity and temperament. A plaintiff cannot, by putting his or her land to an unusually sensitive use, make a nuisance out of the defendant's conduct that would otherwise be relatively harmless.
Reasonableness of Defendant's Conduct If the interference with the plaintiff's interest is substantial, a determination must then be made that it is unreasonable for the plaintiff to bear it or to bear it without compensation. This is a Balancing process weighing the respective interests of both parties. The law recognizes that the activities of others must be accommodated to a certain extent, particularly in matters of industry, commerce, or trade. The nature and gravity of the harm is balanced against the burden of preventing the harm and the usefulness of the conduct.
The following are factors to be considered:
Extent and duration of the disturbance;
Nature of the harm;
Social value of the plaintiff's use of his or her property or other interest;
Burden to the plaintiff in preventing the harm;
Value of the defendant's conduct, in general and to the particular community;
Motivation of the defendant;
Feasibility of the defendant's mitigating or preventing the harm;
Locality and suitability of the uses of the land by both parties.
Zoning boards use these factors to enact restrictions of property uses in specific locations. In this way, zoning laws work to prohibit public nuisances and to maintain the quality of a neighborhood.

Remedies
Redress for nuisance is commonly monetary damages. An Injunction or abatement may also be proper under certain circumstances. An injunction orders a defendant to stop, remove, restrain, or restrict a nuisance or abandon plans for a threatened nuisance. In public nuisance cases, a fine or sentence may be imposed, in addition to abatement or injunctive relief.
Injunction is a drastic remedy, used only when damage or the threat of damage is irreparable and not satisfactorily compensable only by monetary damages. The court examines the economic hardships to the parties and the interest of the public in allowing the continuation of the enterprise.
A Self-Help remedy, abatement by the plaintiff, is available under limited circumstances. This privilege must be exercised within a reasonable time after learning of the nuisance and usually requires notice to the defendant and the defendant's failure to act. Reasonable force may be used to employ the abatement, and a plaintiff may be liable for unreasonable or unnecessary damages. For example, dead tree limbs extending dangerously over a neighbor's house may be removed by the neighbor in danger, after notifying the offending landowner of the nuisance. In cases where an immediate danger to health, property, or life exists, no notification is necessary.

Postby meccalli » April 15th, 2015, 6:28 am

Most of these guys who make noise by people half deaf and wondering why other people think it's loud.